• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Best Local PLayers

ECHUCABOY said:
Ant Jess is an unbelievable talent I cant beleive no one else has mentioned him. Could tear a game apart like no other.

Wat about heith aitken?

By the time he finishes his career he will probably be in the same league as these blokes. He has excellent footy creditials.

yeah its unbelievable the people like that i dont think with carey but some bloody good players. He never regretted it though so. He made all aust and captain of vic country in the country championships

diamond8 said:
Best local players I've seen:

Simon Minton-Connell: (Ex- Carlton, Sydney, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Balwyn, Doutta Stars, Aberfeldie, Moonee Valley and NOBS superstar)

Kicks a guaranteed ton every year. Forget Simon Goosey - this guy is/was better and not a bad bloke to boot.

Robert Lamberti ( Moonee Valley, Mulwala and Doutta Stars. Looks and smells like a Taxi Driver but was a genuine freak)

Brendon Long (Frankston YCW. Has won about 10 B&Fs and 3 or 4 flags. Still playing at a high level at Age 34. Used to absolutely dominate sweeping across half back)

longy an absolute gun :)

Jock's Netballers said:
I believe Derek Filo was pretty handy...

The was part is right he is coaching Eaglehawk in the BFL now, playing coach, and he just stands around and occasionally breaks into a run.
As for the best player I've seen Stephen Reaper, I havent seen a better shot at goal than him.

Eagles_09 said:
Here here Rob was amazing that day, got the ball from the middle and kicked a goal after breaking about 4 tackles to get rovers a draw, you have to have seen this man to understand how good he is. All mentioned would be great players though i imagine.

plus the two bounces

tige19 said:
Rabbi Kachouer (dunno how to spell his name) who plays this season at Keilor and the before that Moone Valley has won the last 2 EDFL medals and is a out and out superstar, would be interested to know if anyone has seen him play??

Rabee Haouchar is a dead set superstar, this is actually his 3rd year at Kelior and before that he played at West Coburg. He won the EDFL A Grade league Best & Fariest in 2002 with West Coburg (who won the wooden spoon). Finished second by one vote in the 2003 league Best & Fariest after missing the last 5 games with what turned out to be an ACL. Then came back to win the EDFL A Grade league Best & Fariest again in 2004. And he is still only 25.

Samtrish said:
See you have been left out of the side tomorrow jock to wet for you or cold

When there's a bloke my size kicking better left foot goals than me (and I'm a natural left-footer), there's no room for me in the 2's...

Much more enjoyment watching the varying emotions of Butch in the coaches box

In the country

Jason Mifsud
Rhys Archard
Simon Goosey
Rod Taylor
Steven Reaper

Metro

Peter O'Brien
Daniel Donati
Adam Slater
Mark Cullen

Amateurs

Michael Blood
Matthew Bourke
Luke Gollant
Ross Young

Scribe2 said:
In the country

Jason Mifsud
Rhys Archard
Simon Goosey
Rod Taylor
Steven Reaper

Metro

Peter O'Brien
Daniel Donati
Adam Slater
Mark Cullen

Amateurs

Michael Blood
Matthew Bourke
Luke Gollant
Ross Young

Only ever heard of Goosey and Reaper and i can assure you that there where alot better players than Steven Reaper going around thats for sure. Guys like Keenon Reynolds,Matthew Baird and Bradshaw are all better plaers in a similiur position.

cheers

daimo33 said:
Saad Saad is an amazing player. This season he has gone up bush some where, was actually knocked out in a behind the play incident. He was from Northcote Park and then got a gig in the VFL with the Northern Bullants. Anyone know why he left?

I suggested him aswell David_02.

A fella going by the name of David Linsen used to take the game by the scruff of the throat about 10 times a year for Longwood. Very sound player, capable in the air but his kicking was second to none for a guy of 6.5". Could slot them from just about anywhere.

Was very intelligent too.

Anyone know what he is up to these days?

Lets hope if he was that good he got out of B&D and went to play a respectable standard of football, have not herd of the bloke meself

From the Mid South East league in SA a gentleman named Michael Timms kicked 100 goals a season for 11 seasons in a row. He played all 4 grades in the one day at 13 ..mini colts senior colts B grade and sat on the bench in the A grade game.

He went weight for age eg at 21 was 21 stone and 26 he was 26st :D Huge man but first 10 metres was all he needed. Just an absolute legend in the MSE

Others from that time were the Neshoda brothers for Nangwarry and the Mansells from Tarpeena ...Darren kicked 23 goals in a mini colts game and ended up captaining SA at SANFL level.

A lot of good footballers played in the MSEFL

But one footballer who could have been anything if he worked a little harder was Darren Jones...beat Modra in a superboot comp one year.

Simon eishold was an absolute gun, tough as nails and a great leader on and off the field.

madtiger said:
Simon eishold was an absolute gun, tough as nails and a great leader on and off the field.

Just a pity he couldn't kick goals from close range on the big stage in the last quarter of the 1987 preliminary final against Hawthorn when he was playing for Melb.
But, he had a few mates on that day it must be said.

Had the priviledge of witnessing the magic of the mercurial Kenny Beaumont at both Kilmore and Broadford during the 90's. By the time the man the Broady locals dubbed the "Bush Ablett" hit town he was 35, but was instrumental to the Roos successful period under Barry Rist, and Kilmore's premiership period year also coached by Risty. In the Roos last premiership year of 1996, KB won the HDFL's Cheatley Medal from team mate Gav Mutz. From Tassie, through the Diamond Valley and beyond, most people say Kenny Beaumont should've played VFL footy, but like many, preferred the good life too much . . . amazing player to watch on is day, both on and off the field!!!

Scribe2 said:
In the country

Jason Mifsud
Rhys Archard
Simon Goosey
Rod Taylor
Steven Reaper

Metro

Peter O'Brien
Daniel Donati
Adam Slater
Mark Cullen

Amateurs

Michael Blood
Matthew Bourke
Luke Gollant
Ross Young

hey scribe just wonderin where you are from if you have heard of rod taylor?

Best Local PLayers