Society & Culture Awkward Situations

WTF is this? :eek:

Is this a term used often these days by young crew?

Sounds ridiculous!

Who goes to uni/work without showering or wearing deodorant? Deserve her to smell you and be disgusted!

And re the toilet, just ask, "hey is anyone in here?" Someone will soon let you know! And chances are if the door isn't locked it is either empty or someone is having a piss in there.

The youth of today disturb me!

Or perhaps a good old knock?

When you are looking at a hot chick then they look up then your eyes brush their eyes and then you just quickly look away.

And the winner is... My friend is a plumber and hex fixing some toilet pipes

Once hes done he goes to the women of the house

"Its all fixed up now but in the future try not to flush your condoms down the toilet because thats what is causing the blockage"

"We dont use condoms"

30 seconds later the husband rocks up. She throws a potplant at his car and starts yelling at him. He stood there for about 15 minutes waiting to get paid before he thought better of it and hightailed it out of there. In general the flow of information between one person and another is the cause of all awkwardness.

Appropriate thread for this

RE: That plumber/condom story...

The wife would want to be pretty damn sure they've lived in the house their entire life, it was never rented out for a period of time or there was no remote possibility of kids or guests doing it.

It's a pretty unretractable move to make on the husband...

more of a funny story, but still awkward

this happened last year when i was at uni in my tute, i was sitting at the back of the class with a few mates when some chick sits right in front of us and i noticed a long bit of toilet paper hanging out of her pants. so being a good mate i pointed it out to the others, and we all lost our shit and couldn't stop laughing. Anyway after about 30 mins of the class i'd just start randomly laughing cos of the chick in front of me (cos the toilet paper is staring right at me) whilst the rest of the class would turn around and give me and the others weird looks.anyway for the rest of the class i was just biting the inside of my cheeks and covering my mouth trying not to laugh. i'd be doing the occasional snort laugh and giggle and again every1 would turn around and give me looks.
Finally the class finished and she got up with the toilet paper still hanging, whilst the rest of the class and the tutor finally understood what we were laughing at and burst out laughing as well. Anyway we had the lecture straight after this tute so we'd see her again when we got there. Of course when i got there it was still there and i lost my shit again. She ended up coming back 10 mins later (toilet paper gone) and just stared at us, none of us said anything but she knew what we were laughing at

this happened to a mate of mine.

we were having a few drinks before the footy at transport bar when my brother and 2 other mates started talking to some bloke about the game. Anyway they were talking for about 10 mins whilst me and my mate continued our convo, when it came time to leave, they all said see ya and they all shook hands with this bloke, so my mate thought he'd do the same when he hasn't even said 1 word to him and this guy just gave him the thumbs up as he went to shake hands.

my mate tries to deny that it didnt happen, but now i shit stir him every time i see him and give him the thumbs up instead of shaking hands.

The most awkward thing that has happened to me lately was at the scum hole of all scum holes, Box Hill Central. Was passing through after playing cricket with a few mates. We are also with this guy who is the most socially awkward thing ever invented. He wears his BHCC club hat around everywhere, junners regularly, katmandu polos. You get the idea. We introduced him to this girl who was there at the time (Solid 8/9) , and tried to make it as awkward as possible for him, as he hasnt talked to a girl for at least a few months or so. The guy who knows the girl best suddenly leaves me and the socially awkward guy with her. I don't know her well at all, and she has to wait there until he returns, and our friend with the junners on lets rip this huge fart, which almost cleared out the whole maccas. The ensuing 10 minutes were very awkward until he came back.

Ordered a dominoes pizza about 2 years ago now. Called up made my order then went in to pick it up.

When I get there, the store is empty, just a couple of indian blokes working (assume one of them took my call). Look up on their computer screen and see only one order for a Rajiv..

It was then I realised that the bloke had got my name wrong. Bugger.

Anyway,Indian comes with two pizzas
"Two meat lovers for Rajiv.." he says.
''Err I think that is me''... I replied.

Had about a 20 second awkard pause, which involved me wondering if I should explain the situation/tell him someone got my name wrong or if i should just go with the flow and look like a w***er who was taking the piss out of the workers.

