Benalla & District Part 2

Bit of news from yesterday. Doon rumoured to be chasing L Angwin former Crow & Blue. Tatong full forward on his way to the Doon also. Just a bit of talk at the Merton picnics.

B Tanner to continue as assistant coach and T Tanner co-coach of the 2's.

Doon rumoured to be chasing L Angwin former Crow & Blue.

Brightie I hope you're referring to me :D

:confused: I'm so confused, I was of the belief he is on the Broadford FNC committee - geez if this is true I hope they will allow him to attend committee meetings & club functions to fulfill his commitments :confused:

Good to hear Longwood has a coach and the news of a few players.
Whats the full story Carrot?
Happy New Year ALL !!!!!!!

G’Day Dodger old mate ..
Firstly the best for Two Thou’s and 9 to you and the Missus Sal, D & B and the lovely Miss Molly!
Now, I’ve been out of the loop over the summer, as you must do to charge the batteries. Was only in the holy city for Christmas night .. much to my regret on Boxing Day!
But I’m looking forward to fire up with the Leggers in ’09.
You know that we’ll have to modify the nickname in 2010 as Tallygaroopna are the Redlegs in the KDFL.
I better not get too far ahead of myself right now as the “upper North-East-centric – Wangaratta VCFL” .. (phew! I nearly named names there ..eh?) .. have done a true Ted Whitten – looked at Longwood’s application and said “Let’s stick it up ‘em!”
Riddle me this. Bright merge with Myrtleford in 2010. King Valley finally fold after ’09 to maybe merge with Greta. O&K back to 8. We had dreams of Benalla All Blacks and Glenrowan coming back .. tell him he’s dreamin’.
Goorambat are a walk-up start for O&K. Swanpool will take-over the broke Tatong and Doon, with their dosh and ground levelling will be considered as the ONE long trip for O&K. Otherwise Yarra Valley.
And Longwood .. huh .. who gives a rat’s tail haircut! Talk about shafted.
I received a notice from the Club that Paul Cleary is coach with Ricky Shiner assisting and, with the first ever lady president in charge, the Longwood Redlegs are not going to be the patsy for this procrastinating mess up.
And I reckon there is also a good point in the flyer from the new man on the committe, “Mahatma Ghandi” .. he’s turns up for meetings in a night shirt y’ know !! “The future depends on what we do in the present.”
Cheers Cobber .. hope you keep your head down when you’re putting.
They say a hangover helps!!;)
John Carrot

G’Day Dodger old mate ..
Firstly the best for Two Thou’s and 9 to you and the Missus Sal, D & B and the lovely Miss Molly!
Now, I’ve been out of the loop over the summer, as you must do to charge the batteries. Was only in the holy city for Christmas night .. much to my regret on Boxing Day!
You know that we’ll have to modify the nickname in 2010 as Tallygaroopna are the Redlegs in the KDFL.
I better not get too far ahead of myself right now as the “upper North-East-centric – Wangaratta VCFL” .. (phew! I nearly named names there ..eh?) .. have done a true Ted Whitten – looked at Longwood’s application and said “Let’s stick it up ‘em!”
Riddle me this. Bright merge with Myrtleford in 2010. King Valley finally fold after ’09 to maybe merge with Greta. O&K back to 8. We had dreams of Benalla All Blacks and Glenrowan coming back .. tell him he’s dreamin’.
Goorambat are a walk-up start for O&K. Swanpool will take-over the broke Tatong and Doon, with their dosh and ground levelling will be considered as the ONE long trip for O&K. Otherwise Yarra Valley.
I received a notice from the Club that Paul Cleary is coach with Ricky Shiner assisting and, with the first ever lady president in charge, the Longwood Redlegs are not going to be the patsy for this procrastinating mess up.
And I reckon there is also a good point in the flyer from the new man on the committe, “Mahatma Ghandi” .. he’s turns up for meetings in a night shirt y’ know !! “The future depends on what we do in the present.”
John Carrot

