• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Big man joins Springy Dees

g'day chaps. this is my 2 cents on the topic. At this time of year not a lot of clubs would be flush with cash, so i imagine Dandy would be rolling the dice like most other clubs who pay players...step1 recruit players..step 2 win games...step 3 crowds come.....step 4 increase revenue through bar sales, canteen, sponsorship etc(everyone loves a winner).
On the age old topic of paying players i believe it's up to the elected committee to decide what's best for the club. If they want to pay players then thats their choice, if they fall on their backside in the process then it's up to the members to vote them out and elect a new committee, i believe the major problem facing most clubs in the sfl is finding key personnel with sound business and financial managetment skills to run the club - not just supporters who want to help out.

that statement is the biggest load of crap. You must pay players to win a divi 3 premiership? Mount was 2 points away from winning a divi 3 flag last year and they don't pay a single player. 3 of the 'better' teams in divi 3 this year don't pay players.(this is going on knowledge from off here and assuming those 3 teams keep similar lists). You mentioned Mount are probably best suited to going up but they don't pay players like you said 'must' happen, should we start paying some players and then maybe we'd be more of a chance?

Are you saying skye, cantebury and mount don't have a chance at winning the flag solely because they don't pay people? Have you ever thought that maybe there's a fair few people around who could be getting money but choose to play for the club? Just because in the past teams have won and paid players does not mean it will always happen you toilet.
Said it before and will say it again, nobody gets paid at canterbury and to my knowledge nobody ever has except for the coaching staff which is danny and myself. Blokes like dave carrol and john tsetsenekos have knocked back 200-300 a game at caufield to stay at our club, and people like josh tate (Played WAFL), shane jenkins(division one western region), anthony johnstone(A grade ammo's) and rick brown (C grade ammos) could all command big dollars at any club even at dingley wippet_!! But they choose to play with there mates and for the love of the game. It saddens me and even my mates some of whom or mediocore ones players at best command money from clubs when they really don't need the extra coin and the clubs the play for are stretched to pay it. IMO there should be only three players paid at best at any club if that. No wonder grass roots footy is struggling so much and teams with years of history and tradition are folding at an alarming rate:cool:

Quote: [Nice Try Donkey Kong, but I wouldn't put the likes of Hampton and Moorabbin in the mix as they are very much known for playing players in their glory days. They now have to rely on mates as they have run out of money :eek: ]

I believe it is time for people on this forum to stop making assumptions about the financial positions of other clubs in the Southern Football League. Maybe it would be in your best interest to ask someone involved at either club before making such ridiculous comments about the financial position of a club they you are clearly not involved in. The Moorabbin Kangaroos football club are trying to rebuild our list through sensible decision making, sensible financial decisions and long term planning and development (juniors).

Aaron Bailey
Senior Coach
Moorabbin Kangaroos

Aaron why did most of the 2006 list leave???

Mount lost by 2 points may as well have 20 goals ! But to be fair maybe a paid player or 2 could make all the differance !! As I also stated kangaroos player's left the club after 2006 maybe change of policy and coach ?Parkmore failed as whole club and Blackrock reading some threads has lost players to other league's for money no doubt but they still had paid players. I hope they are set for a good steady season in divy 2.I believe Canterbury should have played off in the GF 07 season and if the club or sponsors are not paying players fair enough and I reckon they will be a top 3 side anyway. I heard they had over 70 players at training this week as some of the coach's mate's have come back from oversea's ??

Well that might be your opinion, we might just have to wait and see if black rock can cut the mustard in div 2. Except for dingley, heatherton and maybe caulfield i don't think any of the other sides would be paying money to people other than coaches and week to week awards. And guess what, those three sides will fill the top 3 possies in div 2. Just goes to show that you DO need to spend some coin to recruit/keep players on your books to get success.
Clubs like hampton, lyndale, morrabbin rely on people that want to play for the club and with their mates. However they may not have success in the short term until they can raise some money to compete with the top 3. It does not just happen in div 2 SFL footy either. Have a look at the EPL in england. Why are there always the same clubs at the top of the ladder?? Because they have the most coin to spend on players!!! VERY SIMPLE!!!!!!!
Have heard on the grapevine that hampton have a budget for player payments for the first time in about a decade, so maybe they are sick of being also rans who pay no one?

Mount lost by 2 points may as well have 20 goals ! But to be fair maybe a paid player or 2 could make all the differance !! As I also stated kangaroos player's left the club after 2006 maybe change of policy and coach ?Parkmore failed as whole club and Blackrock reading some threads has lost players to other league's for money no doubt but they still had paid players. I hope they are set for a good steady season in divy 2.I believe Canterbury should have played off in the GF 07 season and if the club or sponsors are not paying players fair enough and I reckon they will be a top 3 side anyway. I heard they had over 70 players at training this week as some of the coach's mate's have come back from oversea's ??
If the only way in the world to win a premiership is to pay players, how can any Ammo teams win them? It seems that they don't have any problems recruiting players and winning premierships.:confused:

But your right, if we paid someone to play last year we would have won the premiership. I doubt that playing a little better under the pressure would have helped us score just 1 extra point.:rolleyes:
Thanks for that, I'll tell the boys at training that there was nothing we could have done last year, simply because we didn't pay anyone.:thumbsu:

70!!! gee your spy's have some trouble counting, sure you wern't at mount waverlys training? or were you counting Balwyns seniors and the oakliegh chargers numbers as well?;)

Big man joins Springy Dees