Official Team Thread Baghdad Bombers S23 Official Team Thread - Congratulations to ant555 medalists KohPhi & miggs

You're 0.185 ahead of the Scorchers on NRR so it might be possible to get a home final even if they do win? I don't know.

Doubt they'll lose to the Hurricanes but anything can happen.

I might put a multi for the Scorchers and Stars to win.

That'll make me feel better if we get kicked to 3rd spot.

If you were a Stars fan you'd be used to your team shitting the bed, only later in the season. :'(

Yeah but you guys are probably over the cap so it's the karmic retribution from the cricket gods kicking in.

Heat win games with random state cricketers. That's the way the game should be played

Yeah but you guys are probably over the cap so it's the karmic retribution from the cricket gods kicking in.

Heat win games with random state cricketers. That's the way the game should be played
There's a cap? :oops:

I was planning to, not sure now because I might stay up to see the God Emperor's inauguration.
enhanced-25942-1427414324-7.jpg

.... ring your mate and say "... then I kicked one from nowhere, I was on fire" and they have no idea what you're talking about.

You shit the bed Coach!! :p... up late or up early??

Ok lads, so you have experienced a couple of games and how "it all works".. feel free to fire away any questions you might have. The week before our first game ill start up the rookies PM that will preview the upcoming opponents, posting styles, how to get certain posters to "melt"etc..
Me and Haro have been super impressed with how you all have become involved. It's no coincidence that our team thread is hitting nearly 70 pages and the season hasn't even started..To put this into perspective, our whole team thread last season was around 30 odd pages!!!

So let's have a bit of fun.Post your answer to this question.

"You know you have become hooked on the SFA when you. .........?" :)
.... Take your phone into the toilet to hide from your wife.

1hmodr.jpg

Howdy folks and welcome to the first edition of "Coffee with KohPhi". Today I am meeting up with Bombers legend and former Captain (my first skipper) beez. Im a tad early, beez shouldn't be far away
stock-photo-man-at-coffee-shop-using-digital-tablet-289833029.jpg
K : Here he comes, welcome beez
b : Cheers KohPhi, it's great to be here
K: What are you drinking
b: I'll have a soy chai latte thanks
K: Excellent, ill grab strong macchiato thanks Suzie.
S: No worries gentlemen, ill have them out shortly.
K: What about the coffees??
stock-photo-two-men-meeting-at-a-coffee-shop-portrait-289832996.jpg b: hahahaha
K: hahaha
b: hahahahahaha
S: You Bombers players I tell ya, just a bunch of wacky funsters always goofing off! Here you go, enjoy.
stock-photo-pretty-barista-smiling-at-camera-holding-disposable-cup-at-the-coffee-shop-218878096.jpg
K: Thanks Suzie
b : yeah thanks.

K: So let's get down to business beez, tell the fans a bit about your history in the Sweet FA.

b: Gun off the field, spud on it. I've played just over 200 games with the majority of them being for the Bombers. I captained the side in season 15 before cracking the sads at the league admin and walking away from the role. I took back the role for seasons 21 and 22 before handing it over to HaroLad whose tireless work behind the scenes couldn't go unrewarded. I've tended to always enjoy the off-field shit more than the on-field results. I really enjoy the politics of the board and like to get involved in the nitty gritty when issues arise. While I'm perceived as being an arseh*le at times, and actually am, the best posters on this board are able to separate league banter from that of a personal nature. I have a reputation undeserved for the most part, but I have done some quality media pieces which I really enjoy doing. I encourage all rookies to get involved in media of any sort, it's a great way to feel part of the board.

K: How did the story play out that saw the Bombers and beez become one.

b: Way back when, maybe season 10(?), ClarkeM the massive flog asked me join the Wonders. I played a few games there but I was ignored mostly (probably because I intimidated everyone by my devilish good looks) and therefore lost interest. I found the board again a couple of seasons later and was snapped up by the first person that showed any interest. That being Bombers captain at the time, loopy_cam. I've teetered on the prospect of changing clubs, but I'm a Bomber at heart and don't really want to play anywhere else.

K: Bombers or Bandits?

b: During the supplements scandal (haha suck shit Essendon cheating scum) it was erroneously perceived that posters weren't joining the club because of our apparent association with Windy Hill. The leadership group at the time, which I was part of, decided to rebrand from the Baghdad Bombers to the Baghdad Bandits. The change was neither here nor there, with many liking the new name and many not. I personally preferred to stay the Bombers, but supported the rebrand because of the effort and commitment from a couple of teammates at the time. One of the reasons I challenged Shermy to a duel for the Bombers captaincy was so I could regain power and change the club's name back to what it should be. At the start of season 21 we reverted back to the name that I know and love.

