• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ballarat Football League

not sure as i wasnt at the game as i only heard through a mate. Apparently he was solid getting the rust out after having not played for 18 months having played cricket in england last winter. In racing terms much better for the run and will certainly strengthen teh devils

dave31 said:
No Capey is not a done deal. The contract hasn't been signed and there is a reason why he hasn't been training with them.

Strong rumours say that the Marsh have been in his ear and have significantly upped his ante.

He could be a surprise pickup to join one of his 'good mates' who has returned to the Marsh after a stint up north.

No clearance has gone through for Cape yet, so I'd say you're right.

http://www.bfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

I think you will find bowdy4 that Cape doesnt need a transfer as he didnt play footy last year anywhere. Before that he was at Williamstown and his preferred club was Darley so thats how it may have sneaked under the radar.

Big clash for the Devils this weekend against Greenvale. Darley will be looking to put up a good effort 2 weeks out from playing Sunbury

POWER V POWER - debate has raged over who was the better footballer: Mark Serge Power or Matt Demon Power. Whats your view??

The Ballarat Courier

Ballarat Football League 2006 Preview

Bacchus Marsh

2005: Won 1, Lost 15, Position 11th

First published Tuesday, March 28, 2006.
By Simon Gladman

First-year coach Adam Sutherland knows that things could only improve at Bacchus Marsh this year.
Last year was a horror season for the Cobras.
One win, against Ballarat, was all that they had to show under coach Wayne Cracknell.
"People always ask me how I think we're going to go," Sutherland said.
"When we've trained well in the pre-season you can see that the standard has improved.
"Obviously we want to improve. That's just what I want to see."
Many would view the departure of two of the club's best players during the off-season as sending the club spiralling further into the depths of the Ballarat Football League.
Goal-sneak Andrew McKay has moved to Hepburn, while midfielder Erik Dressler has made his way to Lalor.
McKay would be sorely missed this season, as he was Bacchus Marsh's only option in attack last year.
Despite his lack of height, he consistently out-played taller opponents and kicked bags of goals.
But Bacchus Marsh has been aggressive on the recruitment front, too, giving it some good returns.
There has been the addition of a handful of experienced players who, Sutherland said, would walk into the starting 18.
The best of them and automatic selections into the side are Brett Connors and Jay McCarthy. They have returned to their former home of Maddingley Park, having spent time at Wedderburn.
They have been among up to 50 players on the training track in the off-season.
The Cobras have relied on one man, captain Peter Larsen, for far too long as their on-field leader.
Larsen has proved to be a prolific ballwinner in the midfield and an inspiration to his team-mates, who have given him little help.
Sutherland believes that the new recruits will help direct the side and establish consistency in its performances.
Two losses of more than 100 points at the start of 2005 shot Bacchus Marsh's confidence to pieces.
Sutherland said getting confidence and maintaining it was the trick with such a youthful list.
The Cobras showed at times, for a half or a quarter, they could match it with the league's best.
With more leaders on the field, expect the Cobras to match it more often.

THE COACH
ADAM SUTHERLAND
First year as Cobras coach
He replaces Wayne Cracknell
Retired from playing at Bacchus Marsh in 2001

KEY LOSSES
Andrew McKay (Hepburn)
Brent Towan (Lara)
Jarryd King (Darley)
Erik Dressler (Lalor)
Stephen Marrett (Deniliquin Rovers)

KEY GAINS
Dylan O'Brien (Darley)
James Lundberg (Glen Eira Amateurs)
Jay McCarthy (Wedderbum)
Justin Shea (Seaford)
Daniel Larkin (Moama)
Brett Connors (Wedderbum)
Michael Dodd (Moama)
Michael Rowe (Western Jets)
Tim Anneth (Portland)

LEADERSHIP GROUP
Peter Larsen (captain)
Daniel Veldon
James Dickinson
Ashley Whittle
Dave Gardiner

THE DRAW
April 22: Sebastopol (H)
April 29: Sunbury (A)
May 6: Ballarat (H)
May 13: Lake Wendouree (A)
May 20: East Point (H)
June 3: Darley (A)
June 10: Melton South (H)
June 17: Melton (H)
June 24: Redan (A)
July 1: Sebastopol (A)
July 8: Sunbury (H)
July 16: Ballarat (A)
July 23: Lake Wendouree (H)
July 29: East Point (A)
August 6: Darley (H)
August 12: Melton South (A)
August 19: Melton (A)
August 26: Redan (H)

gotnoskills said:
heard they are looking at a young bloke named Michael Rowe, tall with major skills and i mean skills, from up bush but played with Western jets last year. has been training werribee. supposivley wants big bucks, dunno if bacch ss can afford him.

Rowe played in Bacchus Marsh's practice match on the weekend and the club was very impressed with the young recruit. Exactly what the Marsh needs and further more the win over the highly fancied Torquay side on the weekend showed that the marsh have improved by quite a bit and will not be an easy victory for opposition side as seen over the past few years. New recruits Rowe, Dodd, Shea, McCarthy and both Connors brothers were all amongst the best players, showing that the club and coaching staff have done a great job at recruiting over the off season.