Hi there vegie man and dodger hoping mad season was good to you and yours.Am I right to be thinking that Paul Cleary and Ricky Shiner are both Avenal boys? Whats last years coach Mat Finch up to ,is he going to play again?Anyway big hello to all at Redleg Stadium including the Clock,Uncle Dick,the Governer General,the Redfox(voice of the valley),Potty,Lieghroy,Sir Lancelot,Longprong,Shorty e.t.c. cheers the "Speckulator"

G’Day Dodger old mate ..
John Carrot
shafted? tell me this how have longwood been shafted?you a#@*holes are the ones trying to screw over the league and the other 4 clubs by jumping ship and ultimately killing the comp.everyone else is happy to keep going the way it has been for at least one more year bar longwood.and why do they want to leave?to be competitive?to be more secure?you couldnt win a game in the b&d how do you expect to win a game in a higher league?and on your predictions for the future talking to my mates at swanpool and tatong neither of them are in any financial trouble and neither of them even talking about merging so enough with the crap you are sounding more and more like our red carded friend

Hello peanut breath, how are you?
Hmm Longwood leaving the B&D would be fairly crapy for you wouldnt it. How on earth will you get a kick in a stronger league? Mind you did you get a kick in the B&D?
Must have been fairly shatering to play in the losing GF last year?
Oh wait a minute you couldnt get a game.
Goorambat more than happy to play in a 5 team comp because they know they are playing against teams who struggle to get players to play in the dead arse league. Big fish in a little pond (your just a fat toad) you blokes and if your club happy good luck to you and your nearly dead club.
Good luck in the future Browny and hope you have a good year:thumbsu:
Your a dead set tool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hello peanut breath, how are you?
Hmm Longwood leaving the B&D would be fairly crapy for you wouldnt it. How on earth will you get a kick in a stronger league? Mind you did you get a kick in the B&D?
Must have been fairly shatering to play in the losing GF last year?
Oh wait a minute you couldnt get a game.
Goorambat more than happy to play in a 5 team comp because they know they are playing against teams who struggle to get players to play in the dead arse league. Big fish in a little pond (your just a fat toad) you blokes and if your club happy good luck to you and your nearly dead club.
Good luck in the future Browny and hope you have a good year:thumbsu:
Your a dead set tool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
havent you realised yet that no one gives a crap about you cellar dwellar or wise owl or wat ever other name you have operated under.wat club are you gonna try and screw now ray now that benalla dont want you and no other club in the district wants you.maybe the move to wodonga has just made you dumber:D

Go Blacks 2009

Excuse my ignorance "onlyone", but are All Blacks back in the BDFL this year? And as for Showtime, I think Longwood were looking at the longterm gameplan. Hard to see how a 5 team competition can survive when you play everyone about 4 times. Why wouldn't you consider your options? Without a junior competition as part of the league, or enough juniors to have a junior comp, makes life pretty tough.

It was just a matter of who moved first on the idea of relocation to another league. I think youll find the VCFL are the ones who have killed the league not the clubs but not making any decisions as all too hard.
Just as a last dig Tatong were in the Herald Sun last year 3? times talking about not being able to attract players, no money to maintain ground and surrounds and lack of younger people to take over from the already hard pressed committee. How long does a club wait before they explore their options? Has to happen and if any team isnt looking at their future and other leagues they can move into their committee may as well declare defeat and wait to fold.

If Longwood leave the league where do all the clubs go or does the VCFL have to actually then make a decision?

Goorambat had there first pre season training session last night, does anyone know how it went? numbers? new faces?

With the Picola League now in 2 conferences. Would a club like Goorambat still be looking toward O&K or would they be thinking about possibly joining the South East PDFL?

Considering they are:
45km from Tungamah
60km from Shepparton
80km from Rennie

Just a thought, I do realise the SE PDFL is a strong league that has 4 grades of footy and about 9 of netball.

