brad

Mar 14, 2004
ESSENDON
ESSENDON
Out of interest any non Essendon or Collingwood fans attending the game this year at the G?

If so are you an AFL member and attending because you go to a number of games not involving your own team, or just a neutral supporter attending for other reasons?

It will be interesting to see if the game sells out this year with other matches scheduled during the day (Hawthorn V West Coast in Tassie - I think???) and one that night in Melbourne.

Whoever does had better make plenty of noise and help add to the atmosphere, and not make the match another theatre goer's special. Pick a side for the day (get on the Woodsmen say the smart people!) and make plenty of noise for them!

well we'll have 80,000 odd members between us so i'm guessing majority would be Essendon or Collingwood should even 80% attend.

if you support either I'm sure it's one of the games of the year you wouldn't pass up and this year being a Saturday there's no real disadvantage even if travelling from interstate.

it's always suprised me when getting chatting to fans in pubs before the game over the years the amount of Bomber and Pies fans who have travelled even as far as Perth (mid week) for an ANZAC Day game.

Less neutrals = more tickets for Essendon and Collingwood fans.

May seem funny given the capacity of the ground but there is still a ton of fans from both clubs who leave things late and miss out on tickets in recent years.

Went last year and going again this year. There is something very special about this day. Its finals like atmosphere is incredible.

Other teams presidents and coaches etc complaining that ANZAC day should not be exclusive to just these two teams, here is a good chance to prove why not. Past games played on ANZAC day from other sides have not sold as well(even if they were teams like melbourne and freo). I, for one, believe these two teams made it what it is today with such a strong rivalry between the two teams aswell as a huge supporter base makes the day very succesful. They even call it the biggest match of the year that primarily is the two teams fans, whereas in finals time the tickets are split up between other teams, corporates, bob on the street and any other yobbo.

But, if the other teams want to have a go at it, fair enough, take a shot at it, but it may take you a few years to build it up to any resemblence of success Essendon and Collingwood have made from it. Although it is going to be judged on first appearances first, so these clubs playing on the same day should try and promote their respective games as much as possible as they will need to sell out their games at the very least.

As an Essendon supporter, I enjoy going to ANZAC day whether we win or lose, it is like grand final day for us, one day every year whether we make the real grand final day that year or not. Rather then trying to take over or swap around the ANZAC day clash, other clubs should try and promote one off clashes that are on other prominant days or for a various reason. Essendon vs Richmond is an example, I know essendon is there, but what i am pointing out is they have started a successful yearly dreamtime game.

The interstate clubs have their own derbys, aswell as the major draw card victorian teams travel to sydney and brisbane usually to draw higher crowds there too. Teams like the bulldogs, saints, demons, etc should try and atleast get a big rivalry between each other with a certain named game or a game on a certain day each year. As games against the bigger drawing clubs like Essendon, Collingwood and now Hawthorn etc will sort themselves out for crowds...

So, my point in all this is, leave ANZAC day for Essendon and Collingwood, get your own day... :p

Other teams presidents and coaches etc complaining that ANZAC day should not be exclusive to just these two teams, here is a good chance to prove why not. Past games played on ANZAC day from other sides have not sold as well(even if they were teams like melbourne and freo). I, for one, believe these two teams made it what it is today with such a strong rivalry between the two teams aswell as a huge supporter base makes the day very succesful. They even call it the biggest match of the year that primarily is the two teams fans, whereas in finals time the tickets are split up between other teams, corporates, bob on the street and any other yobbo.

But, if the other teams want to have a go at it, fair enough, take a shot at it, but it may take you a few years to build it up to any resemblence of success Essendon and Collingwood have made from it. Although it is going to be judged on first appearances first, so these clubs playing on the same day should try and promote their respective games as much as possible as they will need to sell out their games at the very least.

As an Essendon supporter, I enjoy going to ANZAC day whether we win or lose, it is like grand final day for us, one day every year whether we make the real grand final day that year or not. Rather then trying to take over or swap around the ANZAC day clash, other clubs should try and promote one off clashes that are on other prominant days or for a various reason. Essendon vs Richmond is an example, I know essendon is there, but what i am pointing out is they have started a successful yearly dreamtime game.

The interstate clubs have their own derbys, aswell as the major draw card victorian teams travel to sydney and brisbane usually to draw higher crowds there too. Teams like the bulldogs, saints, demons, etc should try and atleast get a big rivalry between each other with a certain named game or a game on a certain day each year. As games against the bigger drawing clubs like Essendon, Collingwood and now Hawthorn etc will sort themselves out for crowds...

So, my point in all this is, leave ANZAC day for Essendon and Collingwood, get your own day... :p

lol piss off, ive been to 2, what are you gonna do about it?

