Benalla & District

Tom has played 10 minuts of senior footy since our GF win at Yea in 2005, and in that time has suffered from illness which doctors said he shouldn't even be really playing footy. The HDFL has quickened up greatly in recent times, and I asked TW to consider an asst role with me as the kids (and everyone) at BFNC look up to him, but we both agreed that he may not be up to senior standard at HDFL level week in week out and the opportunity presented was a chance to still play senior footy.

Skip Bray is 40 odd years old, and has been a terrific servant of the BFNC since returning to the local area. He played several games last year when we asked, but also week in week out knows that the BDFL is his best option to play weekly at senior level . . . . good on him I say if he still has an earning capacity :thumbsu:.

My major concern now is after the car accident young Tyrell Dunne was in last week, is which player from my 2007 list is Bonnie Doon gunna throw Tiz's coin at . . . . enough fella's ok, there's plenty of players elsewhere, you only have to win a flag by one point to be premiers!!!

Not sure that the culture at the Bonnie Doon FC is about whats best for football Doona2, its about whats best for the Bonnie Doon FC. Quite a few individuals playing there and I havnt heard a good word about them from anyone outside of the club.
And Doona2 theres more to local football than chasing $$. Sure you can say if they offer it take it but really how much character does a man have who wont stick around the local club for short term $$ they will more than likley piss up against the wall?

I'm the last bloke you need to tell about $$$ and country football, I have been open and honest for years about this issue and my refusal's to fall into line with paying over the odd's has cost me plenty of footballers :(

I didn't want to speak for Tom and Skip earlier today but they are mates whom I have away from football and I do support their move and hope they enjoy some success and experience from another club in the hope of bringing something back to the BFNC table one day :thumbsu:

I'm the last bloke you need to tell about $$$ and country football, I have been open and honest for years about this issue and my refusal's to fall into line with paying over the odd's has cost me plenty of footballers :(

I didn't want to speak for Tom and Skip earlier today but they are mates whom I have away from football and I do support their move and hope they enjoy some success and experience from another club in the hope of bringing something back to the BFNC table one day :thumbsu:
Geez you do some grovelling!
Why dont you let them know what you really think about what their doing?
Seem to be the kind of blokes you wouldnt really wouldnt want back anyway. So why keep in good faith with them just because you dont want to burn the bridge for them to return???????????????????????

Geez you do some grovelling!
Why dont you let them know what you really think about what their doing?
Seem to be the kind of blokes you wouldnt really wouldnt want back anyway. So why keep in good faith with them just because you dont want to burn the bridge for them to return???????????????????????

You're not bad CD are ya, I told the boys to go and said I supported their move . . . . that's what I really thought. How can you commment on the type of blokes Tom and SKip are as Im tipping you don't even know them?

Treat those as you'd expect to be treated I say. I copped a fair bit, as did a few blokes that went to Yea for a period and Skip Bray always showed an interest in what I was doing, and knew the reasons why I was doing it :thumbsu:

Anyway this is going around in circles, and if you aim was to unsettle me congrats you have. When do the praccy games start, I see Longwood have one aginst Murch coming up, when do Bonnie Doon step out for a run I might go for a look if it dont clash

There's only 2 within geographical reach of those leagues. One more so than the other

hmmm, goorambat or longwood...? if goorambat then i think their guernseys might clash slightly with murchison.. lol

what do others think about dev moving to kdfl? would it breath some life into the ol' barbers...?

Any further word on the "main event" in the longwood pub on sat. Any one taking bets. Will the challenger turn up?

Was unable to make the trip up the Hume myself, slim18 but word is the big crowd that had gathered in anticipation for the big showdown at the "Black Lung" were bitterly dissapionted when the "unc" was a no show. Apparently organisers are working hard on another date preferabably at a neutral venue. More details as they come to hand.

