Andrew Hooper 09 Draft Prospect

This has to be comment of the year coming from you. The only way that you have seen a majority of these kids play is via Youtube.
Why do you continue to prance around like some draft expert when you have already been expossed as someone who has not seen the kids play , have changed your mind over who should be picked 35 times and the only knowledge you have is from reading other peoples comments on BF.
And before anyone has a go this clown was exposed on the Essendon board as fraud after saying she had watched champ games but had no idea of the dates the game where on or that the champs had already started.

Who died and made you god . I am sure as moderator you should keep your opinions to yourself. It's not give you a licence to slag off at people contributing . You turn people off making contributions to big footy .No matter how much you disagee with them it is still thier opinion and for others to make opinions on not have yours shoved down thier throat.

I knew someone would jump in without knowing the facts :rolleyes:
Buddy there is a difference between having an opinion and flat out lying about seeing players which bombersno1 does.
I have no problem with people having opinions but dont come on here and saying you have seen this bloke play or that bloke play when you havn't.
Bombersno1 got caught out on our board procliaming to be something she was not so i have no problem with exposing liers.
And another thing as a moderator why should i keep my opinions to myself ? Why do i give up the right to express an opinion about something ?
Pull your head in champ i don't bother offering very much adivce to many people at all and know the facts behind something before you go shooting your mouth off. It was not about letting someone have an opinion and me disagreeing with them at all. Have as many opinions as you want just dont proclaim to be an expert on under 18 footy if you have not seen them play.

i reckon his mum and dad would think he's a top 3 draft pick.. i reckon if he got drafted his parents would still wear their rebels tops down the street!

Truer words have never been spoken...

To be honest, Hooper wont make it at AFL level, his height will count against him and he hasnt got great endurance. You cant knock his desperation/committment etc, but it will largely be the uncontrollables (Height) that will count against him.

Throughout his juniors he dominated almost every match he played because he was physically bigger than everyone else in his age group, however he hasnt grown since U/15 Schoolboys carnival when an idiot BFL administrator said he was a certain AFL star in the making.

I haven't seen too much of Andrew Hooper but I watched the U15 Schoolboys carnival and he was very good over the duration of the carnival.

He seems like a good footballer but I don't think he is athletic enough or big enough for AFL.

And another thing as a moderator why should i keep my opinions to myself ? Why do i give up the right to express an opinion about something ?
Spot on!

You wouldn't be a moderator in the first place if you didn't contribute something worthwhile to this site initially. Just because you get the mod role, doesnt mean you should gag yourself.

There are a lot of muppets who stick their two cents worth on here - guys like ant555 who know what they're talking about should be encouraged to type as much as they want!!!

You have jumped in without knowing the facts.

BombersNO1 has posted factual errors ( in otherwise lies ) about the UNder 18's championship series in 2008 on the Essendon Board.

It was great reading to find the twists and turns of a series of posts which were proven to be false.

Spot on!

You wouldn't be a moderator in the first place if you didn't contribute something worthwhile to this site initially. Just because you get the mod role, doesnt mean you should gag yourself.

There are a lot of muppets who stick their two cents worth on here - guys like ant555 who know what they're talking about should be encouraged to type as much as they want!!!

what a load of shit the muppets you and your mates

Spot on!

Opinions are ok just state them and dont ridicule others whose opinions might be different were all part timers so you shouldnt ridicule others especially if your a moderator.So what if he doesnt watch a lot of games he can still havce an opinion on what ever he see's . Whats the minimum you can see before your comments are creditable by ant 555's law.

Point taken. As I said the other week, recruiting is solely opinions - there is no right or wrong. There is no scientific answer to it. And nobody agrees on everything.

What makes a persons comments credible? For starters I think they need to be their own comments, not a summary of what somebody else wrote about a player the week before. And secondly if they make a bold statement, then back it up with something to justify what they've said. eg. Why will he or why won't he get drafted? What are his strengths? Why will they enable him to play AFL footy? What are his deficiencies? Can they be corrected? etc etc.

footyman is easily one of the best posters on this board.
Cheers Bourky :thumbsu:

You make plenty of good contributions yourself. Hopefully might meet ya round the traps this year.

Point taken. As I said the other week, recruiting is solely opinions - there is no right or wrong. There is no scientific answer to it. And nobody agrees on everything.

What makes a persons comments credible? For starters I think they need to be their own comments, not a summary of what somebody else wrote about a player the week before. And secondly if they make a bold statement, then back it up with something to justify what they've said. eg. Why will he or why won't he get drafted? What are his strengths? Why will they enable him to play AFL footy? What are his deficiencies? Can they be corrected? etc etc.

Cheers Bourky :thumbsu:

You make plenty of good contributions yourself. Hopefully might meet ya round the traps this year.

I'll back bourkey up onthat as well footy man. cheers

You are misunderstanding the Argument.

Ant attacked the credibility of a poster on the Essendon Board who claimed that he had viewed live games from the Under 18 Championship.

It was proven on the Essendon Board that the poster had in fact not attended the games, and even claimed that he watched a championship game in Adelaide, when the game was played in Perth.

It is not the opinion that ANT555 was criticising but the blurring of the facts.

You are misunderstanding the Argument.

Ant attacked the credibility of a poster on the Essendon Board who claimed that he had viewed live games from the Under 18 Championship.

