Ballarat Football League

Lakers will never merge with North City. It was more a talk about sharing facilities and venue that turned into talks of a merger that were quickly shot down. While North City might like the prospects of a merger and need Lakers to survive, Lakers dont want North City or need them to survive.

According to North City's captain, Adam Richardson, who was asked by Paul Leahy to give his opinion of the matter, Lakers very much wanted a merge.

pull ya head in mate how would he know what lakers want. I can tell you now its the last thing lakers wanted.

?? What's with the attitude? is this a discussion forum or is everything said gonna draw an aggressive reaction?
And in answer to your question, from what i understand lakers approached North City. Now logic would say that they have a board meeting to discuss what decision to make, and according to richo, he was asked to voice his opinion on it. Seems like a pretty tall story for him to make up, so i believe that the lakers approached North.
And it isn't a matter of what Lakers want, nobody wants to fold, it may be a matter of what they need.
Before ya all lose your heads and have a crack at me, just take a step back and understand that i am relaying information that i have heard, as is everybody in this thread.

I have it on a reliable soucre that the darley committee are spending a good amount of money on the locals and keeping the faith with them and not going out and spending heaps like other eastern block Clubs, eg sunbury, south and Marsh, my spies hear that the east point and Redan boys were not that disappointed in their games on the weekend and a high ranking BFL identity was heard at the Darley Game that like redan, East Point were pacing themselves for a slow start to the season to finish with wet sail from about round 5 onwards.

My word to them is "You had better pull your finger out cause the opposition is a bit better that you treat them Lions and Kangaroos"
Im not sure where you got the info of Darley paying the locals big money. Sure probably Cape and Miller would be on some sort of contract but other than that the rest get the base, and they have introduced a new incentives thing for the best 4 or 5 uncontracted players on the day. Which has been working well from all reports. I think Darley were happy to go with players that want to play for the right reasons not for the money which you get alot of in footy these days.This is why the lakers marsh ballaret sebas have had a rough trot over the last 4-5 years because they cant find the big money to compete with the more financial sides.

Very impressive Dylan. Cant be anything but straight up. my comments were probably a bit harsh in retrospect and agree with you that Hawker is a tosser. Dont ned stupid rumours floating around.

Good luck with the year mate and demon/serge always give the young fellas a go.

Agree totally, well said Vineyard.. We dont need stupid rumours floating around.. Do we Dylan?

Im not sure where you got the info of Darley paying the locals big money. Sure probably Cape and Miller would be on some sort of contract but other than that the rest get the base, and they have introduced a new incentives thing for the best 4 or 5 uncontracted players on the day. Which has been working well from all reports. I think Darley were happy to go with players that want to play for the right reasons not for the money which you get alot of in footy these days.This is why the lakers marsh ballaret sebas have had a rough trot over the last 4-5 years because they cant find the big money to compete with the more financial sides.

Footy fat if you read my words correctly you would see that i said that they are spending a good load of money, not BIG MONEY as you stated, by good i mean it is good to see a club putting it into their locals.

Everybody knows that you need at least 4-5 guns on good contracts, then you spread the money amongst the other players on the list. In the past and I hope that the committee have the guts to stick with the program of developing players as it can turn around. I know that money was wasted by throwing it at blokes who did not want to play for the love of the club, i think the devils are on the right path.

You only have to look at how Redan have progressed when they won their u/18 premierships, they got top up players to help the list develop in Field, Bridges, Edwards ect.. a lot of those u/18s are now playing in the seniors, Ballarat have turned the corner, put all of their energy into their social facility, got a respected coach and topped up with players and developed their juniors. East Point topped up with some quality players and have developed their juniors, the Lakers, Melton, Marsh & Sebas are doing the right stuff as is most clubs now by realising that you have to devlop the locals as well as looking after them.

So it can be done and i know that the powerful sunbury club have the resources but they have a lot of their u/18s in the seniors so it can be done but you have to stick at it.

I dont believe in bagging clubs like my brother "The Beak" does in the BFL Record as i think that most clubs are trying their best to be competitive and have quality people involved, it is the minority who cannot see the bigger picture as these people put their heart and soul into their clubs and if their was a lot more positive talk on about Ballarat footy as it is a fantastic standard.

Gadget i have done a bit of research on this matter and have found some facts that you should be aware of.

East were financially stuffed, Point was ok but just.
East had 30 senior players only, Point had 15 at most.
East had 5 u/18s only, Point had 25.
Both East and Point had special meetings that failed to gather anymore support off the field and then the merger took place.

I was around the BFL at that time and had a fair bit to do with it in an advisory role to see that it got through succesfully as we did not want to see either side completely disappear and that was the situation.

I have the full admiration for the hard decisions made by East and Point and respect the efforts of the Redans, Ballarats, Sebas's, to maintain their club and to see them prosper is fantastic.

Let me remind you all that the club faced many obstacles and were very lucky to even survive. they will not be the first or last club to do this.

Unfortunaltley we lost Daylesford out of the competition but for them to survive in a very competative league they had to move and we wished the demons the best when they left.

You only have to see how close the lakers came to doing the same with Nth City this season and belive me that this is still very much on the backburner and stay tuned over the coming months as the drums are beating there.
Take your point Beak but still think other clubs has faced many obstacles similar to East & Point but have had the ticker to survive. Short term success...Good luck to them!

