Autopsy autopsy v * in it for more than half a game.

Post-game thoughts
  • Our worst players are hurting us more than our best players are helping us. This is killing our ability to remain competitive.
  • This includes players like McDonald, Scott, Tucker, Shiel, Lazzaro, etc etc
  • Young guys today were our best, again. Sheezel, LDU, Xerri, Powell.
  • Shoutout to Corr and Comben who both had pretty solid games in defense.
  • It cannot be over-emphasised just how badly the crap disposal of Scott, Tucker, Shiels, and Larkey (!) sucked the momentum away from us today. A combined 28 turnovers from those 4 players alone. Jesus christ...
  • Speaking of Larkey, he is absolutely doing my head in this season. Frustrating to watch basically every single week.
  • Our BnF is Sheezel 1, Xerri 2, then a massive gap to whomever is in 3rd place.
  • Credit to Jaidyn Stephenson - was challenged publicly a few weeks ago but has been markedly better since.
  • Toby Pink competed well - a few more games under his belt and I reckon he can provide a much needed foil in our forward line.
Great summary Chadwiko - Larkey has been extremely poor after his 2023 campaign. His elevation to the Leadership Group was meant to be showing the young pups in the forward line some guidance and direction. All I am seeing this year is someone that whinges at the umpires, drops easy marks and keeps flopping for cheap free kicks.

A big difference when Corr isn't played as a key defender. Is and always has been at his best as a 3rd tall option. Would have liked to see Comben swap to Wright after half time and given Dawson a chance to build up some confidence on that plodder Harrison Jones. Definitely a player in there though, didn't look out of place.

Please no more Scott or Tucker. Absolute butchers. I'd rather see Ford playing out on the wing over Tucker. Scott desperately needs to build up some confidence in the VFL.

Monster game by Xerri. Shiels wound back the clock too.

A few more positives today than in recent weeks. Scott has got the yips at the minute which turns his usually average disposal to shocking and Tucker is just limited. I give them both a pass as they at least have AFL level running capacity and there’s nobody to replace them with anyway.

I liked the midfield mix today with Shiels playing a defensive role and LDU, Wardlaw, Powell and Sheezel playing as the main mids. Stick with it and give them a chance to build confidence with each other. Where that leaves Simpkin, I’m not sure. I know where it leaves Phillips, which is in the twos.

The backline overall functioned a lot better, particularly before Bergman went off. Dawson was beaten on the day but was miles better than either Biggy or Pink. I reckon persist with him in the team as long as his body is holding up okay.

The forward line still a mess honestly. No cohesion, nowhere near enough pressure and nowhere near enough leadership. I’m well and truly on the kick Zurhaar to the curb train. He is a massive drain on building any kind of teamwork down there. I’d give Fordy his spot permanently and Cam can sook it up in the twos.

Turnovers let them into early too - we started really well and had them rattled. But yeah Scott needs to play wing in the 2s for a bit.

I give them both a pass as they at least have AFL level running capacity and there’s nobody to replace them with anyway.
I agree with the second part regarding replacements but the first part, what good is running capacity if you can’t use the ball for shit?

45 turnovers between them, yeah but did you see how they ran? Elite!

Ugh

it’s sad being at the footy knowing that you might be a couple of goals behind but you’re no where near the contest at all. all it took was essendon to slightly put the foot down on the throats and second quarter capitulation was delayed by 30 mins.

some really plodders on our team zurhaar and scott to name a couple. scott has lost his kicking licence and is only aloud to handball now until he can be trusted again. the hospital handpsss to wardlaw was absolutely disgusting from a senior player. had no idea what to do with it when he called for it back after kicking it to the player who was inside 50, then proceeded to poop his little poppa when a essendon player approached him soo thought the best option was to handball to a second year player surrounded by 3 * players. i lost count of how many times fisher called for the ball flat footed in the back pocket whilst the player kicking it was in the back pocket. just trying to drive his stat numbers with crap nothing possessions.

I agree with the second part regarding replacements but the first part, what good is running capacity if you can’t use the ball for s**t?

45 turnovers between them, yeah but did you see how they ran? Elite!

Ugh
Yeah they had a terrible day at the office for sure. No denying that.