It was proven on the Essendon Board that the poster had in fact not attended the games, and even claimed that he watched a championship game in Adelaide, when the game was played in Perth.

It is not the opinion that ANT555 was criticising but the blurring of the facts.

no worries!!

Sorry sportz but you are missing a lot. I know becasue we saw it unfold on the Essendon board. Bombersno1 was claiming to be seeing all of these games yet when challenged over the champ games she could not even tell us when they where on despite claiming to have been watching the games.
I dont care how many games people watch or what opinions they have.
Have you seen me challenge anyone else on this ? No you have not.
The only reason i have had a shot at Bombersno1 is becasue she kept claiming to be have an expert opinion and keept claiming to have seen these games. To give an expamle she kept claiming that Swift was a gun and Essendon should draft him. When asked why she said she had seen him play. We asked where and she said at under 18's. I pointed out that may have been a bit hard considering he had not played all that much at that level. Then the story changed to i have heard how well he played and finally it was we should draft him becasue he was good looking. If you read the draft thread on the Bombers board you will see that Bombersno1 actually changes opinion on players at the drop of a hat and the player in favour one month could be a complete hack the next month.
It has nothing to do with anyones law on how much you see. There are hundreds of views every year by people who read stuff about players they have not seen but i dont challenhge them.
You just came across the one case that i did pull up becasue the person involved is a flat out lier and a fraud. Anyone on the Essendon board can fill you in. Nothing to do with having a different opinion to mine (which just in case you missed it her original statemet on Hooper was the same as mine) or any laws or how much footy you see.

Sorry sportz but you are missing a lot. I know becasue we saw it unfold on the Essendon board. Bombersno1 was claiming to be seeing all of these games yet when challenged over the champ games she could not even tell us when they where on despite claiming to have been watching the games.
I dont care how many games people watch or what opinions they have.
Have you seen me challenge anyone else on this ? No you have not.
The only reason i have had a shot at Bombersno1 is becasue she kept claiming to be have an expert opinion and keept claiming to have seen these games. To give an expamle she kept claiming that Swift was a gun and Essendon should draft him. When asked why she said she had seen him play. We asked where and she said at under 18's. I pointed out that may have been a bit hard considering he had not played all that much at that level. Then the story changed to i have heard how well he played and finally it was we should draft him becasue he was good looking. If you read the draft thread on the Bombers board you will see that Bombersno1 actually changes opinion on players at the drop of a hat and the player in favour one month could be a complete hack the next month.
It has nothing to do with anyones law on how much you see. There are hundreds of views every year by people who read stuff about players they have not seen but i dont challenhge them.
You just came across the one case that i did pull up becasue the person involved is a flat out lier and a fraud. Anyone on the Essendon board can fill you in. Nothing to do with having a different opinion to mine (which just in case you missed it her original statemet on Hooper was the same as mine) or any laws or how much footy you see.

No worries ant all good lets get on with it footys back tennis and crap is over let the games begin !!!!!

Given hoopers status as probably most expierieced this year and place as a given in the vic team an injury cloud over butcher the best of the bottom agers (last year ) gone in Sidebottom Ziebell etc Is Hooper a logical choice as captain of the vic country team?

regardless of Butchers fitness i still think Hooper has got to be the favourite. having said that who knows what his teammates/coaches opinions are of him. (and in reality they are the ones that count)

don't rule out Stevens being given the nod as skipper. was voted captain at the A.I.S this year by the playing group.

regardless of Butchers fitness i still think Hooper has got to be the favourite. having said that who knows what his teammates/coaches opinions are of him. (and in reality they are the ones that count)

don't rule out Stevens being given the nod as skipper. was voted captain at the A.I.S this year by the playing group.

Is he your love child for the tac this year bourkey? ha ha He has made giant steps from where he was hasnt he credit to him i thought as a 16 yo it might all pass him by but he has just gone on from there.

haha who stevens? yeah i'll be driving that wagon this year mate:thumbsu: (as well as the other power players:p)
has always had the potential but has really started to knuckle down of late, i'm expecting a monster season from him.

Hooper got best on ground today off the half back. A very controlled and dominated performance by the little fella. 25 or so touches, 4 contested marks and 10 rebounds from 50... great stuff. Top 25 pick!

Ok im not going to pretend im in the know with the draft and whos who for the guns, i just read off BF and get a general gist cause its a good read, and i can tell mates at school ' I told you so'. What i dont understand is that Hooper has been playing pretty good footy from the 15s till now, damn it he won the Larke Medal! But i dont understand why he is rated a 2nd round draft pick by many. Surely someone of his quality and ilk is a top 10? Obviously you guys have a reason to why he isnt rated that highly in the top 10 range. Is it because of his height which means he has lower upside and potential? And is Kane Lucas a top 10 because he has more upside rather than the actualy quality performances say a Hooper has put in. (Not saying Lucas is crap, because i have seen him at PSA and Sheppard, and Duncs)

He'll be lucky to go 2nd round, IMO.

Despite how good he is, he is 172cm.

Jarryd Blair won the Morrish medal last year at that height and went in the second round of the Rookie Draft. Fort Caruso won two Morrish medals and didn't get drafted because he was small.

David Rodan went at pick #33, so that might just about be the top-end for Hooper.

Andrew Hooper 09 Draft Prospect