Ballarat training

nmfc_always

Oct 29, 2007
Ballarat
Went along this morning to see if we were doing any training. Mostly blokes just having a light jog & kick. Nothing serious, probably just blowing out the cobwebs from the drive up to Ballarat.

Did notice Patch in a small group doing a pretty serious workout (non-contact). Would suggest if he was training that hard whilst others weren't, that he probably won't play tomorrow night.

Was at the end of the ground that Cunners, Basti & the Beast were doing some goal kicking practice into a pretty strong head wind. Cunners looks big & ready. Really excited to see what he delivers this year.

The interesting thing was they were shooting from about 40m out. No worries for Cunners & Basti. The Beast however, even with his massive legs, I don't think made the distance once.

Now I know it's early in his prep, but gee whiz, it didn't fill me with any confidence watching him that he will make the grade. Hope I'm wrong, coz a beast he is, but from what i saw today, can't see him playing VFL 1sts this year.

You'd reckon the blokes who have had injuries or surgeries over the preseason will miss tomorrow. That would mean no Wellsy, Patch, Ziebell, Garner, Wilkins and maybe Hine.

Looking forward to getting a geez at Gysberts, Jacobs, Taz, Daw, Kennedy, Cunners and Cam Delaney tomorrow.

And that beast not making the distance thing, technique >>>>> muscle. Practice makes perfect.

out of curiosity who was in the group with patch doing non contact work. Did that group all look slighlty injured?

hoping for plenty of intra club game reports from those that go tommorow.

Only 4 in the group. None looked injured, was just interesting that they were going flat out whilst everyone else was pretty casual, just having a kick with each other. They were up the other end of the oval so couldnt make out who else, they looked young. Patch tends to stand out

my guess of the other 3 in the group would be garner, hine and wilkins then.

Thanks for the brief report mate.

And that beast not making the distance thing, technique >>>>> muscle. Practice makes perfect.

This is spot on. Go to any amateur footy club and there'll be some scrawny U19 kid who can roost it without trouble. (exhibit A: Brad McKenzie)

With the quality of tuition he has available and the dedication he seems to show he should improve this significantly.

Went along this morning to see if we were doing any training. Mostly blokes just having a light jog & kick. Nothing serious, probably just blowing out the cobwebs from the drive up to Ballarat.

Did notice Patch in a small group doing a pretty serious workout (non-contact). Would suggest if he was training that hard whilst others weren't, that he probably won't play tomorrow night.

Was at the end of the ground that Cunners, Basti & the Beast were doing some goal kicking practice into a pretty strong head wind. Cunners looks big & ready. Really excited to see what he delivers this year.

The interesting thing was they were shooting from about 40m out. No worries for Cunners & Basti. The Beast however, even with his massive legs, I don't think made the distance once.

Now I know it's early in his prep, but gee whiz, it didn't fill me with any confidence watching him that he will make the grade. Hope I'm wrong, coz a beast he is, but from what i saw today, can't see him playing VFL 1sts this year.

Thanks for the report.

Did you see any of the silky smooth Daniel Wells?

Yes it is early and I strongly doubt that he was any chance to play VFL firsts.

This is spot on. Go to any amateur footy club and there'll be some scrawny U19 kid who can roost it without trouble. (exhibit A: Brad McKenzie)

With the quality of tuition he has available and the dedication he seems to show he should improve this significantly.

Clinton Young too.

You'd reckon the blokes who have had injuries or surgeries over the preseason will miss tomorrow. That would mean no Wellsy, Patch, Ziebell, Garner, Wilkins and maybe Hine.

Looking forward to getting a geez at Gysberts, Jacobs, Taz, Daw, Kennedy, Cunners and Cam Delaney tomorrow.

Wells looks to play, not sure on Hine. Spot on with the others though.

Ballarat training