Are Collingwood really that good???

I love the constant Collingwood sook defence - oh we kicked badly.

In five games against the Saints and Geelong since the beginning of last season Collingwood have kicked

28:66

Just over 5 goals per game. All the points means they are mentally weak and fragile and crack in front of goals, probably all their shots are on acute angles because they attack from the wings at every opportunity.

That is a damning stat and as you quite rightly point out is in my view a major factor when assessing downhill skiing....

Should have won comfortably, but as the Pies have discovered a few times this season, bad kicking is bad football.

Re: How Can Colingwood be Considered Premiership Contenders?

It is Dane Swan then daylight in that team.

Collingwood will not be a serious threat whilst Davis, Didak, Medhurst are all in the same team. That is too much softness for any team to carry.

Worry about making it there first kiddo :thumbsu:

you are quite right, make no mistake there will be many teams who watched today's game and thought hang-on we are better than that, stronger and tougher....make the finals 1st sure, but if you make them you need players who can stand-up and you really need to question quite a few of yours...

lol collingwood are doing fine. had a number of injurys going into the game. yeah im dissapointed because, well, lets be honest, the umpires gave everything melbournes way in the last quarter. the jamar mark when reid was clearly being held is one that springs to mine. then for the last 5 minutes whenever there was a free kick it went melbournes way. in the end to get the two points when the other team has a few extra 'players' helping them out, well i think they did pretty well. very difficult to win a game with inaccurate kicking.

ps: should hawthorn supporters really be making calls? i mean... like... u did loose how many games in a row this season? yeah i reckon were doing much better then you...

I go by traditional means to judge these things

1 Geelong Cats
2 St Kilda
3 Collingwood
4 Fremantle
5 Western Bulldogs
6 Carlton
7 Sydney Swans
8 Hawthorn

Bad form, but still 3rd. We have a lot of improving to do, but we've won more than we've lost.

There is a lot of footy left this year

It is Dane Swan then daylight in that team.

Collingwood will not be a serious threat whilst Davis, Didak, Medhurst are all in the same team. That is too much softness for any team to carry.

Kind of agree, but on the other hand they need smalls because too often when the ball hit the ground it was run out far to easily.

Having Dick back will help, really like the look of him.

Davis went missing again, after actually playing well last week. No point keeping him if he is so inconsistent.

lol collingwood are doing fine. had a number of injurys going into the game. yeah im dissapointed because, well, lets be honest, the umpires gave everything melbournes way in the last quarter. the jamar mark when reid was clearly being held is one that springs to mine. then for the last 5 minutes whenever there was a free kick it went melbournes way. in the end to get the two points when the other team has a few extra 'players' helping them out, well i think they did pretty well. very difficult to win a game with inaccurate kicking.

ps: should hawthorn supporters really be making calls? i mean... like... u did loose how many games in a row this season? yeah i reckon were doing much better then you...

excuses excuses excuses

on their day collingwood can beat anyone

and also collingwood can get beaten by anyone

hard to read, because they can be so good at times

you are quite right, make no mistake there will be many teams who watched today's game and thought hang-on we are better than that, stronger and tougher....make the finals 1st sure, but if you make them you need players who can stand-up and you really need to question quite a few of yours...

disagree. i think that collingwood has shown this year already with a fit and firing team they can take it to anyone. go in with a few underdone players or a few of your heart and soul players and they'll struggle. at elast we dont depend on one player, like some teams... but ball, obree (balls 2nd), johnson and didak is going to have a large dent on any sides performance.

mY Foughts Are Dat U hAve seriouz grammer problemzzz.

We were extremely wasteful, 58 inside 50s to 38, 31 scoring shots to 21 yet we couldn't capitalise on our opportunities up forward. To be honest I'm happy with a draw considering how badly we played, yet extremely dissapointed that we never got our 'natural game' going. Melbourne played their hearts out and will be bitterly dissapointed with the end result.

Great game of footy collingwood to me showed a never say die effort to save the game. I think the pies are well placed at 3rd.

Isn't it frustrating that it's the best you ever are every year?:eek:

What would I care about every other year? As far as I'm concerned, Collingwood is in the top 4 at this stage, and looking at securing a double chance.

Lets not even talk about history, because as far as I'm concerned, we're also one of the top 3 most successful sides in history, thats nothing to be frustrated about either.

excuses excuses excuses

on their day collingwood can beat anyone

and also collingwood can get beaten by anyone

hard to read, because they can be so good at times

Doesn't that apply to just about every team in the comp? After all, there is no undefeated side in season 2010.

Great game of footy collingwood to me showed a never say die effort to save the game. I think the pies are well placed at 3rd.

Definitely dug deep to save a game we should have won comfortably, if not for poor conversion. Honestly thought it had slipped away and that with all those misses, the stuffing had well and truly been knocked out of us with confidence absolutely diminished.

2 points is very important in the context of the season considering where we are positioned on the ladder.

We were extremely wasteful, 58 inside 50s to 38, 31 scoring shots to 21 yet we couldn't capitalise on our opportunities up forward.

Melbourne played their hearts out and will be bitterly dissapointed with the end result.

Ummm, this has already been covered, when you are pushed to the boundary line or play the boundary line like your team does, then it stands to reason that your shots at goal will be wide...

Melbourne played their hearts out and yours didn't is that what you are saying? if that is the case then questions should be asked of your playing group in my view.

Usual story..string afew big wins together, mediocre players play above themselves and bring false hope to ther supporters :thumbsdown:

Would have been better off to finish towards the bottom of the ladder in the last few seasons and get some quality youth in their list

Doesn't that apply to just about every team in the comp? After all, there is no undefeated side in season 2010.
quote]

yeah but its a common theme tho with collingwood

i'm not having a shot or anything

but u tend to win games u shouldnt and lose games u shouldnt, over the last few years anyway

think even bucks said that last year, but i suppose your a young team and not like u lost today anyway