With the Picola League now in 2 conferences. Would a club like Goorambat still be looking toward O&K or would they be thinking about possibly joining the South East PDFL?

Considering they are:
45km from Tungamah
60km from Shepparton
80km from Rennie

Just a thought, I do realise the SE PDFL is a strong league that has 4 grades of footy and about 9 of netball.

Not sure of all the picola clubs locations IWAF but most O&K gmes would be within abt 30-40 mins drive

O&K teams wouldn wanna play against B&D teams the footy is not as good an your grounds arnt up to our standards...
G’day “under two”. I must say that you’re elitist pontificating regarding ground and football standards show a dearth of understanding.

Obviously the former tobacco growers in the Ovens Valley; and the early rising dairy farmers in the King Valley, must be providing much needed spare water near to the source to keep your grounds looking “noice”!

Now my “under 24 month old toddler” friend. As far as your judgement on football standards are concerned, how do you judge?
Maybe on the basis of who spends the most money to get the mercenary premiership?

What right do minor league footballers have to demand a large stipend to play for a Club which gets a zero financial return on that payment?

Beware “Not long turned 12 months” .. the economic downturn may finally put paid to paid minor football prima donnas!

By the way .. “ya spellin and granma arnt up to standard eiver”

Remember .. if it spells like a duck .. talks like a duck .. and makes quackery comments like a duck .. there is “OnlyOne” conclusion!!
Cheers
John Carrot

G’day “under two”. I must say that you’re elitist pontificating regarding ground and football standards show a dearth of understanding.

Obviously the former tobacco growers in the Ovens Valley; and the early rising dairy farmers in the King Valley, must be providing much needed spare water near to the source to keep your grounds looking “noice”!

Now my “under 24 month old toddler” friend. As far as your judgement on football standards are concerned, how do you judge?
Maybe on the basis of who spends the most money to get the mercenary premiership?

What right do minor league footballers have to demand a large stipend to play for a Club which gets a zero financial return on that payment?

Beware “Not long turned 12 months” .. the economic downturn may finally put paid to paid minor football prima donnas!

By the way .. “ya spellin and granma arnt up to standard eiver”

Remember .. if it spells like a duck .. talks like a duck .. and makes quackery comments like a duck .. there is “OnlyOne” conclusion!!
Cheers
John Carrot

Touche' Veggie Man !!!!!!!!

Mate just face it yous aint up to O&K level so go cry under a piece of tin...

I know your probably only stirring the possom here onylone surely because if im correct you follow the All blacks who as we all know havnt been great ever in the o&k and even though i must admit ive never witness a B & D game i reckon the bats and the money doon boys would have handled bab over the last couple of years -correct me if im wrong :eek:

Vestile Virgin .. you could not have put it more up front.
How are BAB (Benalla All Blacks) doing in the O&K . Not OK. For that matter, how go Glenrowan?
Both Clubs decided years ago that that because of travel the O&K was OK and the B&DFL was the “Bash and Clash”! Far from the truth.
Wrong decisions I’d say .. with both Clubs now trapped into being “The Easybeats” forever in the O&K League. The song “Friday on my Mind!” voted number Aussie song!
Classic story of Glenrowan in their last year of B&DFL was when the Glenrowan publican put on a “pay to view” at 8.00 am Satd’y. The fight between the ear biter and the other poor bugger.
When the buses arrived to go to Bonnie Doon at 10.30 am it was freezing; fight over and both games forfeited
Probably snowing at Doon but those who chucked it in kicked on!!
And the Tigers used the excuse that travel buggered their club and drawing on Wang was the only way. That’s got them a long way so far.

Don’t worry about Longwood Virge. We will maintain the rage in 2009 and; when it’s all over in 2009, we will try and keep our footy club going in the KDFL in 2010.
Oh.. if we don’t succeed we fold .. and that would be the end of something special.
More so under a stubby under the southern cross on a hot night, “OnlyOne”. Rather than drinking from under a piece of tin!
Cheers
John Carrot