Black Diamond AFL - 2012

Agree that each clubs canteen profits/beer sales may take a hit,I guess they would hope that more chance of success as opposed to 'how much will our grades lose combined today? 250? 350? will increase numbers at the ground(enjoying it with familly/friends) and maybe more sponsorship money as you may actualy win a game(maybe even make the local paper!! lol)

I am concerned(as all are) with the numbers(senior and junior) and the pathway to seniors, so for this year I would make 16's into 17's and play 18's in opens, then next year ASK the clubs involved(both junior and senior) ie Wyong and Sara if they would like to nominate for the 16's comp and the 18's comp(just based on the coast and same for the Newwy clubs) If there still isnt the numbers with the reduced travel/other commitments etc revert back to 17's for junior comps and seniors for 18's.
Totally agree. The goal of any club is to win footy games, through the support of players, volunteers, family and friends. The more you have of each of those aspects the more chances that you are going to succeed. To do that you need to make it enjoyable. The family day aspect is just one of those contributing factors.

In respect to the junior gradings, one thing that might be an issue is that I think the juniors are governed by a different body, so this issue of bridging the gap between the age groups to seniors is a clissic example of one agency not talking to the other. If you focus on your grass roots and set it up so that it feeds seniors, you automatically win.

I'm not sure on changing the grade structure for juniors as all suggestions need to be taken on board and eveluated. The only question I have is that looking into a little further, I believe it was that type structure in the past. Why was it changed?

A little birdy told me Newcastle city play manly @ Nelson bay this Saturday with a 2pm start. It should be good to see what they have picked up, i think they will still be the team to beat as i got told they have about 45 @ training and they train 3 days a week. Can someone please tel me if this is true?

Well it seems like the divisionalisation is prety much set in stone:

Premier Division (or whatever its called)
Newcastle City
Terrigal
Cardiff
Warners Bay
Killarney Vale
Lake Macquarie

Division 1 (or whatever)
Singleton
Wyong
Nelson Bay
Cardiff 2s
Newcastle City 2s
Terrigal 2s

Division 2 (or whatever)
Maitland
Nelson Bay 2s
Warners Bay 2s
Killarney Vale 2s
Wyong 2s
Lake Macquarie 2s
Singleton 2s

Gotta feel for the likes of Singleton 1s (being in the 1st division) and the stronger ressies teams (being in the 2nd division), but i guess at the end of the day, all jokes aside, we now just need to focus on playing footy.

Bring on Round 1.

Having been on committees at other sporting clubs in the past, I know the resources and efforts needed from volunteers, to not only run a club but also grow a clubs in terms of numbers and performance. If divisionalisation is in I hope there is backup plan for those clubs that will struggle with the resource splitting issue.

Representative Footy will become very important and the only way a league with only 6 teams and the possibility for no more, will mor than likely not be able to improve as it will be more likely the top teams will play eachother. So what happens the gap grows between the premiers grades and the weekend warriors.

And if the league is able to grow in numbers, well then you come to the situation where no teams can enter the premier division as the gap is too big. Or if teams were forced to go up, then that team will get pelted week in week out. Either way you come with the same situation now, except clubs are more under the pump.

I don't understand why emphasis is not placed on giving clubs coaching resources to improve skills and game sense. Do a one day course and you're accredited to coach. Why not hold training camps from ex AFL players from the sydney teams (albeit only Swan ex-players at the moment), and let teams grow and improve.

Sorry I am just confused. I am all for divisional, but done right. You don't have enough participants, and the gap is too big.

I reckon they'd prefer this than travelling up the coast and getting pumped every week. There's nothing wrong with the Div 4 level, you can only beat the mob in front of you.

I reckon you'll see more teams entertaining the idea if the BDFL doesn't get its shit in a sock. Divisionalisation has invigorated Sydney footy. Where Penriff under the old model may not have lasted past 2010, they have won a Div 2 premiership, Div 3 runners up, Div 4 runners up, 18s premiers, all in the space of 2 years.

