BigAnt Studios to develop AFL Live 3 - Petition

Yes. You don't.

Thank you for clearing it up to those idiots on these forums who think I'm from wicked witch.

I think your an excellent game developing company, same with wicked witch and tru blu are excellent publishers. You need all the support you need but you don't receive the support you truely deserve with a number games by big ant, wicked witch and all Australian small development companies. Thank you so much for your hard work.

Also, keep doing what your doing with rugby league live 3, looking really good. Even if it's shit, you worked your butts off to develop the game and also don't deserve fans pushing you to release it now. You have your own process to release, and I respect that.

Thank you for clearing it up to those idiots on these forums who think I'm from wicked witch.

I think your an excellent game developing company, same with wicked witch and tru blu are excellent publishers. You need all the support you need but you don't receive the support you truely deserve with a number games by big ant, wicked witch and all Australian small development companies. Thank you so much for your hard work.

Also, keep doing what your doing with rugby league live 3, looking really good. Even if it's shit, you worked your butts off to develop the game and also don't deserve fans pushing you to release it now. You have your own process to release, and I respect that.
Trublu excellent publishers! Wtf? I have never come across such an inept company before. I dont even know where to start with how they do business. Do yourself a favour and try and contact them, see how you go. Now contact any other company in the world and see if you get a response.

BigAntStudios Probably a fair chance you can't answer this but anyway, considering how much stuff there is out there that the AFL allows to be licensed, including a lot of rubbish, would there ever be a chance of the AFL granting a license to both you guys and Tru Blu, in the same way the NBA is shared between EA and 2K?

I need to do this, sorry....bare with me here......
Wahhh....wahaahhhaaaah....wahhhhh....nooooooo.....god damnit....noooooo...

I feel a little better.

On a positive note:

I can play ..
Don Bradman cricket
Table top cricket
AFL Live 1
Rugby League Live 3 coming up...

That's still pretty cool!!!

I think I love Big Ant!!

I think Ross has insinuated (or perhaps explicitly stated) that in order to develop the AFL game they wanted, more money would be needed than TruBlu deemed worthwhile. The problem is that developing games is an expensive business and, whilst AFL is very big in Australia, its gaming fanbase is relatively niche when compared to large international sports or big sports in the US, so there's a risk that the game won't sell enough to yield enough revenue to make it worthwhile. Building a decent game, as BA wants to do, will incur greater costs than spouting out sloppy cashgrabs based on cheap games originally developed for smartphones. Would be great if the AFL could chip in some cash to contribute to the game-making effort, but I guess the AFL probably considers its money better spent on junior development programs, which potentially mold AFL players, as opposed to pursuits that trap potential players inside playing a video game all day.

The AFL is business. A big one at that, it makes a huge profit every year and has more cash then you could think of. I'm really bemused as to why the AFL don't help fund these games in the first place. It can potentially bring more fans to the game and again as it gets better and better it can reach other parts of the world that are still learning the game.

Heck, when growing up I grabbed a NHL and NFL game, never watched either of them on TV.. but grew to love the NHL in particular over the recent years and I wouldn't have ever known of the sport really today had I not got a game when younger. Not saying an AFL game would be globally popular but I think you guys get my drift.

Chuck in the growing fanbase here in Australia of Soccer and FIFA and you'd think the AFL would atleast make an effort to try and put something out there.

End of the day atleast we're going to get an AFL Live 3

Does anyone know if there's anyway at all to contact the AFL and tell them to pull their finger out and sponsor a game? They know soccer is a threat, which like it or not, FIFA games are the main cause of this, but can't even invest a cent into a decent rival to FIFA (unless they have and im ill-informed), and instead are probably trying to suck more and more money out of Tru Blu for trying to use the licenses anyway. That survey the AFL sends out about crowd experience, even if they threw a question on there about a game, would get a massive response i reckon

From what little I know Tru Blu pay for the licencing and basically get charged for anything they do with the word 'AFL' on it. It appears the AFL themselves couldn't care less whether kids are playing FIFA or rugby or anything else. Wish it was different. In this regards there's only so p*ssed we can get at TB, they aren't going to lose money to appease a small passionate group.

Someone here posted an AFL twitter account that responds to these types of queries. Social media is probably a good option, not sure they would be able to ignore questions in the public domain. But agree, staggering that a billion dollar business doesn't see fit to assign a few mill to create and build a successful gaming franchise. Online tourneys, also a great game would do more for the brand overseas than a 100 exhibition matches. Imagine if each title bought O/S game with a 3 month AFL TV subscription - how many extra eyeballs would that attract. Sigh.

From what little I know Tru Blu pay for the licencing and basically get charged for anything they do with the word 'AFL' on it. It appears the AFL themselves couldn't care less whether kids are playing FIFA or rugby or anything else. Wish it was different. In this regards there's only so p*ssed we can get at TB, they aren't going to lose money to appease a small passionate group.

