• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Best Under 18 Players In Wrfl And Bfl

Thats_Special said:
Wrong Matthew Baird mate.. There is also one in the Under 18's with a bit of talent.. Gets overlooked a bit with other stars in the side...

Sorry mate, forgot about that guy!!

THE RED MAN said:
Zac Giles & John Havern should not have made the list. I will endeavour to get hold of a complete list in the coming days and will give a run down on each player and whether they should have or should not have made the list. Give me till Monday next week..............

Jarrod Mather is in the best 15 players in the region. What a disgrace he got cut.

I also believe Michael Lubke and Ben Fletcher have quit the Jets for 2006 because they were getting stuffed about, not enjoying their footy etc. Going back to their clubs, not the first to quit the Jets under the current admin and wont be the last!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Didn't the Jets sacrifice last years top age players in order to get game time into the younger players because this year (2006) was going to be the year?????? Looks like that has paid off............not!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A good story floating around the traps about the Jets:

A Western jets recruiter was sent to the Under 18 Hoppers Crossing vs St.Albans game WRFL Round 1 and from all reports spent more time in the TAB at St.Albans once it opened than actually watching the game!!! Player review sheet apparently read

Player name: race 2 No .4 REVIEW: Good run , just didn't get the distance

DO I NEED TO SAY ANYMORE????? or do l hope it wasn't you at that game??

I still cant understand why no big names from the Western region FL are not involved with the Jets. ie successful jnr coaches coaches such as Kirk Norton (werribee 18s), Eric Sorrell (Hoppers), martin Fletcher (Hoppers), daniel Fraser (WRFL interleague, werribee jnrs and now at Hoppers seniors), Norm Heath (I think he is at West footscray now with McGhie), Andrew Bryson (Albion now St, Bernards 2's in the ammos) These coaches have been very successful and none are involved (or want to be involved), or have been there and left the jets. These types of people are required because they know the juniors in area. Once again successful clubs attract successful people and it seems the Jets cant attract the people that are required to be a successful club and it isn't going to change in the near future.

To change the jets culture, change needs to start at the top. Goodbye Shane Sexton and l think Mark neeld is spending way too much time writing his geelong Advertiser cloumn on geelong FC than coaching the Jets.

Could keep going all night but have to go. In all honesty, l hope things pick up for the jets but how long do you flog a dead horse for??? The current admin have had quite a few years to get it right and from all indications nothing has changed for this year............again

GO THE WOODSMEN

ps. Bring back Buddha Hocking. he told Sexton to keep his nose out of the football department and they played finals!!!!!!!!!!

Certinarly agree with Jarrod Mather he is in the top 10 even in the WRFL 10 even. He is a real goer.
Lubke and Fletcher left because the coaching staff were stuffing them around and they just wanted to concentrate on a good session with local clubs, which they should do.
I no another 3 players who are on the edge of handing it in because they don't like the environment there.
The jets picked up a player due to fletcher and lubke leaving, they picked up Nick Georgiatos. Didn't do a preseason and hasn't really trained to be on a list. Shane saw him play one game and he got him straight into the number 50. the was origanally 38, went down to 35, because of stephens session injury, lubke's and fletchers dismissal, so at the moment the list stands at 36 excepting maybe 3-4 to get the call up after this weeks games, and I believe they are looking for a few back players.

And are you 100% sure about the jets recruitment officer in a tab, can you tell me who that officer is?

Yer i also agree with your statements about coachs they should get the call up, but i think they know how it goes down there so they wanna stick to there clubs. and win games.

cheers

Interesting, good on them for leaving and concentrating on local footy if thats what they really wanna do. Who else is on the brink of leaving?

Kegs44 said:
not willing to share i see. Willy and Werribee this week, grand final preview?

will be the best under 18 game of football of the year, definanitly the two grand final teams, both teams undefeated and played the same teams, it will be hard to take a pick, werribee has more skill and run, williamstown with more strength and height.
take your pick.???

