Age Reports 15 Players Test Positive To Drug Use

jmerino said:
Oh please.Invasion of privacy.

They are breaking the law.Remember them.The things that bind us as a society.
I'm sure many respected politicians, musicians, lawyers, etc. would be under scrutiny if they were tested. What does it have to with AFL footy that it makes the players be exposed for taking it and not people of other industries?

Whether you are for or against drugs isn't the issue, its the issue of privacy and why the AFL think its their business to know this information. The AFL are not the police.

Its a very simple way to look at it to just right it off as illegal, an absurd amount of people are doing the exact thing that we are talking about every week, why should it just be the AFL guys that get the testing?

Vader said:
Alcohol is a very different matter. Consumed in a sensible manner it poses few if any risks, it's just when it is abused (excessive consumption) that it becomes dangerous.

In terms of health risks, there is no safe way to use cigarettes or any of the other so called "recreational" drugs.

Very bad example. Alcohol causes more deaths than most drugs in terms of drink driving.

So the athletes in the Comonwealth Games should not be tested.

AFL players are under the WADA code,and the SDA code.They are all aware of this.They are all counselled in what they can and can't ingest.A part of their employment contract is this code.

campbell said:
AFL players are under the WADA code,and the SDA code.They are all aware of this.They are all counselled in what they can and can't ingest.A part of their employment contract is this code.

And why is this the case? Because the AFL didn't want to give up the $X (3?) million a year in "game development" grants they receive from the federal government.

The AFL really doesn't care about this issue - except if it creates a bad image for the game. It will be interesting to see how the rules on "recreational" drug use evolves in terms of the next CBA, as well as if the AFL decides to try and modify any of the (federal government funding) enforced testing requirements. It may soon be in a position where it will find itself getting hurt by this adverse pubicity - above the value of the game development grants.....

It begs the questions

Should all employees and associated affilites within the AFL industry including those in the press also be subjected to periodic drug testing.

Seems strange that it is only the athletes that are tested considering it is non performance related.

For that matter, you would think the pollies should be the first to be tested considering there the ones who are actually running a country as oppossed to just kicking a ball around

The players have to give the SDA, 24 hr access to themsleves.They all know that.

Pity the AFl isn't like the Broncos.
The 1st positive they are counselled and get help.The 2nd worse.
The 3rd, you are out of the club, immediate sacking.

It's a part of their employment contract, they don't like the terms, don't play the game.

They are spolit brats.Wha wha,woe is me.What a load of crap.

Belgian_Tiger_Army said:
Yes, laws are important when they deal with people and belongings - Don't murder, don't rape, don't steal, don't commit fraud, don't incite hatred. That is the fabric of society which I support.

I will question why alcohol and cigarettes are legal, while other drugs are banned. I know I'd prefer to be in a room of people doing E, then a room full of drunk people.

Now, I'm not saying E (or other drugs) don't have issues. But one must ask is prohibition the cause of some of the problems? There doctors out there who are on record as to saying they'd prefer to have surgeons who are addicted to any number of "clean" drugs than an alcoholic operate on them.

I don't care about legality, role models, or the incredibly wealthy AFL receiving government hand outs (which is the real reason this stuff has come out!). I do care that players are educated about what they are doing, and the impacts of this on their life.

Excellent post. Drug testing during the off-season is a disgrace imo.

And fwiw i agree, i'd rather be in a room full of people 'on' E. At least there is no worry of some stranger king hitting you for no reason

Bestbird said:
It begs the questions

Should all employees and associated affilites within the AFL industry including those in the press also be subjected to periodic drug testing.

Seems strange that it is only the athletes that are tested considering it is non performance related.

For that matter, you would think the pollies should be the first to be tested considering there the ones who are actually running a country as oppossed to just kicking a ball around

Here here. All hypocritical commentators/journos to be tested at random during the year.

Pi$$-test the politicians once a week and see how they feel about their duty to the country then. Although it seems Howard & Co. could do with a superstrong dose of LSD or MDMA.

NikkiNoo said:
Bollocks yourself that these are victimless crimes - ask the families of addicts, ask the family here of the mother of 2 children who died last weekend from a bad ectasy dose. :mad:

This annoys me that people talk about these drugs as being harmless and it doesn't hurt anyone - well it does.

rant over
New rant

ok then, alcohol kills (banned), cigs kill (banned) 11 people klled in two seperate car crashes (banned)

ffs, a drug user would be the first to say drugs are not harmless.

IIRC there has been only 3 deaths from E in two years, and if the gov would allow testing this amount could be smaller

new rant over

jmerino said:
Oh please.Invasion of privacy.

They are breaking the law.Remember them.The things that bind us as a society.
so you would be in favour of goverment reading every email and personal letter you send, of following you around, perhaps cameras in your bedroom? why not? if you arent breaking the law, you have nothing to fear, do you?

we would all be securely bound by society, then

I dont have any problem at all with players using recreational drugs. It gives me the ********s when people go on about them being role models when you would never know if they were using these drugs if the results werent published in the paper.

bali 9 anyone. Schapelle Corby.

You guys just don't get it do you. Its part of what they have to do as players, its like ohyes, I can be tested 24 hrs a day, I have to do a weights session today.
its routine, its a part of beingand AFL footballer.

No excuses. Its illegal under the WADA code.Is it ok for them to be into blood doping, or steroids. All illegal.

