Am I the only one feeling Gutted?

Scragger54

Oct 10, 2007
Hillside
Before the game, I would have been happy with a 4 goal loss to the cats, but I just feel absolutley gutted!:(

Maybe it's because I know we are better than the crap we have dished out for the last few weeks (Baring Adelaide Game). For Christ's sake, we are a top 4 team, there is no doubt about that, but we need to consistantly put in 4 Qtrs of the type of footy we did in the last half of the 3rd Qtr and all of the last Qtr. That's what St.Kilda have finally done!

If we are to be a genuine contender, we need to be hard and agressive like we did last night and not take any team for granted, like we did against Melbourne and West Coast - Week In week out.

Let's hope that we can continue on from last nights game and at least pencil in the next 4 matches which are all winnable. After that we have 8 of our last 9 games at Ethihad Stadium - Hoping to be 9 & 4 in 4 more weeks, and then pick up as many games as possible after that!

No, you're not. It does seem like others are seeing the positives, as am I, but man I woulda loved to win that :(

We were robbed, and I feel robbed. Absolutely gutted. I've never been so upset after a game, and that includes '97.

Still fill gutted this morning. We did deserve to win in the end.

However I would not go as far as the above statement on two fronts.

1. Always worse when you get run down after having a big lead (rather than come short chasing the game)

2. No GF on the line last night.

We're all taking it hard, mate.

On the other hand, I've been gutted for years that we've been a club that "beats the premiers every year"...in home & away games. But we have never figured much at the business end of the season. It's like beating these sides unexpectedly was good enough. Mediocrity.

Hopefully the Dogs will now play focussed and angry and start smashing sides. Then hunt all teams in the finals. Surely now the belief is there!

The job isn't done until we run around the G waving the cup. They need to remember the hurt of last night until that's a reality!

Do it, Doggies!

Still fill gutted this morning. We did deserve to win in the end.

However I would not go as far as the above statement on two fronts.

1. Always worse when you get run down after having a big lead (rather than come short chasing the game)

2. No GF on the line last night.
I perhaps didn't make it clear, which I should have done.

Immediately after that game, like for the two minutes after the siren last night, I was almost in tears. To fight that hard and yet again miss chances was hard to swallow.

In '97, I think my initial thought was that I was in too much shock to digest what had just happened. The pain was excruciating about twenty minutes afterwards.

Twenty minutes after last night's loss I was in a lot of pain still, but not as much pain as what I was feeling for the next week after '97.

A win next week and the pain will slightly be eased.

Before the game, I would have been happy with a 4 goal loss to the cats, but I just feel absolutley gutted!:(

Maybe it's because I know we are better than the crap we have dished out for the last few weeks (Baring Adelaide Game). For Christ's sake, we are a top 4 team, there is no doubt about that, but we need to consistantly put in 4 Qtrs of the type of footy we did in the last half of the 3rd Qtr and all of the last Qtr. That's what St.Kilda have finally done!

If we are to be a genuine contender, we need to be hard and agressive like we did last night and not take any team for granted, like we did against Melbourne and West Coast - Week In week out.

Let's hope that we can continue on from last nights game and at least pencil in the next 4 matches which are all winnable. After that we have 8 of our last 9 games at Ethihad Stadium - Hoping to be 9 & 4 in 4 more weeks, and then pick up as many games as possible after that!

Be proud.
They were sensational for what its worth.
I think Johnnos been on two sides of the coin in relation to goals on the siren.
Be very proud.;)

Devastating as the loss felt, it will do no harm. The side should get enormous belief and in reality should finish top 4. A win against Geelong would not have improved our finishing position as that will still be decided by how we perform through the next 13 rounds.
We play every side in contention, bar Carlton, over that 13 weeks and simply need to outperform all of those below the top 2 to finish 3rd. If we cannot do that we are not a September threat.

It's a strange mixture of pride, anger & sorrow this morning.

I thought we were screwed by bad decisions in the first qtr (3 weak frees) that helped them build their lead. But then honestly should have won it at the death with Johnson.(free to Aker 40m out????)

I don't think this loss will do the players any harm at all, they should now realise they can contend if they apply themselves as completely as last night.

Hopefully we can now do away with discussions on this board about aiming for future years & blooding youngsters--We ALL need to realise the time may just be NOW....if Aker & Johnson can give us that level of performance in the finals & we keep improving why not win it in 2009 rather than wait till 2011?

the bulldogs slow start to the season might actually help you get into a gf.

geelong by rd 22 will be feeling more tired than the dogs, since they played very well until now.

this was a good game, but you guys didnt deserve to win after a poor first half. play like you did during the 2nd half all game, and you can easily beat geelong.

losing by 2 pts is much better than winning and raising the expectation too high too early in the season.

hope you do well :thumbsu: (except next week)

We're all taking it hard, mate.

On the other hand, I've been gutted for years that we've been a club that "beats the premiers every year"...in home & away games. But we have never figured much at the business end of the season. It's like beating these sides unexpectedly was good enough. Mediocrity.

Hopefully the Dogs will now play focussed and angry and start smashing sides. Then hunt all teams in the finals. Surely now the belief is there!

