Ballarat Football League

dont worry mate the pocket is still there. it was just a warm up last weekend. the chief and his merry man will return on the weekend an will be in fine form. ps suck shit south

Congrats to Gary Learmonth on his award as coach of the year- What an achievement. Also a big congrats to him for winning the most freckles at Darley footy club for the first time. Previous 5 time winner Brad Roberts is thought to be steaming with losing the coveted award but is hoping for a big year in the sun before next season. Good luck spotty Roberts.

Surely Matt Cape would rank highly for this award?

Swans need more than luck to beat Darley

4/09/2008 12:21:00 AM
IT ALL seems to be falling into place for Ballarat but it will need more than luck to get over Darley in Saturday's first semi-final and claim a place in the Ballarat Football League grand final.
The Swans have not beaten Darley this year but Ballarat full-forward Mark Nunn thinks it has the firepower to go with the Devils.
"You will have to take your chances when you've got them, but have to be accurate on the day to beat them," he said.
"The last two weeks have been good for us, our confidence is high and it needs to be against Darley."
Luck had a lot to do with Ballarat making the finals.
"You need a bit of luck in the finals, but if things hadn't have gone our way (last week) then we would be out," Nunn said.
"You look at the final six and for Lake Wendouree to get over Sunbury it just demonstrates that anyone can win the flag this year."
The Swans came through the first week of the finals unscathed and are only missing Brad Anderson from their senior side.
"We are almost at full strength and expecting to go in there with our structures right," Nunn said.
"We have a few players that didn't play against Darley four weeks ago, so hopefully we match up quite well."
Darley may yet be without Rob Cheevers after he injured himself last weekend, while full-forward Adrian Newman is still out of action.
"Adrian won't play this week, as to whether he will play further down the track .th.th. it is still under assessment," Darley president Trevor King said. "We have moved forward without him so we will see how we go."
Cheevers is still questionable about playing this weekend.
"Rob Cheevers left the ground before half-time and could have possibly come back on but we want to make sure he is right," King said. "We have a philosophy that we won't risk injured players, he'll train tomorrow and we will make a decision then."
Darley has improved dramatically since last year and recruited only three players in the summer. "In 2006 we had a mass exodus of players and made a decision to go with local talent," King said. "When that side lines up on the weekend, there will probably only be two players that didn't come through the junior ranks at Darley.

Lakers keen to keep the BFL dream alive

3/09/2008 11:57:00 PM
LAKE WENDOUREE is determined to continues its dream start to its Ballarat Football League campaign.
Even if it means East Point is knocked out in straight sets for the second year in a row.
Lake Wendouree unexpectedly overran Sunbury last weekend and are underdogs for the second semi-final this weekend.
"We are looking forward to the challenge. We know East Point have played finals for the last three or four years and are more experienced," Lakers coach Matt Battistello said.
"It is the first time we have played finals in two years so to come away from Sunbury with a win was a fantastic effort."
Battistello still thinks Lake Wendouree has things to prove.
"There is no point in making finals unless you make an impact," he said.
"It is a knock-out final and if you set the expectations low then you'll reach low, so we are going out there with high expectations.
"If we lose then it is the end of our football season and we don't want that to happen."
East Point coach Mick Hynes believes his club is better prepared for finals this year.
"I wasn't around last year and I think there was a lot of factors last year," he said.
"I think our mix this year is completely different, a lot more professional and a lot better.
"The players know their own individual accountability is more important than relying on four or five guys to get the job done, everyone has to put their hand up."
Hynes is also cautious of the Lakers in the finals.
"The strength of Lake Wendouree is that they are a very even side across the board and that is why they are playing this weekend," he said. "Everyone talks about getting third spot and I don't think third spot is an advantage to anyone when you have a team like Lake Wendouree."

javascript:changeFontSize('story',-1);

A bit of unrest during the week at Devil land? Do any of you boys want to elaborate? Bad time of the year for that.

And with his performances during the finals, Brad Millar is fast becoming "my world" as well.

A bit of unrest during the week at Devil land? Do any of you boys want to elaborate? Bad time of the year for that.

And with his performances during the finals, Brad Millar is fast becoming "my world" as well.
Nothing wrong at Devil Land mate. There was 60+ there tonight to watch training and it will be another sell out this saturday at the Devil Dome. Get on the Devils...

Reading todays Courier it appears as if the Devils will go in as underdogs this week. Missing both Cheevers and Newman they will be up against it.

Ballarat were cocky last week, would be nice to see them lose this one to an undermanned Darley. Where's Oral? Very quiet, is he waiting for the spruik on Monday.

Good luck to the Choking Merging Dogs this week, just imagine if all 3 grades go out in straight sets.

