Attempt at a 2013 AFL fixture

That helps the discussion
Massive contribution
Thanks bud, Not like anyone has ever said the Bye is shit should be 22 or 24 rounds.
Lets have a repeater and read the same thing over. I guess it will be like the massive contribution the Crows will have in this years finals. Like it matters what a fans fixture says, it's stupidity and an inferior thread.

Thanks bud, Not like anyone has ever said the Bye is shit should be 22 or 24 rounds.
Lets have a repeater and read the same thing over. I guess it will be like the massive contribution the Crows will have in this years finals. Like it matters what a fans fixture says, it's stupidity and an inferior thread.
That's better, now we haven't got a one-word post and we actually know WHY you think what you think :)
BTW, if you don't like fans fixtures, you don't need to read or post at all. Just like if you don't like carrots you don't need to eat them.

I know my fixture isn't that good, and I'm perfectly fine with it being called crap. May I ask what don't you like about it in particular though (as I'll try and improve it)?

I actually want people to criticise my fixture, that was part of the reason why I posted on here. What I don't want is flogs adding nothing of value to this thread. Contribute constructively or please nick off. :)

I think, first off, congratulations have to be in order. I attempted this probably 5-6 times this year and each time failed to complete the fixture - on one occassion, thought I had, only to find Collingwood v Sydney in Melbourne twice, and no way to rectify it... I'd be happy, from a cursory glance, as a North supporter, with most of this fixture, except the amount of travel late in the season - Perth, Melbourne, SCG then AAMI, back to Melbourne for a couple of weeks before going back to Perth. Port v North on a Friday night is a bizarre selection, but I certainly wouldn't be complaining!

This is ridiculously good from a st Kilda pov

We don't travel to Subiaco, four interstate against Brisbane gold coast Adelaide and overseas

Also play at Simonds which I think we are due for and probably will cop.

Play north, Essendon, Adelaide, Richmond and wb twice - at least seven wins there.

Haven't looked at six day breaks or tv coverage but that doesn't bother me personally.

Play away: Brisbane, Geelong, Carlton, gold coast, Collingwood, hawthorn (miss out on a lot of money v Carlton Collingwood and hawthorn. Also potential for five or six losses here)
Play home: west coast, Freo, GWS, Sydney, port, Melbourne. (just about four guaranteed wins there)

Okay seven six or less day breaks (including two five day breaks) but given we get the exposure of Anzac day and Monday night, I'll happily take that.

13 on fta - are you sure you're not a closet st Kilda fan chappy? This draw is insanely good.

Probably sucks from a commercial perspective though - but if sources are correct that we will make a million out of the nz deal, who cares?

Great effort, creating a fixture is one of the most challenging things you can do.

Okay seven six or less day breaks (including two five day breaks) but given we get the exposure of Anzac day and Monday night, I'll happily take that.

13 on fta - are you sure you're not a closet st Kilda fan chappy? This draw is insanely good.

Probably sucks from a commercial perspective though - but if sources are correct that we will make a million out of the nz deal, who cares?

Great effort, creating a fixture is one of the most challenging things you can do.

Hmm, didn't think I'd given the Saints 13 free-to-air games. Didn't actually count the amount of FTA games I gave each side, but glancing through the fixture I noticed that FTA allocations are rather uneven (gave Carlton something like 18 and the Giants/Suns about 2 or 3!).
I agree that the Saints draw wasn't fantastic from a commercial perspective- lot of home games v interstate and lower-drawing clubs. And the NZ game is apparently supposed to be against Sydney. Oh well, glad you liked it, guess St. Kilda got a reasonable draw anyhow.
Also made some changes to the original. Decided not to move Geelong v Carlton in Round 20 from Kardinia Park however, the Blues are well overdue now for a trip down the highway.

Richmond round 16 in Perth
Round 17 in Brisbane
Round 18 in Perth.
Will not happen. Other than that its not half bad

Yep, that was pretty silly of me. Another thing that won't happen in the real fixture is Carlton v Essendon to open the season, it'll be the Tigers/Blues again.

Just goes to show how much contractual arrangements limit how fair a fixture can be.

I hope you were using a computer program to create this fixture. Conditional programming can make it much easier than doing it by hand even if some conditions can be hard to put into a program.

Just goes to show how much contractual arrangements limit how fair a fixture can be.

I hope you were using a computer program to create this fixture. Conditional programming can make it much easier than doing it by hand even if some conditions can be hard to put into a program.

Nope, it was completely done by hand.

