There's been at least one sell-out a year between 2015-2018. Probably would have had another in 2019 if it hadn't snowed against Hawthorn.
So a sell out is 14k + iin the current format .
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
There's been at least one sell-out a year between 2015-2018. Probably would have had another in 2019 if it hadn't snowed against Hawthorn.
My dream outcome is a stadium in Civic where they lower Parkes Way to make room for a 30k-undercover oval stadium. But I know that'll never happen, it'll just be too costly.
I would also be happy if they went with the EPIC option. A bit far north for a lot of Canberra, but the tram makes it more convenient. Plenty of room there, too.
I think an upgraded Manuka is still the most likely option. A lot of the uproar was not just the upgrade, but what it came with. I believe it was a private proposal, so there were other stipulations attached to the stadium.
Grocon also wanted to fit in "a mixed-use development in the Manuka precinct that includes a boutique 4-star hotel and serviced apartments, residential, commercial and retail and a licenced club". The locals may have been less cranky if it was just the stadium upgrade.
I think that if you could give Channel 7 better matches in prime time every week they would be fine.
Foxtel would see a reduction in games but they would be the afternoon/twilight timeslots anyway.
Major Stadium deals would have to be reworked but it would also mean that the AFL could charge a premium for the games that are sold to the boutique venues like Canberra, Alice Springs and Cairns. Less games to go around means each one is worth that much more. Supply and demand.
18 is never the magic number if the draw is still lopsided with playing some teams twice and not others
Makes more sense to go to 20. extend the finals system if anything , or a play in to wildcard spots for finals.
We do lose 4 rounds if we go to 20 teams and play each other once , so would have to find those games somewhere im assuming for $$$$$$$
Would a Tasmanian team get all games on free-to-air TV in their home market like the SA and WA teams?
Or would they do the hard yards like the Vic teams and actually contribute to the broadcast rights by playing Foxtel-exclusive matches?
I suspect given the weak economy they will be treated as such.
I think you will find if they are ever did create a stadium over at Civic, it would probably be for the Raiders, Brumbies & A-League team in the future therefore being created in a rectangular shape then a oval shape.
To be honest, I really didn't EPIC oval tbh as a spectator for the Canberra Demons and also a player when I played cricket there for ACT. Just seemed like a big oval of grass and not really much else to it unless it has been redeveloped. Maybe as a training base might be okay but just seemed like an average stadium with not a lot of cover tbf around the ground itself for spectators.
Manuka Oval would probably my pick as the main stadium for Canberra tbh right now as a player and spectator despite the location of the ground.
Although I think it will need redeveloping like I said to a much higher capacity to 30,000-35,000 but would also need that Light Rail that took people from City to Gungahlin I think to be re-constructed and be able to drop people off around that stadium cause when that happens, travel to and from Manuka Oval will be a hell of a lot easier then it was now and more fans will go to matches as a result of easy transport.
There already is a rail line but we don’t have passenger trains they only use it for freight these daysPerhaps build a rail line between Hobart and Launceston. It may sound stupid but I think the AFL would feel more comfortable if it only took an hour to get between the two cities.
I agree. The space around Civic is likely too tight too realistically fit an oval. But it would be amazing having a city stadium.
I should have elaborated about the EPIC stadium sorry. There were reports that it's become an option for the GIO replacement to be built at EPIC instead of Civic. If this happened, it'd be much easier to work an oval configuration into the plans.
But a 20k Manuka would suffice if we had to settle. It would create greater demand if we can sell-out games too.
Also, are you referring to Phillip Oval in Woden? I've never heard of any footy or cricket at EPIC.
How crazy would that be? Canberra is the 20th side due to Tassie taking a tough stance to the AFL.Sets up Canberra well to enter as the 20th team.
Coming in in the late 2020s after Tassie will give GWS enough time to pivot to Sydney full-time.
Greater Canberra is closing in on 500k. Play a home game each in the strong footy areas of Albury and Wagga and you've got a potential fanbase of 700k.
Bring on the Tassie Devils and Canberra Griffins!
Oh your talking about Exhibition Park in the North of Canberra. I thought EPIC was at Phillip never mind.
Your right and I'm wrong, I don't think Exhibition Park has hosted footy/cricket when I was there. It's EPC Solar Park in Phillip the one I was talking about, not EPIC in Lyneham.
I used to live near the EPIC in the Lyneham area. I haven't been there but it seems like a good stadium to maybe host cricket/rugby in the future but it will need to be developed though.
God, I'm losing it lately on here. I'm so sorry Canberra Pear
Shows how much I saw Canberra during my time
My dream outcome is a stadium in Civic where they lower Parkes Way to make room for a 30k-undercover oval stadium. But I know that'll never happen, it'll just be too costly.
I would also be happy if they went with the EPIC option. A bit far north for a lot of Canberra, but the tram makes it more convenient. Plenty of room there, too.
I think an upgraded Manuka is still the most likely option. A lot of the uproar was not just the upgrade, but what it came with. I believe it was a private proposal, so there were other stipulations attached to the stadium.
Grocon also wanted to fit in "a mixed-use development in the Manuka precinct that includes a boutique 4-star hotel and serviced apartments, residential, commercial and retail and a licenced club". The locals may have been less cranky if it was just the stadium upgrade.
Haha, no worries, I thought I was losing it! I didn't know about EPC Park though, that's far too similar.