Kings Army said:
POWER V POWER - debate has raged over who was the better footballer: Mark Serge Power or Matt Demon Power. Whats your view??
Who cares ? both overated, neither of these two reached the dizzy heights of the great Justin Burt !

The Ballarat Courier

Ballarat Football League 2006 Preview

Sebastopol

2005: Won 2, Lost 14, Position 10th

First published Wednesday, March 29, 2006.
By Simon Gladman

Chris Lewis is usually pretty honest about where his team is at.
That's why it might surprise some that he's not afraid to mention the 'F' word - finals.
"I don't think it's beyond us to reach a finals spot," he said, pondering the season ahead.
Lewis, however, is not getting too carried away.
He knows it would take a minor miracle for the Kookaburras to make their first finals appearance since 2000.
"We're just looking for improvement and to be more consistent and more competitive," he said.
There is a new feeling in the air at Marty Busch Reserve this year. There is some excitement for a new-look team and plenty of expectation to improve.
Sebastopol won only two games last year - both against bottom side Bacchus Marsh.
It was Lewis' first season at the club, having been appointed coach about one month out from Round One. It was an impossible task with an undermanned and inexperienced list.
"To have that extra time has been excellent for me, and I think the side is heaps better off at this stage than it was last year," he said.
It might not just be heaps better off, it's also heaps bigger.
A determined group of about 15 players has put in a big pre-season in the gym.
Among the bulkiest are Malcolm Niblett, Joe Morrison, Chris Wills and James Carroll.
"They actually look like footballers," Lewis said. "I thought that was our biggest problem last year - we got knocked off the ball too easily. We're excited about the work ethic they've done. We would like to think they would get a bit of reward for that.”
Niblett, one of the league's premier full-backs, will again have the role of stopping the opposition's most dangerous forward. He won't be alone in defence this time.
Sebastopol has recruited key players, including Tim Beacham (Daylesford), Luther Dean (Daylesford), Brent O'Grady (Pascoe Vale), Mark Parriman (Broome), and Wanderers pair Ali Bond and Nook Mansell.
The departure of prime movers Wayne Schultz, to Victorian Football League club North Ballarat, and Troy Cook, to Williamstown, have hit the Kookaburras hard.
The new recruits, all of whom have experience at the senior level, will give Lewis more flexibility to try a few tactical moves when games get tight.
The forward line has a new edge, with Beacham set to stand alongside hard-working full-forward Matt Rae.
Beacham struggled with injuries last year, running on the ball to avoid being crunched in marking contests.
Every rival coach knows he could be a goal-kicking machine, a match winner, and an inspiration to his team-mates. He could be just the man Sebastopol needs.

THE COACH
CHRIS LEWIS
Second year as Kookaburras coach
Dual premiership player with West Coast Eagles.

KEY LOSSES
Matt Alexander (retired)
Aaron Clarke (South Mildura)
Troy Cook (Williamstown)
Clint Cooper (Newlyn)
Tim Kelly (Congupna)
Troy Leon (Newlyn)
Aaron Magner (Mathoura)
Wayne Schultz (North Ballarat)

KEY GAINS
Tim Beacham (Daylesford)
All Bond (Wanderers, NT)
Luther Dean (Daylesford)
Geoffrey Clark-Ugle (Panmure)
Steve Edwards (Heywood)
Simon Flagg (North Geelong)
Jarred Gillies (Anglesea)
Luke Kennelly (Shepparton)
Troy Lovett (Heywood)
Nook Mansell (Wanderers, NT)
Andrew Martin (Sunshine YCW)
Brent O'Grady (Pascoe Vale)
Mark Parriman (Broome)
Luke Piper (Landsborough, QLD)
Nick Turnball (Daylesford)
Luke Whitehead (Carngham-Linton)

THE DRAW
April 22: Bacchus Marsh (A)
April 29: Darley (H)
May 7: East Point (A)
May 13: Ballarat (A)
May 20: Redan (H)
June 3: Melton (H)
June 12: Sunbury (A)
June 18: Lake Wendouree (H)
June 24: Melton South (A)
July 1: Bacchus Marsh (H)
July 8: Darley (A)
July 15: East Point (H)
July 22: Ballarat (H)
July 29: Redan (A)
August 5: Melton (A)
August 12: Sunbury (H)
August 19: Lake Wendouree (A)
August 26: Melton South (H)

bearsboy said:
Who cares ? both overated, neither of these two reached the dizzy heights of the great Justin Burt !

