Black Diamond AFL - 2012

Must be a tough league the BDAFL. Maitland are copping a kicking before they have even a played a game. Sydney Swans must be terrified they will lose players to Maitland with their 'bottomless bucket of cash'. An 'IT hacker' who can get all the info on any player and 'team of talent scouts' scouring the Hunter and Newcastle for players.
It is also obvious the person who commented on the cost of the BDAFL season launch dinner forgot to mention that they were taken on a 45 minute harbour cruise before dinner and did not have to pay for any drinks all evening. They obviously only eat at Macca's and not a restaurant that actually has knives and forks and serve their meals on real plates. :D

For what its worth I wasnt alluding to Maitland however if Maitland people feel the need to have to defend themselves thats fine. I believe Maitland is a good area to be growing the game as evidenced by the success of the juniors there. I just look at what has happened with Woy Woy in the past and hope that they arent a 1 or 2 year proposition then disappear to never be seen again.

I also think that the league president should also be going out to clubs like Warners Bay, Killarney Vale, Wyong etc to assist with training and on field support, especially given Wyongs position this year. He has shown he is willing to run training and even play in practice matches for Maitland so surely he would have no issues going out to other clubs and assisting them throughout the year.

Just a thought for the BDAFL website editor too- might be a good idea to throw a few previews of the games up and maybe a run down on the clubs ins and outs and previews of each club for the year like what they do on the Sydney AFL website. Might be a way of generating a bit more interest in the competition and get people who are casual observers of the game along to the footy.

Good call deitzy.

Just on the league, are Prime still a sponsor? I am yet to see any advertising of the league during the AFL broadcasts on 7mate.

Surely a couple of 30 second ads during the Friday Night Footy could help the leagues profile a bit?

I did notice that North Coffs Roos managed to get some ads on during the GWS v Swans game, so it can't be too expensive???

For what its worth I wasnt alluding to Maitland however if Maitland people feel the need to have to defend themselves thats fine. I believe Maitland is a good area to be growing the game as evidenced by the success of the juniors there. I just look at what has happened with Woy Woy in the past and hope that they arent a 1 or 2 year proposition then disappear to never be seen again.

I also think that the league president should also be going out to clubs like Warners Bay, Killarney Vale, Wyong etc to assist with training and on field support, especially given Wyongs position this year. He has shown he is willing to run training and even play in practice matches for Maitland so surely he would have no issues going out to other clubs and assisting them throughout the year.

Just a thought for the BDAFL website editor too- might be a good idea to throw a few previews of the games up and maybe a run down on the clubs ins and outs and previews of each club for the year like what they do on the Sydney AFL website. Might be a way of generating a bit more interest in the competition and get people who are casual observers of the game along to the footy.

I agree that it is a good area to promote as surely there are enough ppl in their area to support a senior team! As you say they have a good junior base and now having an open team (that should be competitive at worst) means they should be able to put in a 2nd open side in a year or 2 if their numbers warrant it.

Woy woy(folding) was not a positive for the league and for what ever reasons they seemed to struggle, surely Maitland will succeed(they appear to be trying and heading in the right direction) having a teacher/principal just like Warners had all those years ago can only be a good thing in helping the juniors to keep coming through!

Happy for Harro to help Maitland (was at the 1st training run,proved how unfit I am!!) but agree they (board members etc) should be helping other clubs as well(altho I know they can only stretch their time so far!) Other clubs esp Wyong,Nelson's etc would love someone who has been involved at a good level(success wise).

It has always happened tho (who can forget president granland on the pa system at KV promoting the canteen and bar etc, dont think he made the time to do it for other clubs!!)

The league should do a preview/review like the other comps do,it wouldnt take that long (I assume the clubs would let them know there ins and outs and you could go from there!

Terr have some but not anyone cleared from what I can see and KV have Ireland back in (massive gain) and Schell back as well as a couple of others,both clubs should be solid at least.

Warners have a couple of young guns from Wyong,and the Dockers have a few 'ins'.

Cardiff and City always with ins and outs so hope it is one of our closer years in the top grade!

I know Gossy are no longer part of our comp but its good to see they got some of their players back in the fold,they on top of the comp(I know it 4th div but still when was the last time they were) they seem to have good sponsers and they are getting promoted (in local paper and on radio) more so than our entire comp!! I think this shows divs can help lol and also surely if one club can get this our comp should be pushing for more exposure!!!

Anyways best of luck for the year everyone as footy season is upon us!!!

