Flogstradamus After 11 Years, Melbourne Are Finally Back In The Finals *TOTY 2017*

For sure. You did beat them over there last year and you dominated them a few weeks back, despite it only being 23 points in the end.

I'd be inclined to actually back you guys to win. You've had a decent record at Adelaide Oval.
I think so. It's funny, is almost rather play Port there than Richmond at the G.

At least my club earns it, not being given a massive helping hand for being a basket case and accepting mediocrity, by the way your last 53 years as a club has been a embarrassment, have you ever seen Melbourne win the league.
It makes me laugh when supporters try and get a point across like they had something to do with the history of their club. At least MY club is better so I am a legend.
You just sound like a tool.

I think they've performed below expectations. The seem to have the effort, but lack composure, often aren't clean with the ball, over-use it, just seem to lack a certain polish that the top teams have. Just getting into finals will be a pretty good job this year, but they should really be pushing for top 4 next year.

Melbourne currently have 3 players in the illustrious '100+ games, no finals' club: Watts, Tom McDonald and Jetta. Dunn and Howe also club members that are playing elsewhere at a 'successful' club. Richmond used to dominate this before passing the baton to Melbourne, and now Melbourne will pass the baton on to Gold Coast/Brisbane.

Footy can change quickly, Sam Mitchell was once a member of this club.

The best possible result would be we lose to pies by a goal, ess win easily, WC lose to crows then most likely play port which we would have more of a chance to win

Losing to the Pies isn't the best possible result at all, going into the finals on a 3 game winning streak is the best possible result.

F*** whoever we play.

I think they've performed below expectations. The seem to have the effort, but lack composure, often aren't clean with the ball, over-use it, just seem to lack a certain polish that the top teams have. Just getting into finals will be a pretty good job this year, but they should really be pushing for top 4 next year.
If we make finals it's a fantastic effort given the injuries we've copped to key position players and the inexperience of the team.

Agree that Top 4 should be the goal next year.

When was the last time a wooden spooner went 2-0 against a finals team? Could happen if North lose to Brisbane.

Congrats to Melbourne. A few 'false starts' this year (and previous decade obviously) but that's similar for all youthful teams. Played some great footy this year and have plenty of underrated blokes running around.

Not sure if you've watched many final games of seasons gone by but upsets do happen. Emotional? Well they've been bashed from pillar to post in the media all year, I am pretty sure they'll be wanting to finish 2017 on a positive note. One last effort from them and Buckley.

Mate I am telling you, it'll be a ****en hard game. We beat Brisbane by 13 points, we beat the 18th placed side by 13 points today. Something I wouldn't call convincing.

Collingwood next week? WAY different scenario. We have got to be right on from the start to finish. Our lapses will eventually cost us.

I meant the MCG factor evens things out.

Please tell me you don't think this is going to be a cakewalk?
I don't think it will be a cakewalk. Brisbane may be 18th on the ladder, but they're not the 18th best team on form.

Collingwood are missing most of their midfield and have lost the last two weeks without Wells. They are now missing Wells, Pendlebury, De Goey (who was in career best form, playing awesome footy) and Travis Varcoe. They are significant outs, and make me quite confident of getting on top through the middle, even with the remaining quality of Adams (who is also under a concussion cloud), Treloar, Crisp, Sidebottom etc.

It's pretty simple for me, if we can't beat the pies, then we won't win the first final anyway.

Melb are one of two teams I'm not confident at all against in September. I reckon they have a side built that will stack up well in finals.
I kind of think the same, but it's got to click at the right time. I haven't seen enough of that killer instinct in them yet. We surrendered a 30 point lead to Brisbane, not good. We should've kept the heat on and won by 70.

Richmond on the other hand, you've been good at going the distance. Everyone is buying in to the winning culture I reckon. Whilst I think you're our best chance of a win in an elimination final, I'd like to be going into it with a big win against Collingwood this week.

I don't think it will be a cakewalk. Brisbane may be 18th on the ladder, but they're not the 18th best team on form.

Collingwood are missing most of their midfield and have lost the last two weeks without Wells. They are now missing Wells, Pendlebury, De Goey (who was in career best form, playing awesome footy) and Travis Varcoe. They are significant outs, and make me quite confident of getting on top through the middle, even with the remaining quality of Adams (who is also under a concussion cloud), Treloar, Crisp, Sidebottom etc.

It's pretty simple for me, if we can't beat the pies, then we won't win the first final anyway.
That's true. And we might not make it if WC roll Adelaide. Can't beat Collingwood then good luck week 1. Gee i hope we get Port or Richmond. Sydney can GAGF.

Somewhat one-eyed of me but I'm actually quietly confident going into this final series. We haven't been able to get our full team on the park all year, if we make it the extra week off allows us to rest and reset before an elimination final. We have troubled all the top sides this year, beating Port, Crows, Essendon, pushing Richmond and Geelong, our only real capitulation was GWS (vs Sydney we essentially played our reserve midfield due to injuries). Brayshaw is back and playing well, Viney due to return, Jones is starting to come into form and we now have our leading goal kicker from 2015-2016 back on the park as something of a wildcard.

As for emotion, it's all well and good to talk about Collingwood being emotional this week in possibly Buck's last game. I think it'll be far more emotional though to see guys like Nathan Jones, Nev Jetta and Tom McDonald celebrating finals footy after they stuck fat with the club through the dark years.

Flogstradamus After 11 Years, Melbourne Are Finally Back In The Finals *TOTY 2017*