• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ballarat Football League

Big_flipper said:
Chris Johnson played in the Ballarat league previously. Now playing in Eastern Melb with me. Was wanting any info on him, we have great reports of courage and silky skills but would like to verify that with people who have played against him?

Jono goes alright, top player mate. Good get.

Con Kreteshoez said:
vineyard my friend, is there any truth to the rumour that brett connors single handedly tore apart the devils today??? would have 2 be the most polished on baller in the league.. any objecti9ons?? the ballarat league is renowned for ex vfl has beens..

Hello Mr Concrete Shoes - Exposed Aggregate i hear is your preferred type - The older connors brother and Dad to be did play well today but tore apart may be slightly exagerating. Will be better for the run and had some telling positions. And yes the Marsh were to good for the devils. Unfortuneatly for them there were no premiership points on the line.

Please name some of the ex VFL has beens that you seem to have a problem with? Guys like Snibson, Field, Edwards, Sutton, Porter, Griffen, Little, Reynolds, Connors, Cape, Edwards, Miller, & numerous others have all spent time on VFL/AFL lists and have only strenthend the league.

Jealous?

howzat said:
Mark Power is a dead set d**khead this bloke has the biggest mouth in the b.f.l , lets see if he can back it up with something thats called a PREMIERSHIP .

Has anyone got any news on how Dan Jordan went in the lightning premiership on the weekend and in practice matches so far? How's he going to go for East Point this year?

howzat said:
Mark Power is a dead set d**khead this bloke has the biggest mouth in the b.f.l , lets see if he can back it up with something thats called a PREMIERSHIP .

He backed it up on the weekend when Dan Jordan took 1 mark for the game - and that was when the full back kicked it out after a point to him.

I guarantee that you would not back against Sunbury this year - and what is even more certain you will hide behind this forum with your name calling. You may think he is a d**khead but there is no way you would say it within 100 metres of him.

Kings Army said:
He backed it up on the weekend when Dan Jordan took 1 mark for the game - and that was when the full back kicked it out after a point to him.

I guarantee that you would not back against Sunbury this year - and what is even more certain you will hide behind this forum with your name calling. You may think he is a d**khead but there is no way you would say it within 100 metres of him.
I'm intrested to see what Dan Jordan can do for East Point. Can anyone give me some more detail on how he went in the lightning premiership on the weekend?

Kings Army said:

I'm intrested to see what Dan Jordan can do for East Point. Can anyone give me some more detail on how he went in the lightning premiership on the weekend?

Vineyard said:
Hello Mr Concrete Shoes - Exposed Aggregate i hear is your preferred type - The older connors brother and Dad to be did play well today but tore apart may be slightly exagerating. Will be better for the run and had some telling positions. And yes the Marsh were to good for the devils. Unfortuneatly for them there were no premiership points on the line.

Please name some of the ex VFL has beens that you seem to have a problem with? Guys like Snibson, Field, Edwards, Sutton, Porter, Griffen, Little, Reynolds, Connors, Cape, Edwards, Miller, & numerous others have all spent time on VFL/AFL lists and have only strenthend the league.

Jealous?

You seem to be in the know there vineyard, & i agree the vfl/afl listed players suiting up in the ballarat football league will only enhance the quality of competition, & i also beleive the addition of connors to the Marsh's list will substantially improve its midfield capabilities.(didnt one of the marsh's other star onballers get injured in a praccy match?? think he goes by the name aussie??) Just wondering if you could fill me on what type of player Darley recruit Cape is?? have heard he is an absolute gun??

Kings Army said:

i dont think he is to tough more of a thug if anything heard a story he king hit an ex team mate recently are you his mum ? as for sunbury , CHOKERS ! :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Does any1 know who the Bloods have picked up and lossed, I heard they lost a few of the blokes from QLD but havent really picked up anything substantial.

howzat said:
i dont think he is to tough more of a thug if anything heard a story he king hit an ex team mate recently are you his mum ? as for sunbury , CHOKERS ! :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

I am sure your the type of bloke who belives every storey you hear - and thus you will be very excited to wake up this Sunday morning and find the Easter Bunny had paid you a visit.

Tough or thug you can debate but what I know is you would never test your self to find out if either is true. :eek:

Kings Army said:
I am sure your the type of bloke who belives every storey you hear - and thus you will be very excited to wake up this Sunday morning and find the Easter Bunny had paid you a visit.

Tough or thug you can debate but what I know is you would never test your self to find out if either is true. :eek:
if you are not mark power [which i think you are ]you must be his mum . i have played against him a few times at another level in S.A . and have seen him in recent times , he was a handy player but always a sniper he is well past his best and i reckon he cant coach hence the CHOKER comment :eek: :eek:

howzat said:
if you are not mark power [which i think you are ]you must be his mum . i have played against him a few times at another level in S.A . and have seen him in recent times , he was a handy player but always a sniper he is well past his best and i reckon he cant coach hence the CHOKER comment :eek: :eek:

Played against him ins SA? That is why you sit back an snipe him - he has gone on to do more than you. He made the SANFL team of the year that year and now a coach of a BFL side - all you have is this forum to be heard. You must be a no body.
He has 5 flags and a 16-1 coaching record. Your playing/coaching record better?

