News Andy McKay appointed GM of football operations

zeecfc beat me to it. However, I can tell you for a fact that there is no strained relationship with SOS and the Carlton Football Club contrary to what seems at time to be 'popular thought'. SOS is one of those old-timers who unlike many (Sticks, Hird, Voss, Buckley, etc.) believe that you play for one club and ply your trade at another (and ultimately return when you're needed). If and when the Carlton Football Club come calling for SOS to return to the club in an official capacity I have no doubt that he will decide to do so. He has all of the time in the world for the CFC, still very much bleeds navy blue and aside from it impacting the club where his present professional allegiances lay would still be as one-eyed Carlton as they come.

Take a look at the roles that SOS has performed elsewhere. Now tell me that that those positions have been available at Carlton. There's no way that he would get the job that he has at GWS, which has to be as exciting as any in the AFL right now, elsewhere. He had the position to play a hand in a premiership contending St. Kilda. Had the Saints brought home their second premiership SOS would have benefited out of that immensely. Still, he helped Ross Lyon get them to two Grand Finals (three if you count the draw) in back-to-back years, outstanding when considering the club's history.

Swann and McKay = Sway???

Yeah Nah???

We could collectively call them 'David' ;)

... after David 'Swan' McKay
DMcKayCarl.jpg

Ratts and Sticks are too damn driven to let this whole 'Boys
Club' thing become an issue. I don't know about Maccas drive but he's certainly a professional. And having Carlton people at the helm will make #17 even sweeter!
Oh and it just struck me that people on here would know stuff all about Andrew McKay. Do yourself a favour and get ahold of some footage.

Absolutely. All class in every respect. Selfless, talented, and amazing work ethic. Same could be said of that entire backline in the mid-90's. They're still the best defensive unit I've ever seen. All-Australian caliber players in every spot but played for one another and checked their egos at the door.

The good news is that I'm starting to see some similar traits in our current back line although they've got a hell of a long way to go to match up against our last premiership crew.

Sticks was part of the board that asked SOS and Bradley to open their mouths. Both did not talk until Collo and board had said a deal was done with the AFL all we have to do is come clean. Then steps in the ****ing **** Ron Evens and ****ed us.

I hate that man so much, he is a crook and i would piss on the dogs grave.

Absolutely correct - we went to the AFL Commission with clean hands with full admissions as well as stuff that the AFL Commission did not know about (that was SOS and Bradley's stuff) - then Ron Evans & Demetrispew reneged on the deal and engineered penalties far greater than the deal that was made - that is why Collins was livid when he came out of the AFL Commission meeting after Black Friday November 2002 - if you recall Carlton people were taking down the AFL backdrop during the press conference after the meeting whilst AFL people were trying to put them back up.

It was a disgraceful turn of events - mainly engineered by Ron Evans (but Demetrispew was his lap dog at the time and got his CEOship out of the deal).

Ron Evans made his fortune ripping off the football public for years selling overpriced warm and watered down beer and cold pies at the football - which his other mate Graeme Samuel never took him to task on :rolleyes: - yet Graeme Samuel went to town on Richard Pratt for adding few cents on the price of cardboard cartons.

The whole episode makes me sick. :mad:

In McKwan we trust!

SwanKay for sure. ..

Can remember watching Andrew running around for Glenelg. .. Tigers were pretty sad to lose him from memory. ..

There were a few reasons why I never really rated Wayne Carey and Nathan Buckley as great footballers (that I have seen) - first reason was SOS usually always beat Wayne Carey and second reason was Andrew Mackay invariably had the better of his battles with Nathan Buckley.

the more intelligent and experienced carlton people we have back at the club the better. I hope Mike Fitzpatrick comes back to us as Pres if sticks stands down should he leave the commission, one of the smartest people in footy.

I think that if we ever needed Fitzy to come back to the club, we would just have to call.

He must be getting jack of having to deal with the ****ups that Fat Vlad drops in his lap all the time.

Absolutely correct - we went to the AFL Commission with clean hands with full admissions as well as stuff that the AFL Commission did not know about (that was SOS and Bradley's stuff) - then Ron Evans & Demetrispew reneged on the deal and engineered penalties far greater than the deal that was made - that is why Collins was livid when he came out of the AFL Commission meeting after Black Friday November 2002 - if you recall Carlton people were taking down the AFL backdrop during the press conference after the meeting whilst AFL people were trying to put them back up.

It was a disgraceful turn of events - mainly engineered by Ron Evans (but Demetrispew was his lap dog at the time and got his CEOship out of the deal).

Ron Evans made his fortune ripping off the football public for years selling overpriced warm and watered down beer and cold pies at the football - which his other mate Graeme Samuel never took him to task on :rolleyes: - yet Graeme Samuel went to town on Richard Pratt for adding few cents on the price of cardboard cartons.

The whole episode makes me sick. :mad:

Aah AGRO
You should be a history teacher.
The hypocracy of Evans/Samuel regarding Pratt beggars belief

Everytime EVERY footy fan goes to a game and is gouged by the prices for food and drinks thank Ron Evans,
And yes that is his son that is now president of the Liars Club

One of the best tacklers to play the game. I'm sure he wrote the book on it. I remember playing juniors and my coach at the time pulled out some footage of A McKay doing what did best. We beat the top side that day. :thumbsu:

All this SOS talk...he takes his kids to the Blues games, goes down to Visy, don;t reckon there;s any strained relations, he;ll come back in some capacity when he is ready

Good to hear, can't wait to see the collective SOSOS running around!

And great news about Andy coming back! Loved watching him play back in the day and his CV makes me bloody excited!!! Tbh I just love the pretty consistent turnover of quality for quality at the club recently. Gaining many informed perspectives and keeping things fresh; motivation around the place would be great as a result!

On a side note Bluesque, is there a reason you put semicolons ( ; ) where apostrophes ( ' ) should be?

Looking forward to McKay's first press conference as GM of footy operations.

"Journalist": After Ratten said Carlton were looking to acquire a KPF to make the top four, will you look at re-drafting your former teammate Brendan Fevola?
McKay: We haven't discussed it as a football department, but it extremely unlikely that Fevola will be back at Carlton.

Blues refuse to rule out not drafting Fevola

*Carlton supporter jizzfest on Facebook*

always liked the bloke. He is not afraid to get his hands dirty

Not too many things dirtier than having your hand up a cow's arse.

Seriously though, massively competent head on his shoulders, out and out gun, great appointment.

The boys-club criticism only resonates if the boys in question are incompetent. Say what you will about Sticks, Ratts and Macca; I don't think incompetent springs to mind.

Carn the Baggers!

Not too many things dirtier than having your hand up a cow's arse.

Seriously though, massively competent head on his shoulders, out and out gun, great appointment.

The boys-club criticism only resonates if the boys in question are incompetent. Say what you will about Sticks, Ratts and Macca; I don't think incompetent springs to mind.

Carn the Baggers!

Good post. I can't think of a better man for the job. His impeccable club credentials will add passion to the professionalism.

Welcome back Andy!:thumbsu:

News Andy McKay appointed GM of football operations