AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Gerlach was pure strength, nobody could maneuver him off the ball.Randall Gerlach was the best contested mark I've seen, even as a 18 year old he was near on unbeatable. Warren Gary the best in the AFL.
Tredrea didn't have to take many contested marks if memory serves me. His leading and delivery was too good for people to get a hand on him.Randall Gerlach was the best contested mark I've seen, even as a 18 year old he was near on unbeatable. Warren Gary the best in the AFL.
It was unfortunately a long time ago, but I can recall my late grandmother having a clipping of the pic of Max's mark in her footy memorabilia and she passed away in mid 1973, so you are correct that it had to be taken in 1972 and not 74, particularly also if Fos was the coach because his final season at the Maggies was 1973.Pretty sure Max's mark was in 1972,it was my first ever visit to the bay.Also learnt a couple of new swear words off Fos at three quarter time.
Most courageous from another club would have to go to Jonathan Brown against Hawthorn.The Jay Schulz mark in the Goal Square against the Dees at the MCG Round 1 2013 was the best one i've seen from a Port player. Absolutely ridiculous that didn't even get mark of the year, and Jamie Elliot got it instead for a good speccy but nowhere near as good.
A couple of the best marks I've ever seen from other clubs weren't awarded marks of the year either. Nick Riewoldt in 2004 and Andrew Walker in 2011.
Ah yeah, totally forgot about that one. Was a ripper. Was on L Hodge too from memory.From memory, Schulz on top of the goalline pack just shading Tom Logan in the dolphin icecream vendor guernsey against Hawthorn.
Agree totally. My most loved Port player of all time.Randall Gerlach was the best contested mark I've seen, even as a 18 year old he was near on unbeatable. Warren Gary the best in the AFL.
I liked Nick Riewoldt's from 2004 a bit more. Andrew Walker's 2011 and Shaun Smith 1995 the 2 best hangers.Most courageous from another club would have to go to Jonathan Brown against Hawthorn.
was looking for someone to post Tredreas. That was epic for the story behind it.Ones I’ve seen live,
1. Schulz goaline.
2. wingardium levioso
3. SGray Showdown.
4. Logan
5. Tredrea both ends v Richmond.
Can't help but lol at Butcher here.
This is so meta.Where's our number 18?
Well, when Matthew Lloyd's backwards kick from a metre or so out, beats Motlops goal at the Gabba, it's almost like the judges are biased against us or just don't have a clue what they're doing.The Jay Schulz mark in the Goal Square against the Dees at the MCG Round 1 2013 was the best one i've seen from a Port player. Absolutely ridiculous that didn't even get mark of the year, and Jamie Elliot got it instead for a good speccy but nowhere near as good.
A couple of the best marks I've ever seen from other clubs weren't awarded marks of the year either. Nick Riewoldt in 2004 and Andrew Walker in 2011.
Well, when Matthew Lloyd's backwards kick from a metre or so out, beats Motlops goal at the Gabba, it's almost like the judges are biased against us or just don't have a clue what they're doing.
That Max James mark was the best mark I have ever seen. I was by the fence on the outer wingNot sure if it's the same one, but Max James took a mark in the northern goal square of Glenelg oval in 1974 which is still the highest I have ever seen, and is still the best for me since the Brian Luke mark at Thebarton oval in the early 1960's which I also saw live.
I was standing on the mound directly behind the goals, and Max just went straight up and took a two handed grab with his arms fully outstretched and his sprigs level with the top of the head of the Glenelg defender, who had also jumped in the air.
It was a spectacular grab, and a grainy pic which appeared to have been taken from the members' stand wing and was printed in the Sunday Mail the next day showed the mark as James was on his way down from the peak height at which it was taken.
I liked Nick Riewoldt's from 2004 a bit more. Andrew Walker's 2011 and Shaun Smith 1995 the 2 best hangers.
No current season stats available
It was unfortunately a long time ago, but I can recall my late grandmother having a clipping of the pic of Max's mark in her footy memorabilia and she passed away in mid 1973, so you are correct that it had to be taken in 1972 and not 74, particularly also if Fos was the coach because his final season at the Maggies was 1973.
Great find Ford, but I reckon that is the pic taken when James was on the way down because he was much higher than that when he first grabbed the ball.