Benalla & District

Heard tonight that Dev have actually gone. Can anyone confirm? League to run with 5 teams in 07.

Hope you're wrong on this one slim...have ya heard anymore?

I'll ask my brother what he knows - last I heard they were looking for players (as usual) and about to appoint a coach. I'll keep ya's informed as I hear things!

Jeez, I hope the Barbers and the comp survive tho - good for footy!

Cheers,

Hope you're wrong on this one slim...have ya heard anymore?

I'll ask my brother what he knows - last I heard they were looking for players (as usual) and about to appoint a coach. I'll keep ya's informed as I hear things!

Jeez, I hope the Barbers and the comp survive tho - good for footy!

Cheers,

Hope I'm wrong too Hansie, but thats been the buzz for quite a while. And as we all learned inthe last couple days where there's smoke, there's [bush]fire.

Asked my brother, and he says he knows nothing of it, so I guess at this stage the Barbs are still going, for now, at least!

Cheers,

Was in Benalla over the weekend and it seems that all the talk around town is that Devenish have folded and will not be able to field any teams in the B&D in 2007.

O&K could be the answer for the teams who are stong enough to compete, possibly G'Bat and Tatong and maybe Doon going towards the alexandra way.

Any thoughts?

Was in Benalla over the weekend and it seems that all the talk around town is that Devenish have folded and will not be able to field any teams in the B&D in 2007.

O&K could be the answer for the teams who are stong enough to compete, possibly G'Bat and Tatong and maybe Doon going towards the alexandra way.

Any thoughts?

what about swanpool are they strong enough to compete anywhere else? i would very much doubt it they have really struggled in the last few years.

Any thoughts?

I'm not so sure any clubs from the BDFL would be strong enough to head up into the O&K. Goorambat may possibly be the only one, however All Blacks have been struggling there so it would be very tough, even though they have been going well in the BDFL.

Doon couldn't go Alex way as they are down in the Yarra Valley league and you would think it'd be too far south. Same with Longwood.

What about Glenrowan and All Blacks coming back into the BDFL? Dookie would be a possibility in the next few years as well if they don't improve soon and there's more than enough sides in the PDFL.

The BDFL would be back up to 8 or 9 teams then.

I'm not so sure any clubs from the BDFL would be strong enough to head up into the O&K. Goorambat may possibly be the only one, however All Blacks have been struggling there so it would be very tough, even though they have been going well in the BDFL.

Doon couldn't go Alex way as they are down in the Yarra Valley league and you would think it'd be too far south. Same with Longwood.

What about Glenrowan and All Blacks coming back into the BDFL? Dookie would be a possibility in the next few years as well if they don't improve soon and there's more than enough sides in the PDFL.

The BDFL would be back up to 8 or 9 teams then.

I think at these levels football clubs tend to rise and fall according to the standard - would Dookie be attracting Shep based players if they were in the B&D
Maybe Goorambat could attract a few topliners to be a force in the O&K or could Devenish have been competitive in the Picola or O&K 2 and 3 years ago

The B&D will just keep plugging away, as I do not think the VCFL thinks it exists

I think at these levels football clubs tend to rise and fall according to the standard - would Dookie be attracting Shep based players if they were in the B&D
Maybe Goorambat could attract a few topliners to be a force in the O&K or could Devenish have been competitive in the Picola or O&K 2 and 3 years ago

The B&D will just keep plugging away, as I do not think the VCFL thinks it exists

All good points. I'm dead sure the VCFL couldn't care less about this league.
The Ararat DFL died a few years ago and it was a similar type league. A positive from that though is that not all the clubs died with it.

No doubt Devenish could have been competitive a few years ago in the PDFL, but it obviously wasn't sustainable if there is talk of the club folding now. That's one of the big problems.

My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?

My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?[/QUOTE]

Two points here - from what I have heard Blacks are recruiting strongly, apparently picked up Duane Haebich from Tungamah with his contract enforcing a few minor details to keep him on track.
And the main word is 'sustain' as with Devenish and most minor league teams who have limited fundraising capabilities to consistently attract talented footballers.
You only have to look at minor league clubs who are up there year in and out Shep East, Stanhope and perhaps Katandra, and then can Tungamah, Dookie, Ardmona etc clubs that can 'sustain'

My point with Goorambat is that if All Blacks can't attract enough good players at the moment to be competitive in the O&K (especially given at the time of moving it was seen by Blacks to be their saviour), then how is Goorambat going to do it, and be able to sustain it over time?