Round 1
Thurs
GWS v Syd (ANZ)

Fri
Carl v Rich (MCG)

Sat
North v Brisbane (ES)
Adelaide v Freo (AAMI)
GCS v Melb (MS)
Geel v Haw (MCG)

Sun
WB v StK (ES)
Coll v PA (MCG)
WCE v Ess (Pat)
not a bad first round, but I would hope we get a home game first round since we didn't last season.

HappyChappy35 you've given Essendon a horror draw there mate, no offense, but I'd hope we get somewhat of an easier draw next year. Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong in the first 5 rounds isn't exactly easy

Round 1: Easter Round
Thursday 28/3/13
Richmond vs Carlton (MCG, 7:45, 7)
Saturday 30/3/13
Greater Western Sydney vs Sydney (ANZ, 1:45, 7)
Western Bulldogs vs North Melbourne (ES, 2:15, Fox)
Brisbane vs Gold Coast (Gabba, 4:45, Fox)
Collingwood vs Melbourne (MCG, 7:45, 7)
Adelaide vs Port Adelaide (AAMI, 7:45, Fox)
Sunday 31/3/13
Essendon vs Fremantle (ES, 1:15, Fox)
West Coast vs St. Kilda (PS, 4:45, Fox)
Monday 1/4/13
Geelong vs Hawthorn (MCG, 3:15, 7)

That's what I've done currently, I'm going for a pretty big round 1 you'd have to say. It was fairly hard to do the first 2 rounds I must admit, kudos to HappyChappy35

This is A terrible fixture. For one, Richmond and Carlton are supposed to play in the first round on a Thursday night,and geelong have to play at Kardinia park in round 10, AND Sydney is supposed to play Collingwood at ANZ, it's a tradition. Also why does Richmond Play all the interstate teams away. Also 3 games shouldnt be played on anzac Day, Only Collingwood and Essondon are supposed to play on Anzac Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thursday 28/3/13
Saturday 30/3/13
Sunday 31/3/13
Monday 1/4/13

That's what I've done currently, I'm going for a pretty big round 1 you'd have to say. It was fairly hard to do the first 2 rounds I must admit, kudos to HappyChappy35
That is what i call a good Fixture

Thursday 28/3/13
Saturday 30/3/13
Sunday 31/3/13
Monday 1/4/13

I'd suggest making the ANZ game a Sydney home game, for the unfurling of their flag.
Possibly as a stand-alone game the week before the rest the season starts. That worked well this year.

Thursday 28/3/13
Saturday 30/3/13
Sunday 31/3/13
Monday 1/4/13

Just a few things:
-Brisbane are contracted to host the Easter Thursday game.
-The GWS game will be on Saturday night, probably as a Sydney home game so they can unfurl the flag.
-Port Adelaide will most likely be playing Collingwood.
-The match on Easter Monday will probably be a Hawks home game (it was ours this year, and so it will be their turn next season).

I shouldn't criticise it anyway, this is a massive improvement on my first round.

HappyChappy35 you've given Essendon a horror draw there mate, no offense, but I'd hope we get somewhat of an easier draw next year. Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong in the first 5 rounds isn't exactly easy

That is fairly tough. Will mean you finish the season with these 5 sides whilst potentially battling for a finals berth. Can totally understand if Bombers supporters don't like it.

This is A terrible fixture. For one, Richmond and Carlton are supposed to play in the first round on a Thursday night,and geelong have to play at Kardinia park in round 10, AND Sydney is supposed to play Collingwood at ANZ, it's a tradition. Also why does Richmond Play all the interstate teams away. Also 3 games shouldnt be played on anzac Day, Only Collingwood and Essondon are supposed to play on Anzac Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

On this:
-I was tired of Richmond/Carlton having a monopoly on the season opener, so decided to change it.
-Realised that Geelong weren't playing at home until Round 10 halfway through the fixture, and by this time it was too late to change anything. My bad.
-The Pies are probably sick of playing the Swans in Sydney.
-Richmond only have 5 interstate games, less than most other Victorian teams.
-I see nothing wrong with 3 games on Anzac Day. The Saints will probably be playing on Anzac Day in NZ next year anyhow (albeit against Sydney), and I thought I'd give Freo their Len Hall game on the Thursday night so the Swans could have their only Friday night game of the season the following night. I was also going to have Hawthorn playing GC in Tassie on Anzac Day as a twilight game, but decided to move it to Saturday (still not sure why I did, will possibly change this).

Have made one minor change to the fixture- Swans v GWS in Round 1 is now a Sydney home game.

Attempt at a 2013 AFL fixture