The job isn't done until we run around the G waving the cup. They need to remember the hurt of last night until that's a reality!

Do it, Doggies!

I agree. Beating the bombers in 2000 was a great win but give me some finals wins over that any day.

you guys definitely deserved to win. At least your players now have the added confidence that they can match it with geelong which could prove invaluable if we were to meet again in the finals, especially knowing that you can reel us back in from being ahead by 37 points. Round 21 should be a killer

I was right behind the Johnno kick. When he missed i felt like crying. I was very upset. But im proud of the effort we put in and we never gave up. If we keep this up we are going to do well this year.

Feeling the pain also. Feel sorry for Johnno, but what pains me even more is the free kick not paid to aker, and not just the contest, but the replay that shows him trying to lead and being held back, and Griffo running inside the 50, all alone, and missing (a bit earlier). Looked like he was too casual, and missed a very easy, very gettable goal. But all is in the past now.

As someone said earlier, if we had of won, we would have been weighed down with expectation. Now we have the hunger and pain as a motivator.

Also, if I heard correctly, we are number 1 in the comp for clangers? Our effectiveness is crap, running very very low. Just imagine when we can hit targets? We are only warming up guys. I very much belive that this IS going to be a September to remember for us.

Bloody hell - I'm usually kinda one-eyed for the Catters, but the umpiring last night was piss poor. Our first three goals were from frees, and I still don't know why Stevie J had two shots on goal.

I know you lot might think a 'well done, bloody good job' might be a bit patronising coming from a Cats fan, but I reckon you blokes aren't as far away from the top as the ladder suggests. Great tackling and pressure.

Just let the bloody game go on, umps!

Immediately after that game, like for the two minutes after the siren last night, I was almost in tears. To fight that hard and yet again miss chances was hard to swallow.

I couldn't speak to the friends I went with (including two Geelong supporters) for about ten minutes. I'd had a very crappy day, and a not much better week. Must have been a build up of emotion, but I was also holding back tears as I tramped silently down the ramp. I thought, 'Wow, I am taking this REALLY badly.' Hopefully there will be tears of joy soon. :)

Three things usually go a long way to contributing to a good weekend.

1) Bulldogs winning
2) Good captain choice in DT
3) Good captain choice in SC

All three have failed this week, so shocking week.

I am probably one out here, but I didn't feel as bad as the other guys posting on here.

I should clarify that if this was a final, I would feel as totally gutted as the Adelaide crows loss. To lose after a kick after the siren in a final would be soul destroying.

But looking at it logically, all we have lost is four points. But the big thing we have gained is belief. I have no doubt that if we meet Geelong in a final, many of the players will run out on the ground thinking that they can beat Geelong. Not many sides in the competition can think that. This narrow loss after the siren, will give the players a real solid belief that they can beat Geelong.

The losses that really gut me are the ones that deliver a pyscholigical punch that we cannot compete with the best. Such losses include St Kilda this year and Hawthorn in the finals last year. Those losses for me are the gut wrenching ones because they tell as much as the future as well as the present. The Geelong loss on Friday, whilst painful from a "what if " point of view, gives us hope for the future. The four points would have been handy, but such is life. We have many weeks to get those lost four points back, and all we have to do is finish top four.

I am probably one out here, but I didn't feel as bad as the other guys posting on here.

I should clarify that if this was a final, I would feel as totally gutted as the Adelaide crows loss. To lose after a kick after the siren in a final would be soul destroying.

But looking at it logically, all we have lost is four points. But the big thing we have gained is belief. I have no doubt that if we meet Geelong in a final, many of the players will run out on the ground thinking that they can beat Geelong. Not many sides in the competition can think that. This narrow loss after the siren, will give the players a real solid belief that they can beat Geelong.

The losses that really gut me are the ones that deliver a pyscholigical punch that we cannot compete with the best. Such losses include St Kilda this year and Hawthorn in the finals last year. Those losses for me are the gut wrenching ones because they tell as much as the future as well as the present. The Geelong loss on Friday, whilst painful from a "what if " point of view, gives us hope for the future. The four points would have been handy, but such is life. We have many weeks to get those lost four points back, and all we have to do is finish top four.

Looking forward to the Round 21 clash already. The result of that game will have more bearing on the finals than this early home and away match which for the players involved might only be but a lingering faint memory by then.

After the game I sat silent in a room full of my mates for twenty minutes, half of which were supporting Geelong just because they had Ablett as their captain in DT... Pfft

I felt horrible that night and all morning the next day, but after a few days I can see the positives that will come out of the game. And Furiousity (if thats a word) is the main one. From last nights performance the dogs will be so furious that it will fuel us for the rest of the years games. Especially r21!

I also thought that we showed a real 4 quarter game (or three quarters against geelong, which is 4 against most other teams). 7 of Geelong's first 9 goals were from bulldogs turnovers, and the other two were from SOFT free kicks.

We had some yips in front of goal early in the third and a s**t run with the umpies all night. As gutted as I feel, there is hope I'll talk by wednesday.:rolleyes:

Also thanks to all the other team supporters adding to this post, good to have positive input from other sides :)

Am I the only one feeling Gutted?