K: What have been the two biggest changes you have witnessed in the Sweet FA from when you started to now?

b: The one obvious one being match thread lengths. It was not uncommon to have match threads of ~100 posts when I started. Now, within a couple of hours of threads going up it's utter mayhem. The other is
commitment. Captains do a lot of work behind the scenes. They recruit, keep players happy, organise stats and shit etc. It's reassuring to see that the strong clubs have captains willing to put in the effort. Inthe last couple of seasons we saw a switch in culture where numerous clubs had captains not bothering to do even the most basic of tasks. Hopefully the tide has turned back to where only people with a want to keep this competition strong are given the lead.
stock-photo-two-men-meeting-at-a-coffee-shop-289833062-1.jpg
K: Tell us about what you consider to be a low point or event in the Sweet FA? How was it worked through?

b: Mate. Which one? There's been so many. I'll be here all day. As I said, the best part of this league is the politics and controversies. Some events are manufactured which are lame, but the ones that are organic give the board some oomph and brings a lot of enjoyment. The lower points of this board are when things of a personal nature crop up and fights ensue from that. No need to go over old ground.

K: Run us through your captaincy record?

b: Sure. I held the record for the best captaincy record in the Sweet FA for a considered period of time. I was so successful as captain (until we hit the finals), everyone wanted to be like me. THAT WAS UNTIL ETH (THE RETIRED BASTARD) JINXED ME WHICH RESULTED IN ME (AND THE TEAM) GETTING CONTINUALLY stuffed OVER BY THE SIM. I went from having the best win/loss record to it probably being below 40%. ****. I also hold the record as the only captain in Sweet FA history to win back-to-back pre-season premierships. Suck on that one haters. Some may say I gave up the captaincy at the end of last season to reward HaroLad, but in reality, I was just sick of getting stuffed over by the sim.

K: During your captaincy, which Bombers have excited queen beez the most?

b: My first few seasons with the Bombers were ultimately my favourite. We had a great core group of posters, we were successful on the field, and didn't have ****heads switching teams every season like we have now. Myself, loopy_cam, ThePuppetMaster, saintkildaman and Gee Dub (traitorous scum with whom my hate now knows no bounds) had some great times back in the day. I've said it time and time again, but those four along with myself was my most enjoyable time in this league.

K: Where do you see the Bombers this season?

b: You hid my glasses again didn't you? I think the more pertinent question is how many times will we be stuffed over by the sim?

K: Will you take it personally if Haro has a major breakdown?

b: Yes. We have a love/hate relationship. My reputation is on the line.

K: Are there any games that you played in that stand out for whatever reason?

b: Obviously my only premiership in Season 14, that was a pretty special moment. There have been a few disappointing ones in finals. I think I've played in 3 losing prelims by less than a kick. Season 15, my first year as captain, we bossed it during the home and away season only to get stuffed over by the sim by two agonisingly close losses in the finals. That week, from losing the semi and then the prelim, made my seriously considering throwing my laptop in the bin.

K:You have the great honour of having the beez trophy named after you. Firstly, how does that make you feel? Secondly, is it a bit weird that you have a trophy named in your honour and you are not dead?

b:Some say my legacy is dead now that I've given the captaincy to Haro :p . To be honest, I was in the
right place at the right time. It's a bit silly having it named after me really. Hopefully the name is
changed sooner rather than later.
stock-photo-two-men-meeting-at-a-coffee-shop-289830761.jpg
K: What changes would you introduce to the Sweet FA if you were Admin for a day?

b: What wouldn't I change? While there have been some positive changes back to where the rules should be, I'd still like to see greater accountability for captains and teams. Honestly, the thing I would actually implement would be bringing back the pre-season and a State of Origin competitions. Both have been previously played in the league but were disappointingly axed after an apparent lack of support.

K: Who do you bunk with on away trips? What are their bad habits?

b: Haro delisted my #1 roomie, my reserve and my second emergency? Anyone want to be my friend?

K: Ok finally.. what is the first word that comes to mind when I say the following;

Current Sweet FA Admin -
Flog. Although not as big of a flog as the previous Admin. Nor the one previous to that.

Baccardi Breezes -
Anyone of you campaigners steal them (or my Cruisers) from my locker and there'll be hell to play.

dennis crumpet -
Bigger flog. Honestly. To continue to jerk around captains time and time again is an absolute arse move and I hope he feels guilty.

Bays -
Cheating ******* scum. Stupid sim

Favourite non Bombers poster -
It was Karnezis_13 for a while but then he got corrupted. I'd love to play in a team with him. For consistency, longevity and all round awesomeness, Cooney has to be right up there. I hate most of the posters who've joined in the last four or five seasons. They all pretty much suck.