There's nothing at EPIC at the moment, I think it just became an option because of space and it's connection to the light rail.
I think you will find if they are ever did create a stadium over at Civic, it would probably be for the Raiders, Brumbies & A-League team in the future therefore being created in a rectangular shape then a oval shape.
To be honest, I really didn't EPIC oval tbh as a spectator for the Canberra Demons and also a player when I played cricket there for ACT. Just seemed like a big oval of grass and not really much else to it unless it has been redeveloped. Maybe as a training base might be okay but just seemed like an average stadium with not a lot of cover tbf around the ground itself for spectators.
Manuka Oval would probably my pick as the main stadium for Canberra tbh right now as a player and spectator despite the location of the ground.
Although I think it will need redeveloping like I said to a much higher capacity to 30,000-35,000 but would also need that Light Rail that took people from City to Gungahlin I think to be re-constructed and be able to drop people off around that stadium cause when that happens, travel to and from Manuka Oval will be a hell of a lot easier then it was now and more fans will go to matches as a result of easy transport.
Yeah EPC Park in Woden just too far and tbh just felt like a grass field with nothing in sight tbh. The only thing that was there was really the Cricket ACT Training Centre & Headquarters.
Exactly true regarding the light rail and EPIC, I remember when I was there last year the light rail went from Gungahlin shopping centre to the City I think.
I did hear that they were starting Stage 2(A) of the Light Rail soon if I heard right.
Do you know where that will be constructed to by any chance?
It’s going to be hard enough to get the LR from the city to Woden - to cross Commonwealth Ave bridge it needs legislation through Federal Parliament. They aren’t going to go down Canberra Ave because there’s nothing there people-wise.
2A is literally from where it finishes in the city to the C’weath Bridge.
2B is the nightmare- across the bridge, through to Parliament House then down Adelaide Ave all the way to Woden. Needs a federal Act of Parliament due to going through Parliamentary Triangle.
Now that I know you're talking about Phillip Oval, it doesn't really matter what it's like for spectators at present. What matters is whether it has the space for building a large modern stadium around it, and if it's politically feasible to do so. Manuka can't rip up the pool and cottage next door because it's heritage listed, and has plenty of NIMBYs opposed to expansion. Does Phillip Oval have either of these issues?To be honest, I really didn't EPIC oval tbh as a spectator for the Canberra Demons and also a player when I played cricket there for ACT. Just seemed like a big oval of grass and not really much else to it unless it has been redeveloped. Maybe as a training base might be okay but just seemed like an average stadium with not a lot of cover tbf around the ground itself for spectators.
Now that I know you're talking about Phillip Oval, it doesn't really matter what it's like for spectators at present. What matters is whether it has the space for building a large modern stadium around it, and if it's politically feasible to do so. Manuka can't rip up the pool and cottage next door because it's heritage listed, and has plenty of NIMBYs opposed to expansion. Does Phillip Oval have either of these issues?
20 and 30 years ago there was 18 a side.
The difference is the umpires blew their whistle quicker and the AFL werent constantly chsnging rules and making the game worse every time.
If constant meddling makes it worse what makes you think even more meddling will help?
Why not stick to the rules, blow the whistle quicker, and move the ball on quicker. Zero chance for congestion.
WHY ? People cant simply understand the premiership ladder?
A bye is an extra break for the players.
I think Cricket ACT may own Phillip Oval now, or at least be the primary tenets and so have a say in how it’s developed. Also, they are a lot of apartments being built in the area so you may have similar issues as Manuka.Now that I know you're talking about Phillip Oval, it doesn't really matter what it's like for spectators at present. What matters is whether it has the space for building a large modern stadium around it, and if it's politically feasible to do so. Manuka can't rip up the pool and cottage next door because it's heritage listed, and has plenty of NIMBYs opposed to expansion. Does Phillip Oval have either of these issues?
Possible if the money is made available.I don't think so last time I remembered there although that was 12 months ago. It has the Cricket ACT building near though which would probably need re-constructing again to make it bigger if that was the stadium being used.
West Lakes never had a rail line to it. Woden eventually will, and that makes a big difference. You can have a ground close to the city but if it doesn't have good public transport links, it will always be inconvenient (The WACA is a great example of this).The problem I have is the area is kinda not in the city centre similar to how AAMI Stadium was built in South Australia at West Lakes instead of Adelaide and that was a pain to go to and from.
I just prefer a stadium similar to what Canberra Pear quoted in the city centre making it easier for us fans to go to.
That's unfortunate. I saw that both Cricket ACT and AFL Canberra were based there so I thought they might be able to work together.I think Cricket ACT may own Phillip Oval now, or at least be the primary tenets and so have a say in how it’s developed. Also, they are a lot of apartments being built in the area so you may have similar issues as Manuka.
I like that you're thinking outside the box, the problem is that area is not planned to be serviced by light rail, unless they eventually build one to Coombs. Areas with poor public transport and nothing around them are rarely good locations for stadia. Maybe a bit further up Cotter Rd, one of the fields around the Mint would be a good location, although I doubt the locals will be happy about the loss of open space.There is one location that doesn’t get a lot attention but maybe worth investigating and that is along the Tuggeranong Parkway near the Cotter Road overpass. It’s currently empty, is close to two main arterial roads and nearly dead centre in the middle of the city.