Bassirou Faye

We all know that jousting is high-testosterone fencing.

It's just relatively speaking, when you live in a world where synchronised swimming and equestrian events are sports, a better put down could have been formulated in this instance.
Equestrian is actually quite dangerous. Heaps of injuries and the occasional death.

Horse riding is essentially much more dangerous than playing footy.
You're missing the point about it being a low-testosterone pursuit!

The whole point of international rookie scholarships is that they are highly speculative. Doesn’t cost anything in terms of list or cap space. Hasn’t worked with Big Roo. Don’t know if any of them have ever worked.

Bugger all have worked but I do still love the concept, especially if it's low risk.

By my count there have been 32 international scholarships. Of those 32, only 4 made it onto an actual rookie list, and only 2 have played a senior AFL game (Kurt Heatherley from NZ played 4 games for Hawthorn from 2016–2017 after getting his first scholarship in 2009, and Hewago Oea from PNG is currently on the Gold Coast list and has played 13 games from 2022–2023 after getting his first scholarship in 2018).

Definitely more misses than hits.

Bugger all have worked but I do still love the concept, especially if it's low risk.

By my count there have been 32 international scholarships. Of those 32, only 4 made it onto an actual rookie list, and only 2 have played a senior AFL game (Kurt Heatherley from NZ played 4 games for Hawthorn from 2016–2017 after getting his first scholarship in 2009, and Hewago Oea from PNG is currently on the Gold Coast list and has played 13 games from 2022–2023 after getting his first scholarship in 2018).

Definitely more misses than hits.
I think it should be considered an investment into the development of the game, even if the success rate is extremely low.

It's worth working on new development pathways all the time and keeping our abilities up when it comes to upskilling players from virtually no footy background.

Fox is reporting that we have parted ways with Bassirou Faye for next season.
He was never on our list , but ok yep he is gone

Didn't work out for him with us but the scholarship gave him a chance to get out of a pretty horrible part of the world and set up a new life in AUS, still a success I reckon. Happy for him.

Bassirou Faye