Fixture An extra 24th game

Hot tip - doing the exact opposite of what Freo does is normally the correct thing.

If flying back home makes our club a bunch of idiots, I'd love to go back and read posts from you about Collective Minds and Kurt Tippett.

Your club has been badly managed and basically irrelevant since the 90's so there might be merit in what you say. If anyone can identify a club run by idiots it's going to be a crows fan.
With a bit of luck.... Crows could of added more premierships outside of 1997-98: 2002 , 2005, 2006, 2012 and 2017.

If SA want the gather round and also complain that the Showdown is never a primetime game, then they can play one of their showdowns on the friday night of gather round.

Takes the extra home game advantage away from both SA clubs.
Nah..... Let crows face Carlton or any Vic club in a Thursday or Friday night game and port Adelaide has a Saturday night game vs any Vic club at gather round

Before last season, crows and port had 12 games in their home state and 10 games outside of SA.

That's fair. 11 games at home and the 12th game was the away showdown.

You are a Carlton fan, A Victorian side.

Your team only travels only 4 or 5 games outside of Victoria every season.

How do you define neutral?

Is it a game where both teams travel to a different state?

You dont class Eagles v Freo as neutral?

Eagles always want an advantage

It isnt fair on the poor Eagles that the SA clubs get 13 in Adelaide and just 10 away.

Get ready for a barrage of sooking for Eagles fans about SA Bias!!
Your a Collingwood fan.

Your team gets 21 games at the MCG and 1 at docklands lol

Your a Collingwood fan.

Your team gets 21 games at the MCG and 1 at docklands lol
Collingwood has 14 games at the G, 9 of them against teams who also play home games at the G...5 with "home advantage"

Port has 13 games at AO, just 2 of the against teams who also play home games at AO...11 with "home advantage".

Collingwood has 14 games at the G, 9 of them against teams who also play home games at the G...5 with "home advantage"

Port has 13 games at AO, just 2 of the against teams who also play home games at AO...11 with "home advantage".
So.... No issues with having all 8 non Vic sides at the MCG? LoL

From a footy perspective much better to have them as opponents instead of neutral clashes against Richmond, Melbourne and Essendon.

Port / Adel both get 11 games with a full home ground advantage this year.

HA fixture bias even worse than normal in 2023.

The AFL scheduled Freo in Adelaide the week before gather round, and West Coast in Adelaide the week after gather round.

Either it adds no travel as you stay in Adelaide (as I believe Fremantle did) or your club is run by a bunch of idiots and flew your team back, only to hop on a plane and come back in 4 days time (as I believe West Coast did)

There's no need to make any changes simply because West Coast were stupid.
This is pure gold....a person that follows the Crows calling another club stupid....🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

From a footy perspective much better to have them as opponents instead of neutral clashes against Richmond, Melbourne and Essendon.

Port / Adel both get 11 games with a full home ground advantage this year.

HA fixture bias even worse than normal in 2023.
So if there is a 3rd or 4th SA team, are you more than happy that port abd crows get them twice in Adelaide each year in SA as neutrals?

A really random hypothetical, there aint going to be another SA team

But if there was, of course the AFL will FIXture additional local SA "Showdowns".

And no problem at all with that.

With a third team (and no gather round) Port would have 13 games at AO - 10 with home ground advantage.

I am sure the WA fans would be outraged as usual.

Not fair that Port get 10 games with home ground advantage and 3 showdowns when the Eagles would have 10 games with a home advantage but just 2 derbys.

Bring in Tassie + Team 20
19 games a year - Everyone plays everyone once.
9 home
9 away
1 neutral for Gather Round with the host state teams kicking things off with their Derby/Showdown/Battle/Clash
That doesn’t work. One team would have the bye in Gather Rnd, so one less game for the season .With an off number of teams you must have an even number of games.

Nah..... Let crows face Carlton or any Vic club in a Thursday or Friday night game and port Adelaide has a Saturday night game vs any Vic club at gather round

Before last season, crows and port had 12 games in their home state and 10 games outside of SA.

That's fair. 11 games at home and the 12th game was the away showdown.

You are a Carlton fan, A Victorian side.

Your team only travels only 4 or 5 games outside of Victoria every season.
Carlton v Richmond at the MCG - who gets the home ground advantage?

Fremantle v any other team apart from West Coast at Optus - who has the home ground advantage.

That doesn’t work. One team would have the bye in Gather Rnd, so one less game for the season .With an off number of teams you must have an even number of games.

First line says "Bring in Tassie + Team 20"

This would mean we have an even number of teams.

Everyone plays everyone once = 19 games each (once per opponent) for the season.

Having 6 gather rounds every year won't work. The exclusivity of having 1 round per year where all teams play in the same region works because of the number of people who will travel to attend and boost the local economy. If you have 6 of them it'll spread out attendance too much meaning the $$$ investment for the host cities won't make sense.

IMO we should look to move to a year round 52 week season. No top 8. Finals includes everyone. Grand final played on Christmas day.
well, i'd watch it

Fixture An extra 24th game