G'day Ex-Pres Ajax!
Your timing is out mate. Our 4.38 a.m. Uncle wrote on 15-Mar., so obviously he and any mates will call into the "Black Lung" at Longwood tomorrow night after Easter Saturday footy. Hope there's a choccie egg and a coke waiting .. nah, forget the coke, it damages your nose.
Mate, what a "speckotackular" call on the White Hart pub at Longwood. Not the white heart but the black lung. Matter o' fact, while you stand outside for a smoke you can see the picture of the white hart deer pictured on the wall. But the hospitality, food and drink inside ain't "deer shit" at all!
Let Varc's know there's a googy egg calling in on the way back from the footy.
Meantime the following was in this week's Euroa Gazette:
"First off, there’s the Major Gold Sponsor Raffle to be drawn at the season opener bbq function on Friday 28th March, commencing at 6.00 p.m.
$50 per ticket in a limited field of 125 gives you the chance to be the Club’s Major Gold Sponsor for the season. Prizes include memberships, Club clothing with your sponsor “name on him!” plus the option of naming rights for the Redlegs and Blue this year. There will be free entry to Club social functions along with a host of freebies and publication of your/business name in the footy media around the Club. A free fence sign is also included. Call President Andrew Burke on 03 5798 5200 or txt hm a msg ( no offence New Zealanders..) on 0419 389 833 and get to the BBQ to get in for your chop and stake your claim (.. Fair dinkum!! One more pun and I’ll ..!!)."

G'day Ex-Pres Ajax!
Your timing is out mate. Our 4.38 a.m. Uncle wrote on 15-Mar., so obviously he and any mates will call into the "Black Lung" at Longwood tomorrow night after Easter Saturday footy. Hope there's a choccie egg and a coke waiting .. nah, forget the coke, it damages your nose.
Mate, what a "speckotackular" call on the White Hart pub at Longwood. Not the white heart but the black lung. Matter o' fact, while you stand outside for a smoke you can see the picture of the white hart deer pictured on the wall. But the hospitality, food and drink inside ain't "deer shit" at all!
Let Varc's know there's a googy egg calling in on the way back from the footy.
Meantime the following was in this week's Euroa Gazette:
"First off, there’s the Major Gold Sponsor Raffle to be drawn at the season opener bbq function on Friday 28th March, commencing at 6.00 p.m.
$50 per ticket in a limited field of 125 gives you the chance to be the Club’s Major Gold Sponsor for the season. Prizes include memberships, Club clothing with your sponsor “name on him!” plus the option of naming rights for the Redlegs and Blue this year. There will be free entry to Club social functions along with a host of freebies and publication of your/business name in the footy media around the Club. A free fence sign is also included. Call President Andrew Burke on 03 5798 5200 or txt hm a msg ( no offence New Zealanders..) on 0419 389 833 and get to the BBQ to get in for your chop and stake your claim (.. Fair dinkum!! One more pun and I’ll ..!!)."

Guys I fell out of bed this morning,stumbled to the front gate to check the rabbit traps only to find the paperboy writhing on the ground in agony and to make matters worse I had to throw him back because he was too small.
After forcefully removing my morning editions from him I scurried back inside and proceeded to peruse the sports results from yesterday.To my dismay there were no fight results from the Longwood arena. Ah must be on the front page" Massacre at Longwood Hotel", nope nothin there either. So here I am facing charges of assaulting and kidnapping a paperboy, possession of illegal trapping equipment and anything else wildlife and rspca officers can throw at me and still have no idea what the outcome was or whether the main man even fronted. Could someone please enlighten me before I go to court on Tues.

Yeh sorry JC I was a week early on the date of the title fight at the Black Lung. Did anyone happen to be there on easter saturday night? If so can we please have a detailed rundown.

so gbat are goin for their 3rd straight n things are lookin good?? hows swanpool goin?? still on tht eva growin young talent?? shortsticks are always good at the start of the season but seem to let down at the end of yr, so boonie are the next best potient to win the next flag??? tatong.. bout time they got rid of webber, most selfish player i've eva meet! anyway wots goss?? big recruits for any teams??