Great Thread its good to reckonise the future young guns that will make up the leagues we all love.
Ive got a couple from the Port Melb Colts under 18's
Shannon Franklin plays ruck and has terrific areobic levels i thinks he might have gone to the Sandy Dragons though.
Jason Perkins first year 18's and is leading the goal kicking from centre half foward, big leap and kicked 10 on the weekend. Played in a senior practice match early and played quite well.
Matthew Bellingham very good marking forward plays tall and has great goal sense
Does the TAC take the shine away from the local under 18's or is it still strong at the top levels

WRFLfan said:
Great Thread its good to reckonise the future young guns that will make up the leagues we all love.
Shannon Franklin plays ruck and has terrific areobic levels i thinks he might have gone to the Sandy Dragons though.
Jason Perkins first year 18's and is leading the goal kicking from centre half foward, big leap and kicked 10 on the weekend. Played in a senior practice match early and played quite well.
Matthew Bellingham very good marking forward plays tall and has great goal sense
Does the TAC take the shine away from the local under 18's or is it still strong at the top levels

WRFL Fan, your kiddin yourself. Shannon Franklin cannot play. He has a great physique, can run all day, is as fit as but has one problem, he wont go near the ball. Remember he has got all his kicks this year in the 18B comp which to be honest is garbage. Shannon is also loose up top, stories abounded the league last year that he got reported for hitting his teammate in a Home and Away game last year. No loss if gone to Sandy Dragons.

Matthew Bellingham can play but is a bit loose up top. Nice size, takes good grab but can be lazy, actually very lazy. But when he wants to play, he certainly can.

Haven't heard much about this Perkins but will make an effort to getout and see him in action before l comment

Let's remember these boys have been playing 18B's. Will be interested to see how they go in the real stuff A grade.

For all those waiting for my who should be in / out of the jets squad stay tuned, Will advise shortly.

Where has Western Scout Officer gone??? He's been very quiet since he got a few home truthes about the Western Jokes ....oops sorry Jets. Another week, another loss for my beloved Jets. !!!!!!!!!!!!

THE RED MAN said:
WRFL Fan, your kiddin yourself. Shannon Franklin cannot play. He has a great physique, can run all day, is as fit as but has one problem, he wont go near the ball. Remember he has got all his kicks this year in the 18B comp which to be honest is garbage. Shannon is also loose up top, stories abounded the league last year that he got reported for hitting his teammate in a Home and Away game last year. No loss if gone to Sandy Dragons.

Matthew Bellingham can play but is a bit loose up top. Nice size, takes good grab but can be lazy, actually very lazy. But when he wants to play, he certainly can.

Haven't heard much about this Perkins but will make an effort to getout and see him in action before l comment

Let's remember these boys have been playing 18B's. Will be interested to see how they go in the real stuff A grade.

For all those waiting for my who should be in / out of the jets squad stay tuned, Will advise shortly.

Where has Western Scout Officer gone??? He's been very quiet since he got a few home truthes about the Western Jokes ....oops sorry Jets. Another week, another loss for my beloved Jets. !!!!!!!!!!!!
Their in A grade now keep up professor, and had their first win in their first game i think you might have to get down there mate and do some more homework.
Bellingham is lazy sometimes cant work that out myself its frustrating at times, as for Franklin i think your being abit rough on him remember there only kids, that sometimes need the right coaching and life guidance.
Thanks for the insight anyway, where you from if you dont mind me asking

THE RED MAN said:

WELL RED MAN::
It just goes to show you that you know nothing about football Shannon Franklin may not be the best player as far as a player that goes in for the ball but hey he would have been the first PLAYER that i picked for my club just with his mateship towards his team mates he is the type of guy that the jets need at there club even if he gets a game here and there.Also how many jets players go in for the ball, all the so called good players ( THE SO CALLED FAB 5 HA HA ) are all receivers.THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE AND SO DO ALL OF US. AND BY THE WAY IM NOT A FAN OF THE JOKES.( jets )

Round 5 WRFL 18A
Williamstown Vs Werribee, Regarded as match of the year down at Ferren Reserve Williamstown, I'm sure they could be a few recruitment staff down there, definatily two grand final sides here.

Hoppers Vs Altona, Both teams travelling alright, both teams should make finals good to see who can get the 4 points here.

Port Colts Vs Albion, Port Colt boys have come from the B's and shocked St Albans with a win I reckon they could snatch another off Albion this Week.

St Albans Vs Spotswood. Only real one sided game this weekend Spotswood should be runaway victors.

