Ballarat Football League

Gisborne defeated Sunbury
South Bendigo defeated Ballarat
Sandhurst played Darley i think , we'll wait for the result .

North should beat Maryborough this year. Kyneton and Castlemaine are supposed to be struggling for players at the moment.

Could you see North being as strong as South, Sandhurst or Gisborne?

All I was saying was that the bottom of the ladder in our comp will beat the bottom of the ladder in your's.

North should beat Maryborough this year. Kyneton and Castlemaine are supposed to be struggling for players at the moment.

Could you see North being as strong as South, Sandhurst or Gisborne?

All I was saying was that the bottom of the ladder in our comp will beat the bottom of the ladder in your's.
Fair enough , i was just pointing out that the difference between the 2 leagues isnt as big as most Ballarat league followers believe .

North City will not beat Maryborough or anyone else this year .

It was apretty good game, Sandhurst may have got up by a goal... The devils rested all there good players after half time where they were five goals up.
Darleys new coach Gary Learmonth looks the goods and is real hard at it. A few of the other recruits played well too.
Dont rite the devils off yet. Showed a bit of promise..

I think gisbourne will flog south what day do they play?
noddy i recall you posting a few weeks ago that Sunbury would flog Gisborne. But i hope you are right about this game .
6.00pm start this Thursday (5th) at Melton South . 6 quarters.

noddy i recall you posting a few weeks ago that Sunbury would flog Gisborne. But i hope you are right about this game .
6.00pm start this Thursday (5th) at Melton South . 6 quarters.
I watched the Sunbury game on Saturday; was a great hitout for both clubs i think all would be pleased with the day. Firstly, Luke Saunders was looking very fit and dominated the first half; barring injury he'll have an exceptional year. Gisbourne jumped Sunbury in the first quarter; Sunbury's match fitness may need some work? looked a little leg heavy when the early heat was on but Sunbury seemed to pull it together in the second quarter and looked a far better side than Gisbourne to lead by a couple at half time. Sunbury then rested a few top-end players and played the last quarter with no bench and possibly 17 men to go down by 3 points. Few promising signs for Sunbury although they looked to have a few injuries; couple of Shoulders and a hamstring to senior players but 4 weeks till round one so shouldnt have a big effect.

It was apretty good game, Sandhurst may have got up by a goal... The devils rested all there good players after half time where they were five goals up.
Darleys new coach Gary Learmonth looks the goods and is real hard at it. A few of the other recruits played well too.

The Devils looked solid on Saturday. The scores were level at quarter time after silly turnovers cost all of Darley's goals. The 2nd quarter was very impressive kicking 5 goals to none and then all big names were rested and a lot of "reserves players" were given opportunities. Some shining others not. Would have won easily in a premiership game.

The young devils look disciplined and well structered so Coach Learmonth is on the right track.

Bore Water Success

Moorabool Shire Council's contractor has begun installation of the Darley Park Bore and Irrigation system.
The good news is that water has been found not far beneath the surface of good quality and that full commissioning of bore is still anticipated to occur on 11 April.

The DFC congratulate Council and the Darley Park Committee of Management for their proactive approach to dealing with the current dry conditions.

Our players look forward to enjoying their first hit out on the surface in April as do our junior stars of the future.

Can only be good for the league and the club.

Bore Water Success

Moorabool Shire Council's contractor has begun installation of the Darley Park Bore and Irrigation system.
The good news is that water has been found not far beneath the surface of good quality and that full commissioning of bore is still anticipated to occur on 11 April.

The DFC congratulate Council and the Darley Park Committee of Management for their proactive approach to dealing with the current dry conditions.

Our players look forward to enjoying their first hit out on the surface in April as do our junior stars of the future.

Can only be good for the league and the club.

The bore at the Ballan rec res was supposed to be commissioned by about the middle of January - same council. Bore's done, pipes and tank in but nothing to pump water with. Starting to get used to the concrete surface now.
Good luck with the April 11.