Someone here posted an AFL twitter account that responds to these types of queries. Social media is probably a good option, not sure they would be able to ignore questions in the public domain. But agree, staggering that a billion dollar business doesn't see fit to assign a few mill to create and build a successful gaming franchise. Online tourneys, also a great game would do more for the brand overseas than a 100 exhibition matches. Imagine if each title bought O/S game with a 3 month AFL TV subscription - how many extra eyeballs would that attract. Sigh.

Spot on mate.

Look at the NBA 2k series and how far it has come over there. They have player vs fans tourneys etc and this generates 'new' gamers no doubt and also keeps its fans wanting more and more on the next release. The sad thing is console gaming here in Australia is no less popular then what it is in the States, an AFL series yes because it has a limited market (But a growing fanbase ie New Zealand, Ireland and parts of Asia etc..). The telling difference is we have all these strict license agreements with our codes and our own league (THE AFL) wont back the product. Which makes it harder for companies to have the revenue to market things properly and build a solid foundation for future releases.

Just imagine the release of Big Ant's AFL Live 3 had they made AFL Live 2 you would have a product that's been floating around for 3 years, the improvements from their first release would be (going by the effort those guys put in) amazing. The AFL chipping in with a little funding and bang we have a solid AFL Series made by people who love and know the game (Taken from Ross in earlier post).

Does anyone know if there's anyway at all to contact the AFL and tell them to pull their finger out and sponsor a game? They know soccer is a threat, which like it or not, FIFA games are the main cause of this, but can't even invest a cent into a decent rival to FIFA (unless they have and im ill-informed), and instead are probably trying to suck more and more money out of Tru Blu for trying to use the licenses anyway. That survey the AFL sends out about crowd experience, even if they threw a question on there about a game, would get a massive response i reckon

When I tweeted them about how shit Tru Blu are, they told me "If you email social@afl.com.au, we’ll forward your email to the department that works with the developers." Might be a good start.

Problem is that it's too late now. Wicked Witch are now the developers for AFL games. I hope they do a decent job for the next instalment.

Any crowd funding or petitions for BA needed to happen two years ago and with confidence in numbers.

The only glimmer of hope would be a spin off game or a Don Bradman style alternative title developed with licenses and permissions to do so..which has already been ruled out as Unlikely.

Y'Know, it sucks but at least AFL Live 1 exists. I wish Big Ant could get permission to update the first game as simply a big update. However the game holds up pretty well. It's better than AFL Live 2. In my opinion, because BA nailed the gameplay.

What about 'Australian Football' ala 'Don Bradman Cricket' then leave names / teams open for editing?
I've been hanging out for EJ Whitten Football 15 for years. Wouldn't be the same as being licensed but if it played like AFL 1 I wouldn't care. Hell, if AFL 1 just added Footy Academy and the player/uniform customisation in DBC I'd be all over it.

Sad but I agree. Would load pretty fast now too.

Also sad is that TB refuse to put AFL Live 1 on GOG even though it would probably cost them pennies - in testing it doesn't look like it needs the any of the GFWL code to be removed for it to work. Heck we could probably do it if we had permission. It's a real middle finger.

Everyone talking about how AFL Live 1 was so much better and it should be made because it will sell more are forgetting the other side of the equation. What is the cost.

If AFL Live 2 cost an eighth of what AFL Live 1 did, and they sold half as many games as AFL Live 1 did then your profit margin is going to look a hell of a lot better. even with selling half as many games. Anyone saying True Blue should ignore this has no idea about business.

It's probably been suggested about 1000 times before in this thread, but have BigAnt considered crowdfunding, like kickstarter? I'd absolutely contribute to them making another AFL game.

Not only does that mean they have to use fake names/likeness and call it "Aussie Rules" instead of AFL. But it also means that they are going to in the progress piss off their biggest (only current?) publisher by releasing a competitor to one of their licenses.

Everyone talking about how AFL Live 1 was so much better and it should be made because it will sell more are forgetting the other side of the equation. What is the cost.

If AFL Live 2 cost an eighth of what AFL Live 1 did, and they sold half as many games as AFL Live 1 did then your profit margin is going to look a hell of a lot better. even with selling half as many games. Anyone saying True Blue should ignore this has no idea about business.

Not only does that mean they have to use fake names/likeness and call it "Aussie Rules" instead of AFL. But it also means that they are going to in the progress piss off their biggest (only current?) publisher by releasing a competitor to one of their licenses.

I don't think that's the case. I think many discussing on here have realized, and much of the discussion has focused on, the fact that WW is a cheaper alternative and Tru Blue wouldn't continue with BA because the fiscal demands of a BA game would be too high. Ross even alluded to the struggles they faced making money with the first game in one of his posts.

Understanding that game-making is a business and is driven by money doesn't change people wanting a decent game. And if a game is good, and if you can build a series of games that are consistently good, you have a better chance of selling more copies upon a new game's release, as opposed to people steering clear of it due to past efforts, returning it when they realize it's crap, or waiting until it's in the bargain bin before buying it,

BigAnt Studios to develop AFL Live 3 - Petition