Andrew Kellaway

FORMER Richmond star Andrew Kellaway says he harbours no bitterness towards former Tigers coach Terry Wallace, who sacked the popular defender following the 2006 season.

Kellaway established himself as one of Richmond's best players in the early years of the new millennium, winning the club's best and fairest and selection in the All Australian team in 2000.

aaaaaaaaa

Thanks davo.

My brother is a firefighter and helped Andy with his training and said he was a ripping bloke. Apparently a few ex-footballers have tried to get into the brigade thinking they would get in easy and have failed.

Loved Andy Kellaway as a footballer. His marking was top notch and saved many raids on our goals. The duo of him and Gaspar in early 2000s was excellent.

Saw Andy at the Eureka Stairclimb last year.
He was one of the many Firemen/women who completed the climb in full Firey's gear. Don't want to even imagine how tough that would have been.
He's still a pretty impressive looking unit.
Even noticed him getting hassled by a couple of Tiger fans at the top of the climb. Poor bugger, had barely even got his breath back hahaha.

As for his footy, can't help but think his disposal would be found out in today's game, but in his day... a very solid footballer. Completely forgot about his AA selection.

One of those blokes where "good player" is sincerely meant.

GOOD GOOD player.

Loved him down back. Super touch and nice hands.

He hit up Richo for his 9th I think in the Bulldogs game that he kicked 10

Loved Andy K back in the day.

Growing up, I loved guys like Andrew, his brother, Richo, Knights, Campbell, Daffy, Broderick, Bowden, Chaffey, Rogers, the Gale brothers etc.

Maybe to a young kid, most of these players were fairly average or not bonafide superstars but anyone wearing the yellow and black was a hero in my eyes :thumbsu:

IMO, the way Bowden and Kellaway were forced out could and should have been done a lot better.

Loved Andy K back in the day.

Growing up, I loved guys like Andrew, his brother, Richo, Knights, Campbell, Daffy, Broderick, Bowden, Chaffey, Rogers, the Gale brothers etc.

Maybe to a young kid, most of these players were fairly average or not bonafide superstars but anyone wearing the yellow and black was a hero in my eyes :thumbsu:

IMO, the way Bowden and Kellaway were forced out could and should have been done a lot better.

Add Gaspar and Knighter to the list that could have been dealt with better.

Thanks davo.

My brother is a firefighter and helped Andy with his training and said he was a ripping bloke. Apparently a few ex-footballers have tried to get into the brigade thinking they would get in easy and have failed.

Loved Andy Kellaway as a footballer. His marking was top notch and saved many raids on our goals. The duo of him and Gaspar in early 2000s was excellent.

the duo of him and gaspar with their footskills is what killed us.
your typical glass half full richmond player.

the duo of him and gaspar with their footskills is what killed us.
your typical glass half full richmond player.

Give it a god damn rest. Say something positive for once!

Normally your critique of players is justified, as the discussion is on how to improve the team. These guys haven't played for 6+ years. Can't you just say something nice about them as players and move on?

You don't make AA by being an average player, and footskills weren't a premium for defenders back when he was playing.

Just say you loved his courage, or thought he gave his all for the club, or that he was a top line defender. Or don't say anything!

Did love the Kellaways. I will always remember Rexy on a footy show after we had beaten the pies. He said something like "as i was drinving to the studio today, i saw the Kellaway boys headbutting a pier as part of their rehab. How tough are those boys". Something like that anyway.

Thier brother Lachlan was my pyhsio after i had a knee reco in 95 ... all champions those Kellaway boys

Give it a f..kin rest Santa FFS ...

Yes , in todays footy they would have struggled "BIGTIME" but in the era they played Duncan in particular was a gun who was one of the pioneers of the "run with" negator who could still pick up his 20 touches in a game ...

"YES" .. we all know he struggled a bit in the disposal dept. but he was not robinson crusoe in the day and players of his ilk were nowhere near exposed back then as they are today .

Duncan was far from a "glass half full" type of footballer and i reckon its ignorance to say he is.

In that era our team was laced with wishy washy Naish/Daffy type footballers but DC was the hardest nut at our club (apologies Butch Gale) and should be respected as a player who left nothing out on the field when the final siren rang

Thier brother Lachlan was my pyhsio after i had a knee reco in 95 ... all champions those Kellaway boys

Give it a f..kin rest Santa FFS ...

Yes , in todays footy they would have struggled "BIGTIME" but in the era they played Duncan in particular was a gun who was one of the pioneers of the "run with" negator who could still pick up his 20 touches in a game ...

"YES" .. we all know he struggled a bit in the disposal dept. but he was not robinson crusoe in the day and players of his ilk were nowhere near exposed back then as they are today .

Duncan was far from a "glass half full" type of footballer and i reckon its ignorance to say he is.

In that era our team was laced with wishy washy Naish/Daffy type footballers but DC was the hardest nut at our club (apologies Butch Gale) and should be respected as a player who left nothing out on the field when the final siren rang

And where have you been young man?:mad: (welcome back:p).

no nerd box for nearly a month ... dont ask :mad:

Well as i type, i have the Doors cranked and am currently enjoying a dinner of scotch and coke after a painfully long week. So here's a cyber scotch just for you. :thumbsu: (Roadhouse blues just come on, **** yeah).

let it roll baby roll

Think i may have to make a couple of entries in the corner music scene a little later:p. Mrs Blood just turned up, party over:(.

Give it a god damn rest. Say something positive for once!

Normally your critique of players is justified, as the discussion is on how to improve the team. These guys haven't played for 6+ years. Can't you just say something nice about them as players and move on?

You don't make AA by being an average player, and footskills weren't a premium for defenders back when he was playing.

Just say you loved his courage, or thought he gave his all for the club, or that he was a top line defender. Or don't say anything!

fair enough and i did love his courage. would argue though footskills were very much a premium for defenders even back then.

good luck to him in his new endevours if im over come by smoke and surrounded by fire i hope hes one of the firies who comes to get me out cause you know he will give it his all.

lets say a penny has dropped and i apologise to all for hijacking all threads i do realise we can and should rejoice in our players no matter what success we have had with them.
both kellaways were extremely courageaous players and i think even i should focus on those positives when talking about them.

Andrew Kellaway