Quickly scampered up to get my pizzas and was met with an absolute death glare. Never gone back there again.

A few years back, my mum went and got us pizzas from the local Domino's. There's a shopping centre opposite, but she didn't really have anything she needed to buy, so she just waited in the pizza store. She was waiting there for ages - people had come in after her and already left, that's how long she was there. Eventually she asked the person at the counter what was going on, because she'd been sitting there for about 45 minutes, and her name, Helen, wasn't on the screen. Turns out for some reason they'd put her name down as "Issacs", which obviously sounds nothing like her given name, and doesn't even sound anything like our surname either (not that they would have known our surname anyway).

Was out walking with the mrs and her friend today at a local track. Brought a footy along to look more macho. Walking along this bloke jogging towards me puts his hands out in front of his chest simulating a mark/asking me to kick it to him. Hit him lace out*. Only problem was he wasnt looking. Mrs and her friend start laughing hysterically and bloke gives me a dirty. Mrs and friend both deny he asked for the footy to be kicked to him and say it was his weird running style.

*Yes I know im freaking awesome. Should be playing AFL.:rolleyes:

more of a funny story, but still awkward

this happened last year when i was at uni in my tute, i was sitting at the back of the class with a few mates when some chick sits right in front of us and i noticed a long bit of toilet paper hanging out of her pants. so being a good mate i pointed it out to the others, and we all lost our shit and couldn't stop laughing. Anyway after about 30 mins of the class i'd just start randomly laughing cos of the chick in front of me (cos the toilet paper is staring right at me) whilst the rest of the class would turn around and give me and the others weird looks.anyway for the rest of the class i was just biting the inside of my cheeks and covering my mouth trying not to laugh. i'd be doing the occasional snort laugh and giggle and again every1 would turn around and give me looks.
Finally the class finished and she got up with the toilet paper still hanging, whilst the rest of the class and the tutor finally understood what we were laughing at and burst out laughing as well. Anyway we had the lecture straight after this tute so we'd see her again when we got there. Of course when i got there it was still there and i lost my shit again. She ended up coming back 10 mins later (toilet paper gone) and just stared at us, none of us said anything but she knew what we were laughing at

Reminds me of a lecture I was in once and some asian guy a couple of rows in front of us fell asleep and then his head started rolling around in circles. Both me and the mate I was sitting next to started cracking up and then couldn't stop, tried to focus on the lecture but could just keep seeing this dudes head rolling around in front of us. Even when I thought I'd got it together and stopped, my mate started laughing again and then that would set me off again as well.

Other people in the lecture kept turning around and looking at us, don't think they knew what we were laughing at or didn't find it as funny. Was one of those situations where the more you aren't supposed to laugh, the more you end up laughing. Was actually a relief when the lecture finished so we could get out of there. The Asian head rolling dude was still asleep when we left, probably should have woken him up but f*** it.

Ah, Thursday morning lectures. ;)

After a "rather large" Uni night on Wednesday, I had an 8am lecture (which never had more than about 20% of the class turn up). I rolled in about 7:59, without having made it to bed yet. It was my only class for the day until 5pm, so I normally slept afterwards.

This particular day none of my friends showed, so I was sitting by myself. I remember the lecturer walking in, and then not much else, until I was woken by some strange old woman shaking me.

Blearily, I wipe my eyes and look around. There's not a single person from my lecture group in the theatre. I look at my watch. Its 10:45.

I was told by the lecturer I'd fallen asleep about 10 minutes in, and had intermittently snored/sneezed during the class without waking up. He tried to wake me at the end at 9:30 but I was completely out to it, so he left me there.

The same theatre was used for the Arts students, who's lecture started at 10:30. About five minutes in I started snoring really loudly - so loudly no-one could hear the lecturer (through the loudspeaker!) and they decided to wake me up.

Worst part was once I'd woken up, I had to get past 6-7 people (all with computers/books/etc allready out, and walk down the steps and accross the theatre - giving every single person in there a good look.

I didn't go to morning lectures after that.

^ hahaha amazing. :D