sickzau

Aug 23, 2008
Dandenong
Just wondering what all your opinions are on a fully fit injury free hawks outfit.

What can they do in the competition in 2010 if they where to get a full team on the park. I was going through the list and what my best team would be it was hard to find a weakness.

If you look at the forward line with players such as Franklin, roughy, Cyril , Osborne, dowler and now with inclusion of Hooper. The forward line posses a threat and if they can get out injury free and fit will be hard to contain it.

Now we move into the midfield, you have mitchell, sewell, batemen, lewis, ellis, burgoyne, young, shiels who should have a good season, also tuck could break into the side anytime now. So midfield would be up there with the best, our ruck duo would be the weakness, Taylor must have a break out year along with young renouf. Fingers crossed both can go through unscathed as we don't have much backup for ruck men ><.

Defense looks a lot better when we have a full team out there. You have Gilham , Shoemakers who has really bulked up this off season, Gibson, Guerra, Hodge, brown, Birchell, etc.

its easy to say we have the best team but at the end of the day its names on paper. If this team could come out and give it a real crack its hard to see anyone stop them.

Your opinions please?

There's no such thing as an injury free fully fit team. It doesn't happen in this game.
If you want criticism:
Worst rucks in the league.
Short defence.
Unathletic midfield.
No crumbing goalkickers.
After last year you'd also have to question the mental toughness of the playing and coaching groups.

Need to take into account coaching changes.

Losing Hardwick is a bummer but from all account Simpson is doing some very good work.

Losing Viney last year wasn't great for us.

Gaining a ruck coach in the off season was a MUST and we did that. Will hopefully take our ruck division from below average to acceptable, perhaps beyond?

There's no such thing as an injury free fully fit team. It doesn't happen in this game.
If you want criticism:
Short defence.
Unathletic midfield.
No crumbing goalkickers.
After last year you'd also have to question the mental toughness of the playing and coaching groups.

St Kilda wern't far from being injury free in 2009, but i take your point. Most of the above comments aren't too far from the truth - for season 2009. Things have changed, Fevola is in Brisbane and Hawthorn have a different side in 2010.

There's no such thing as an injury free season. St Kilda had the closest thing to it this season but still carried players with niggles into the finals and sustained more injuries in the grand final.

We didn't have our best 22 on the field once this year, with Hunt out for the season and Ottens, Harley, S. Johnson and Chapman (among others) having injury interrupted seasons.

If Hawthorn has a managable injury toll next year they should finish between 4-6th. I still think their backline is suspect without Croad (Schoenmakers looks a very good prospect, but you can't expect him to lead your backline). Midfield is very good and will only be improved by Burgoyne. Forward line one of the best around.

Would consider Geelong, St Kilda and Bulldogs to have a more rounded best 22 with decent defenders and rucks in each side. Hawks are on the next level with Collingwood and Adelaide IMHO.

Depends how they get over last year it was a terrible year and might stick in the heads i doubt it but stranger things have happend

Positives

Amazing Midfield would be on par with Geelong and StKilda's when fully fit

Great FF that could be easily the best in the league with a big pre season and the right mindset also Roughhead at CHF could be a real match winner with more experience

Hodge is a real class act can go Midfield Back or Forward and dominate games not many teams have these type of players

Negatives

Rucks would be close to the worst in the league

Backline will struggle some weeks and if a few injuries kick in could really be a massive problem

3rd Forward Franklin and Roughead are one of the best combo's in the league but i feel the need a 3rd tall alot like Williams was i think they will miss a fit Williams alot because there were alot of games he would kick his 3 or 4 and really help the two big guys out

A fit Hawthorn will be a top 4 team with ease

An unathletic midfield? No crumbling goal kickers? What?

Rioli doesn't kick too many crumbing goals, he spends too much time up the ground. Your only athletic midfielder is Young and it sounds like he is struggling with injuries.

I was a little harsh but seriously Hawks supporters have been banging on about their potential when injury-free all year, we needed this thread like a hole in the head.

Terrific!:footy: I have just developed a new business. The footy player's get well card.

Don't know how it will take off but it happens every year to our most favourite and beloved players.

I'm just in the process of negotiation with the printers and we'll have it up and running soon. Prices and happy thoughts negotiable too.

Hawthorn will need a couple but I have a business to run, including the rest of the clubs. Any takers?

An injury free full fit Hawthorn? So are we to assume that we're comparing the Hawks to every other team which is injury free and fully fit as well?

If so, 4th-8th.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ this post

I created a thread recently that proved that Hawthorn's injuries in 2009 were not as debilitating as their fans will have you believe and that their best players actually played a substantial amount of games.

IMO with even luck they will finish 5th-9th.

I reckon the Hawks will improve next year and finish 7th-9th, which will make their loyal supporters very pround of them.

B: Gibson - Gilham - Guerra
HB: Hodge - Croad - Birchall
C: Bateman - Mitchell - Lewis
HF: Osbourne - Franklin - Rioli
F: Brown - Roughead - Hooper
R: Taylor - Burgoyne - Sewell

I: Ladson - Ellis - Young - Bailey

Shoenmakers & Renouf are realistic replacements for Croad & Bailey i guess.

cant see a fit hawthorn finishing any lower than 6th.

I created a thread recently that proved that Hawthorn's injuries in 2009 were not as debilitating as their fans will have you believe and that their best players actually played a substantial amount of games.

IMO with even luck they will finish 5th-9th.

Oh man you are awesome.

We had a few issues in 2009:

Lewis, Franklin, Roughead, Ellis, Young, Birchall and arguably Rioli stopped improving along the exponential curve that we'd seen for the previous 3 years. Various reasons but the fact that the output from these guys was so much lower than the previous season makes it VERY hard for opposition supporters to give us any credit or chance going forward.

Big injuries in our most vulnerable areas: Ruck and Backline. As most have said in this thread - "best 22 looks okay but injuries to these areas will see them slide"

We put heaps of development time into the youngsters - most of this was forced on us, but again, cost us games and makes everyone think we're hack.

Who knows which way it'll go. The comment on Williams is interesting - a third tall, whether Dowler can come along or someone else on our list would be great.

Getting full preseasons into Buddy and Hodge will be handy as well.

If you want criticism:
Short defence.
Unathletic midfield.
No crumbing goalkickers.

Considering they won a flag just over 12 months ago I think it's fair to say the positives far outweigh these negatives.

IMO will finish top 4.

An Injury FREE fully fit Geelong team = GF
An Injuiry FREE fully fit Saints team = GF
An Injury FREE fully fit Pies team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Adelaide team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Western Bulldogs team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Carlton team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Essendon team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Brisbane team = GF
AN Injury FREE fully fit Hawthorn team = GF

No team in the history of the game has gone through the season with no injuries and all of their players fully fit. Even St Kilda had a lot of players with little niggles this season.

Any half decent team would play off in the GF if this were to occur.

All teams fully fit....I don't think hawks are in the class of cats, saints and dogs. But if Franklin and Roughhead fire for the majority of the year they will cause headaches.

Would need a lot of things to go right I think to be a real threat...much like 2008.

Rioli doesn't kick too many crumbing goals, he spends too much time up the ground. Your only athletic midfielder is Young and it sounds like he is struggling with injuries.

I was a little harsh but seriously Hawks supporters have been banging on about their potential when injury-free all year, we needed this thread like a hole in the head.

I think Clinton Young, Chance Bateman, Shaun Burgoyne, Luke Hodge, Cyril Rioli and at times Jordan Lewis can provide a fair bit of run.