Best concerts attended

Best concert you've ever been to?? any genre...

Be interested to hear your favourite / best concert you've ever been to?

I guess my top few would be, in no particular order -

bob dylan, burswood casino - 2001.
fleetwood mac, adelaide oval - 2004
joan armatrading, burswood casino - 2001
john mayer, adelaide enter. centre - 2004
david byrne, adelaide enter. centre - 2002
tracey chapman, adelaide festival theatre - 1996

Re: Best concert you've ever been to?? any genre...

19 April, 1992 - Drove from Adelaide to Melbourne to see Prince @ The Tennis Centre...
Still the best concert I've been to...

Lo-Tel, Big Star basement, 2001.

And it still didn't get me laid.

I can't believe I haven't received a single PM offering a sympathy root.

PS- I am awesome.

All in the last couple of years:
U2
The Police
Gwen stefani
BDO
Soundwave
Most recent Korn
and so much more!

In not particular order -

Midnight Oil late (80's early 90's) - Oils Strike Now tour - Memorial Drive, there was even a lightning storm that night (Blue Sky Minning album cover)

Metallica - Black album tour 1993 - Adelaide Entertainment Centre

ACDC - Razors Edge tour 1991 - Adelaide Entertainment Centre

Kiss Symphony 2003- Telstra Dome, Melbourne

Iron Maiden 2007 - Acer Arena, Sydney

All 80's concerts...

David Le Roth at the Thebby...true showman, great concert.

Pink Floyd at Thebby oval....awesome show.

Bon Jovi at Memorial Drive....the best concert ever. came out for the encore and did "Shout", the best I've ever heard it. Getting in for free was a great start to a great night.

John Cougar Mellencamp at Memorial Drive ( I think).....great music.

Def Leppard at the Entertainment centre.....another great show.

My 1st concert was INXS at Footy Park, a fun night out with mates, nothing spectacular.

This is harder than it looks....... top 5, (took me nearly an hour to get it down to this!)

NOFX & Bad Religion – Riverstage Brisbane 2009
Rage Against the Machine - BDO Adelaide 1996
Assorted Jellybeans - 1999 Flinders Uni
Ben Harper – Blues & Roots Festival 2001
The Nightwatchman – BDO Gold Coast 2008

Best was Dire Straits Festival Theatre in 81.The atmosphere was politely subdued due to the venue but it was accoustically brilliant. I think it was their first Australian tour piggybacking their Making Movies album. They played Telegraph road for the first time live having written it on tour from memory(?). Also great because the support act was Paul Kelly and the Dots which was the beginning of my love of his music. He had a song out called "I want to be like Billy Baxter" at the time which got some airplay on the radio. Have seen him several times since.

The Angels at the Odeon Theatre in Mount Gambier in about 80 was great too as it was my first major concert.

The Rolling Stones at footy park in 95 or 96 was memorable because our seating got upgraded to row 10 on account of a light tower being where our seats were supposed to be. The percussion from the speakers was amazing.

Bob Dylan and Tom Petty at Memorial Drive in about 86 was good mainly for the encores.

Ice House at the Darwin amphetheatre in 87 or 88 was great because of the venue. (You could even take in your own esky!)

John Williamson at Katherine showgrounds in 88(?) - a true entertainer.

Dissappointed not to have seen Pink Floyd in concert. If I had a time machine would go to The Wall concert as well as Bowie's Ziggy Stardust and perhaps Louie Armstrong.

The Rolling Stones at footy park in 95 or 96 was memorable because our seating got upgraded to row 10 on account of a light tower being where our seats were supposed to be. The percussion from the speakers was amazing.

Bob Dylan and Tom Petty at Memorial Drive in about 86 was good mainly for the encores.

I remember my dad telling me that he could hear the Rolling Stones concert all the way from our house at Largs North! (He may of been exagurating a bit) He ended up just hangin around outside Footy Park and listening to the concert as he could not afford tickets.

Bob Dylan in 2007 was a truly special concert. His voice is royally screwed nowadays but it still was a fascinating show.

1. The Verve @ Point Depot, Dublin '98
  2. Beck @ Thebarton Theatre, circa Odelay
  3. Dirty Three @ The Gov mutliple times and once at the Espy, St Kilda
  4. Mars Volta @ Thebby '97
  5. Ride @ The Lion, sometime in the mid '90s
  6. Disposable Heroes @ Adelaide Uni, '93 (+ Iggy, Cave and the Big Firetruck Hose;)
  7. The Cramps @ The Lion, late-80s-early-09s-ish
  8. Tea Party @ that-place-on-Hindley-that-was-upstairs-near-the-Crazy-Horse-sometime-in-the-90s-hard-to-recall-it-was-a-bad-time-for-me-you-know-with-all-the-chemicals-and-shit

Kiss @ Adelaide oval 1980? My first ever concert
Midnight Oil @ Memorial drive 1980something
Dire Straits @ Memorial drive - 1983-ish
Greenday @ ent centre 2006

Quite a few great acts at BDOs throughout the nineties.

If I went through my ticket stubbs I'm sure there would be a couple more to add to the list but the above 4 are certainly amongst the best.

I loved concerts at Memorial Drive - great venue.

I quite enjoyed DS @ footy park - I was close to the front though. I think the sound there can be quite different depending on where you are in the stadium. At U2 a few friends went for a wander and came back saying that the sound sucked elsewhere. I remember seeing the Rolling Stones there and didn't enjoy it at all. Not a big Stones fan, but the sound was crap from where we were.

I'll add...
Nick Cave @ Thebby
Muse @ BDO (better than their ent cent gig I reckon) - going to BDO 2010 because they're headlining - they're a blast.
and
RATM @ BDO
...to my list

You dark horse, Kat. If you threw your duds at Matt Bellamy his audible sucking while moving away from the mic to breathe in (Zonday, 2007) would've captured them like the Death Star and tractor beamed them right into his suit pocket. lol wut

Best concerts attended