You are very passionate about your Sunbury side Kings Army. Do you have much of an involvement there. Will you be at Darley Park tomorrow night to see the clash of the titans. The Devils are pumped for the game and rumour has it a few injuries have come out of the lighnting premiership for the lions.

Who was better - Matt Power or Mark...

Dont know about Cape being a gun at Darley. He will add a tall to the back half to the devils and some experience but we can only see what the season brings as it progresses. Big ugly red head who runs the lines and plays accountable by all reports.

Aussie Larsen was injured at the marsh but will be back for round one to led his new look side. Quite impressive in the LP. Connors may miss round one with the birth of his first child due much to the happiness of his fiancee

Vineyard said:
You are very passionate about your Sunbury side Kings Army. Do you have much of an involvement there. Will you be at Darley Park tomorrow night to see the clash of the titans. The Devils are pumped for the game and rumour has it a few injuries have come out of the lighnting premiership for the lions.

Who was better - Matt Power or Mark...

Darley are a huge chance tomorrow night - with a great midfield of Scoble, Miller and Henry they should take it up to Sunbury.

Nothing to do with Sunbury but invloved in the EDFL.

Mark has the playing and now coaching record over Matt.

The courier reported on the web that there was 6 new players in for Redan and 4 for Melton. Has anyone got the names of these players ? Most likely in todays courier. Thanks.

Vineyard said:
Dont know about Cape being a gun at Darley. He will add a tall to the back half to the devils and some experience but we can only see what the season brings as it progresses. Big ugly red head who runs the lines and plays accountable by all reports.

Big ugly red head who runs the lines... When did Antony get back?

rightfoot_sloth said:
The courier reported on the web that there was 6 new players in for Redan and 4 for Melton. Has anyone got the names of these players ? Most likely in todays courier. Thanks.

Eight new Redan players actually.
Three former North Ballarat players at Redan with Julian Field the best known, Shane Snibson who coached Beulah last year and Jake Bridges who is back from Wangaratta in the O & M. Jarrett Giampaolo and Tom McKinnon are new from Horsham Saints in the Wimmera FL. Matthew Pitt is from St Albans in Geelong, Andrew Blackwood from Bendigo according to the paper and Brett Dickinson, ex-Numurkah.

The Bloods have Shaun Stanley from Parkside, Aaron Wheelhouse from Lancefield and Saul Grenfell from Keilor Park.
There is an M.Turner listed as new is the paper but no details about where he is from and he isn't in the clearances list. Wheelhouse is only an emergency and is named at CHB in the twos.

Grimmett said:
Three former North Ballarat players at Redan with Julian Field the best known, Shane Snibson who coached Beulah last year and Jake Bridges who is back from Wangaratta in the O & M. Jarrett Giampaolo and Tom McKinnon are new from Horsham Saints in the Wimmera FL. Matthew Pitt is from St Albans in Geelong, Andrew Blackwood from Bendigo according to the paper and Brett Dickinson, ex-Numurkah.

The Bloods have Shaun Stanley from Parkside, Aaron Wheelhouse from Lancefield and Saul Grenfell from Keilor Park.
There is an M.Turner listed as new is the paper but no details about where he is from and he isn't in the clearances list. Wheelhouse is only an emergency and is named at CHB in the twos.

The bloods players not really new faces besides Wheelhouse, Turner played juniors with the bloods then at western and onto Willy is 4ft tall but wins a lot of the ball and has the footy smarts, Grenfell is returning from a stint with Keilor Park is an ok player will prob play off half back. Shaun Stanley coming back after a year at Parkside dont know too much about him but has always lived in the shaddows of his brother Darren.

Grimmett said:

The bloods players not really new faces besides Wheelhouse, Turner played juniors with the bloods then at western and onto Willy is 4ft tall but wins a lot of the ball and has the footy smarts, Grenfell is returning from a stint with Keilor Park is an ok player will prob play off half back. Shaun Stanley coming back after a year at Parkside dont know too much about him but has always lived in the shaddows of his brother Darren.

fevvola said:
anyone know the scores yet

Yeah Melton Beat Redan in a high scoring game by approx 15 points and Darley beat Sunbury in true wet weather footy by the same margin on Good Friday.

Was a great atmosphere to see Sunbury's first loss in a premiership points game since June 2004. There only other losses have been in finals - maybe chokers as some people have mentioned... Very good side though and missed a couple of key players.

Does give the devils youngsters some belief though for the rest of the season.

Bigfan said:
Has anyone got any news on how Dan Jordan went in the lightning premiership on the weekend and in practice matches so far? How's he going to go for East Point this year?

Hey mate, im an East Ballarat junior but have been training with East Point. Dan Jordan is looking very impressive indeed, fitness and skill very high, although i have not seen him play.

On another note, excellent to see Darley bring down Sunbury. In all accounts a very entertaining game that saw the champions of the league go down. Should add a lot more interest to the competition this year!! Is anybody in a suitable position to comment on the credibility of Darley...was it simple a david vs goliath upset, or are they poised for a big year?