Parmi or Parma -
Parma

Fun -
I have a reputation for being a member of the fun police at times. I embrace that reputation for
the betterment of the league

Poor grammar -
Any of you ****s spell medallist incorrectly and I'll make sure Fatima gives you the vest with the most number of ball bearings.

Ultimate SFA good guy -
fitzroybowiedog maybe? Wait, is this the most overrated poster category?

Bad guy? -
Haro. But he actually is a campaigner.

K: Fantastic beez, thanks for your time this morning and let's hope the Bombers have a great season.

b: Cheers KohPhi

K: See you all at our next installment when I have a coffee with legendary Bombers hard man Itsmyshow.

.... Take your phone into the toilet to hide from your wife.

My wife pissed herself laughing when I tried to explain the concept of the SFA. It was then followed by something along the lines of "you blokes are **** ed"... :p

View attachment 329039

Howdy folks and welcome to the first edition of "Coffee with KohPhi". Today I am meeting up with Bombers legend and former Captain (my first skipper) beez. Im a tad early, beez shouldn't be far away
View attachment 329040
K : Here he comes, welcome beez
b : Cheers KohPhi, it's great to be here
K: What are you drinking
b: I'll have a soy chai latte thanks
K: Excellent, ill grab strong macchiato thanks Suzie.
S: No worries gentlemen, ill have them out shortly.
K: What about the coffees??
View attachment 329041b: hahahaha
b: hahahahahaha
S: You Bombers players I tell ya, just a bunch of wacky funsters always goofing off! Here you go, enjoy.
View attachment 329043
K: Thanks Suzie
b : yeah thanks.

K: So let's get down to business beez, tell the fans a bit about your history in the Sweet FA.

b: Gun off the field, spud on it. I've played just over 200 games with the majority of them being for the Bombers. I captained the side in season 15 before cracking the sads at the league admin and walking away from the role. I took back the role for seasons 21 and 22 before handing it over to HaroLad whose tireless work behind the scenes couldn't go unrewarded. I've tended to always enjoy the off-field shit more than the on-field results. I really enjoy the politics of the board and like to get involved in the nitty gritty when issues arise. While I'm perceived as being an arseh*le at times, and actually am, the best posters on this board are able to separate league banter from that of a personal nature. I have a reputation undeserved for the most part, but I have done some quality media pieces which I really enjoy doing. I encourage all rookies to get involved in media of any sort, it's a great way to feel part of the board.

K: How did the story play out that saw the Bombers and beez become one.

b: Way back when, maybe season 10(?), ClarkeM the massive flog asked me join the Wonders. I played a few games there but I was ignored mostly (probably because I intimidated everyone by my devilish good looks) and therefore lost interest. I found the board again a couple of seasons later and was snapped up by the first person that showed any interest. That being Bombers captain at the time, loopy_cam. I've teetered on the prospect of changing clubs, but I'm a Bomber at heart and don't really want to play anywhere else.

K: Bombers or Bandits?

b: During the supplements scandal (haha suck shit Essendon cheating scum) it was erroneously perceived that posters weren't joining the club because of our apparent association with Windy Hill. The leadership group at the time, which I was part of, decided to rebrand from the Baghdad Bombers to the Baghdad Bandits. The change was neither here nor there, with many liking the new name and many not. I personally preferred to stay the Bombers, but supported the rebrand because of the effort and commitment from a couple of teammates at the time. One of the reasons I challenged Shermy to a duel for the Bombers captaincy was so I could regain power and change the club's name back to what it should be. At the start of season 21 we reverted back to the name that I know and love.

K: What have been the two biggest changes you have witnessed in the Sweet FA from when you started to now?

b: The one obvious one being match thread lengths. It was not uncommon to have match threads of ~100 posts when I started. Now, within a couple of hours of threads going up it's utter mayhem. The other is
commitment. Captains do a lot of work behind the scenes. They recruit, keep players happy, organise stats and shit etc. It's reassuring to see that the strong clubs have captains willing to put in the effort. Inthe last couple of seasons we saw a switch in culture where numerous clubs had captains not bothering to do even the most basic of tasks. Hopefully the tide has turned back to where only people with a want to keep this competition strong are given the lead.
View attachment 329044
K: Tell us about what you consider to be a low point or event in the Sweet FA? How was it worked through?

b: Mate. Which one? There's been so many. I'll be here all day. As I said, the best part of this league is the politics and controversies. Some events are manufactured which are lame, but the ones that are organic give the board some oomph and brings a lot of enjoyment. The lower points of this board are when things of a personal nature crop up and fights ensue from that. No need to go over old ground.