Two points here - from what I have heard Blacks are recruiting strongly, apparently picked up Duane Haebich from Tungamah with his contract enforcing a few minor details to keep him on track.
And the main word is 'sustain' as with Devenish and most minor league teams who have limited fundraising capabilities to consistently attract talented footballers.
You only have to look at minor league clubs who are up there year in and out Shep East, Stanhope and perhaps Katandra, and then can Tungamah, Dookie, Ardmona etc clubs that can 'sustain'[/quote]
Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.

Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.[/QUOTE]

I would say there would be no chance of Blacks going back to the B&D, if you where in volved with Blacks would you want to

And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold

Good point Sparra. It only takes 1 or 2 famillys to move in or out of an area to affect the footy club. Lets hope they can get the barbers through this tough patch. Is there a possibillity of a merger between the bats and the barbers and put the blacks back into the B&D.

I would say there would be no chance of Blacks going back to the B&D, if you where in volved with Blacks would you want to

And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold[/quote]
What league will the bats join if they don't? The league is Rooted if it can't field at least 6 teams

And why would Goorambat want to merge with Devo when they can maybe pick up some of this years players, if they fold
What league will the bats join if they don't? The league is Rooted if it can't field at least 6 teams[/QUOTE]

If the league crumbles, Goorambat could possibly go the O&k,their ground and facilities are good and the club is very well run. Possibly one more team could also go to the O&K,perhaps a Swanpool/Tatong merger. Though both grounds are pretty ordinary. Swanpool has good facilities.

As a former player at Longwood and the rumour of devnish folding im fearful of the future of Longwood.I see Longwood as a town in the middle of nowhere.To the North you have Euroa.A town not big enough to "supply" 3 teams in Euroa,Voilet Town and Longwood although in VT,s case they have Benalla to recruit from as well.
To the South you have Seymour while bigger than Euroa,Seymour has to "supply" players to Avenel,Nagambie,Broadford & perhaps Yea.Years ago it wasnt so much of a problem for Longwood as they had puckapunyal to fall back on however with Pucka being a ghost of its former self nowdays the problem for longwood compounds after each year.
I dont know what the solution is for Longwood apart from the obvious merge senerio with either Avenel or Nagambie.
The BDFL is/was a great comp for those who just wanted a kick.It would be shame if it folded

As a former player at Longwood and the rumour of devnish folding im fearful of the future of Longwood.I see Longwood as a town in the middle of nowhere.To the North you have Euroa.A town not big enough to "supply" 3 teams in Euroa,Voilet Town and Longwood although in VT,s case they have Benalla to recruit from as well.
To the South you have Seymour while bigger than Euroa,Seymour has to "supply" players to Avenel,Nagambie,Broadford & perhaps Yea.Years ago it wasnt so much of a problem for Longwood as they had puckapunyal to fall back on however with Pucka being a ghost of its former self nowdays the problem for longwood compounds after each year.
I dont know what the solution is for Longwood apart from the obvious merge senerio with either Avenel or Nagambie.
The BDFL is/was a great comp for those who just wanted a kick.It would be shame if it folded
Tiger. You bring up a great view from the south. Not 1 mention about what the legs will do(jim where you) This issue needs some serious attention from the VCFL. There's some logistical issue's for all concered in this league, if it folds.

The VCFL are very aware of the B&D's situation however teams like Dookie would lose to many players if they went into that league due to the fact that there team relys on students and the students dont wont to play in a league of such a low standard. They are struggling to get quality students to play in the Picola league as it is.

The re-structuring of the GV/North East region has been pretty ordinary and the VCFL should have a good hard look at themselves. They won't though, they'll just blame "small towns", population shift etc. Not good enough, as when (it seems inevitable) this league folds you are going to have at least 120 players who in all probability will never play football again. That figure I've come up with is just based on the reserves BDFL players so I reckon it's fairly conservative.

These clubs in the BDFL are the social hub of most of these small towns.
Mate the VCFL can't keep a towns population at an adequate level to field sides. Teams within the Benalla and district league if it folds will have to travel up to 200km for a game of footy in leagues that are at a lot better standard to what they are used to. But the big question remains will clubs supporters and players do this sort of traveling if they are going to be flogged week in week out. The VCFL does have leagues for these clubs however teams will have to merge and be willing to travel in order to be competitive in these leagues.

