Injury All things COVID-19 - including the impact on Season 2020

It's going to be bad. I'd just got in a position to buy a place. Now I'll likely end up losing my job and have to move back in with Mum :$

A bit of hope on the medical side in the short to medium term. Perhaps this drug can be created to cure coronavirus effects. If the Australian reports are true in 3 months time it potentially could be available.

Still that is not a preventative measure we all want a vaccine to go about normality. 8-12 months away would be a more realistic estimate.

But if the science is correct that would drastically alter and take the fear factor out of the initial longer term projections. Won't do alot in the short term but hope is a very strong factor for the general public.

Our cases are at a reasonable level currently all countries had a sharp spike Australia will be no different.

If I could have an unrealistic guess with no merit maybe 0.25% of the population could have reported cases after the peak anywhere between 4-6k cases.

It could rise to 1% with unreported cases with mild symptoms.

That would just be the first wave though the future will be dictated by all the factors outbreaks, mutation, medical advances, vaccines

How exactly does it spread to enough people to get to herd immunity in one year with preventative measures? China has had this thing for 3 months and only 0.1 percent of the population have it.

ps. Do we even have evidence yet that you become immune?

The science is weak but 14% of recovered people have tested positive for coronavirus twice in somewhere I cannot pronounce Guangdong. But they need to study it properly before they can confirm it allegedly it could simply be an error in testing at this point.

But at present it's more than possible.

Which to my simple mind makes sense considering this is an influenza that mutates. What I wonder is can it come back in a slightly different form but I believe that takes mountains of data analysed to work out

Hmmm.... starting to think Greta is behind covid-19, or maybe Mother Nature had enough of politicians doing shit all about the environment and took matters into her own hands

Satellite Images Reveal A Dramatic Drop In Pollution During The Coronavirus Quarantine...

...Scientists and researchers are reporting a significant decrease in NO2 levels above Italy:

The said the same thing in China a few weeks ago. Apparently their pollution is starting to normalise again, factories are starting to run.

The science is weak but 14% of recovered people have tested positive for coronavirus twice in somewhere I cannot pronounce Guangdong. But they need to study it properly before they can confirm it allegedly it could simply be an error in testing at this point.

Which to my simple mind makes sense considering this is an influenza that mutates. What I wonder is can it come back in a slightly different form but I believe that takes mountains of data analysed to work out
I was under the impression there was two main strains of this outbreak. Could be the second strain that's causing that. But I ain't for sure.

They can't confirm it yet from my understanding the theory is a stronger strain and a weaker strain L & S.

But I believe that would be debated, or you need to analyze a lot more data which apparently can a long time

I wonder if the AFL will consider quarter full stadiums, eg - gaps in bays and rows for example... something to satisfy something similar to the 1.5 metre rule.

I mean at a later point in time.

Empty stadiums, 17 game season, some teams with COVID-19, others without... We will see massive betting swings on Premiership betting during the year.

A bit of hope on the medical side in the short to medium term. Perhaps this drug can be created to cure coronavirus effects. If the Australian reports are true in 3 months time it potentially could be available.

Still that is not a preventative measure we all want a vaccine to go about normality. 8-12 months away would be a more realistic estimate.

But if the science is correct that would drastically alter and take the fear factor out of the initial longer term projections. Won't do alot in the short term but hope is a very strong factor for the general public.

Our cases are at a reasonable level currently all countries had a sharp spike Australia will be no different.

If I could have an unrealistic guess with no merit maybe 0.25% of the population could have reported cases after the peak anywhere between 4-6k cases.

It could rise to 1% with unreported cases with mild symptoms.

That would just be the first wave though the future will be dictated by all the factors outbreaks, mutation, medical advances, vaccines

Hate to be the bearer of negative tidings, but US, UK and worldwide labs will need to test any yet to be developed vaccine on humans, a process that can take up to ten years to ratify. Of course boofhead Trump, complete lying ignoramus as he is, has boasted and instructed a vaccine is to be ready in 18 months. This is simply not possible, even with all the brains and billions at work. Two years would be a fluke, with everything going right, including not actually worsening the cases in human trials. Obviously demand will swamp supply, but that doesn't stop Trump from demanding the US get any vaccine first, from whichever country produces it. They have found that taking anti inflammatories facilitates the disease in those who are COVID-19 positive, so best talk (by phone) to your GP if worried.

I wonder if the AFL will consider quarter full stadiums, eg - gaps in bays and rows for example... something to satisfy something similar to the 1.5 metre rule.

I mean at a later point in time.

Maths challenge social distancing extreme: One person per MCG row and boxes. Massive guess ? 5k could go if the 500 rule wasn't in effect. Just not me.

