Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarkson II - signs 5 year contract w/ North Melbourne 19 August 2022 - news breaks p360

Apologies if this has been discussed before - there is no chance I will read a hundred thousand posts about dim sims and rice cookers to check - but there is no chance any announcement can be made before Hawthorn has played their final game this year.
Clarko is being paid by them until the end of this season - providing he does not accept another job. If he does, then Hawthorn does not need to pay him. He is not going to tear up a million (or whatever it is) for any reason.
As a bear that has worn no pants for many years, working with children all of that time, and is still universally beloved, you can take this as a fact.
I am not guessing. I am ITK.

Carry on.
We went to a show you did when we were kids. You scared my sister you brute.

I was OK though. Can you please get Wilbur Worm's autograph for me?

Honestly I thought he was done at Hawthorn a few years ago, and I copped plenty of flack on our board for questioning his decision making, his gameplan and our overall strategy moving forward.

I was privy to some behind the scenes information that I won't repeat in full on here, but It reinforced my opinion that it was time to move on from him back in 2020. It became painfully obvious to everyone that he was done in 2021. His tenure had a Sheedy like smell to it at this point.

My main issue is that I believed that our game plan had been well and truly found out found - it was slow, tired, low scoring and boring. Modern footy had moved on from this and we didn't have the players to execute it.

We simply had to change our entire direction and adapt, we has to blood youngsters and stop playing older average players like TOB, Hartigan, Howe, Shiels, Ceglar and Poppy. But they were mostly staples under Clarko last season.

In hindsight the top up plan was a failure. Having said that I don't blame him for trying when we all but had Coniglio over the line - until the dirty money came in last moment. Trading a lot of capital for Wingard and JOM works out if we are also bringing in Mitchell for a bargain price and bringing in Coniglio for nothing. Once Coniglio said no then our chances of signing Whitfield disappeared. If we had those two who knows what would have happened. We never had a chance of signing Tom Lynch.

Anyway - a year has passed an he may be totally refreshed. He's surely had time enough to realize that his game plan is done now, and may have new ideas.

The question is does he have the patience to oversee a rebuild, and if that's the case then North are surely the better option with all the young talent on the list.
Cheers mate - good insight there, much appreciated.

Probably already been discussed somewhere, but would anyone entertain the idea of James Hird as our coach?

Supplement scandal aside, I thought he did pretty well with the bombers at the time and they were on track to becoming somewhat decent. He obviously knows the game pretty well.

Would be a great redemption story for him to come to us and succeed. Feel like he definitely deserves a chance.

4AwxnvU8mRyfl8dNItLnMuY3Z9E=.gif

many will disagree but Don Pyke would be a good pick up and for a bargain, could probably even get some top level assistants around him.

many company's choose CEO's that have failed in the past as they've experienced first hand what not to do. Pyke took adelaide to a grand final in 2017 and from what i recall they were clear favourites. they were first on the ladder for 18 of 23 rounds and he started in coaching them in 2016. the question mark would be if he can develop a team from the start of a rebuild (no different to Lyon though).

Ok I just spoke to a source - he says he’s heard the deal for Clarko is $8 million over 5 years. Appears todays GWS announcement has validated Norths position and also lines up with a lot of the info already out about a possible contract signing. He’s hearing 48 hours or thereabouts for an announcement so that’s Thursday. He doesn’t believe Clarkson will be interested in Essendon after all the due diligence he’s done on North however the Essendon crap may have made Clarko/North move a couple of days earlier than they wanted.
As a final point please don’t shoot the messenger this is not my info I’m just passing this on - but my source has been sound so far. If it turns to crud what do you want me to do ………
That sounds like we've made an offer and Clarko is considering it. Essentially what the media have reported for a while now. So I'm guessing there was never any verbal agreement (unless it was an agreement to consider our offer) and if Clarko takes another job it is in no way a smear on his character.

Probably already been discussed somewhere, but would anyone entertain the idea of James Hird as our coach?

Supplement scandal aside, I thought he did pretty well with the bombers at the time, and were on track to becoming somewhat decent. He obviously knows the game pretty well.

Would be a great redemption story for him to come to us and succeed. Feel like he definitely deserves a chance.
Do we have a ban that carry’s beyond the grave?

Supplement scandal aside, I thought he did pretty well with the bombers at the time, and were on track to becoming somewhat decent. He obviously knows the game pretty well.

not funny middle finger GIF by Martellus Bennett

Clarko's final call should be based on an analysis of the prospective clubs respective BigFooty Team boards.

I've ventured into other boards on this website and they're like 3rd world countries in terms of quality, humour, passion and activity compared to this place.

What a place to be.
zRklCVFCqjYdlDAzOSGV5kWjewc=.gif

Apologies if this has been discussed before - there is no chance I will read a hundred thousand posts about dim sims and rice cookers to check - but there is no chance any announcement can be made before Hawthorn has played their final game this year.
Clarko is being paid by them until the end of this season - providing he does not accept another job. If he does, then Hawthorn does not need to pay him. He is not going to tear up a million (or whatever it is) for any reason.
As a bear that has worn no pants for many years, working with children all of that time, and is still universally beloved, you can take this as a fact.

Carry on.

It isn't how contract law works. He can sign an agreement to commence after the end of a current contract.

Imagine. Just imagine what this thread is going to do until weeks end.

Thursday night into Friday morning is going to be absolutely mayhem. I might have to work from home. We will break this website guaranteed Chief
Chief to the server supplier...

I Want More GIF

Carry on.
Id love to believe you... but a bear without pants on a children's show really isnt exactly a credible source....

100% more credible than Brad Hardie though

This is going to sound absurd, especially given my posting history 🤣, but I just had a chat with Sonja in the lobby at work. I had no idea we worked in the same building until this morning and my jaw dropped given I was up till 2am reading every bit of info on the clarko status.

I told her I was a big fan of her work - she was definitely surprised I recognised her. Asked who i supported and was pleasantly surprised when I responded with “North”. We went to get in separate lifts (the building has one of those lift systems that sends people in different lifts for different floors). Just as she got in she turned to me and said with a cheeky smile - “let’s just get through this week 😉”.

Now before you all go jumping the shark - this doesn’t mean anything substantial - but it was nice to see our President is as friendly in person as she has appeared to be on TV. I’m holding my faith and I reckon she’s a good operator #inSonjaweTrust
Thank you, this will provide me with sustenance until 23:59 on Sunday!

They were on PEDS. If they didn't do well then he'd be a total flop. And come to think of it....

I know that this is a stressful situation, but lets not take things too far, ok. The only thing Hird deserves is a proper penalty, such as to be banned from all sporting organisations for life.
Anyways, he will end back up at *