Black Diamond AFL Part 2

hey im new so go easy on me. i heard that terrigal are getting new gurnseys this season. can anyone verify this for me? what will they look like? are they for all grades?

hopefully we do get new qurnseys..we need a bit of a face lift..and hopefully
its still the image the panthers want and not all over coloured and flash..
but we def need new ones as ressies and 18's are still running some old ones with sponsors who arnt sponsoring us anymore haha,..
and welcome back gooley and gussy .its gonna be a great year for all grades at the panthers 09

If I was at Gosford I would be concerned about the number of quality players leaving. Probably 5 of their 10 best from 2008 look to have gone, including their best and fairest and best and fairest runner up. I think they have recruited a very good coach, however the Tigers always seem to lose players who have been there for a while going back for as long as I can remember.
Who do people think is the early favourite for the comp this year? I think Cardiff will be tough to beat again, sounds like they have recruited well, have a point to prove after last year and have a good group of kids coming through. I wouldnt expect too much else to change, maybe Terrigal and Killarney swap spots and Wyong and Gosford swap but apart from that I cant see too much different. Should be an interesting season with the board looking for ways to make the comp closer.

think ur spot on ..cardiff will do very well as usual and ,warners will be looking like one of the teams place well again with,a few new recruits coming there way if im correct(deitz,summers,etc) they played good ,strong footy last year and will be strong again, i think terrigal gaining ,gooley and gus back will lift the spirits this year and hopefully we will be playing good footy and be seen in the top 4 throughout the year..

THe league can't work out who is playing in which grade yet mate, I doubt they will have any idea of a fixture.

Almost every league in NSW has one, but it seems as though the BDAFL doesn't make it a priority.

i got a feeling the league wont release a draw till after the pre-season comp thing that is supposed to be happening

Why do you have this feeling?
It would make sense to have a draw well before the season. Other leagues have a draw and I remember the BDAFL had a draw out before xmas for the last year.

but we def need new ones as ressies and 18's are still running some old ones with sponsors who arnt sponsoring us anymore haha,..
and welcome back gooley and gussy .its gonna be a great year for all grades at the panthers 09

yes that was quite observant playing against the panthers last year that all the players had different jerseys. a club has to have the look of professionalism about themselves and while im not saying Terrigal doesnt it helps the team feeling when they all look the same.

the panthers will be up there for sure this year. any other news of recruits at the panther or other clubs this year???

as for round one well that will be made up on the day wont it??

Why do you have this feeling?
It would make sense to have a draw well before the season. Other leagues have a draw and I remember the BDAFL had a draw out before xmas for the last year.

because they are hopeless...haha..like you said they had a draw out already this time last year, so i figuered that they must be waitig on something to happen, such as certains teams having enough player etc. but that just me im probably comepletley wrong

Would be a great decision for this marina in Rushcutters to employ you with such exceptional grammar...would hate to see your resume. Just trying to decipher your posts gives me a migraine. You remind me of one of those kids who has a lemonade stand, with the e and a spelt backwards....Cute. The 'babes' you get must be of the highest calibre. Moron. Would kill to tear you apart on the paddock, would be worth the lengthy suspension i would pick up for poleaxing you.

Typical westy bogan response I'd expect from someone from "FAR WEST SYDENY". Some of us play footy for the grace of the game. Not to hang out with a bunch of yobos like you on the field, thump guys behind play and then nock back a few OP rums and Woodstock bourbens at the Rooty Hill RSL, wallowing in you own pity cause the engine has siezed on your VK Commodore and your missus is pregnant with your 5th child but its due 2 weeks after the Rudd govingment’s Xmas babybonus.

Stop thinking you some tuff guy enforcer and get a kick mate!

It is my beleif that the Top 4 will be as follows:

Killarney Vale
Cardiff
City
Terrigal

I think those perenial chokers at Warners wont even make the top 4 this season, lack of class and disipline across the park and the addition of a couple of Gosford folk is hardly gonna help the cause.... They will choke yet again.

Also I think all this Terrigal talk is a bit over the top, sure they'll be competitive but all this best player in the league talk etc. ROFL. they'll make the 4 though.

Yeah I aggree with the rest of the board here. I hate it when in Januaray the fixtures aren't up for the season. I am currently wasting my time getting angry about the fact that there are no fixtures.

No jet skiing for me this summer. Nah, no way, been spending too much time refreshing the bdafl.coom.au every 10 mins to see if the updated with the fixture. Thats it, i even had to postpone going to the magic millions this weekend with a mate from my polo club (his old man owns a helicopter and we were going to take it up to the Goldy) cause i wanted to be there to discuss the new fixture with bigfooty guys as soon it was droppped. BDAFL WE ARE NOT IMPRESSED!

In all seriousness though. my suggestion for new bdafl president??

..................Scott Ducker

BAAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

The duckamn... the presidient.... of the league....

HAHAHAHAHA

Imagine the sweeping changes.....