Have a bit to do with the VCFL do you mate?

We all know some of these towns populations struggle to support their sides, they rely on the larger towns nearby to supply many of the players, as indicated in a lot of the posts.

What are your options for clubs, you've flagged mergers etc., but what leagues are you/the VCFL suggesting for these clubs? You are more or less saying in your last sentence that these clubs may as well give up the ghost because they're not going to be able to compete.

The people around the B&D area have a poor view of the VCFL due to their handling of issues in the area like the demise of the Central Goulburn League and the restructuring that occured due to that for example. And whether it is right or wrong, it is the perceived view.

The Benalla District League is a great league that services some great communities. They must remember that many rural areas are doing it tough at the moment. I am sure that when the drought breaks and families come back to the farms they will pick up again.

I myself used to think of the BDFL as the lowest of the low in footy in our area, but once I took the time to watch a few games I saw how great it was. True, none of the BDFL clubs will fit in any neighboring leagues, mainly due to no 3rds and 4ths or junior netty. But they must work something out. If Devenish can field just one side, they can stay alive. If they go into recess it will be very hard for them to come back. Stick with it B&D. A great unique league.

Have a bit to do with the VCFL do you mate?

We all know some of these towns populations struggle to support their sides, they rely on the larger towns nearby to supply many of the players, as indicated in a lot of the posts.

What are your options for clubs, you've flagged mergers etc., but what leagues are you/the VCFL suggesting for these clubs? You are more or less saying in your last sentence that these clubs may as well give up the ghost because they're not going to be able to compete.

The people around the B&D area have a poor view of the VCFL due to their handling of issues in the area like the demise of the Central Goulburn League and the restructuring that occured due to that for example. And whether it is right or wrong, it is the perceived view.

No not on the board but had a bit to do with them during the reconstruction of the Central Goulbourn. They done the job extremely well I don’t know of any club that is disappointed with where they now are. As for the other clubs that are struggling the VCFL only come in when clubs and leagues aren’t happy with there situation. You may say that the B&D teams aren’t happy with there situation but don’t you think that they should take some initiative and work out where they want to go instead of the VCFL telling them where to go and not being happy with it. They can't make a club move into a league to keep it alive if they don't want to go. Maybe its time for the clubs within the B&D to start looking at the leagues around them. Merging with other clubs may be the only option available to them as these small towns don’t have the population to sustain enough teams that are required within these leagues.

Pretty good opening there crabman, just wonder what mighta been if geographically the whole CGFL thing was taken more seriously, which we all know wasn't.

I too was involved quite animatedly thru various media outlets and community based meetings at the time to the point where my club was asked to pull me up . . . . . a lot of passionate football people were quite upset during that period and what choices or alternatives were offered at the end of the day?

I was either cop the umpire's (VCFL) decision or simply dont play!!!

Do you mean reconstruction or destruction

You may not be on the board but you've obviously taken some sting from some of the comments on this thread. A lot of what you have said there is just a cop out.

Are you sure Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon are really happy? If they are now they certainly weren't when they were effectively pushed south. They were keen to keep their association and rivalry with Yea. Clubs can't just go where they feel like, the league they're in/are going to can stop that fairly quickly.

I've seen some better thoughts on these pages from a few of our posters like Doona than I saw with a few of the proposals the VCFL put forth for the restructuring of the Picola/Central Goulburn/KDFL.

As I asked in my previous post, can you please give us yours/VCFL suggestions for the BDFL clubs futures? Mergers or not, I want to see what ideas you have.

This is a little

I thought a BDFL with Yea, Alexandra, Violet Town, Nagambie, Thornton-Eildon, Avenel would be good. Issue would be 3rds and 4ths. But surely a draw could be made where 3rds could be played and if BDFL clubs cannot field a side then so be it, but if they can then field one.

Even if for the start two sets of final series are played (One for BDFL & One for the Rest) over time the teams in this league would work themselves out (true some might find it very tough, but some may become better teams like Violet Town & Thornton Eildon have who have only recently (last 15 years) left the BDFL.) It would give teams a few more games and really lift the reputation and standard of the comp.

Needs a bit more thought but I think these six teams are the teams that the BDFL should target. Maybe All Blacks as well, there you go 13 teams!!

And yes Devenish 2004 were very powerful, did they break the bank?