Definately agree that the clubs will have a look ay Sydney(you would be silly not too!) Sorry pekay if it souded harsh(on div 4) as you know I am all for divs, I guess it was a very blunt way of putting it (playing in a level that you can compete compared to a hiding to nothing!)

ps On Gossy's chances,I would like to see a few more of their blokes signed sealed and delivered before making predictions(I have seen 12-13 cleared) they would love a couple of eathers and walfords to get them firing! 2 of their old boys played premier div last year at Wests (they would love those boys back in the fold!!!)

Well done to the Riff, there is proof everwhere that it will work(divs) just need the time (our comp will struggle this year before picking up in the next couple!)

Good luck for the year mate

Noodles, the 18s model needs to stay in my opinion. By making it 17s you will only compound the problem. A big issue is on the coast that a number of junior clubs dont have senior clubs and therefore a number of kids are lost to the game- prime example Peninsula have won the last 2 16s comps down here and how many of those kids are ever going to be seen in the BDAFL- 0.

I know the coast clubs and Newcastle had big success with 16s footy moving to Friday nights. I seriously think this is the only way to build 18s numbers. Kids that age have way too many commitments on Saturdays with work/study that footy takes a back seat. There is nothing wrong in my opinion with playing 18s on separate days. It happens in the QAFL and clubs still get good numbers and good support at their games. In the current climate in BDAFL if I was a senior coach this year and had a good 18s player there is no way he would be playing in the 18s comp. Would be playing senior footy because the only thing the kid will pick up in the 18s comp is bad habits as the standard has dropped off in the last 4 or 5 years at that level.

I find it amazing that Wyong can have a 18s side make finals one year, a 16s side make a grand final then not get a 18s side up the year after. What is going on there??!! Surely those kids shouldnt be lost to the game. If we dont build a strong 18s comp then who is going to come in when the current senior blokes go? This is something everyone needs to work together on to ensure the long term viability of clubs.

Deitzy, where to start mate, firstly yes I would be all for the 18's to stay as the age (am also all for them trying fri nite games) I would like them to be split into Coast and Newwy comps,making travel less of an issue and beilding the junior clubs base (remember in our time we even had 6 clubs with 17's,2's and 1's)
Agree that the 18's comp level here has gone downhill and this year will be a farce!)

As for Wyong re:18's it is a fair comment to say that they made 16's gf(they did) and
18's finals(they did although even last year it was a joke,and they really only made up the numbers) but they didnt have 18's the year before and the senior numbers have been declining ever since the step up to 1's!! The young kids just look at it as a waste of time as they gunna get smashed if they hang around!(remember Gossy18's used to go alright for around 3 gf? in a row) but it never really flowed on to seniors!!(altho you did have some good players move on to higher levels!)

Totally agree. The goal of any club is to win footy games, through the support of players, volunteers, family and friends. The more you have of each of those aspects the more chances that you are going to succeed. To do that you need to make it enjoyable. The family day aspect is just one of those contributing factors.

In respect to the junior gradings, one thing that might be an issue is that I think the juniors are governed by a different body, so this issue of bridging the gap between the age groups to seniors is a clissic example of one agency not talking to the other. If you focus on your grass roots and set it up so that it feeds seniors, you automatically win.

I'm not sure on changing the grade structure for juniors as all suggestions need to be taken on board and eveluated. The only question I have is that looking into a little further, I believe it was that type structure in the past. Why was it changed?

Yeah back when I was younger(still couldnt play tho!!!lol) the grades were 12's,14's then 17's 2's and 1's.
I think others have mentioned that it is an 'afl' thing now to have these grades(ages) that we have now,Im just trying to make the most of the situation so instead of 18's comp this year (by the way it is going ahead,I heard 1st hand last nite!!) with 6 teams and dying! We pump an extra birthday into the 16's grade(therefore making it stronger) and any 18 year olds will just like my age play seniors!! They are not going into the afl system so may as well boost our senior numbers,and keep the comp alive

Well it seems like the divisionalisation is prety much set in stone:

Premier Division (or whatever its called)
Newcastle City
Terrigal
Cardiff
Warners Bay
Killarney Vale
Lake Macquarie

Division 1 (or whatever)
Singleton
Wyong
Nelson Bay
Cardiff 2s
Newcastle City 2s
Terrigal 2s

Division 2 (or whatever)
Maitland
Nelson Bay 2s
Warners Bay 2s
Killarney Vale 2s
Wyong 2s
Lake Macquarie 2s
Singleton 2s

Gotta feel for the likes of Singleton 1s (being in the 1st division) and the stronger ressies teams (being in the 2nd division), but i guess at the end of the day, all jokes aside, we now just need to focus on playing footy.

Bring on Round 1.

Yes mate it is in, the last chance for it to be knocked on the head was last nite(and they couldnt get the numbers)

Your almost there waugh17, You are correct with prem div as all 6 are in(I feel greatly for Singo as they have worked hard,belted the 2's grade for 2 years!,got in 1's and because the others have fallen over they are out!!)

Heard the passion in their leaders voice last nite and think its sad for their area(I hope they smash the grade personally and see what the league does when KV are demoted/in the firing line(my tip for the spoon as I dont know of any recruits,not saying they dont have any but do know that Dockers do so if they not lost any they would be heading the right way with KV about the same(altho I have heard wispers that former gun Jackson ireland may be back! if true will drag them with him)

Div 1 is also correct with those 6 sides lining up,will be the closest and most interesting grade

Div 2 does have Maitland,Warners and KV as the big guns with Mac and Singo also fieling sides but there will be no Wyong or Nelsons(if we stayed as 1st and 2nd grade only they were willing to have a stab at top level,but not now)

So 6 prem div,6 1st div and only 5 2nd div, I wonder if Singo could of saved their own ass,by only nominating 1 side(top grade) there would then be a bigger push to stay with currebt format as you cant have a div with 4 teams!!!(the new 2nd div)

apparently the biggest shock (to me anyway) is they are going ahead with 18's!!! 6 teams(Cardiff,Nelsons,Warners,Mac,Terr and KV) not sure on when where they will play tho!!

Anyways as you said bring on some footy!!!

Does anyone know how Singo's performance was last year? And was it their first years in top grade? Looking at the results they struggled early, had a couple of near misses against strong sides then came home with a full head of steam

From the comments I'm starting to get the feel that these guys have got the raw end of the stick.

Does anyone know if there is any incentives for their top grade team to keep going and improving considering it is a 6 team premier comp.

Looking at the U18's, great news they're getting a run. I've heard alot of what the problems are, you all I would presume know the demographic, how could you get the 18s up and going again. One of the hurdles would have to be year 12 studies wouldn't it? Maybe a switch to Friday nights might be a good idea.

As a former player in the BDAFL and still keep an eye on it now it actually saddens me the way in which the competition has gone backwards. Many friends in different leagues could not talk highly enough of the BDAFL but now it seems it is in tatters and in a very big downhill slide.

People with level heads and brains need to get on board and pull this league back up otherwise the game will be lost in the Region with no chnace of coming back.

Definately agree that the clubs will have a look ay Sydney(you would be silly not too!) Sorry pekay if it souded harsh(on div 4) as you know I am all for divs, I guess it was a very blunt way of putting it (playing in a level that you can compete compared to a hiding to nothing!)

ps On Gossy's chances,I would like to see a few more of their blokes signed sealed and delivered before making predictions(I have seen 12-13 cleared) they would love a couple of eathers and walfords to get them firing! 2 of their old boys played premier div last year at Wests (they would love those boys back in the fold!!!)

Well done to the Riff, there is proof everwhere that it will work(divs) just need the time (our comp will struggle this year before picking up in the next couple!)

Good luck for the year mate

Heard Tim Eather is traveling overseas..Kyall Walford and Ryan Barrett are at Sydney Hills Eagles hopefully playing NEAFL and I don't think Tadd Walford will be playing at all due to work

Your almost there waugh17, You are correct with prem div as all 6 are in(I feel greatly for Singo as they have worked hard,belted the 2's grade for 2 years!,got in 1's and because the others have fallen over they are out!!)