Can someone translate for me please?

yeah no problem... i speak fluent illiterate.

"So goorambat are going for their 3rd straight win and things are looking good. How is swanpool going?? are they still depending on that ever growing young talent?? Shorter players are always good at the start of the season but seem to let the team down at the end of the year, so would Bonnie Doon be the next best to potentially win the next flag??? Regarding Tatong, about time they got rid of Webber, he is the most selfish player i've ever met! Anyway what's the latest gossip?? Any big recruits for any teams?"

yeah no problem... i speak fluent illiterate.

"So goorambat are going for their 3rd straight win and things are looking good. How is swanpool going?? are they still depending on that ever growing young talent?? Shorter players are always good at the start of the season but seem to let the team down at the end of the year, so would Bonnie Doon be the next best to potentially win the next flag??? Regarding Tatong, about time they got rid of Webber, he is the most selfish player i've ever met! Anyway what's the latest gossip?? Any big recruits for any teams?"

Respect

longwood lost to murchison today.. 121 to 79. 9 goals by murch and a much fitter side in the third pretty much decided it.. as for facilities, longwoods arent too bad. nice and modern. visitors a bit cramped though. i didn't think they were as bad as what has been posted on here. i'll give 'em an A.

Howd the Bonnie Doon/Alexandra practice match go - howd Dunney, Skip, Tommy and Jamie Kelly play?

Yeh sorry JC I was a week early on the date of the title fight at the Black Lung. Did anyone happen to be there on easter saturday night? If so can we please have a detailed rundown.
G’day Ajax. Now here come d’ judge. Specko,you would have to have been around Ray N’s age to get that saying .. The learned Ray N is now the Clock – ‘cos he’s got one hand shorter than the other! After being identified with half a right pointer cut off – how he takes footy photos has got me “stumped” ..eh! But Ray the Clock was in the White Hart on Easter Saturday evening for the arrival of Uncle 24 and troops for the “Showdown”. All the learned Clock could advise last week at the Redlegs practice match on Satd’y 29 was “No appearance your worship!But how sweet was that practice match against the boys from Murch. Have a look at the website ="http://www.longwoodfc.vcfl.com.au/ which is a transcript from the Euroa Gazette newspaper to see how it went. There is a bit of a subtly in the headline I think. Is Longwood Looking OK .. or are they looking to the O&K when the BDFNL finishes in 2008.
Might not be a bad thing ‘cause the travel to stronger KDFL will be the same but O&K do not demand thirds. Bloody good if the VCFL support it I reckon.

Just as well Bonnie Doon has got off their a$$ and recruited some players, everone else seems to be loosing them.
Not long to go boys, where are all the recruites?
Looks like the B&D are on the way down, I bet the O&K are looking foward to the five byes coming into their league.
At least the All Blacks will get some good points and maybe even a two digit percentage.

G’day Ajax. Now here come d’ judge. Specko,you would have to have been around Ray N’s age to get that saying .. The learned Ray N is now the Clock – ‘cos he’s got one hand shorter than the other! After being identified with half a right pointer cut off – how he takes footy photos has got me “stumped” ..eh! But Ray the Clock was in the White Hart on Easter Saturday evening for the arrival of Uncle 24 and troops for the “Showdown”. All the learned Clock could advise last week at the Redlegs practice match on Satd’y 29 was “No appearance your worship!But how sweet was that practice match against the boys from Murch. Have a look at the website ="http://www.longwoodfc.vcfl.com.au/ which is a transcript from the Euroa Gazette newspaper to see how it went. There is a bit of a subtly in the headline I think. Is Longwood Looking OK .. or are they looking to the O&K when the BDFNL finishes in 2008.
Might not be a bad thing ‘cause the travel to stronger KDFL will be the same but O&K do not demand thirds. Bloody good if the VCFL support it I reckon.

Bright travel to Longwood..Longwood to Bright,Whorouly,King Valley etc come on , bad enough for Wang based teams/players wouldnt you think.