Ben cousins not the player hes made out to be.

passthebottle said:
What are you smokin??? :eek:

Nothing mate. This guys just bitter.

Oh and the fact that his slightly ******ed doesn't help. Remember when he said Tredrea is crap.. yeah you get my point.

here we go again another cuz bash thread....geez what next another no mcg no eagles thread or no fwd line no eagles......think of something new please

A gift from above said:
Definitely not in that superstar class, more in that very good hard working class. Todays performance says it all really, judd is the genuine superstar. Congrats to the swans too theres not a team more deserving. Paul roos what a champ too. Cool as you can get. :thumbsu:

Go get some counselling mate :confused:

Player Honours

Brownlow Medal 2005
Best and fairest 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005
2nd best and fairest 1998
3rd best and fairest 1999
All-Australian 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2005 (vice-captain), 2006
International Rules Series 1999
AFLPA MVP 2005
AFL Rising Star 1996
Captain 2001-2005

The record speaks for itself.

Champion

There is no doubt whatsoever that Cousins is a champion. Great player and more than that he gets the best out of himself and gives it his all week in, week out. Sure he may not be remembered as the greatest player to ever have played the game but he is a damn good one and as others have said any club would love to have him.

Great player, rate him right up there in the top 5 current players. Hope Fossy or Kirky can stop him next week.

He's a fine player, but no way known is he in the Buckley-Hird-Voss class.

Only a Collingwood supporter could make a comment like that.

Cousins is easily in Hird and Voss's league. He isn't in Buckleys because Buckley is a class under him.

Try watching Cousins a bit more closely and you might think other wise

He's no Hird, but who is?

A number of times this year I saw Cousins get absolutly crunched many times in one game and i don't think i've seen a player that has kept running and kept going as hard like he did. i reckon he's the type of guy you'd like to play footy with caus he leaves absolutely everything he has on the park.

AN ABSOLUTE SUPERSTAR.

Braun and Stenglein are better players than Fletcher these days, quite easily really. On performance, Fletcher brings up the rear of the Midfield A team, probably even the leader of the B team (with Selwood, Butler, Rosa and Jones).

Oh and Cousins is a champ, if he played for a big Vic club they would be talking about it him in Buckley-Hird company.

Out of interest, I rate Bucks obviously, a hell of a lot, but what's he done that Cousins hasn't done just as good? It's not just that dodgey Norm Smith is it?
Hird has the extra dash of magic to him but surely Cousins compares very well to Buckley when it comes to your hard runner, team lifting kind of champ?

I actually rate him higher than Judd.

But neither of them are game breakers in the mcleod, hird, Jarman, Voss.

When did the eagles last break open a tight game?

Would have been thrashed last year had o'loughlin kicked straight - and this year he is kicking straight !

Pessimistic said:

You're not serious are you?

I have honestly never seen anyone under the impression that Cousins and Judd aren't game breakers?

Where do you rate them in the comp out of interest?

A gift from above said:
Definitely not in that superstar class, more in that very good hard working class. Todays performance says it all really, judd is the genuine superstar. :thumbsu:

Which game were you watching. :confused: :confused: :confused: Cousins is a retread off the field, but on it he's amongst the games best. Cousins had a better game than Judd - just by a little though. Bagging the reigning Brownlow medalist is just plain silly. In a way you're kind of right, Cousins isn't the player you make him out to be - he's a superstar.

P.S. Funny that it was started by an Adeliade fan. All Adelaide fans can take heart - at least Ricciuto will be fit for the next game... in March. :D

When Cousins had a 20(?) touch first half against the Crows at Subi in 2002 Gary Ayres was quizzed by a journalist as to why he let him get away with it. He responded with contempt for Cousins's game and questioned the effectiveness of this prolific ball-winning. Mentioning something about too many 'dinky little handpasses in the backline'.

For an AFL coach to actually talk an opposition player down like this is quite a rare event in football. Perhaps he was letting on how many in the football world actually felt about Cousins. Or he was holding a grudge against him for choosing WCE instead of Geelong under the F/S rule when Ayres was Cats coach.;)

Does Cousins accumulate too many touches that don't overly hurt the opposition? Perhaps Cousins doesn't play in the same way today. Perhaps Ayres was wrong and trying to justify his stubborness in not moving a hard tag to Cousins. Perhaps the truth lies somewhere in between.

A previous poster mentioned similarities to Crawford; I think that might be spot on. Both awesome runners, they also had a Brownlow/AFLPA MVP season yet are still not held in the same esteem as the very elite. James Hird and Mark Ricciuto have never won the Leigh Matthews Trophy and they'd be held in much higher regard than these two players.