You can come to the games, im not saying you can't as a supporter of another club. What I am saying is don't turn it into a finals style game with the fans of the two teams being the smaller portion of the crowd. It is an awesome atmosphere with fans going for one of the two teams. I am also saying that if other teams are going to play their games on ANZAC, try your best, but don't try to take the game away from Essendon vs Collingwood unless your game can do better then what these two teams have achieved...

Less neutrals = more tickets for Essendon and Collingwood fans.

May seem funny given the capacity of the ground but there is still a ton of fans from both clubs who leave things late and miss out on tickets in recent years.

Agreed, mate, agreed. Neutrals (although they have good intentions) can dilute the atmosphere of such an occasion.

Good points, too, FFG.

Not that Im too bovvered about it - but that right there is the problem.
Get our 'own' day? Anzac day isnt YOURS. The 2 clubs have mostly drawn fantastic crowds but the specialnes of the Anzac day fixture is not something you two developed: it was given to you on a platter ready made, perfectly formed for big crowds and a strong emotional tie to the fixture. Theres no other National day like it within the football season.

If, (randomly) had Richmond and Carlton been at the top of their games in the mid-1990's then it could just have easily been them that got the gig. Face it, you've done well with it, but basically you really lucked out getting that prize day to yourselves. You've earnt the right to keep it for now, but I think there are strong arguaments that you shouldnt keep it forever. Things can change.

I went last year for the first time and really enjoyed the experience.

Having watched the game on TV for years I had always wanted to go, so when the Crows were playing in Melbourne on the same weekend last year, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to go.

This season we also play in Melbourne in the same round as the ANZAC Day game, so I'll be heading along again.

ANZAC day should be earned by clubs. There should be two games. One game should be between the top two Vic sides of the previous season to play at the MCG. The other game should be the top two interstate teams to be played at the ground of the team that finished highest on the ladder the year before.

Our service men earned their right to this day. In that spirit, so too should clubs earn that right. Anything less just smacks of imperialism and dishonours our Diggers.

Imagine what an insult it would be if both teams were last and second last the year before.

We made it what it is, all other clubs can envy it as much as they like but it's always going to be Coll v Ess.
The history is building and to be perfectly honest no other clubs deserve it.

ANZAC day should be earned by clubs.

Well for 80 odd years the day was there for two football sides to take and make into something special. Nobody did. Collingwood and ourselves did the hard work and made it into the day it is now. If you want a game like ANZAC Day do it yourselves.

QFT. Other supporters should respect this.

When did you guys start playing ANZAC day games?

This thread is the exact reason why footy should stop being played on Anzac day.

"We own Anzac Day", "We made the day special" - Just listen to what these guys are saying.

You'd think that the holiday was solely invented to honour the Collingwood and Essendon football clubs. Unbelievable.

Meaning of Anzac day is lost on these twerps.

This thread is the exact reason why footy should stop being played on Anzac day.

"We own Anzac Day", "We made the day special" - Just listen to what these guys are saying.

You'd think that the holiday was solely invented to honour the Collingwood and Essendon football clubs. Unbelievable.

Meaning of Anzac day is lost on these twerps.
We made the day special football wise. If you don't get the difference you're an ignorant fool.

And there are alot of ignorant fools who do think that ANZAC Day is about a footy match.

If the ANZAC Day match can get kids interested in and learning about the significance of the day at a youg age, is that not a good thing?

Not really no. Why should it take a football match for kids to understand what the day is about? Shouldnt that be taught in schools.

You know I should really remember that as 1995 was when we actually started playing in this comp and actually the same year we requested an ANZAC day tribute game.

We requested it again the following year and were given Fri instead and this became the first official Len Hall game.

Len Hall was a Dockers fan and Western Australia's last surviving Gallipoli veteran and also served in the Boer War. Every year since we have requested an ANZAC day game and when not granted we hold it on the day closest to the event.

It is a magnificent day and the Fremantle Football Club have a done a wonderful job commerating Vietnam, korea, Tobruk, Kokoda, prisoners of war, Vietnam and as well as the the sacrficies of women both on the field and at home.

However of course we shouldn't be able to provide a commerative match as the AFL saw fit not to grant us the day in our first year of inception even though we requested it.

By all means have your game Pies and Bombers - and be the only game on in Melb for all I care ...however Freo have every right to also commerate the day (which is a little more important than any football club or league).

It is about the ANZACs and I think a properly handled commerative game in each of Melb, Adelaide and Perth would be a better way to handle it.

Hell I'd even share it game about with the Eagles ...it is that important.

ANZAC Day 09