Best players in Country Vic

Tripod said:
Howcome Landini didn't go on with Geelong after under19's madpie? Did he miss the bush, or did Couch, Hocking and co kick on ahead of him.
He had go back to his dads farm and help him out,plus the big smoke wasnt for him.

thekid178 said:
there appears to be a disctinct dearth in discussions about geelong players, particularly seemings GFL is the best league in country vic.

frank fiopiani was the best country footballer going round by a street 7 years ago, is getting on in years now.

going through teams off the top of my head u would have to fit the following into any discussions:

christian shaw, bernie lynch (north shore),
aaron greaves (st.joeys)
cam wright, tony brown (leopold),
rick wilde, michael bright (newtown)
warwick knuckey, aaron rau, lee purton, paul sullivan, clinton wells (south barwon)
tim mclean, jim cail, chris jones, tom gilligan (st.mary's)
dean talbot (bell park)
johnny o'brien (lara)
mitch barrow (grovedale)

in the BFL, adrian saltalamacchia, leigh morrison, ricky o'toole from newcomb, and tim clark from geelong amateurs would be the stand outs. o'toole is a dead set gun, won league b&fs in GFL and GDFL also

theres also a bloke playing for Ballan out of the goalsquare this year called tom mullane-grant, absolute freak, roiginally from bannockburn, won senior flags there while still in juniors, played a season of GFL for West Saints at 18, played interleague and kicked 70-odd goals which is massive in that league. is continually asked by Geelong VFL to go do pre seasons, and refuses, quite often is asked to fill in when they get injuries but prefers to play with mates.

Is that Christian Shaw the one who played for Nyah back in 2000. If so he would have to be right up there

big-money said:
yea great call wouldnt know mate played about 7 games that year with that club and still ran 2nd or 3rd in there b&f
Was it second or third, make your mind up. You have no clue big money.
Do you even know the club? Lamberti the name.

Former Darley & Wedderburn star Shayne Ward would have to be one of the best country footballers ever to play. Has won a BFL & NCFL league medal and gives more back to the clubs than most highly rated players. Had a crook back in his last year at Darley (2003) but still was an extremly good player.

CHOPPA12 said:
Former Darley & Wedderburn star Shayne Ward would have to be one of the best country footballers ever to play. Has won a BFL & NCFL league medal and gives more back to the clubs than most highly rated players. Had a crook back in his last year at Darley (2003) but still was an extremly good player.

Shayne Ward was a good player i dont doubt that but their are alot better that have played in the last 10 years in the BFL and NCFL. Dean Bennett would get 40+ quality touches each week and even at inter league level he would still dominate. you would have to travel a long way to find a better player over such a long period. another player not to crack a mention is robbie walker from wangaratta rovers in he o and m to win 3 or 5 league medals when the o and m was the best league in country vic you have to be a quality player, and from the GVFL rhys archard is a freak for his size.

No doubt Dean Bennett was a champion, but being a redbacks supporter i got to see Shayne week in week out and he continually dominated. I do remember Bennett destroying us in the '01 GF. Kicked a bag on one leg. True champion and i take nothing away from him, problem was he played for Birchip!!

gault said:
another player not to crack a mention is robbie walker from wangaratta rovers in he o and m to win 3 or 5 league medals when the o and m was the best league in country vic you have to be a quality player

Probably best we don't start talking about Robbie Walker as we'll kill this thread. Someone out there will know the exact number of league medals, B&F's, inter-league appearances etc. He wouldn't have too many peers.

In fact, Walker should have his own thread titled "Best Player in Country Vic.

gault said:
another player not to crack a mention is robbie walker from wangaratta rovers in he o and m to win 3 or 5 league medals when the o and m was the best league in country vic you have to be a quality player

Probably best we don't start talking about Robbie Walker as we'll kill this thread. Someone out there will know the exact number of league medals, B&F's, inter-league appearances etc. He wouldn't have too many peers.

In fact, Walker should have his own thread titled "Best Player in Country Vic".

someone who is stiff to get a mention yet is cole hedwards, played a few senior games for imps in 04 n was dropped a few weeks b4 finals, still, somehow appeared on the front page of the paper when imps won the grand final drinking out of the cup, and if you look at the premiership photo, there's Cole. That must give him some kind of credit.

just ask him, he'll tell ya he carried the team to that flag, lives off the glory and is now playing for swan hill. bet he's milking em for everything, big naming him self.

I'd say Nathan McDonald from Toora Football Club in the Alberton league is probably worthy of a mention. A couple of goals behind the leading goal kicker in all the country leagues. Toora is a side that has struggled for a long time so to kick that many goals is a fair effort.

wobbler said:
I hear a bloke by the name of Rod Doak goes ok can anyone confirm this

i know rod doak he is the bloke that has an enormous head not in the way of arrogance but just a large shaped head. that is what his apprentice has told me. i think he plays for colbinabbin in the hdfl. big bloke with a big heart and a big head i suppose you could say.:D

Rhys Archard had been mentioned a couple of times in this thread. Awesome player, but is now playing in the SANFL for Souths...

wobbler said:
I hear a bloke by the name of Rod Doak goes ok can anyone confirm this

Yeah Doaky goes alright 4 colbo i think he has been playin CHB this year and has snuck 4ward 2 kick some goals, very big unit. While on the HDFL wat about Dave Fevaleaki from elmore can only b described as an out and out freak, holds TAC record 4 games i think he won the pio's b and f bout 2 year a go and last year won bendigo bombers 2 b and f even though play alot of the year in the 1s

nesko_25 said:
Yeah Doaky goes alright 4 colbo i think he has been playin CHB this year and has snuck 4ward 2 kick some goals, very big unit. While on the HDFL wat about Dave Fevaleaki from elmore can only b described as an out and out freak, holds TAC record 4 games i think he won the pio's b and f bout 2 year a go and last year won bendigo bombers 2 b and f even though play alot of the year in the 1s

I rekon im pretty good!

Iknowfooty said:
They reckon a bloke called Adrian Newman goes ok. Can anyone confirm
Goes real well mate,huge leap,big kick great hands.unfortunatley for corowa he might not be there much longer due to a job offer in melbourne.

madpie said:
Goes real well mate,huge leap,big kick great hands.unfortunatley for corowa he might not be there much longer due to a job offer in melbourne.

where will he be playing in melbourne if he leaves corowa

The Cat said:

In fact, Walker should have his own thread titled "Best Player in Country Vic.

..Robbie won 11 B&F and 3 OMFL medals in 13 years at Rovers...a footy freak

Anyone heard of the Burgiel brothers at Maffra in the West Gippsland Latrobe Foobtall League

Hayden and Adrian Burgial...they are unbelievable. Hayden on ball and adrian CHF. Hayden racks up 40+ touches a game, and adrian just turns his opponents inside out and takes mark after mark.

Both have made the VCFL team last 3 years in a row.

Also Andy Soumilas from the Garfield football Club in the same league. Only 23, and is only 5'8. Last year averaged 40 touches a game, snapped his ligament in his ankle in round 12, continued to play with pain, and won the League medal by a mammoth 10 votes. Has won the past 2 medals. Yes...A SNAPPED Ligament..probabley wondering how he walked...so is evryone else. Very fit, touch and highly skilled footballer.

Best players in Country Vic