Correct 19th, Devils sacked Newman injury or not hes out

Just heard the score of the Darley Vs Ballarat game. If I hear correctly Ballarat 8 goals up then unexplainedly lost easy. For a mob (particularly you Oracene) who reckon Darley are chokers maybe you should look for chicken bones in your own dungheap.
When Linda Lovelace gagged on me that was less of a choke than what Ballarat put up today.
Let's hope they can regather the troops and least make a game of it next week. Darley with more players available to be selected are going to take a power of beating whoever plays them in a fortnight.
Calven Hassent to come in and brutalise a few poor unfortunates for the Grander also. I have it on good information he has been released from Melbourne Remand Centre and is looking forward to inflicting pain legally.
I have met him and he is scary his favourite party trick is opening a king brown in his nostril. Huge nostrils the Islanders, but don't tell him I said that.

Can I just say that Ballarat are terrible. Darley were gone early, but Ballarats woefulness kept the Devils in it.
They will be hard to stop now with a few to come back.

Oracle????????????
Dictionary definitions

Oracle- An utterance, often ambiguous or obscure...

Utterance- To give audible expression to... speak or pronounce
Ambiguous- of doubtful or uncertain natured; difficult to comprehend
Obscure- Not clear or plain;uncertain

Now as we all know the Chief is right into political correctness and seeing things in their purist sense. I have been going over Oracles prior posts and wondering what his duty is on here. I have really struggled to see his logic on almost every topic he has delivered his ORACLE on. I have decifered the real meaning of what an oracle really is and i have displayed for all to see exactly what an oracle is.

Now as we can see an oracle is an utterance, often ambiguous or obscure.... What exactly does that mean? well for all of you normal people out there i exchanged the words ambiguous and obscure with the words- Lie and Dream because they seemed like their dictionary definitions were very similar.

Lie- a wild and vain fancy
Dream- something intended to convey a false impression

ORACLE- An utterance, often a lie or a dream.

The other definition we can get would be the one that i constantly get from all big footy fans when asked about oracle. "just a w***er, deadset moron, liar, tool, follows a terrible footy club, suckhole etc etc.."

Bad luck on the weekend Oral- we have the new chokers of the BFL- blow me at a moderate pace..

I must say this post is very good. Thank you for the entertainment Cheiftont.

God bless Brad Miller and god bless the devils-we are through and we are the real deal. 4 players to come back for the grand final and Brad Miller still around. Cant wait for the Henderson, cant wait to see young mingsy and kiss that big fat body that you all keep having a crack at cause that body keeps kicking goals from everywhere. Best small forward in the comp. I love that man...I am in love with the world today. I am gay, i am merry and i am the Chief. Words cant describe the feelings i have right now and i am gonna take it all out on an east point netballer at the henderson. Saddle up girls cause the chief is oiling the hips up and will be dropping some a-grade swivels on the dance floor. We are sending out out an SOS for a date for Brad Millers wife because there is no way i am not holding his hand on the way in.

4 to come back, Cheevers if hammy is right, Leonard back from the Jets who are the other 2 and who do you think will miss out?

Cheever's was would have played this week if the Devils had of lost so he will be100% in 2 weeks. Leonard back along with THE HUTCH (Newman) and Calvin Hassent will come in. 4 big in's , the Devils will be hard to beat...

God bless Brad Miller and god bless the devils-we are through and we are the real deal. 4 players to come back for the grand final and Brad Miller still around. Cant wait for the Henderson, cant wait to see young mingsy and kiss that big fat body that you all keep having a crack at cause that body keeps kicking goals from everywhere. Best small forward in the comp. I love that man...I am in love with the world today. I am gay, i am merry and i am the Chief. Words cant describe the feelings i have right now and i am gonna take it all out on an east point netballer at the henderson. Saddle up girls cause the chief is oiling the hips up and will be dropping some a-grade swivels on the dance floor. We are sending out out an SOS for a date for Brad Millers wife because there is no way i am not holding his hand on the way in.

Does this mean your in love with the red headed army as well Chief. Welcome Back to buddy!!!!

Anyone had a chance to view the Couriers team of the year. What a disgraceful effort. Only 1 South Player, Benny Peters. Have to be joking. Cheevers can only get a gig at half back, after a dominant season in the middle. The little red head from Lakers is starting on ball.
Also Stevo from Darley??? Has been a great player and servant over a number of years, but he is not in the best 22 players this season.

Anyone had a chance to view the Couriers team of the year. What a disgraceful effort. Only 1 South Player, Benny Peters. Have to be joking. Cheevers can only get a gig at half back, after a dominant season in the middle. The little red head from Lakers is starting on ball.
Also Stevo from Darley??? Has been a great player and servant over a number of years, but he is not in the best 22 players this season.
SK, could you post the team on here?

Well done to Darley on weekend against a very cocky swans outfit.

SK, could you post the team on here?