K: Run us through your captaincy record?

b: Sure. I held the record for the best captaincy record in the Sweet FA for a considered period of time. I was so successful as captain (until we hit the finals), everyone wanted to be like me. THAT WAS UNTIL ETH (THE RETIRED BASTARD) JINXED ME WHICH RESULTED IN ME (AND THE TEAM) GETTING CONTINUALLY stuffed OVER BY THE SIM. I went from having the best win/loss record to it probably being below 40%. ****. I also hold the record as the only captain in Sweet FA history to win back-to-back pre-season premierships. Suck on that one haters. Some may say I gave up the captaincy at the end of last season to reward HaroLad, but in reality, I was just sick of getting stuffed over by the sim.

K: During your captaincy, which Bombers have excited queen beez the most?

b: My first few seasons with the Bombers were ultimately my favourite. We had a great core group of posters, we were successful on the field, and didn't have ****heads switching teams every season like we have now. Myself, loopy_cam, ThePuppetMaster, saintkildaman and Gee Dub (traitorous scum with whom my hate now knows no bounds) had some great times back in the day. I've said it time and time again, but those four along with myself was my most enjoyable time in this league.

K: Where do you see the Bombers this season?

b: You hid my glasses again didn't you? I think the more pertinent question is how many times will we be stuffed over by the sim?

K: Will you take it personally if Haro has a major breakdown?

b: Yes. We have a love/hate relationship. My reputation is on the line.

K: Are there any games that you played in that stand out for whatever reason?

b: Obviously my only premiership in Season 14, that was a pretty special moment. There have been a few disappointing ones in finals. I think I've played in 3 losing prelims by less than a kick. Season 15, my first year as captain, we bossed it during the home and away season only to get stuffed over by the sim by two agonisingly close losses in the finals. That week, from losing the semi and then the prelim, made my seriously considering throwing my laptop in the bin.

K:You have the great honour of having the beez trophy named after you. Firstly, how does that make you feel? Secondly, is it a bit weird that you have a trophy named in your honour and you are not dead?

b:Some say my legacy is dead now that I've given the captaincy to Haro :p . To be honest, I was in the
right place at the right time. It's a bit silly having it named after me really. Hopefully the name is
changed sooner rather than later.
View attachment 329045
K: What changes would you introduce to the Sweet FA if you were Admin for a day?

b: What wouldn't I change? While there have been some positive changes back to where the rules should be, I'd still like to see greater accountability for captains and teams. Honestly, the thing I would actually implement would be bringing back the pre-season and a State of Origin competitions. Both have been previously played in the league but were disappointingly axed after an apparent lack of support.

K: Who do you bunk with on away trips? What are their bad habits?

b: Haro delisted my #1 roomie, my reserve and my second emergency? Anyone want to be my friend?

K: Ok finally.. what is the first word that comes to mind when I say the following;

Current Sweet FA Admin -
Flog. Although not as big of a flog as the previous Admin. Nor the one previous to that.

Baccardi Breezes -
Anyone of you campaigners steal them (or my Cruisers) from my locker and there'll be hell to play.

dennis crumpet -
Bigger flog. Honestly. To continue to jerk around captains time and time again is an absolute arse move and I hope he feels guilty.

Bays -
Cheating ******* scum. Stupid sim

Favourite non Bombers poster -
It was Karnezis_13 for a while but then he got corrupted. I'd love to play in a team with him. For consistency, longevity and all round awesomeness, Cooney has to be right up there. I hate most of the posters who've joined in the last four or five seasons. They all pretty much suck.

Parmi or Parma -
Parma

Fun -
I have a reputation for being a member of the fun police at times. I embrace that reputation for
the betterment of the league

Poor grammar -
Any of you ****s spell medallist incorrectly and I'll make sure Fatima gives you the vest with the most number of ball bearings.

Ultimate SFA good guy -
fitzroybowiedog maybe? Wait, is this the most overrated poster category?

Bad guy? -
Haro. But he actually is a campaigner.

K: Fantastic beez, thanks for your time this morning and let's hope the Bombers have a great season.

b: Cheers KohPhi

K: See you all at our next installment when I have a coffee with legendary Bombers hard man Itsmyshow.
That was great, better than at least 100% of media threads. :thumbsu:

You're a braver man than me, Gunga Din. SFA is my dirty little secret. :$

I asked my wife to search for something on my phone whilst I was driving once and all I heard was "what the ****!"... it was then I realised how dodgy my search history must have looked in my quest for "riskier" gifs!:D

Official Team Thread Baghdad Bombers S23 Official Team Thread - Congratulations to ant555 medalists KohPhi & miggs