Very funny pic JK. :D :thumbsu:

Have to tell you something that you guys probably already know but anyway I am letting the others know that round 3 in the BFL this week is promoting Women's Rights and that means everyone has to wear purple armbands.

?? What's with the attitude? is this a discussion forum or is everything said gonna draw an aggressive reaction?
And in answer to your question, from what i understand lakers approached North City. Now logic would say that they have a board meeting to discuss what decision to make, and according to richo, he was asked to voice his opinion on it. Seems like a pretty tall story for him to make up, so i believe that the lakers approached North.
And it isn't a matter of what Lakers want, nobody wants to fold, it may be a matter of what they need.
Before ya all lose your heads and have a crack at me, just take a step back and understand that i am relaying information that i have heard, as is everybody in this thread.

Just get ya facts right and then you can comment on anything you like as you can anyway. But no need to talk bullshit mate about the two clubs

I posted. This was a pretty ordinary scrappy game. Agree Hutchy was this difference along with the men with the whistle. Funnily enough I actually think you might even beat Redan this week if field and edwards dont play. with Caldow back with roosters you have know ruckman. good luck.
Other games - Melton to win who have would over M/ sth, East over sunbury in a tight one, Lakers just over sebas and Darley to beat the Cobras & redan by 4 goals.
Think I got them all correct last week.

Well mate, Field and edwards both played, the latter proving once again of how much of true sportsman he is by not shaking his oponents hand. Caldow did go back to north, but the ballart boys won by about five goals and should of won by ten. ohh a big bloke played in the ruck and was in the bests and in my book that means ballarat have a ruckman.

Just get ya facts right and then you can comment on anything you like as you can anyway. But no need to talk bullshit mate about the two clubs
The same can be said about your comments about the umpiring. You don't know the rules go and learn them then you will be ok with everyone else.

Well mate, Field and edwards both played, the latter proving once again of how much of true sportsman he is by not shaking his oponents hand. Caldow did go back to north, but the ballart boys won by about five goals and should of won by ten. ohh a big bloke played in the ruck and was in the bests and in my book that means ballarat have a ruckman.

I agree. Both Field and Edwards played. Field struggled. Edwards had a fair bit of it though. He played on Brad Anderson for the second half, with both of them being in eachother's ears all day. Seemed to be no love lost between the two. But i did think it was quite disgraceful when Edwards refused to acknowledge Anderson when he went to shake his hand after the game. Quite ordinary from him. Aaron Brennan came up from the 2's for the first time to ruck and was excellent in his first game.

And don't forget about the Hall Train too, Looked too good for reserves football.... I'm not going to comment on Edwards as he's way too big for me! But he did come into the clubrooms for a beer after the game and was one of the last Redan blokes to leave. And how good was Prez Manleys little dig at East Point!

Gadget you seem to be knowledgeable about the league, how are the lakers shaping up as this was my former club and have not been able to see them play this year, last time i spoke to them they had just gone throigh that nth city issue and come out the other side.

When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp.

Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat?

Ballarat are obviously the big improvers for 2007 and have a quality coach in Northey at the helm, did Shane get stuck into East Point ? what about, i know it would be along the lines of their arrogance.

I'll do my best...

Gadget you seem to be knowledgeable about the league, how are the lakers shaping up as this was my former club and have not been able to see them play this year, last time i spoke to them they had just gone throigh that nth city issue and come out the other side.
They very competitive against Redan, Had a win over sebas on week end. Maxwell is back at the club and proving to be as dangerous as he has been in past. Reusy is still captain and respected for he's loyalty to the club that has seen players move on.

When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp. Plyed against Redan satdy, and they may have slipped a few notches from previous years, Edwards had alot of footy but there depth might be a problem this year.

Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat? Yes. Defiantely

Ballarat are obviously the big improvers for 2007 and have a quality coach in Northey at the helm, did Shane get stuck into East Point ? what about, i know it would be along the lines of their arrogance.
I would be dissapointed if we didn't finish top 3 this year, there is a good feeling around the club at moment.Time will tell come later in the season but all looks good. Shane just had a little dig about East/point merging.

Melton South are big improvers aswell with handy recruits coming aswell as ex players... They could be a smoky this year, but Sunbury the yard stick at moment!

When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp.

Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat?

Lakers arnt looking as bas as people first might thought...They played redan in round 1 and lost by a good 50 points....now you could say from seeing that....lakers arnt any good again same old same old....Lake Wendouree backed up the next week and beet sebastopol in a thriller game which i did happen to see a player called tim Madden you could almost say he saved the game......very good player and one to watch.

Lakers wil be aiming for a finals spot this year and could be a suprise package

is that Garath Hall? Can you give me an update on how he is travelling?

Is that Garath Hall you are referring to? Can you give me an update on how he is playing and if he is training?

Read previous post mate, yes he's going ok.. Kicked 6 on the week end... Not sure what he had for breakfast today though.

I happened to catch the game and i though edwards was no good! yeah he may have had a bit of the ball but the bloke can't kick, he kicks in to no1 and turns it over all the time, that is the reason he got found out at VFL level. On the other hand field is a class act! thought he played not a bad game!