Heard the passion in their leaders voice last nite and think its sad for their area(I hope they smash the grade personally and see what the league does when KV are demoted/in the firing line(my tip for the spoon as I dont know of any recruits,not saying they dont have any but do know that Dockers do so if they not lost any they would be heading the right way with KV about the same(altho I have heard wispers that former gun Jackson ireland may be back! if true will drag them with him)

Div 1 is also correct with those 6 sides lining up,will be the closest and most interesting grade

Div 2 does have Maitland,Warners and KV as the big guns with Mac and Singo also fieling sides but there will be no Wyong or Nelsons(if we stayed as 1st and 2nd grade only they were willing to have a stab at top level,but not now)

So 6 prem div,6 1st div and only 5 2nd div, I wonder if Singo could of saved their own ass,by only nominating 1 side(top grade) there would then be a bigger push to stay with currebt format as you cant have a div with 4 teams!!!(the new 2nd div)

apparently the biggest shock (to me anyway) is they are going ahead with 18's!!! 6 teams(Cardiff,Nelsons,Warners,Mac,Terr and KV) not sure on when where they will play tho!!

Anyways as you said bring on some footy!!!

Singo not out yet - it will either be LM or Singleton in Premiers depending on presentations to the board and finalising the draw - egotistical bastards

Does anyone know how Singo's performance was last year? And was it their first years in top grade? Looking at the results they struggled early, had a couple of near misses against strong sides then came home with a full head of steam

From the comments I'm starting to get the feel that these guys have got the raw end of the stick.

Does anyone know if there is any incentives for their top grade team to keep going and improving considering it is a 6 team premier comp.

Looking at the U18's, great news they're getting a run. I've heard alot of what the problems are, you all I would presume know the demographic, how could you get the 18s up and going again. One of the hurdles would have to be year 12 studies wouldn't it? Maybe a switch to Friday nights might be a good idea.

Someone told me that in the early days of the BDAFL, as an incentive to get clubs to field Under 18 teams, the league gave bonus points to the club's first grade in their competition points when they fielded an Under 18 team as well as extra incentive points in their club admin awards which related to $$$. Under the circumstances this seems like a good idea to revisit.

It is not all about, here are the grades - go for it. Those in charge should put their thinking caps on to come up with unique ways to invigorate the competition.

Another thing. In the first year or two, I am led to believe the under 18s played as the curtain raiser to the first grade in each of the finals matches.

I've been patiently waiting for the past month for the BDAFL website to give me some information on the draw, clearances and club news! Now I'm a patient man but there is only so much of the 2011 draw, 2011 clearances and Warner's Bay sponsorship news a man can take!!

So I've turned to this forum and have uncovered a wealth of information. Can someone from the BDAFL just organize to divert their site to here?

It seems to me that the competition is in turmoil and it hasn't even started yet. Having been involved in local footy for a while, I'd suggest there will be several clubs on the brink of extinction due to the proposed divisional structure. From what I hear, some of the "founding clubs" will struggle to have their "firsts" and " ressies" play six or seven matches at the same venue for the year. This makes for hardship due to both player numbers and support numbers. Not to mention a lack of atmosphere at " home games".

Anyway, I look forward to the updates this forum provides.

I heard that the black diamond is looking to change the competition name to incorporate the hunter and coast. I think they should post pone this decision to at least next year.

They don't know the fallout of the competition going divisional one month out from starting. Clubs have not been able to plan, input time and effort into building a stronger club volunteer base. I can see alot of clubs forfeiting matches because they may not have the necessary resources to send out with their split teams to cover the due diligence / minimum requirements on their insurance policies.

Well looks like it is in. And from what I predict is a compeptition full of forfeits and clubs struggling to find their feet. There will be no back up plan for clubs to go to cause let's face it, this has all come out one month prior to the season starting. And one division is already down to five teams (so the rumour is - hope I'm wrong).