Burt from Gisborne? Get off this thread you Gisborne suck. Join a decent league before you chat on this thread. Gisborne went to a porpoise league like Bendigo because they could never match it with Sunbury, Melton, Melton South and Darley. Enjoy you cheap flags in a second rate league.

bearsboy said:

Burt from Gisborne? Get off this thread you Gisborne suck. Gisborne had to join a porpoise league like Bendigo because it could not match it with Sunbury, Melton, Melton South and Darley. Enjoy your cheap flags in a 2nd rate league.:eek:

Kings Army said:
Burt from Gisborne? Get off this thread you Gisborne suck. Gisborne had to join a porpoise league like Bendigo because it could not match it with Sunbury, Melton, Melton South and Darley. Enjoy your cheap flags in a 2nd rate league.:eek:
could you please repeat that one more time ive nearly got it:cool:

Kings Army said:
Is the lightening premiership this weekend? Has a draw come out?
Ive noticed you dont recieve to many responses to your questions, some of the comments posted by you are very ordinary, as i have seen your name on many threads . i feel that you are a very ignorant football follower and only see this great game of ours through your Sunbury glasses. i think you should stop wasting your time on here,because people are sick of morons like you posting absolute one eyed drivel . you obviously have no idea about football , so i suggest you head to a game or two this year to see what it is all about .

bearsboy said:
Ive noticed you dont recieve to many responses to your questions, some of the comments posted by you are very ordinary, as i have seen your name on many threads . i feel that you are a very ignorant football follower and only see this great game of ours through your Sunbury glasses. i think you should stop wasting your time on here,because people are sick of morons like you posting absolute one eyed drivel . you obviously have no idea about football , so i suggest you head to a game or two this year to see what it is all about .

I've noticed you do not post any original comments - all you do is respond to things that I post. You support Gisborne but have had no input into the Bendgio league thread! You look like another scared Gisborne supporter.

Get to a game or 2 - what in Bendigo?? You watch 2nd rate football and now become an expert?

Check out the EDVL Div 2 thread. I believe it was created by the King. Here is your challenge Bears Boy - start your own thread.
Either:
1) you will be to scared.
2) not have any orginal ideas
3) or have nothing that people will have an interest in. :eek:

From the Ballarat Courier:

EAST Point star recruit Dan Jordan would struggle to have an impact against Sunbury this year, outspoken Lions coach Mark Power said yesterday.

Power said that his defenders would make the going tough for Jordan, who has been a dominant forward in practice matches for the Kangaroos in recent weeks.
It is believed Jordan has been taking up to 18 marks per game. "He won't take any more than 10 marks against us, I can guarantee you that," Power said.

Big call - if he comes out and kicks ten there will be egg on the face of Mr Power!

Kings Army said:

EAST Point star recruit Dan Jordan would struggle to have an impact against Sunbury this year, outspoken Lions coach Mark Power said yesterday.

Power said that his defenders would make the going tough for Jordan, who has been a dominant forward in practice matches for the Kangaroos in recent weeks.
It is believed Jordan has been taking up to 18 marks per game. "He won't take any more than 10 marks against us, I can guarantee you that," Power said.

Big call - if he comes out and kicks ten there will be egg on the face of Mr Power!

Would be a big call for anyone to kick ten against Sunbury, especially from East Point. You've got to have the supply...

Gisborne are hiding in a crap comp. I definitely agree. Why they didnt move to the Ballarat league is a strange decision. Maybe sick of losing to Darley & Sunbury etc

Kings Army said:
Is the lightening premiership this weekend? Has a draw come out?

Late news is that Sunbury, Melton, Redan and Darley will all be playing 2nd String sides in tomorrow's lightning premiership due to season openers in 4 to 5 days time.

At a guess there will be some lower clubs playing in the finals of this comp. Probably get an unrealistic idea of where they are at...

Interesting playing this so close to the season proper

Vineyard said:
Gisborne are hiding in a crap comp. I definitely agree. Why they didnt move to the Ballarat league is a strange decision. Maybe sick of losing to Darley & Sunbury etc
Another Scumbury supporter , how do you peanuts come up with these comments, 2 years ago bendigo beat ballarat in an interleague game . i dont believe that much has changed in this time , i think , as well as a lot of others that have seen the likes of darley, scumbury and melton .That Gisborne would beat these sides all day every day if they where playing for keeps

Kings Army said:

Mark Power is a dead set d**khead this bloke has the biggest mouth in the b.f.l , lets see if he can back it up with something thats called a PREMIERSHIP .

Vineyard said:
Late news is that Sunbury, Melton, Redan and Darley will all be playing 2nd String sides in tomorrow's lightning premiership due to season openers in 4 to 5 days time.

At a guess there will be some lower clubs playing in the finals of this comp. Probably get an unrealistic idea of where they are at...

Interesting playing this so close to the season proper

vineyard my friend, is there any truth to the rumour that brett connors single handedly tore apart the devils today??? would have 2 be the most polished on baller in the league.. any objecti9ons?? the ballarat league is renowned for ex vfl has beens..

Chris Johnson played in the Ballarat league previously. Now playing in Eastern Melb with me. Was wanting any info on him, we have great reports of courage and silky skills but would like to verify that with people who have played against him?