Crawford and Cousins may be seen to be more dominant through sublime fitness rather than pure football genius?

Pessimistic said:

Yesterday.

And Cousins is one of the hardest running players I've ever seen ... in the Robert Harvey at-his-peak class. An excellent footballer is Ben Cousins. He'd be welcome at the Saints ...

Since the thread started by a Crow fan it begs the question as to what "he is made out to be"? Crowbars tend to place super unrealistic raps on players.... eg of Crows own super stars.... he outplayed McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards....Van Berlo:eek: .... maybe you have just been believing all this E-girl properganda that they are all =Gods?

IMO Cousins was the inspiration and the perspiration that got E-girls back into the game and built confidence, and he has done this consistently for a decade

Pity he won't get much of a chance next week to prove you wrong.... but have a closer look next season.... genuine elite! :thumbsu: ....and still is the real WC Captain

TheRealComptroller said:
When Cousins had a 20(?) touch first half against the Crows at Subi in 2002 Gary Ayres was quizzed by a journalist as to why he let him get away with it. He responded with contempt for Cousins's game and questioned the effectiveness of this prolific ball-winning. Mentioning something about too many 'dinky little handpasses in the backline'.

For an AFL coach to actually talk an opposition player down like this is quite a rare event in football. Perhaps he was letting on how many in the football world actually felt about Cousins. Or he was holding a grudge against him for choosing WCE instead of Geelong under the F/S rule when Ayres was Cats coach.;)

Does Cousins accumulate too many touches that don't overly hurt the opposition? Perhaps Cousins doesn't play in the same way today. Perhaps Ayres was wrong and trying to justify his stubborness in not moving a hard tag to Cousins. Perhaps the truth lies somewhere in between.

A previous poster mentioned similarities to Crawford; I think that might be spot on. Both awesome runners, they also had a Brownlow/AFLPA MVP season yet are still not held in the same esteem as the very elite. James Hird and Mark Ricciuto have never won the Leigh Matthews Trophy and they'd be held in much higher regard than these two players.

Crawford and Cousins may be seen to be more dominant through sublime fitness rather than pure football genius?

I personally believe Cousins to be one of the most damaging players in the league when he gets the footy. He is far more effictive with disposal than Fletcher (but most the comp is) and makes less errors by foot than Judd. You say he had "a Brownlow season" but ignore him finshing 1 vote behind the leaders in 2003 as well as being 6 time AA. He may well be a receiver but teams need recievers and they quite often win matches. Runs harder than just about any player in the league and reads the game really bloody well too.

All in all he is a superstar and although a different player is probably as important to West Coast as Judd is.

I rate Cousins over Judd in importance to WCE. Judd mayb a 'super star' but Couz oozes passion, fitness, toughness, heart, etc.

I rekon Cuz would do well at the Swans:) And if there was a choice between Cuz and Judd, i'd pick Cuz.

A gift from above said:
Definitely not in that superstar class, more in that very good hard working class. Todays performance says it all really, judd is the genuine superstar. Congrats to the swans too theres not a team more deserving. Paul roos what a champ too. Cool as you can get. :thumbsu:

Cousins is fastly becoming my favourite player in the comp, thanks to this year (not last year). He is a terrific leader, as signified by what his presence does for the club. He is one of the most damaging players due to his football smarts and skills. He is a decorated player for his amazing hard work and committment on the field. He is a champion!

jimmy.h said:
I personally believe Cousins to be one of the most damaging players in the league when he gets the footy. He is far more effictive with disposal than Fletcher (but most the comp is) and makes less errors by foot than Judd. You say he had "a Brownlow season" but ignore him finshing 1 vote behind the leaders in 2003 as well as being 6 time AA. He may well be a receiver but teams need recievers and they quite often win matches. Runs harder than just about any player in the league and reads the game really bloody well too.

All in all he is a superstar and although a different player is probably as important to West Coast as Judd is.

My post was more to do with how an AFL senior coach had viewed Cousins. Stressing that Ayres believed Ben Cousins getting the ball frequently was not that frightening to him.

I actually wrote Brownlow/AFLPA MVP; this was to imply that Crawford and Cousins were able to take the TWO most prestigious awards. I was more interested in the MVP than the Brownlow. Meaning that these players had accomplished the highest individual honour possible and still were not seen as hyper elite players when there were others who never have won the Leigh Matthews Trophy who are held in greater esteem in the football world, e.g. Hird and Ricciuto.

Ben cousins not the player hes made out to be.