Bendigo FL discussion 2024

Anyway, with all this talk I’ve forgotten the other main story of the day and buried the lead.

I’m told there was sympathetic Gisborne people letting Maryborough know they won’t have to try and deal with them next year because they are heading to Ballarat.

Spoke directly to a Gisborne official yesterday who said direct opposite. Do not want to move leagues at all were the words and that they are committed to being a point of difference to Darley, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury

He'd be the only one. All the people I know up there are looking forward to less travel mate.

not that i intend to play football anymore (i’m bad) but trent’s bang on the money wrt getting players to play for maryborough, castlemaine etc. whats the actual incentive to play for them, instead of a sandhurst, square etc.

if i was good and interested in playing, i’d play locally, i certainly don’t have the time during the year to travel 2 hours to train (nor would i be interested in uprooting my life) to play football for a side that’s bad.

there has to be actual, genuine incentives to drag players in, while a big paycheque is nice, getting thumped every game in a season won’t keep you at a club, it’d demoralise you a ton & make you hate playing.
Absolutely spot on mate

On SM-G970F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I know exactly what the spend was for the first flag and Crazy is over but not wildly so.

It’s not a criticism either, good on them for getting it done but I can’t see it happening now with both the salary cap, weak as it is, and the economic environment.
Unless during your football life you had been treasurer at Strath, I call bullshit

He'd be the only one. All the people I know up there are looking forward to less travel mate.
And Gisborne would also get their rivalry back v Sunbury which would be bloody huge.

On SM-G970F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Correct weight. They are wondering why they are travelling to Bendigo to play in a competition where they get one or two competitive games a season and are bleeding from the loss of their most lucrative home match v Kyneton.

Unless during your football life you had been treasurer at Strath, I call bullshit

I have not but I have sought advice from very senior people at Strath at that time who very generously went through the pathway to achieve their success and the playing and coaching budget was obviously a key part of that.

You have to be joking…… he’d probably want to speak to 99% of the rest of the club.
The players are already assigned to moving leagues, as is 99% of the club.

I thought after your EK comment over on the EDFL forum you might have wanted had to keep low for a few weeks Roota after you embarrassed yourself there, but obviously not

Get your head out of your ass, the BFL is a laughing stock right now, you could do the final ladder right now it’s that predictable.

I don’t know why they don’t just play a best of 13 Grand Final starting next week between Gisborne and Sandhurst, only option to bring any interest to the league for the remainder of the season.

Speaking of Sandhurst is it too that Tardew and Greene are both on $150 a game this year as they wanted to give back to there home club?

AFLCV and the Bendigo board. Who else ? They are the only body that can administer change - instead they dug their head in the sand and allowed clubs to walk the plank - terrible administration

So no accountability for anyone involved at clubs?

The simple fact is that there are less people playing footy and too many clubs

You have to be joking…… he’d probably want to speak to 99% of the rest of the club.
The players are already assigned to moving leagues, as is 99% of the club.

I thought after your EK comment over on the EDFL forum you might have wanted had to keep low for a few weeks Roota after you embarrassed yourself there, but obviously not

Get your head out of your ass, the BFL is a laughing stock right now, you could do the final ladder right now it’s that predictable.

I don’t know why they don’t just play a best of 13 Grand Final starting next week between Gisborne and Sandhurst, only option to bring any interest to the league for the remainder of the season.

Speaking of Sandhurst is it too that Tardew and Greene are both on $150 a game this year as they wanted to give back to there home club?

What league in country Vic isn’t predictable? Is that the fault of the top clubs? Or do we just blame the administrators of the leagues because the bottom clubs can’t help themselves?

Not sure what my EK comment was to be honest but if I said it then I am happy to stick with it.

How are things at EK?

If the strenuously denied rumour from last season was correct maybe that is just the portion that goes in the books?

What league in country Vic isn’t predictable? Is that the fault of the top clubs? Or do we just blame the administrators of the leagues because the bottom clubs can’t help themselves?

Not sure what my EK comment was to be honest but if I said it then I am happy to stick with it.

How are things at EK?
without looking too far. I’d say the Rdfl isn’t predictable at all.

Anyone could beat anyone of there day.

Imagine actually driving to a game and you don’t know if you will be driving home with a win or a loss….. was there one player in the BFL today who woke up this morning not knowing if they were going to win or lose today……

How are things at EK?
Administration will be a little easier next year with the comp they administer going from 10 to 7 teams in the blink of an eye, with 2 of the teams gone being the most supported teams that were in the league. You sound like you’re happy with the job they are doing. There is no denying they’ve run the comp into the ground, they deserve a pat on the back.

So no accountability for anyone involved at clubs?

The simple fact is that there are less people playing footy and too many clubs
what kind of accountability would clubs want.

1) good clubs recruit good players, and have the capital to draw in said players

2) bad clubs leave the league because they can't compete and won't have anyone interested in attending home games.

i reckon it comes down to admin

Bendigo FL discussion 2024