domus

Mar 31, 2008
Mooroolbark
Mooroolbark footy club
I can't help feeling we look a better balanced, more dangerous side without Wittsy lumbering about the forward line. I heard Maxy say that our problem is the fact that we have two number one ruckman at our club and if one gets limited game time other clubs start circling. This may be true, but surely you don't disadvantage your side on a week to week basis in order to keep a player happy.

I think it all depends on who we are playing and the match-ups. We got away with it today because Cloke had a ripper. We didn't look as dangerous with White not permanently forward.

When Witts and Grundy have played a few years together then I think they would be a formidable pair. Also IF Reid comes back in then it would definitely impact on these two

I have been in the play them both category, but will admit we looked quicker around the ground today. Grundy played better as the sole true ruckman. It's a dilemma but not the worst one to have.

Not sure if serious? Gawn in the ruck? Grundy clearly beaten by an unknown up to 3 qtr time. Can't afford that against a experienced ruck.

I think it will depend on the opposition how we line up.

2015 = yes

2016 = NO

I reckon if the sub rule goes, and interchanges are restricted to 100 or 80, then the genuine second ruck will come back into the game as you will be able to sit one on the bench for longer with that 4th bench spot being fully available.

So at times this year they will play together almost in preparation for next season and beyond.

I have been in the play them both category, but will admit we looked quicker around the ground today. Grundy played better as the sole true ruckman. It's a dilemma but not the worst one to have.

Yes but the risk is if your only ruckman gets injured you are toast.

Essington subbed their ruckman against Geelong & got smashed at the stoppages after that.

Not sure if serious? Gawn in the ruck? Grundy clearly beaten by an unknown up to 3 qtr time. Can't afford that against a experienced ruck.

Gawn is bit more then an UnKown.

Known as a AFL Ruckman but nothing Special. Grundy Beat Gawn around the Ground though

Didn't do great in the hitouts but had the same number of possessions and marks as both Gawn and Fitzpatrick combined...

It may just look that way because Cloke was clunking the contested marks today, regardless of how many defenders were in the contest.

I would like to see us recruit another forward capable of providing a target if we are going to continue to play one ruck

I haven't seen much of Dixon, and his antics in Tasmania the other week weren't particularly impressive, but a lot of people seem to rate him.

I'd be pushing to sign Carlisle if it's a possibility, particularly as he's a proven quantity (more down back admittedly) and has very good overhead abilities. Another guy I really like the look of, but am unsure of whether he would be available, is Josh Jenkins from Adelaide. Every time I watch him play he seems to have a good game based on his size and athleticism

Gawn is two years older than Grundy so be mindful of that.

Gawn won the hit out count but Grundy had 20 possies to 11, 4 marks to 1, 4 tackles to 2.

That's his strength and why he's still a valuable player until his body develops to the point of being more effective in the ruck duels.

Yes but the risk is if your only ruckman gets injured you are toast.

Essington subbed their ruckman against Geelong & got smashed at the stoppages after that.

I heard on the radio today that Essendon actually won centre clearance 27-10 after that change was made.

Didn't do great in the hitouts but had the same number of possessions and marks as both Gawn and Fitzpatrick combined...
The majority of which came in the last quarter.
Stats to 3 qtr were - 3 kicks, 9 hb, no marks, 13 hit outs..

Did we have the game done and dusted at 3qt? No, so any stats accumulated are still very relevant.
Don't think there was any danger of losing, not sure of your point. Grasping at straws?

The majority of which came in the last quarter.
Stats to 3 qtr were - 3 kicks, 9 hb, no marks, 13 hit outs..
Great insight, as good as the one you have on Fasolo.

Better balance with one ruckman.