Heard Tim Eather is traveling overseas..Kyall Walford and Ryan Barrett are at Sydney Hills Eagles hopefully playing NEAFL and I don't think Tadd Walford will be playing at all due to work

Hey mate, yeah I know Tadd has been working and thats bout it the last couple of years(used to work with his mum) Kyall and Ryan have shown they can cut it at prem level(and kyall has been down south before) so I think they will make the cut(depending on commitment levels and the other talent around).

Big Timmy is travelling?(always thought he was a good target up forward,and would of kicked bagfulls more if in a City/Cardiff side!)
What about his brother(Beather) used to work with brenden and was a very good 18's player(bog in a losing gf if I remember) as I think they need a few of the better players to make an impact(and poss encourage other clubs to follow!!)

Singo not out yet - it will either be LM or Singleton in Premiers depending on presentations to the board and finalising the draw - egotistical bastards

Yeah that is correct(altho I can tell you right now that when the decision is made,unfortunately for Singo it will be them!) Assuming the board want any club playing in the top div to have depth,I can see them choosing the Dockers.

They are based closer to the centre of the comp(their top team will be stronger(with their ins) altho Id like to see them play a game to determine who is the strongest,their 2's are marginally better(Only just I think,and less chance to forfeit/fold) and they are fielding 18's this year(as most in the top grade are).

The only downside to my way of thinking(I was always of the opinion that if you wanted to nominate you could play) I just didnt want teams pushed either up or down,therefore I would let them play as what are the leagues plans for next year?

If they win are they back up and the loser from the top grade goes down?

I've been patiently waiting for the past month for the BDAFL website to give me some information on the draw, clearances and club news! Now I'm a patient man but there is only so much of the 2011 draw, 2011 clearances and Warner's Bay sponsorship news a man can take!!

So I've turned to this forum and have uncovered a wealth of information. Can someone from the BDAFL just organize to divert their site to here?

It seems to me that the competition is in turmoil and it hasn't even started yet. Having been involved in local footy for a while, I'd suggest there will be several clubs on the brink of extinction due to the proposed divisional structure. From what I hear, some of the "founding clubs" will struggle to have their "firsts" and " ressies" play six or seven matches at the same venue for the year. This makes for hardship due to both player numbers and support numbers. Not to mention a lack of atmosphere at " home games".

Anyway, I look forward to the updates this forum provides.

Yeah mate if your looking for news,Id always look here first!! (altho depending on who its from it could be fact or fiction!!)

I heard that the black diamond is looking to change the competition name to incorporate the hunter and coast. I think they should post pone this decision to at least next year.

They don't know the fallout of the competition going divisional one month out from starting. Clubs have not been able to plan, input time and effort into building a stronger club volunteer base. I can see alot of clubs forfeiting matches because they may not have the necessary resources to send out with their split teams to cover the due diligence / minimum requirements on their insurance policies.

Well looks like it is in. And from what I predict is a compeptition full of forfeits and clubs struggling to find their feet. There will be no back up plan for clubs to go to cause let's face it, this has all come out one month prior to the season starting. And one division is already down to five teams (so the rumour is - hope I'm wrong).

Yes it will be a very hard year on most of the clubs(their players,volunteers,etc) but I am a believer that if we can manage to not kill the comp(clubs/teams) this year, that next year and the year after we as a comp will grow with numerous clubs set to join the senior ranks and much more time to implement the draw etc so as to minimise the effect on clubs.

Look at Sydney they manage with a lot more clubs/teams so surely we can get ppl working on our draw

I vote we just play footy.

Has anyone got any news on trial matches or how clubs are travelling?

I think the divisional rubbish has now been done to death, so lets start talking about the interesting stuff.

I've been told the website hasn't changed because someone has forgotten/lost the password

Cheese and Beetroots are playing St George this weekend.
It's interesting that they won't allow any of their players to train or play with the u23s development team - that's probably why a few keys players have walked to Maitland - sick of the egos and tantrums!!