JT_the_Man
Draft King
Yeah, Boyd is good... But they could've picked someone more deserving in that spot, surely.
I don't really think pendulums has a specific collective noun. I was wondering why since you raised it but I guess it's just as simple as it being unlikely that it would get much use. I mean I've never met anyone planning a trip to Costco for savings on bulk pendulums or people who save up to go on safari in order to see the pendulums in their native habitat.The selectors make some puzzling decisions. They seem to swing between weight of numbers meaning something and not meaning something like a bunch of pendulums. Sorry I don't know if pendulums has its own collective noun. They also fluctuate on picking players on position vs performance/reputation. I was pleased that Andrew Gaff for example made the squad because even though I don't think he is in the best 22 players for the year he is a genuine wingman. In the end they opted for players who were better performed that play different roles.
RE: Riewoldt, I don't consider him a mid. He played this season as a forward / wingman. He took 222 marks which is a marvellous effort, that - and about twice as many as the next best mid, but it's not a metric midfielders are usually measured on. Dangerfield had 112 for the year, does anyone care? No. Riewoldt had 40 tackles and 12 clearances, appalling relative to other mids. Not because he's a dud footballer, but because he just doesn't play as a mid that contests stoppages and centre bounces - it's not his go.
IMO he was in the running for a spot on the wing or HFF. On the wings they opted for Sloane and Hannebery who are modern midfielders that play inside and out. Sloane had 500+ touches, Hannebery nearly 700. Both were in triple digits for clearances and tackles with a roughly 50/50 split between uncontested and contested ball. Neither are noted goalkickers. Riewoldt got 436 touches with a 3:1 split of uncontested to contested ball. Compare that to Gaff who I mentioned above who got it 600 times with a 3:1 split like Riewoldt. He isn't a big clearance winner and tackles about as often as Scott Cummings did.
As far as a HF spot goes, I think Riewoldt and Greene had comparable seasons. If Riewoldt was 183cm and not 193cm I reckon he'd probably be in, but the side looks unbalanced with him + the 3 talls they already picked even though he's played in a team with 2/3 other talls all season. If Roo was picked over one of the key forwards kicking 60+ there'd be an uproar. I think the Cyril hype has reached absurd levels but I'm pleased to see 3 smalls who genuinely played forward named. Betts and Cyril are both forward pockets but it's really just a 3 tall / 3 small mix however they line up.
I'd happily have Roo on the bench over Martin who had a good season but probably gets the most junk possessions of anyone.
Suggest you misread / misinterpreted my post/s.It amazes me how little people know about the game. Cyril has been our best player this year. Has had a huge say in many of our results and has been ridiculously consistent for the position he plays.
Also seeming stats are so important to you, how about tackling? Cyril is 28th overall. The only other recognised forwards in the top 50 in tackling are Mayne (29th) and Blair (39th).
I would assume one of the main important "stats" for small forwards are tackling numbers. Alongside his goal tally and overall impacts on games he has had a stellar year.
Sick of people defining certain players by stats. So many meaningless possessions players can get these days.
Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
Because Hodge never complains to the umps does he?
Agreed.. just usual main board shite. Him and danger together have been very very good. No issue with him being in there and shuey not.. bout right for mine.Cats bias alert: I honestly didn't realise the extent of the antipathy towards Selwood before reading this thread (I know all the ducking stuff, but this is a bit more than that).
My view is that he's had a great season the quality of which has been overshadowed a little bit by Dangerfield - but the guy who gets it to Dangerfield is more times than not Selwood. He deserves his spot IMHO albeit there have been some great individual midfield performances this year and a fair few people could claim to be hard done by.
Last night I was watching the Footy Show and Maxy Gawn said if you're taking a shit, and it's a "clean snap", you don't need to wipe your arse.
That's captain material right there.
Selwood can gagf.
Where's the Laird option?
Because Hodge never complains to the umps does he?
Face it mate all players, ALL players complain to the umpires
Well the idea is that they choose the best of best each year....regardless of what team they play forCould have easily fitted the likes of Merret,Crips etc if the team wasn't full of Sydney players.
Joke that that the AA team is dominated by players from 1 team.
I agree with you, I didn't see that comingSurprised that no one is upset about Selwood in the side tbh.
Captains gotta yell ugly from time to time!pendlebury has no reputation?
You could only say that if you watch every game every week. Is this true?This years team a further example that the selectors don't watch every game each week, even half each week would be a stretch.
For the poll? Maybe read each word - especially the last word.Where's the Laird option?
fixed that for you.Enright will most likely finish 2nd in the Carji behind Brownlow Medalist Dangerfield in a team that finished 2nd on the ladder due to an easy draw for finishing 10th last year. His spot in the AA team was clear as day.
You know you are talking about the team that has the best record against current top-8 sides right? Still, it was nice of you to openly and honestly display your ignorance to all the good folk of BigFooty.fixed that for you.
Does that negate the fact that you had an easier draw due to your 2015 ladder position?You know you are talking about the team that has the best record against current top-8 sides right? Still, it was nice of you to openly and honestly display your ignorance to all the good folk of BigFooty.
True that.Surprised that no one is upset about Selwood in the side tbh.
No but it negates your point that we finished 2nd due to an easy draw. The teams that gave us the most trouble this year were bottom 10 sides. Pies, Blues, Saints, nearly Richmond.Does that negate the fact that you had an easier draw due to your 2015 ladder position?
So you're saying you would have more wins against premier contenders than wooden-spooners? I don't get the logic. You would be more likely to lose against good teams and your fixture had less of them. All it would of taken was 1 more game against Sydney at the SCG as opposed to one of the lesser teams you won against twice and you would likely not be in the top 4.No but it negates your point that we finished 2nd due to an easy draw. The teams that gave us the most trouble this year were bottom 10 sides. Pies, Blues, Saints, nearly Richmond.
Or if we got Hawthorn twice we'd have finished a game clear on top.So you're saying you would have more wins against premier contenders than wooden-spooners? I don't get the logic. You would be more likely to lose against good teams and your fixture had less of them. All it would of taken was 1 more game against Sydney at the SCG as opposed to one of the lesser teams you won against twice and you would likely not be in the top 4.
Buddy too, but he had a cracking year coming back from his hiatus stronger than ever. He and JJK were locks anyway. I had Gunston in my team, but on reflection I think like Shuey and Gaff had a few games that weren't quite there so missed out.True that.
Far from his best year.
I think there are a few players that get aa nominations by default (i.e. They need to have a horror year to not get it, rather than the other way around). Judd and pav were in this category.