At kv off the top of my head
Outs-Travis t-Kain,Ryan king,Caleb demunck,Pete Collins,Nathan Higgins,Ryan Coughlan,Tom castelnuovo,paul melrose,Dave dunning,John pidgeon,Glenn page,Julian sambell
Ins-Jackson Ireland,pat schell,rob Zahra,paul gauci,brad Edwards.
But we have picked up about 5 or 6 first time players

I agree that it is a good area to promote as surely there are enough ppl in their area to support a senior team! As you say they have a good junior base and now having an open team (that should be competitive at worst) means they should be able to put in a 2nd open side in a year or 2 if their numbers warrant it.

Woy woy(folding) was not a positive for the league and for what ever reasons they seemed to struggle, surely Maitland will succeed(they appear to be trying and heading in the right direction) having a teacher/principal just like Warners had all those years ago can only be a good thing in helping the juniors to keep coming through!

Happy for Harro to help Maitland (was at the 1st training run,proved how unfit I am!!) but agree they (board members etc) should be helping other clubs as well(altho I know they can only stretch their time so far!) Other clubs esp Wyong,Nelson's etc would love someone who has been involved at a good level(success wise).

It has always happened tho (who can forget president granland on the pa system at KV promoting the canteen and bar etc, dont think he made the time to do it for other clubs!!)

is this why these divisions are in? to help the president's club? can league president play at a club? biased.

Brother

I think most will agree that Maitland fielding a senior side is a step in the right direction and hopefully they play well and continue to grow. The work in the junior club over the past few years has been promising and now let us see their show.

Granland stepped down from the Killarney Vale club once he became league president. Whether you were a supporter or not of the old man, he continued to lead the league forward. Harrington left Newcastle City and club when he took on the head job, but now appears to be a player at a new club, is this now a prob?

Surely the president can't be at a club, is this not a conflict of interest?

I can guarantee Maitland aren't paying anyone - just local players, out of the game for a bit, playing for their local team. About 32 players fully on the books at this stage. I didn't even know clubs paid players around here. Good rumor though.

Yeah pretty sure dietzy was talking about killarney vale. Further adding fuel to the old granland and dietz rivalry of a few years back. Love it!
Have heard that they offered a certain sydney and bdafl rep player living in newy a fuel card and $150 a game to play but he knocked it back due to work commitments. Good work if ya can get it though

Yeah pretty sure dietzy was talking about killarney vale. Further adding fuel to the old granland and dietz rivalry of a few years back. Love it!
Have heard that they offered a certain sydney and bdafl rep player living in newy a fuel card and $150 a game to play but he knocked it back due to work commitments. Good work if ya can get it though

Knocked it back? I took the deal haha

At kv off the top of my head
Outs-Travis t-Kain,Ryan king,Caleb demunck,Pete Collins,Nathan Higgins,Ryan Coughlan,Tom castelnuovo,paul melrose,Dave dunning,John pidgeon,Glenn page,Julian sambell
Ins-Jackson Ireland,pat schell,rob Zahra,paul gauci,brad Edwards.
But we have picked up about 5 or 6 first time players

they are some big outs particularly as there are some very talented young players in the list of outs ...

good luck anyway to the bombers

they are some big outs particularly as there are some very talented young players in the list of outs ...

good luck anyway to the bombers

hawks by 217 points over warners ... that is absurd ... divisions to fix uneven comp - yeh right !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We (kv) went down by 13 points...very very scrappy,low scoring game...terrigal prob kept us in it at half time with inaccurate kicking...terrigal are very well structured and have a good core of 5 or 7 players..for us we started to look cleaner in the second half but just couldn't quite convert or find a target in the forwards, we didn't quite gel with alot of new players...

I too was disappointed at the Doggies effort. I sat there and watched thinking just what our former champions would feel when they saw the results. When Cardiff booted 9 goals in the first quarter, the writing was on the wall. Yes, I am a fan of divisionalisation but this is where it falls away and with that effort yesterday, Warners don't even look look like getting a win all season. But, how do you know which clubs go into that top division. There has to be a premier and a wooden spooner in every comp, trouble with this one is City and Cardiff are such standouts plus there are only six teams in the division so theres not much tolerance in the competition at all. Unfortunately, at this stage teams like Warners Bay have, on that performance yesterday, NO chance whatsoever of competing. Bring back Deitzy - or Darryl Issac and David Metcalfe or even even Josh Molan, Justin Ayres, and most of all, a young John McKeown. There must be someone out there somewhere who can pull the strings like John did.

