Society & Culture Awkward Situations

here's more of a funny situation that made me lol...

i was taking the train to work one morning at about 7, its always packed as of course.

i get in and stand there as the train takes off. a large girl probably about 20 years old is sitting in the two priority seats, dressed in a miss mauds-like attire.

after a little while, shes eating stuff and then she grabs a 1.25L bottle of pepsi...takes a swig and about 5 seconds later she throws is back up all over herself.

i completely lost my shit, i couldnt stop laughing. when i'd try and stop i'd burst out again. i felt so bad for her, she was trying to clean it up but she was just rubbing it in. i think thats what made me keep laughing, her trying to pretend like nothing happened.

all the businessmen stood silently, staring at me and her. but inside they were laughing...surely?

worst part was we still had like 3 more stops til perth station. was pretty arkward, i felt like a dick afterwards. it was still a good start to the day.

i salute you, priority seat(s) spew girl.
Yeah, pretty good. Had a similar shit happen to me.

Some fat chick got on the train all dressed up in her mini skirt and overdone make-up. She sorta does this catwalk shit up the tram and the tram suddenly brakes and she trips over/falls on her face.

No one laughed.

Me? well, I laughed my ****ing ass off, if you dont find shit like that hilarious, something is wrong.

Also, some dude was skating in the city, doing some decent tricks. As I was walking past, he tries to land a trick that looked pretty ****ing hard but stacks it right in front of me.

I basically laughed in his face.

Watching someone trip is mad fun.

I hate it when you're using the toilets at work and a colleague comes in and uses the stall next to you. You don't know who it is, they don't know who you are, but it's awkward as hell.

If I need to go and someone is using a stall, I'll either use another bathroom or just wait.

On a similar note, it's also awkward when you finish in the bathrooms and someone else walks in when you're washing your hands. They don't mention anything about the god awful smell, but they know it was you!

It's also awkward when you say something completely normal, but out of context.

ie. You get out of a taxi at the airport and the cabbie says "Have a nice flight", to which you instinctively reply "You too."

This has happened to me on many occasions!

It's also awkward when you say something completely normal, but out of context.

ie. You get out of a taxi at the airport and the cabbie says "Have a nice flight", to which you instinctively reply "You too."

This has happened to me on many occasions!
Or when the pizza man tells you to have a good night.

'Yeah...you too.'

Let's be honest, you're spending your night driving a van around giving people food that you desperately wish you could eat, for about 4 dollars an hour. You're having a shit one.

</thread>

My-Date-With-Amanda.png

Tripping over in public. I always try and act cool by looking back at what has tripped me up as though it was the object's fault and not my own.

I do that, but also incorperate a shake of the head after looking back as well, just to emphasise my disgust at the object's audacity to try and trip me over :p

Yep love it. The best one is when someone trips on a bit of concrete or brick sticking up, and they then break out into a jog for 20 metres, making it look like they meant to start randomly jogging for no particular reason. Always makes me laugh.

When you see someone you think you know and say 'Hey, hows it going?', and they go 'Do I know you?'. And then you realise, o shit this isn't the guy, and just have to reply 'sorry mate, thought you were someone else'. Super awkward....

I'm a pizza kid, and when it comes to saying goodbye, it's hectically awkward. Such as when both of you say 'have a good night' at the same time. It's even funnier when both reply with 'you too' at the same time. Or when they say something else, and you don't quite hear and you're already walking off and it's kinda weird to say 'what?'.

Oh, it's also awkward when they say keep the change but you don't hear them. Orrr you're not sure whether to keep the 10c and you don't ask. Then they tell you they want their 10c.

Yep love it. The best one is when someone trips on a bit of concrete or brick sticking up, and they then break out into a jog for 20 metres, making it look like they meant to start randomly jogging for no particular reason. Always makes me laugh.

Haha that's what I do.

More often, I'm not watching where I am going and nearly ran into another person. Happened one time a few months back. Although I think it was more of a blind collision (neither could see the other coming around the corner). Anyway I sad sorry while the other guy (looked like a tradie or cashed up bogan type) proceeded to raise the middle finger.

Well that's the only time in recent memory I have actually collided with someone up the street but I have a bad habit of creating close calls in that regard.

I hate it when you're using the toilets at work and a colleague comes in and uses the stall next to you. You don't know who it is, they don't know who you are, but it's awkward as hell.

If I need to go and someone is using a stall, I'll either use another bathroom or just wait.

So you're a neurotic American woman?

It's worse when someone comes up to you and says, "Hey, how's it going?", to which you respond, "Do I know you?" and they say, "Yes" and go on about all of the times you've met.

I've had a few times when someone has come up to me acting as though we're really good mates when I have absolutely no idea who they are. My memory is generally pretty good, so I don't know how I sometimes forget people so easily.
Don't feel too bad mate, if I don't see someone for a few months and they come upto me, more often than not I'll actually have to think about who they are for a second. I have a shocking memory.:eek:

Something totally ridiculous I just remembered from a couple of weeks ago - On one of the busy shopping/sale days just after Christmas, my Dad was going to pick me up in his car in the city. In the arranged spot where we were to meet was a car that was the same as his, and throught the window I saw a man that looked like him, so naturally I assumed that it was my Dad in the car. Anyway, I open the door and am about to get in, but stop when I realise it wasn't actually my Dad in the car. The guy didn't say a word, just gave a blank stare. I gave a sheepish "Sorry mate, thought you were someone else", and fled the scene for a few minutes. Once I came back, it turns out my Dad had actually parked around the corner and got out to meet me because he wanted to have a bit of a look around himself at a few things.

Very awkward and funny. :thumbsu:

I hate couples who openly argue in front of you. This happened to me a few weeks ago - this young couple came and sat next to me in an otherwise empty Subway store and began this bitter arguement about money and various other things. I felt like saying "Don't hold anything back on account of me. Both of you just say whatever you like in front of me - I wouldn't want you to feel embarassed - I don't. I don't feel awkward at all that you chose to sit right next to me in an empty restraunt and loudly discussed your relationship problems." I remember another time on a train where a woman was shouting at the top of her voice at her husband, who just sat there and took it. A gay couple had a hissy fit at each other in a supermarket one day - this was admittedly very funny - but still embarassing.

At the other end of the scale, it is pretty awkward with couples who are a little "too friendly" and have no qualms about touching each other, talking suggestively to each other or even making out in public.

Speaking of car mix ups, in our family we give each other shit - that's our sense of humour, and when I was on the way home from jogging one day, I was certain my mum and dad were driving by - same looking car, elderly couple from a glance - and I gave 'em the finger, and then when I got home, the car was there!

And my mum and dad were inside, so I asked them, "Did you guys go out somewhere while I was out?". Nope. And then I told them what happened. Just as well it wasn't a couple of hard nosed Aborigines or something, they probably would've stopped the car, got out and chased me all the way back home.