NikkiNoo said:
Bollocks yourself that these are victimless crimes - ask the families of addicts, ask the family here of the mother of 2 children who died last weekend from a bad ectasy dose. :mad:

This annoys me that people talk about these drugs as being harmless and it doesn't hurt anyone - well it does.

rant over
how many of the footballers are addicts? how many of their mothers are now crying over the deaths of their footballing son.

they wanted to take drugs, they did, they were fine afterwards, and didnt hurt anyone while they did it. victimless. it was illegal to carry and consume, hence a crime. a victimless crime. i was talking about the footballers, dont get confused

i never said drugs were harmless. but the risks are calculated, just like drinking heavily.

as for the mother of 2....well the cause of her death is not known. she had never taken it before and it may have been an alergic reaction. she could have died from the same thing from a bee sting. and if it WAS a bad batch, would she be alive if that drug had have been manufactured in a legal, controlled environment, instead of some dodgy backroom? why hasnt any else died from it?

zero said:
as for the mother of 2....well the cause of her death is not known. she had never taken it before and it may have been an alergic reaction. she could have died from the same thing from a bee sting. and if it WAS a bad batch, would she be alive if that drug had have been manufactured in a legal, controlled environment, instead of some dodgy backroom? why hasnt any else died from it?

Pretty stupid to pop something in your mouth when you don't even know what it is. Only idiots do drugs.

Belgian_Tiger_Army said:
Did an alcohol related death of an AFL footballer change anything? Not one iota.
It wasnt the alcohol that killed him..it was the use of a motor vehicle while affected by alcohol that killed him.

Drop a bad E tablet and meltdown starts in 1.2.3.4..........5

PerthCrow said:
It wasnt the alcohol that killed him..it was the use of a motor vehicle while affected by alcohol that killed him.

Drop a bad E tablet and meltdown starts in 1.2.3.4..........5
MDMA poisoning or allergic reactions to something in the pill are very very rare.

deaths from E happen because people do it irresponsibly, like have 10 pills and mix them with speed and booze. just like the drunk ass hole that gets behind the wheel, its their own fault. and unlike that drunk ass hole, they endanger no one but themselves.

zero said:
MDMA poisoning or allergic reactions to something in the pill are very very rare.

deaths from E happen because people do it irresponsibly, like have 10 pills and mix them with speed and booze..
Are you a chemist? Or a police officer...where do you get this info from...or are you following the pushers line of ''' go on its rubbish what you've heard..go on its ok '' :rolleyes:

zero said:

deaths from E happen because people do it irresponsibly, like have 10 pills and mix them with speed and booze. .

*cough*

In addition to deaths caused directly by the drug, people have died by becoming overheated, sometimes through the combination of ecstasy use, vigorous dancing and hot humid venues, or from dilution hyponatremia, a flooding of the brain due to excess fluid consumption.

PerthCrow said:
Are you a chemist? Or a police officer...where do you get this info from...or are you following the pushers line of ''' go on its rubbish what you've heard..go on its ok '' :rolleyes:
where are YOU getting this information mate? its pretty obvious you havent had any experience whatsoever with this stuff, and your merely going off the bull******** over-the-top anti-drug propoganda you get.

answer me this then, if your so fantastically well informed, why arent i in meltdown 1.2.3.4..... 100 times? i was an ecstacy user for years in my early 20s and have taken pills at least that many times. iv been with many, many people who have taken pills and speed, and not me or a single one of those people has been in trouble of losing their life. not a single one has required medical attention (but there was always, always people around to get it if it was ever required. thats responsible use).

so, in my FIRST HAND knowledge of the drug, i estimate the chances of dying from taking E is FAR LESS than 1000 to 1.

now im closely related to a hospital emergency worker who has worked on ODs, and iv had friends who are addicted to various things (never E, which as far as i know, not addictive), and iv had friends that have been arrested. so iv got first hand knowledge of the negative side too.

tell me mate, where are YOU getting your info from?

least we cant blame the blues or pies, cos if we could then they'd have to be making finals, and neither club are :D

zero said:
where are YOU getting this information mate? its pretty obvious you havent had any experience whatsoever with this stuff, and your merely going off the bull******** over-the-top anti-drug propoganda you get.

answer me this then, if your so fantastically well informed, why arent i in meltdown 1.2.3.4..... 100 times? i was an ecstacy user for years in my early 20s and have taken pills at least that many times. iv been with many, many people who have taken pills and speed, and not me or a single one of those people has been in trouble of losing their life. not a single one has required medical attention (but there was always, always people around to get it if it was ever required. thats responsible use).

so, in my FIRST HAND knowledge of the drug, i estimate the chances of dying from taking E is FAR LESS than 1000 to 1.

now im closely related to a hospital emergency worker who has worked on ODs, and iv had friends who are addicted to various things (never E, which as far as i know, not addictive), and iv had friends that have been arrested. so iv got first hand knowledge of the negative side too.

tell me mate, where are YOU getting your info from?

hehe you ********ing druggo :D

PerthCrow said:
Clap Clap
hahahahahaha nice try mate. well done.

actually im a university educated professional, who works on the square mile and earns (in aussie dollars, and depending on bonus) a 6 figure salary. iv spent years travelling the globe, and in the next year, im going to south america to follow the inca trail to machu picchu, and im going back to the middle east.

of course, id be suprised if someone like you could have the imagination to get out of working at a servo in balga or wherever your boring ass is stuck, you close minded arseh*le.

:)

Age Reports 15 Players Test Positive To Drug Use