I must mention that I loved the preview of the round 1 games on the BDAFL website. Great stuff. And the write-up of the results following the games was outstanding. Congrats. :thumbsdown:

Whats the go with the result from Terrigal v Wyong first division game? Did one of them forfeit? If so, my, my, what a start to the season. Or did someone simply not get the results in on time? :diamond:

I too was disappointed at the Doggies effort. I sat there and watched thinking just what our former champions would feel when they saw the results. When Cardiff booted 9 goals in the first quarter, the writing was on the wall. Yes, I am a fan of divisionalisation but this is where it falls away and with that effort yesterday, Warners don't even look look like getting a win all season. But, how do you know which clubs go into that top division. There has to be a premier and a wooden spooner in every comp, trouble with this one is City and Cardiff are such standouts plus there are only six teams in the division so theres not much tolerance in the competition at all. Unfortunately, at this stage teams like Warners Bay have, on that performance yesterday, NO chance whatsoever of competing. Bring back Deitzy - or Darryl Issac and David Metcalfe or even even Josh Molan, Justin Ayres, and most of all, a young John McKeown. There must be someone out there somewhere who can pull the strings like John did.

I must mention that I loved the preview of the round 1 games on the BDAFL website. Great stuff. And the write-up of the results following the games was outstanding. Congrats. :thumbsdown:

Whats the go with the result from Terrigal v Wyong first division game? Did one of them forfeit? If so, my, my, what a start to the season. Or did someone simply not get the results in on time? :diamond:

some interesting outcomes from rd1 - singo flog city 2's ... hawks flog wb ... maitland only had 19 players ... no results from wyong game ...
city 3's get flogged ... frustrations being voiced early about divisions/club separation ... make of it what you will ...

we will see how the experiment unfolds ... but good to have the footy back

Good on the BDAFL for introducing the divisions, something different had to be done. It will have its teething problems but ultimately there's a good chance that more clubs will join the fold and existing clubs keep keeping on.

The Warners Bay club dont seem to be winning any fans though. Is there an explanation as to why several of last years first graders werent prepared to step up to face the Hawks in round 1? Without knowing any background, on face value it looks very piss poor form.

The other results were not so much of a surprise. Singleton pumped City ressies during their second ressies premiership campaign by a similar margin. They will dish out more hidings as the season progresses.

2012 will be one very interesting season.

The Warners Bay club dont seem to be winning any fans though. Is there an explanation as to why several of last years first graders werent prepared to step up to face the Hawks in round 1? Without knowing any background, on face value it looks very piss poor form.

So why bother making any comment ? I'll give you some background there are several of last years first graders not playing footy this year !

Well, for what its worth I have some photos of the hawks Vs Bulldogs match from yesterday up on my webpage. Go to
http://dsfphotography.com.au/gallery.htm
Then the 2012 BDAFL Gallery, Round 1
As well as just poor form (and it was round 1), the doggies are really going to have to work on their discipline, they gave away far to many 50's, and quite a number of these lead directly to goals

So why bother making any comment ? I'll give you some background there are several of last years first graders not playing footy this year !

Just a shock to see the first grade team getting pumped by a massive margin and looking at some of the Div2 players that on paper would have made a difference to the premier division team. I can understand there's a number of reasons why they may not want to play Premier division....if they dont though early signs would point to WB fielding teams in only Div1 and 2 with Singleton back up to PD.

To call or label a team/club piss poor without knowing the facts is just a bit harsh at this stage.The several (actually two) players you refer to ,one has played over 300 games for the club and has a dicky hamstring and sat in the goal square , the other has not been to a single training session this year.
Not sure they would made a hell a lot of difference.I think thats about as much background needed on that subject.
Warners Bay will struggle against the top 3 sides of last year, I hope they are more competitive against the other sides for the sake of the 1/2 dozen youngsters that were introduced to senior footy on Saturday.Only time will tell!

Definitely was shocked to hear the final score in the Warners Bay v Cardiff game. I thought Warners Bay would get well beaten but not to the extent that they did. I think there are 15 players from the senior side last year who arent playing, some who have gone to other clubs in the area, some who have moved interstate to try and further their footy, some with family commitments and some who disappointingly are preferring to drink piss and do whatever with their Friday and Saturday nights as opposed to playing footy.

When 8 out of the top 10 in the club Best and Fairest dont return, as well as not really having any ins, the Bay are bound to battle this year. It does show there is a massive gap between reserve grade/18s to senior footy as they have been pretty strong in those competitions over the last 4 years so they need to be patient. One thing they can control is discipline and giving away numerous 50 metre penalties isnt a great start. You can control attitude and competitiveness so that is something I'm sure everyone at the club wouldnt be happy with.

Hopefully they can regroup, change the attitude in the seniors and just compete for 4 quarters. As bad as Warners Bay were I heard Cardiff were as impressive. I think the Hawks will give it a real shot this year and are a massive chance to end the City run of flags. Have a great mix of youth/experience, got quality coaching staff and have had a pretty similar group for a long time which helps.

Will know alot more about everyone once everyone has played each other, but would imagine Singleton will be well ahead of everyone in the div 1 comp and Warners/KV favourites in div 2. Some quality in that Singleton side!