OOHHH that s just too funny now, i think i might have pulled somethying.

hehehhehe, the duckman, what a timeless classic

It is my beleif that the Top 4 will be as follows:

Killarney Vale
Cardiff
City
Terrigal

I think those perenial chokers at Warners wont even make the top 4 this season, lack of class and disipline across the park and the addition of a couple of Gosford folk is hardly gonna help the cause.... They will choke yet again.

Also I think all this Terrigal talk is a bit over the top, sure they'll be competitive but all this best player in the league talk etc. ROFL. they'll make the 4 though.
I think warners will def be in the 4 i think the 4 will be cardiff terrigal warners and city. killareny will def push for the last spot while gosford wyong and the crows will struggle and wont be a team in the top 5.Have any clubs had players from other clubs attend there training sessions yet or got new recruits from out side the league ?

does any1 know who plays who in round 1 and when?

Dont think the draw has even been looked at, however the comp is expected to get underway on 18th April with a 1 day lightning premiership on the 4th. Expect a 16 round comp with each side playing everyone twice and 2 sides 3 times. Will be interesting to see if they go with the last couple of years format of 1v2 3v4 etc for round 1.

They should the GF remach is always a great one to watch.

Will be interesting to see how city manage the GF win as well, alot of sides drop off after winning the premiership.

yes that was quite observant playing against the panthers last year that all the players had different jerseys. a club has to have the look of professionalism about themselves and while im not saying Terrigal doesnt it helps the team feeling when they all look the same.

the panthers will be up there for sure this year. any other news of recruits at the panther or other clubs this year???

as for round one well that will be made up on the day wont it??

Word has it that Chris Gordon is moving back from St George to play in the BDAFL again this season. At the moment he's just trying to decide whether he plays for Lake Macquarie, Killarney Vale, Warners Bay, Gosford, Terrigal, City, Cardiff, Nellie Bay, Singleton or Wyong.

Mick Ryan coaching Cardiff this season??

Some would say he was already coaching them. Roberts had no idea. Must be hard to control the egos at Cardiff but I'm sure the head of the egos will have no problem.

I think whilst he might be one of the more dominant forces in the competition, he has to be one of the most hated for his arrogant, "I'm better than you" approach to footy.

From an outsiders perspective, this seems like a good move. On the field, you cant knock the guy. I'm certainly no cardiff fan, but I've admired his 2nd and 3rd efforts at contests which more often than not result in a goal.

He certainly has a very good squad to draw from which should make this an easier task. Didnt he coach up in the Mackay league back in 2006 anyway?

Any truth to the rumour of young Haines heading over to Maryland?

Just looking on Kombat and the design your own Jersey. The very first one is a jersey with a Panther with the colours of blue, white and black. Would just need to change the blue to red and the Panthers would have an awesome looking jersey.

And talking on big footy doesn't mean you actually know anything about footy.....hahahaha

Gordo will play for warners unless money is involved, as they say money talks...

ladder 2009 Warners
City
Cardiff
Terrigal
K/V
Wyong
Nelsons
Gosford
Lake Maq

True that there are many posters who have some great comments.

2009 Ladder is really too early but based on the comments on here, the Black Diamond Cup is going to the coast. It would be a good thing for footy.

And what fun Bigfooty will be once the season starts when we have the usual belters on here offering their superior wit and charm to the title chances of their club, stating they are the best player in the league when they have nothing and decide to fill this forum with mind numbing crap.

I think the coast sides will improve this year but think that teams are going to work very hard to stop the City and Cardiff domination again.

Not sure...
i think you find the top 4 could be pretty even this year.
City - obviously will gain some new talent but it will be interesting to see how they rebound after winning.. will the drive still be as strong?
Cardiff - have lost some quality players from last year and will need to look to youth for success.
Warners - big plus for warners is the pick up of the gosford boys, + losing barto, + if gordon returns.
Terigal - will be strong with the return of darling and the gong.

Not sure...
i think you find the top 4 could be pretty even this year.
City - obviously will gain some new talent but it will be interesting to see how they rebound after winning.. will the drive still be as strong?
Cardiff - have lost some quality players from last year and will need to look to youth for success.
Warners - big plus for warners is the pick up of the gosford boys, + losing barto, + if gordon returns.
Terigal - will be strong with the return of darling and the gong.

Who have Cardiff lost? Rumoured to have picked up Haynes, M Krake is back & Simpson & McMahon rumoured to return too? :eek:

Cardiff will gain just as many as they lose. Newcomers to the area tend to gravitate to the most succesful club over the past decade.

City, likewise, will pick up just as many players as leave them. They have the best ground in the region and that is a big lure for many newcomers.

I agree with others that these two teams will again be the benchmark in the BDAFL. Any side that can be seriously competitive with them early in the season will be in the hunt come finals time.

The interest surrounding Terrigal and the return of Goolagong is good. He's always been at his best when he gets quick delivery from the middle, though, so I think the Panthers will only be a force if they can increase their depth and ability up the ground as well.

Killarney Vale will also be in the mix but as always it depends on what their finances are like and who they can entice away from other clubs in the BDAFL and Sydney. Never know with them from year to year.