Very, very hard to watch the team scrap and claw and fight their way to a three-goal deficit halfway through the third quarter off the back of nothing more than basically sheer will, and George Wardlaw, and for them to have a convoy running through the middle with two leading forwards 30m out from goal, and for Bailey Scott to kick it five metres to the left to an Essendon defender who started the play with his back to the footy. Turnover, rebound 50, Alwyn Davey goal, bang, floodgates, game over. Absolute momentum slaughter.

We're so close in so many ways, but the usual suspects - Scott, Tucker chief among them - are holding us back. Their usual guns - Merrett, Langford, Martin, Redman - were or have been down on their regular output. Corr played a great game, Shiels played well on Merrett for a half, Redman and Laverde demolished Zurhaar but weren't offensively that great. We just turn it over in so many creative and interesting ways and we make it so hard for ourselves to develop any sense of fluency and drive.

The first half was a really good effort. I thought we played them really well at centre clearances and crucially, outside of one effort at the first bounce, Xerri didn't try to contest our midfielders for ground balls. He clearly knows what works against Goldstein and I thought focused on getting in his space early after the bounce. Powell had an excellent first quarter, and a great first half overall. Faded a bit in the second half, but did his job.

Lazzaro did nothing in a game that should have been set up for him to do well. I don't see what he offers, and the spot is realistically there for him to take off Tucker.

Tucker was deplorable. His ball drop lends itself to the ball floating. He's a big body and aggressive but he turns the ball over consistently and doesn't offer enough. I know why he's out there, and he'll get the rest of the year. But we can't move forward as a club and as a team if we have him as a first choice wingman.

Stephenson's infield kicking is so hit and miss but when it's a hit it's really good. He just doesn't get involved enough, his magical ability to be where the footy is not is basically second to none. I'd almost like to see him played as a full time winger - legitimately anyone but Scott at the moment - because having Stephenson deliver the footy inside 50 is a far better proposition.

I reckon we lost this game the second we decided to debut Dawson, but I don't hate that we did. What I didn't necessarily love was keeping Dawson on Wright for a whole game, fantastic learning experience notwithstanding. We have the reigning SANFL TOTY FB running around like a headless chook in the forward line; what's the harm in swapping the two and giving Dawson a bit of a rest in the forward line? On Dawson, there's enough signs there that he'll be a footballer, largely the fact that he's 200cm at 18 years old, but he just got lost on Wright too many times. Persist and it'll happen eventually.

Wardlaw was great. Our team seems determined to kill him. The Zurhaar fiasco in the last quarter where he sold Wardlaw into an ADJ tackle was absurdist football at its best. He just took over the second quarter, he's going to be such a good player when he is older and fitter. Great player now.

Corr destroyed Langford. Probably his best game for the club. From pillar to post. A shining light.

I've absolutely given up on the season and I hate footy. But all I want to see when I watch is signs of life. I think there were enough signs of life, both as a team and for individual players, that I will subject myself to this bullshit against next week.
Great summary. Scott and Tucker simply cant afford to turn it over that much given their typical possession counts and lack of creativity.

Stephenson i thought the effort was there, just drifted in and out. But he worked hard up the ground and some great pressure acts.

Corr was fantastic. I was saying early in the year he's a guy that needs a solid block of games to get back up to speed, but even i was starting wonder given it was taking longer than i expected.

Big X way to strong for Goldie, proved our decision 100% correct. Really pleased he's looking more dangerous marking around the ground. Long way to go, but trajectory is up.

Only said this week that i wasnt convinced with Sheez as a mid, but chemistry of our mids looked much better today. Some of the tap on work by he and Wardlaw opened play up and help LDU do what he does best.

And on him, not sure stats wise how LDU's game rated but less turn overs, hurt them on the scoreboard and many pressure acts. Thought he was A grade today.

2mP, he played a great game and im not sure anyone would've stopped him today. He straighten them up and if not marking he created chaos. Baptism of fire for Dawson but experience will serve him well longer term.

40pts sucks, but again some bad skills on our behalf has blown the margin bigger than it really should be. Lots of positives to take from the game despite a poor end result.

I hope our side got encouraged by having longer in the game. Did get to see for myself that the other club will be found out as the season goes on and that the ladder at the moment reflects their easy start, not any big change to their flakiness, so that’s better than nothing.

Very, very hard to watch the team scrap and claw and fight their way to a three-goal deficit halfway through the third quarter off the back of nothing more than basically sheer will, and George Wardlaw, and for them to have a convoy running through the middle with two leading forwards 30m out from goal, and for Bailey Scott to kick it five metres to the left to an Essendon defender who started the play with his back to the footy. Turnover, rebound 50, Alwyn Davey goal, bang, floodgates, game over. Absolute momentum slaughter.

