News Alberton Oval Redevelopment

Yep the renders show the bowling club is going nowhere. Its that grass area that used to be the croquet club, as well as behind the goals, that will be used. KT said yesterday about the oval being able to be adjusted to MCG size. I'm not really sure what that means but I think they are trying to set up a space big enough that they can have save 1.3 ovals, not 2 full ovals and shift goal posts and have a area marked out that replicates the MCG area of 160m x 141m boundary to boundary dimensions. Alberton Oval's boundary dimensions at the moment is 170m x 130m. not sure how they are going to make it 'fatter."

Those renders initially didn't make sense, so I expanded the 1st one Alyx put up.

View attachment 468487

My first thought was they were going change the orientation of the ground from north south to east west, because the building in the bottom right hand corner of the photo looks more like the Alan Scott HQ than Quinn stand.

So as its still north south then bottom right hand corner is Quinn stand, then the Williams stand then a massive new building is going up and they are going to get rid of the bowling green - which looks like the Aboriginal Centre of Excellence. It looks like they will have more buildings to the left of that and behind the southern goals.

Then there is a decent grassed mound in the scoreboard pocket and half forward flank. Koch said - enable vacant ground behind the oval to be incorporated into a secondary training field, but that render looks like the field is to left of the southern HFF and wing but that might just be left as a blank space by the architect.

And this New High Perfomance Centre will be built to the left of the existing Alan Scott Centre. They will have to remove and replant the Lone Pine Meorial.

I tooka Google Earth picture and rotating the orientation to compare it to the render.

View attachment 468492

Field is fatter. I think they achieved that by getting the boundaries closer to the club building on the bottom left.

I approve being able to replicate MCG's dimensions.

Field is fatter. I think they achieved that by getting the boundaries closer to the club building on the bottom left.

I approve being able to replicate MCG's dimensions.

This is what was written by The Advertiser's political reporter in the story about the announcement.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/...e/news-story/9650dcb010ee3f203b65bc0b1103f4f3
It also involves creating a secondary oval at the site — so one field could be the same dimensions as the MCG. It is aimed toward making the Power more familiar with the grand final venue.

The club's announcement they said - Alberton Oval would be slightly realigned to enable vacant ground behind the oval to be incorporated into a secondary training field.

This is where I'm unsure how they will do this because they can't create a second full size field, there isn't enough room as can be seen from the Google satellite photo I posted, so they have to some how make the existing one "fatter." Those renders aren't even near 100% accurate in my opinion, they are just a guide.

I think they have to move the goals after readjusting the current vacant ground to make a temporary oval the MCG size of 160m x 141m before we play games at the MCG. Alberton Oval at 170m x 130m and Adelaide Oval 167m x 124m where we play 12 games + home finals, it doesn't make sense to permanently make it MCG size.

This is what was written by The Advertiser's political reporter in the story about the announcement.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/...e/news-story/9650dcb010ee3f203b65bc0b1103f4f3
It also involves creating a secondary oval at the site — so one field could be the same dimensions as the MCG. It is aimed toward making the Power more familiar with the grand final venue.

The club's announcement they said - Alberton Oval would be slightly realigned to enable vacant ground behind the oval to be incorporated into a secondary training field.

This is where I'm unsure how they will do this because they can't create a second full size field, there isn't enough room as can be seen from the Google satellite photo I posted, so they have to some how make the existing one "fatter." Those renders aren't even near 100% accurate in my opinion, they are just a guide.

I think they have to move the goals after readjusting the current vacant ground to make a temporary oval the MCG size of 160m x 141m before we play games at the MCG. Alberton Oval at 170m x 130m and Adelaide Oval 167m x 124m where we play 12 games + home finals, it doesn't make sense to permanently make it MCG size.

The new field should be 170m x 141m. Then, it would be possible to explore those three configurations: Alberton, AO, MCG.

That should be possible at its widest point but the northern end might not be able to be MCG identical width because of constraints of buildings.

Apologies for the shitty MS Paint file but the top of the diagram is the southern end of the oval and supposedly that end will be part of the new realigned training field. That area is about 15m deep, so the goals could be moved back 10-12m closer to that boundary and goals at the northern end goals moved forward by a similar distance ie to the end of the red shaded area at the bottom of the picture. The buildings constrain the width at that northern end. So the southern 2/3rds of the ground can be widened by 5m or so on both sides, as per the red shading, maybe a bit wider on the left hand side and a bit less than 5m on the right hand side.

upload_2018-3-11_22-59-53.png

So, do we just move back into Ethalton while construction is underway??
The oval wont be that affected, as they are adding to the sides not ripping up the middle and the main player facility wont be touched a new one is being added to at the back of the existing one, so no real need.

It’s a training field, not training oval. I reckon it will be an AFLX ground that the players can use to work on speed of transition etc and corridor use.

The secondary field is this part, isn’t it?

If so it does look pretty close to a soccer pitch when taking in some of the main oval, which is probably why there’s no dividing fence between the two (i.e. flexible configurations).

2ACC13F7-9AC6-4D21-B2E8-CA4C673ADCE7.jpeg

Daniel Norton was asked about the development today on 5AA. He said that secondary training field would be built on the old Croquet Club area. That is the grass area in the middle left hand side of the picture below. The renders suggest it will be extended all the way to the oval, which makes sense given that terrace area is rarely used, so make better use of it and move the scoreboard, and the toilets behind the scoreboard closer to the existing training facility.

upload_2018-3-12_15-7-8.png

Looks like we can kiss a lot of the car parking space goodbye. We're gonna need some buses!
A big chunk of it will go but they will still have plenty of parking for staff.

Those renders initially didn't make sense, so I expanded the 1st one Alyx put up.

View attachment 468487

My first thought was they were going change the orientation of the ground from north south to east west, because the building in the bottom right hand corner of the photo looks more like the Alan Scott HQ than Quinn stand.

So as its still north south then bottom right hand corner is Quinn stand, then the Williams stand then a massive new building is going up and they are going to get rid of the bowling green - which looks like the Aboriginal Centre of Excellence. It looks like they will have more buildings to the left of that and behind the southern goals.
The extra buildings are accomodation quarters for academy members. My mate has been drawing up these designs for several months and explained they were building these dormitories as well with the aboriginal academy building.

What doesn't make sense about those buildings is how big they are for that area behind the goals. Unless the club is looking at buying one of the two houses on Fifth avenue south of the bowling club and one or more of the houses on Colston street. The only way I can see us getting an MCG wide with oval is moving the goals south. If I'm wrong about that, and it doesn't get pushed back south and they buy 14 Fifth Avenue then it makes sense. Or maybe the renders are just out of proportion.

Must be an election coming, our announcement reminds me of the Footy Park redevelopment one.. it's all pie in the sky ideas around election time.

This is not pie in the sky.

The secondary field is this part, isn’t it?

If so it does look pretty close to a soccer pitch when taking in some of the main oval, which is probably why there’s no dividing fence between the two (i.e. flexible configurations).

View attachment 468892
But, it has to be asked, will there be a roof?
Our club announced Shanghai and against all odds delivered Shanghai. I believe this is no different.

What’s the chance of the new sponsor being linked to the development?

RBHPC?

This is not pie in the sky.

It currently is. No funding, no commitments except a vote 1 for Jay. I could be mistaken but it seems this election his re-election campaign has been promising building community things everywhere he goes so add ours to the pile of pre-election commitments and I'd be wary about being looked after in what I presume is a safe labor seat.

This is a lot different to playing in China, a lot.

News Alberton Oval Redevelopment