WRFLfan said:
Their in A grade now keep up professor, and had their first win in their first game i think you might have to get down there mate and do some more homework.
Bellingham is lazy sometimes cant work that out myself its frustrating at times, as for Franklin i think your being abit rough on him remember there only kids, that sometimes need the right coaching and life guidance.
Thanks for the insight anyway, where you from if you dont mind me asking

More than aware they were going to a grade. make sure you read the forum correctly as l said "More than interested to see how these boys go in A Grade". They have only beat St.Albans so don't get too far ahead of ourselves. Wait till they play Werribee, Hoppers, Willi etc

Not letting you know where l am from, as l would give myself away but l do know my WRFL/Jets underage stuff very well.:D :D :D

westernscoutofficer said:
WELL RED MAN::
It just goes to show you that you know nothing about football Shannon Franklin may not be the best player as far as a player that goes in for the ball but hey he would have been the first PLAYER that i picked for my club just with his mateship towards his team mates he is the type of guy that the jets need at there club even if he gets a game here and there.Also how many jets players go in for the ball, all the so called good players ( THE SO CALLED FAB 5 HA HA ) are all receivers.THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE AND SO DO ALL OF US. AND BY THE WAY IM NOT A FAN OF THE JOKES.( jets )

Interesting reply. Picking a player for mateship??????? Your kidding me are you not. Is this not the same player who was reported for hitting a teammate last year and might l add took the automatic 2 weeks!!!!!!!!!

I would suggest not many Jets players are going in for the ball by their results this year.

Let me guess the Fab 5 would be:
HOULI - v/good player. injury prone. Jets have own set of rules for him
LYONS - overrated. Old man an invicile
PRISMALL - will be drafted this year
BLACK - this boy can play, hard at it but injury prone
LOCKWOOD (not sure, this one was a guess)

If you are not a fan of the Jets, can l ask why you are working as recruiting officer for them??? Doesn't make sense to me???

Know nothing about footy???? You obvisously don't know who "The Red Man" is. very silly comment especially when you don't know who l am. Were you the person who started this forum asking for names of players going Ok that were elgible for the TAC list??? I'm tippin you don't know much if your asking for names on an internet web site.????????? Mate, your strugglin if your relying Bigfooty.com to bring in the next TAC Cup players to top the list up at the Western Jokes (Jets) and turn their year around:confused: :confused: :confused:

just been reading the agument, About a week or so ago i gave about 20 names in the wrfl which i reckon are quite good players who could/should be playing jets. Can you please give me a run down on all these players redman??? you will see the post towards the start. thanks

WRFLfan said:

I have watched a few Colts games lately and they actually have some talent in the side, they are much improved from last year and could be a competetive team with the right coaching. Ash Humphries is a skilful player (un-conventional kicking style) who knows how to find the football, he was awarded best & fairest at Colts last year. Matt Clifford is a severly underrated backman who is consistent, strong overhead and courageous. Clifford is unlucky not to be playing TAC, one of those players who is always in the best but is rarely noticed by scouts.

One kid who has talent

Jase perkins very classy forward with a great leap and strong hands. Quick on his feet and will dominate 18 A's. Has a good head on his shoulders and will go places. Will play jets very soon.

Re: One kid who has talent

sounds like jase seems to be alright, ive heard a bit different about him but not discussable on boards hope him well yet i don't think jets would be the right decision to make they suck. rather stay at port and go through vfl or werribee or williamstown. better options.

Well they might not be going well, but surely games at that level would still be beneficial if hes gonna go through the VFL system.

Kegs44 said:
Well they might not be going well, but surely games at that level would still be beneficial if hes gonna go through the VFL system.

They must be a bunch of hacks if they arent playing in the tac cup.........Turn to crime feral ones it pays better lm lead to believe :eek:

the_footy_god said:
also redman i'd like to know who you think is premiership favorites at this stage.

Werribee will win flag by a long way. Willi will play in GF. Saying that Willi can win this week as jets boys playing at Willi this week (the bye) and werribee jets boys are not. If willi can not beat them this week they never will.

THE RED MAN said:
Werribee will win flag by a long way. Willi will play in GF. Saying that Willi can win this week as jets boys playing at Willi this week (the bye) and werribee jets boys are not. If willi can not beat them this week they never will.

interesting, who do you play for you have a lot of good information. Do you know which jets boys are playing for willi, I'm sure cameron lockwood will not he has vic trials as does yaka and prissa for werribee.

Has anyone heard where Trent Luckhurst is playing this year, he is an exceptional footballer, he is tall with a great grab, hard at it, with a good kick.... he could go places... could anyone let me no? Cameron Lockwood is a good player.... but B. Houli is an unbelieveable tlanet... its a shame he is injury prone

Shimozzle said:
Has anyone heard where Trent Luckhurst is playing this year, he is an exceptional footballer, he is tall with a great grab, hard at it, with a good kick.... he could go places... could anyone let me no? Cameron Lockwood is a good player.... but B. Houli is an unbelieveable tlanet... its a shame he is injury prone

Dont worry about Trent Luckhurst he's soft as butter, His twin brother Todd as a better player, doesnt mind the hard ball.