Hate to be the bearer of negative tidings, but US, UK and worldwide labs will need to test any yet to be developed vaccine on humans, a process that can take up to ten years to ratify. Of course boofhead Trump, complete lying ignoramus as he is, has boasted and instructed a vaccine is to be ready in 18 months. This is simply not possible, even with all the brains and billions at work. Two years would be a fluke, with everything going right, including not actually worsening the cases in human trials. Obviously demand will swamp supply, but that doesn't stop Trump from demanding the US get any vaccine first, from whichever country produces it. They have found that taking anti inflammatories facilitates the disease in those who are COVID-19 positive, so best talk (by phone) to your GP if worried.

Emergency powers would see trials rushed through. 10 years is laughable to suggest. Apparently they are within 3 months of having something to do human trials on.

Edit- just read they are within 30 days of trials for a vaccine. 18 months to have it approved for use if successful.

A vaccine will be pushed through because it is an epidemic.

They have already begun clinical trials on humans in the U.S.

They already did a lot of work on a vaccine for sars and mers which has an 80% similarity.

8-12 months is real possibility, the U.S politicans will say its 3 to 4 months which isn't true

18 months is extremely possible and likely

If thats true then society is screwed until we have a vaccine. Im struggling to understand how its not going to fall apart if this thing last more then 4 months. businesses are all going to end up bankrupt given all the debt that needs to be paid.

Or we could just accept that money isn't real for a little while and not worry about debt...

How exactly does it spread to enough people to get to herd immunity in one year with preventative measures? China has had this thing for 3 months and only 0.1 percent of the population have it.

ps. Do we even have evidence yet that you become immune?
The fact that it doesn't have 100% fatality rates means you gain immunity, otherwise no one would recover. The rumours about people getting it twice were just people who hadn't fully recovered finding excuses for having broken quarantine.

On the infection rates maybe you're right but it depends on quarantine. When I say we start you get herd immunity I mean the thing that starts pushing the infection rate down naturally so we're starting to see that effect anytime after it peaks. You've probably seen the Washington post simulation below:

China has had it 3 months but was on lockdown for 2 so that infection rate was basically off one month of spreading. The thing about exponential equations is that once things kick off it doesn't take long to hit incredible numbers. But yeah it depends how successfully we contain it

The fact that it doesn't have 100% fatality rates means you gain immunity, otherwise no one would recover. The rumours about people getting it twice were just people who hadn't fully recovered finding excuses for having broken quarantine.

On the infection rates maybe you're right but it depends on quarantine. When I say we start you get herd immunity I mean the thing that starts pushing the infection rate down naturally so we're starting to see that effect anytime after it peaks. You've probably seen the Washington post simulation below:

China has had it 3 months but was on lockdown for 2 so that infection rate was basically off one month of spreading. The thing about exponential equations is that once things kick off it doesn't take long to hit incredible numbers. But yeah it depends how successfully we contain it
But the whole world is going into lockdown to varying degrees and that slows spread. The northern summer months will also slow spread. So i dont see how we get to herd immunity for a year.

if we have preventative measures for 4 months the world economy will completely collapse. Its going to be way worse then the gfc.

this is going to be the biggest social change since world war 2.

i think this could be averted if we adopted the uk approach and try to let it spread as quickly as possible to the young amd healthy. But that deosnt look like its happening.

Work is going to be fun for the next few weeks.

Since the business I work for has decided to split our department up into three different sites, I'm back in Geelong for who knows how long. In addition to that, we have a call centre in Manila which has essentially been closed down until the 14th of April, so not only are we taking our normal calls, we're also helping out by taking the odd basic billing enquiry calls. And here I was thinking I'd got away from doing that. At least we can transfer the more complex calls. :)

Positive signs

Melbourne researchers have figured out how the human body fights off coronavirus, sparking hopes of a possible vaccine or even a cure.

In Queensland, scientists have found two commonly used drugs seem to help fight off the illness, with several patients testing virus-free after using the medications.

Yet another study has found healthy people who contract the virus can expect to be clear within three days.

Raced off to the local Woolies for the big pensioner panic buy this morning armed with 300 odd dollars from yesterdays pokies winnings, I was one of the first in the doors only to be greeted with empty shelves,trying my hardest I could only manage to spend around $30,NO:date roll, hand sanitizers,sardines,baked beans spagetti rice bugger all meat tin fruit cereal flour,so no staples. “It’s looking crook,” said Daniel Croke;

I think it's Wednesday night they were going to start closing early to restock shelves - hopefully that means full shelves for Thursday morning

I rang local woolies to ask does pension card get excepted they said no only senior cards and disabled pricks