All things Politics

Well in everything in life there is a line that divides between affordable and non affordable.
That line is being changed.
And that line is already artificial by the way borrowing on a second property is handled. Government tax breaks for second properties are keeping people out of being first home buyers. Why aren’t they given incentives like this?
The line to invest has always been a floating one, don’t whinge when suddenly you are on the wrong side of it.
Correct, always has been and always will be.

I used to be an unaffordable, now can afford, it's not like your born to be forever affording or not. For some it's easier to get there than others, that's life, life isn't fair - that is certain.

Costs like land tax, food, petrol, supply chain you name it, always get passed onto the the end user.

In this case the tenant does, however like I said, I don't wanna raise the rent but maybe forced to. Guess that makes me a bad person right?

Neg gearing is not the panacea that you seem to be making it out, the property value is what the attraction to property is, not neg gearing. Nor is it the driver of property value, that would be a moronic view to take.

There are many factors that put housing out of reach to those at the bottom of the socio economic table, not just tax breaks for property investors.

Ha!
Jealousy much?
One of the all time great Premiers.
That’s why people are flocking to Victoria
and Melbourne is set to become the biggest city in Australia.
Even interstates love our Dan. No matter what Murdoch says!
throw up true detective GIF

Well in everything in life there is a line that divides between affordable and non affordable.
That line is being changed.
And that line is already artificial by the way borrowing on a second property is handled. Government tax breaks for second properties are keeping people out of being first home buyers. Why aren’t they given incentives like this?
The line to invest has always been a floating one, don’t whinge when suddenly you are on the wrong side of it.

In the BF tradition of posters who can’t play spouting footy wisdom, we also have someone like you talking about investment.

The thing that gets me about the current system is we are creating something like what is happening in california now....a significant percentage of people living in the gutter.

We had our couple of years without students to cover the part time economy and now it appear that either we have created a percentage of people who dont want to work, or we have employers who just dont want to train anyone. So the current unemployed are headed for the gutter.

Australian economy is now about digging holes which will be done more by robots or service industries which will be taken up by robots and building houses. Any home-grown intellectual property is sold off for a few million as multinationals hoover it up. Even the wide brown land itself is becoming less of an attraction for travellers and millionaires to live in once countries overseas become unliveable.

And we dont have enough homes at a time when we sell them to people overseas, or give tax breaks to investors, or allow a huge number lie vacant for airbnb.

I just wonder how the system is going to keep propped up when there will only be a small percentage of people working and/or living off capital. You can only imagine that welfare will go first, then health and subsidised education systems and then the pension. Some people say that the populace will need a basic cash benefit to survive but those with money will ask why if these people are not consuming and supporting the system. Of course, we might be lucky and not see the end of it because other things like climate change might get us first. I'm hoping that I'll be gone by that stage.

The state ALP narrative is to point to the Reserve Bank and the pandemic (27% of the burden) as the major reasons for the state finding itself on a debt cliff.

73% of the state's debt has nothing to do with the pandemic.

The way the ALP has communicated on the debt is politically clever (and so were their tax targets) but numbers are important.

So now we are subsidising the slumlords to the tune of 50 billion a year!
Got to stop this rort now.
I dont understand where the rort bit is. Investment classes do need to be treated on a equal playing field. Agree the cgt discount should be amended.

Happy to discuss, without being accused of a capitalist fat cat

I dont understand where the rort bit is. Investment classes do need to be treated on a equal playing field. Agree the cgt discount should be amended.

I have no interest in watching this discussion play out without such namecalling

Your words did little more than divorce you from the proletariat.

Come the revolution, you've earned yourself a one-way express ticket to the reeducation academy.

I will tell you that the wider Aboriginal community will be voting YES.

Worth listening to (7 minutes)

Grandmother Mulara shares her thoughts on the voice. She is an initiated Lore / Law Woman and also holds a Juris Doctor. She has studied Constitutional Law.

As we know, First Nations ppl are the sovereigns of this country and have never ceded their sovereignty.

She says that, in 1973, the founding constitution was changed, illegally. There was no referendum. We didn’t vote to agree on it. She says it is legal fiction.

She says that Aust became a ‘corporation’. Parliament became ‘sovereign’ and a Queen of Australia was invented. No such queen exists.

She says that the constitution on which we’re being asked to vote is the post 1973 version, which is a charter - a rule book for the corporation.

She says that a yes vote will mean that the original sovereigns, First Nations ppl, will cede sovereignty.

Parliament will have a greater say over them.

She says that most funding for First Nations ppl goes to ‘corporate blacks’, who are operating under the ‘corporate constitution’, where Parliament is sovereign, not First Nations ppl.