We're so close in so many ways, but the usual suspects - Scott, Tucker chief among them - are holding us back. Their usual guns - Merrett, Langford, Martin, Redman - were or have been down on their regular output. Corr played a great game, Shiels played well on Merrett for a half, Redman and Laverde demolished Zurhaar but weren't offensively that great. We just turn it over in so many creative and interesting ways and we make it so hard for ourselves to develop any sense of fluency and drive.

The first half was a really good effort. I thought we played them really well at centre clearances and crucially, outside of one effort at the first bounce, Xerri didn't try to contest our midfielders for ground balls. He clearly knows what works against Goldstein and I thought focused on getting in his space early after the bounce. Powell had an excellent first quarter, and a great first half overall. Faded a bit in the second half, but did his job.

Lazzaro did nothing in a game that should have been set up for him to do well. I don't see what he offers, and the spot is realistically there for him to take off Tucker.

Tucker was deplorable. His ball drop lends itself to the ball floating. He's a big body and aggressive but he turns the ball over consistently and doesn't offer enough. I know why he's out there, and he'll get the rest of the year. But we can't move forward as a club and as a team if we have him as a first choice wingman.

Stephenson's infield kicking is so hit and miss but when it's a hit it's really good. He just doesn't get involved enough, his magical ability to be where the footy is not is basically second to none. I'd almost like to see him played as a full time winger - legitimately anyone but Scott at the moment - because having Stephenson deliver the footy inside 50 is a far better proposition.

I reckon we lost this game the second we decided to debut Dawson, but I don't hate that we did. What I didn't necessarily love was keeping Dawson on Wright for a whole game, fantastic learning experience notwithstanding. We have the reigning SANFL TOTY FB running around like a headless chook in the forward line; what's the harm in swapping the two and giving Dawson a bit of a rest in the forward line? On Dawson, there's enough signs there that he'll be a footballer, largely the fact that he's 200cm at 18 years old, but he just got lost on Wright too many times. Persist and it'll happen eventually.

Wardlaw was great. Our team seems determined to kill him. The Zurhaar fiasco in the last quarter where he sold Wardlaw into an ADJ tackle was absurdist football at its best. He just took over the second quarter, he's going to be such a good player when he is older and fitter. Great player now.

Corr destroyed Langford. Probably his best game for the club. From pillar to post. A shining light.

I've absolutely given up on the season and I hate footy. But all I want to see when I watch is signs of life. I think there were enough signs of life, both as a team and for individual players, that I will subject myself to this bullshit against next week.
No flaws in this post. Just genius.
Poty for mine, hang it in the louvre

That performance was more in line with what we produced against Fremantle. When LDU got his second midway through the third quarter, we looked a genuine chance. Unfortunately, Bailey’s subsequent screw up going inside fifty handed the initiative back to them big time, at a very crucial stage. Our inability to quell repeat inside fifties is what comes home to roost week in week out. The fact that Pink can make us more dangerous up forward is both an indictment and a positive. Zurhaar continues to be a letdown. He appears to have so much more in his arsenal than he’s delivering. We can hammer Bailey Scott all we like. He’s the epitome of a North winger. He reminds me so much of Brady Rawlings and Gibson. Runs his heart out but commits dreadful errors. Stephenson and Corr were excellent.

It's actually insane how often the little things that aren't affected by actual ability, go against us.

The bounce of the ball spraying off in a random direction away from a player running in, or straight into the direction of an opposition player that should be theoretically out of the contest.

I reckon after they delisted Boomer et al. the footy dept fell through about 43 mirrors on the way back to the office.
After walking under 6 ladders and seeing 4 black ravens 🐦‍⬛

Deadset I recon we lost the game only on the back of missed tackles today. All game we let them take the tackle on, free arms clearing the ball. It just kills our setup when an oppo mid can take on 2/3 of our guys and still find someone on the outside.

Also after half time you can see huge differences in work rate. Us exiting D50 there are matchups all over the ground and we’re chipping risky 45 deg kicks. Them exiting D50 there’s an easy out to the flank, then easy kick to the wing, then one into the middle, and four forwards all leading at the ball. Shithouse work rate and very poor setup.

Autopsy autopsy v * in it for more than half a game.