Good to see some clubs getting into pre season matches, bet players are wrapped. Sounds like Darley happy with theirs, Sunbury mixed feelings, ballarat happy, marsh feeling good also, interesting to see what happens with South against Gisborne this week with their new side. Win lose or draw though, you dont find too many coaches saying they are dissapointed with their praccy match form!
Redan have picked up some late season signings from the O&M including gosbell who is a very talented youngster.
Have been told that there is still three or four big signings to be submitted in the next week or so, from both east and west clubs.

I watched the Sunbury game on Saturday; was a great hitout for both clubs i think all would be pleased with the day. Firstly, Luke Saunders was looking very fit and dominated the first half; barring injury he'll have an exceptional year. Gisbourne jumped Sunbury in the first quarter; Sunbury's match fitness may need some work? looked a little leg heavy when the early heat was on but Sunbury seemed to pull it together in the second quarter and looked a far better side than Gisbourne to lead by a couple at half time. Sunbury then rested a few top-end players and played the last quarter with no bench and possibly 17 men to go down by 3 points. Few promising signs for Sunbury although they looked to have a few injuries; couple of Shoulders and a hamstring to senior players but 4 weeks till round one so shouldnt have a big effect.
You make some good points there Bobb , no doubt both sides had some quality players out (Gisborne 6-7 senior players missing)and im not trying to start world war 3 here but if these 2 sides (full strength)went at it for premiership points i dont think Gisborne would have to many problems accounting for Sunbury IMO.

Hey noddy did Mark Lesko end up at Darley this year ?

Fair enough , i was just pointing out that the difference between the 2 leagues isnt as big as most Ballarat league followers believe .

North City will not beat Maryborough or anyone else this year .

The top end of both leagues is very similar from what I have seen so you're right there. If North had their way, they'd be in our league so our bottom of the ladder would be weaker.

Hey noddy did Mark Lesko end up at Darley this year ?

Was overpaid last year so they cut it. Was only playing for the money (Allegedly his words) and he is a Cousin of Lee Cox so expect him at Hepburn.

He is studying rocket science at Melbourne uni so cant understand why money is a probem when he will be making squillions when he gets out.

The idiots that clubs have to deal with at a footy club.

At Melton South - 6pm kick off. If Barham had is hands full with Houlihan wait until he stands McMahon!
barham hardly had his hands full . houlihan got 4 kicks for the game by sheepdoggin out the back . yeah he ended up with 4 lucky goals and celebrated each one like hed kicked the sealer in an afl granny lets remember this was a pracy . barham out marked him about 3 or 4 times i think houlihan took 1 mark for the game . i noticed you said on the bendigo site that you couldnt get to this game so i dont how you can even make these stupid comments .

The Devils looked solid on Saturday. The scores were level at quarter time after silly turnovers cost all of Darley's goals. The 2nd quarter was very impressive kicking 5 goals to none and then all big names were rested and a lot of "reserves players" were given opportunities. Some shining others not. Would have won easily in a premiership game.

The young devils look disciplined and well structered so Coach Learmonth is on the right track.
Could anyone tell me who Darley recruited?Did they end up getting Marcus Hastings?

Seem to be hearing heaps about Sunbury, Darley and the Marsh. What about the rest of the clubs?

How did the Rats go in their practice match on the weekend?

Gadget or Premiership you 2 seem to now a bit about Ballarat, Did Brad Anderson play, spoke to him the other week and he said his back was fingered and reckoned he was a few months away. I'd think he'd be a very important part of B-rats chances this season as he is one of the best young midfielders in the league.

If he played was he travelling ok?

Seem to be hearing heaps about Sunbury, Darley and the Marsh. What about the rest of the clubs?

Gadget or Premiership you 2 seem to now a bit about Ballarat, Did Brad Anderson play, spoke to him the other week and he said his back was fingered and reckoned he was a few months away. I'd think he'd be a very important part of B-rats chances this season as he is one of the best young midfielders in the league.

I second that. Wouldn't mind a report out of Ballarat for the weekend.