Very little funding goes to First Nations ppl who are living traditionally, caring for Country, in accordance with natural law.

Yes, First Nations ppl should be in the constitution - the original, founding, genuine constitution; not the 1973 corporate one, which is just rules for the corporation.

She says that a yes vote will put First Nations’ ppl’s sovereignty under parliament’s sovereignty.

She invites all Australians to walk w them into a new Dreaming.

She says our (questionable) parliament must not have any sovereignty over their original, natural lore / law.

She says we are being played emotionally. Most ppl will want what’s right for the original ppl. But we’re being lied to.

Grandmother Mulara shares her thoughts on the voice. She is an initiated Lore / Law Woman and also holds a Juris Doctor. She has studied Constitutional Law.

As we know, First Nations ppl are the sovereigns of this country and have never ceded their sovereignty.

She says that, in 1973, the founding constitution was changed, illegally. There was no referendum. We didn’t vote to agree on it. She says it is legal fiction.

She says that Aust became a ‘corporation’. Parliament became ‘sovereign’ and a Queen of Australia was invented. No such queen exists.

She says that the constitution on which we’re being asked to vote is the post 1973 version, which is a charter - a rule book for the corporation.

She says that a yes vote will mean that the original sovereigns, First Nations ppl, will cede sovereignty.

She says that most funding for First Nations ppl goes to ‘corporate blacks’, who are operating under the ‘corporate constitution’, where Parliament is sovereign, not First Nations ppl.

Very little funding goes to First Nations ppl who are living traditionally, caring for Country, in accordance with natural law.

Yes, First Nations ppl should be in the constitution - the original, founding, genuine constitution; not the 1973 corporate one, which is just rules for the corporation.

She says that a yes vote will put First Nations’ ppl’s sovereignty under parliament’s sovereignty.

She says our (questionable) parliament must not have any sovereignty over their original, natural lore / law.

She says we are being played emotionally. Most ppl will want what’s right for the original ppl. But we’re being lied to.

The only way this amendment will get up, and change will occur, is if we put aside all this “sovereign” stuff.
You can argue all you like about whether Australia has a Queen (king now) but history shows we have had her and her ancestors.
What the yes campaign needs to do is concentrate unpicking the No campaign lies and disinformation . Not muddy the waters with historical grievances.

The video is proven to be misinformation.
Save yourself 7 minutes.

Nonsense video

I had to laugh when i got to the rupert news site and read "Nurses, teachers and even lawyers are now turning up at food banks in Australia because they are struggling to afford groceries as the cost of living crisis mounts."

LOL lawyers....I can see the bloke representing the vic cross guy lining up for some welfare...."mate, I'm skint. I cant afford the pool guy to come around and the family hasnt been to snow since last month"

I had to laugh when i got to the rupert news site and read "Nurses, teachers and even lawyers are now turning up at food banks in Australia because they are struggling to afford groceries as the cost of living crisis mounts."

LOL lawyers....I can see the bloke representing the vic cross guy lining up for some welfare...."mate, I'm skint. I cant afford the pool guy to come around and the family hasnt been to snow since last month"
lay off me i'm starving chris farley GIF

It gets better later in the article. The case study lawyer is rich. He's skimming money off the poor folk and overcharging his fellow rich. He has tons of money. Then he has two divorces and turns into a drunk and he's incredulous that people will feed him and charge him nothing.....he would have called them suckers in his earlier life

Two things for PM Albanese to address.
One being a minister caught in a lie. Sack her, immediately.
That shows strength and integrity.
Two is this;
Tax system is entirely broken when people in this wage bracket use the system to avoid paying even one cent in taxation while the average Joe continues to pay full share, and even more this year as the low income tax rebate has ended.

Two things for PM Albanese to address.
One being a minister caught in a lie. Sack her, immediately.
That shows strength and integrity.
Two is this;
Tax system is entirely broken when people in this wage bracket use the system to avoid paying even one cent in taxation while the average Joe continues to pay full share, and even more this year as the low income tax rebate has ended.

i saw this article. I think it indicates that those in charge have got things exactly where they want them. Actually, there's been an increasing trend since the financial crisis. It's deliberate and by design...so I cant see how they would consider it broken

....Two is this;
Just get the hardest ars#d auditors on their case until they and their miserable tax "advisors" bleed from their toenails and squeal for mercy - then send more auditors.

charge a flat tax with no deductions. get rid of trusts. make it illegal to establish companies in tax free locations. tax luzury goods more. employ people on incentive based salaries based on how much tax they can recover. change the laws and tax rulings to simplify the system