Well done to Darley on weekend against a very cocky swans outfit.

B: J. Delaney (East Point), S. Deckert (Darley), B. Chambers (Sunbury)
HB: J. Edwards (Darley), A. Webber (Melton), R. Cheevers (Darley)
C: C. Banwell (East Point), J. Edwards (Redan), B. Peters (South)
HF: A. Newman (Darley), C. Richardson (North City), G. Phelps (East Point)
F: B. Miller (Darley), D. Jordan (East Point), A. Barker (Redan)
R: T. Little (Sunbury), P. Blanchfield (East Point), H. Pyke (Lakers)
Int: T. Liberatore (Sunbury), A. Baker (Ballarat), T. Shea (Marsh), T. Stephenson (Darley)

Coach: G. Learmonth (Darley)

B: J. Delaney (East Point), S. Deckert (Darley), B. Chambers (Sunbury)
HB: J. Edwards (Darley), A. Webber (Melton), R. Cheevers (Darley)
C: C. Banwell (East Point), J. Edwards (Redan), B. Peters (South)
HF: A. Newman (Darley), C. Richardson (North City), G. Phelps (East Point)
F: B. Miller (Darley), D. Jordan (East Point), A. Barker (Redan)
R: T. Little (Sunbury), P. Blanchfield (East Point), H. Pyke (Lakers)
Int: T. Liberatore (Sunbury), A. Baker (Ballarat), T. Shea (Marsh), T. Stephenson (Darley)

Coach: G. Learmonth (Darley)
Just goes to show how much of an idea the courier has.
How can they pick cheevers on a HBF when all he has done is tear the midfield apart all year.
Tuddy edwards has not played HBF either. Who is Blanchfield and Pike.
If your going to pick a side pick them on actual position prodomenently played through out the year. Darley has the best backline in the comp and only 1 player that actually plays down back gets a gig what about Drew (Mustard) Edwards or Cape. Baker has played in the midfield all year so has Miller and Delaney, N Otto is probably one of the best HF in the comp and cant get a gig because the forward line is stacked with midfielders what a joke. I hope who ever done this side has nothing to do with the side the BFL announces at the Henderson medal.

. If the BFL team represents this team then i will throw a tantrum at the Henderson.[/quote]
what about you throw a wobbly @ the Grand Final Chief & gives all something to cheer about!

Okay its gonna feel like year 9 science but i am gonna dissect the shit out of this. Good choice Deckert- best full back in the comp. Cheevers at half back? Has been the premier on-baller in the comp, why half back???????? That spot should be taken by darleys number 1 small backman Drew Edwards who is in Darleys top 6 players. Drew Edwards is an out and out gun and how he is not in the side before Liberatore who is a fat, little, over the hill, pasta eating, legless, dobbing, give up, bad coach and bad player is beyond me. Blanchfield?????????? how is he a starting on-baller? Tyson Shea i dont think is a bad choice on the bench. Good player surrounded by foot rot which makes it hard for him to shine. Would never be in my starting side but good on him. Travis Stephenson on the bench? Well he wouldn't be in my side. I think you wont find a better servant or person at any footy club anywhere but he wouldn't be in my best 30. I think Darley have been very well represented in this side so i cant complain too much but i am absolutely baffled at how Drew Edwards hasn't made the side. He is one of Darleys most respected players who apart from Miller and Cheevers would almost be the first picked every week. Deckert and Edwards are by far our best 2 defenders and work in tandem so very well. I think the courier have just tried to pick what they feel is the best 22 players and slot them into positions anywhere. The duty of this team of the year should be to play the best players in each position ie: best back pocket for the year should only be able to qualify to play in the back pocket.

Gee i am upset that Edwards wasn't selected. I wont even bring up the fat that the best 2 forward pockets in the comp Otto and Minns havent been selected because it would seem bias but Otto is almost the only Ballarat player that Darley has respect for. We didnt show him respect early enough in our last home and away game and he kicked 4 in the first quarter. If the BFL team represents this team then i will throw a tantrum at the Henderson.
You can only assume Gav McGrath picked the side Chieftont so i wouldn't read too much into it.

I am thinking Kings Army picked it just to upset the Chief. Notice how the poor man doesn't even post here anymore, wonder why? He talked a lot of sense and was well liked by everybody.
Can't wait till the Henderson and he gets the double whammy. No more posts EVER and gets sat on his arse by the Chief. Someone please take photos or a video and youtube it.

I am thinking Kings Army picked it just to upset the Chief. Notice how the poor man doesn't even post here anymore, wonder why? He talked a lot of sense and was well liked by everybody.
Can't wait till the Henderson and he gets the double whammy. No more posts EVER and gets sat on his arse by the Chief. Someone please take photos or a video and youtube it.

Must of picked it seeing as Libba made it.:confused:

Edwards will win the Henderson.