You make some good points there Bobb , no doubt both sides had some quality players out (Gisborne 6-7 senior players missing)and im not trying to start world war 3 here but if these 2 sides (full strength)went at it for premiership points i dont think Gisborne would have to many problems accounting for Sunbury IMO.

How did Gisborne welcome Damien back Bearsboy?

Not exactly sure if Anderson played or not, I dont know anything about their game on the weekend. Anderson is a class player, very good in finals last year and reports suggest throughout the whole year once he found his feet.
Should be more info from South, Lakers, Redan, Rat and Sebas in next few days you would think once they all get their praccy matches underway and with lightning premiership next week interesting to see if anyone takes it serious or not?.
What are your thoughts on Houlihan BB or KA, will he replace Baird who was a top level goal kicker in this competition.

Not BB or KA but I've had a bit of experience with the guy and he is a seriously talented footballer.

In 2000, when he was playing in the O&MFL he lead won the Grand Final off his own boot kicking 10. The funny part was that he was interviewed in the local paper the week before and asked him how he thought he would go. He replied with I'll kick 10 and we'll win it comfortably. It came over very cocky but he came through with the goods.

Was very solid at Gisborne too for a few years.

He will be a good player and should help Sunbury go where they want to go this year.

I wasn't aorund on week end scoots but after talking to a few on week end, it was a good hit out. Expect big things from Jed Manley this year depending on injuries and young otto looks the goods, still early days but numbers are getting bigger every week with alot of uni kids showing up and very keen. Only dissapointment would be ricky allen after a awesome year last year. Spoke to a guy from whyche and was told he is on a packet and it is not just loyalty which he mentioned to club as he's reasons for leaving.

Spoke to a couple of people who were at the Ballarat match on the weekend and they said that Nigel Otto has the potential to be the biggest recruit of the year, big call. Anderson played a half and played well and older Nunn struggled.

Apparantly Ballarat got off to a slow start but came good and only went down by a couple of goals in the end. South Bendigo, from what I'm told are a pretty handy side so not a bad result for the Rats.

Not exactly sure if Anderson played or not, I dont know anything about their game on the weekend. Anderson is a class player, very good in finals last year and reports suggest throughout the whole year once he found his feet.
Should be more info from South, Lakers, Redan, Rat and Sebas in next few days you would think once they all get their praccy matches underway and with lightning premiership next week interesting to see if anyone takes it serious or not?.
As ive mentioned before if Houlihan is fit he will be the 2nd best forward in this comp , very smart and always gets to the right spots . You wont see him take to many pack marks . But uses his body very well one out (took a nice one hander on Saturday) .
I think the problem Sunbury may have is trying to get there 3 or 4 big forwards working together . With Beattie , Davis ,Houlihan and Fleming or Carris resting down there it could be a bit of an issue .

In saying this about Houlihan , i must agree with the bloke earlier about Barham having his measure on Saturday . Houlihan kicked 4 of the flukiest goals you will see from his 4 possesions for the day .

As ive mentioned before if Houlihan is fit he will be the 2nd best forward in this comp , very smart and always gets to the right spots . You wont see him take to many pack marks . But uses his body very well one out (took a nice one hander on Saturday) .
I think the problem Sunbury may have is trying to get there 3 or 4 big forwards working together . With Beattie , Davis ,Houlihan and Fleming or Carris resting down there it could be a bit of an issue .

In saying this about Houlihan , i must agree with the bloke earlier about Barham having his measure on Saturday . Houlihan kicked 4 of the flukiest goals you will see from his 4 possesions for the day .

You're spot on there BB. They should be expecting 80+ goals from Houlihan. Flukey goals are what you should expect from him. That's what makes the guy so dangerous around goal. He has got some serious skill.

Not to shaw mate i no he has been to training a couple of times.How does he go have you seen him play?
Kicked 70 odd for Barooga last year on one leg.Has a few mates who are going to play with him,one was a/c of Barooga last year so all would be very handy pick ups if they got them over the line.