Black Diamond AFL Part 2

Good pics mate! - KEEP EM COMING

Anyone else licking their lips after the weekend at the prospect of a tight season of footy with some really enjoyable contests?
Bring it on, it's gonna be great.
Good to see a team take down Cardiff early in the season - but might be the wake-up call they needed and the rest of the competition dreads!

Terrigal would have to be playing on the tipster's minds as a flag conteneder but it is a long season.

I'll elaborate a little on the game and the umpies..........

The game was a thriller despite the poor skills displayed by players from both sides. Basically it was a pretty sloppy game of footy with Gosford showing the better endeavour at the football and seeming to want the game more than the Bulldogs most of the time. In the end the Doggies got up but probably only due to their better list of players (on paper) and definitely not due to them playing good football.

It's pretty typical of any team losing by two points to want to blame someone other than themselves. I know the Bulldogs would have if the result went the other way. The way I saw it, the free kick was warranted and it was the result of some desperate play by the Warners Bay forwards. What I can't understand is why the Gosford player didn't just rush the ball and get the kick in for his team. Before Gosford talks about umpire error losing them the game (as they were doing) they should look at the mistake riddled performance they displayed themselves.

The Bulldogs should also analyse their own mistakes and lack of discipline before criticising the umpies.

We all know the Umpires Association is struggling for numbers this season and the guys who blow the whistle each weekend are only trying to do their best out there.....just as the players are. Imagine if the umpies got on this forum and started naming players they thought played shithouse. There would be an uproar.

I'm from neither club and most people know who I am and I only watched the 1/2 way in to the third quarter. But from what I saw Warners Bay's more experienced list had nothing to do with it. I don't disagree with the free kick at the end. The young kid (poor fella) had a lot of time to get rid of the thing and he didn't.

Yes they are struggling for numbers but that wally out there on saturday has been a wally umpire for as long as I can remember and you want blokes that are actually capable of blowing a whistle to the rules not at the call of a player. I couldn't count the number of times both teams weren't awarded appropriate free kicks but i do note there were many and that Gosford would have received at least 90% of them if they were paid.

The league needs to look of ways in which it can grow and the umpiring needs serious addressing.

Umpiring in the warners gosford game was pathetic,
one call that was the wrost would have to be when gosford were in possesion of the ball and a warners player was on the mark, the umpire called play on, than the warners player ran toward the gosford player and was called for infringing the mark and a 50m penalty was awarded to gossy! :confused::confused::confused:

I'm from neither club and most people know who I am and I only watched the 1/2 way in to the third quarter. But from what I saw Warners Bay's more experienced list had nothing to do with it. I don't disagree with the free kick at the end. The young kid (poor fella) had a lot of time to get rid of the thing and he didn't.

Yes they are struggling for numbers but that wally out there on saturday has been a wally umpire for as long as I can remember and you want blokes that are actually capable of blowing a whistle to the rules not at the call of a player. I couldn't count the number of times both teams weren't awarded appropriate free kicks but i do note there were many and that Gosford would have received at least 90% of them if they were paid.

The league needs to look of ways in which it can grow and the umpiring needs serious addressing.

Cheers mate. I don't know who you are but you are obviously good mates with the guy who was keeping stats on the umpiring errors!

You seem to have a heap of knowledge of the game and, as you were only watching on Saturday, a heap of free time as well...........how about putting your hand up to umpire?

I'm not saying the umpiring was good on Saturday but its as good as we're going to get most weeks so lets stop bitching about it and look at ways to win footy games instead of blaming the umpies.

Well tipped........how do you go in your work footy tipping comp?
mate i get perfect scores every week haha..looks like terrigal are going to be in the mix this year great to see central coast teams starting well and beating the more dominant newcastle teams...hopefuly the comp stays this close all year..

We all know the Umpires Association is struggling for numbers this season and the guys who blow the whistle each weekend are only trying to do their best out there.....just as the players are. Imagine if the umpies got on this forum and started naming players they thought played shithouse. There would be an uproar.[/quote]

Yes there would be. But wouldn't we hear some ripping yarns!!!

Cheers mate. I don't know who you are but you are obviously good mates with the guy who was keeping stats on the umpiring errors!

You seem to have a heap of knowledge of the game and, as you were only watching on Saturday, a heap of free time as well...........how about putting your hand up to umpire?

I'm not saying the umpiring was good on Saturday but its as good as we're going to get most weeks so lets stop bitching about it and look at ways to win footy games instead of blaming the umpies.

I play just not up here. thats why i caught the last have. I agree with you to there aint guna be much improvement.

only natural to want to vent after seeing some poor decisions and everyone is entitled to do so but the bottom line is an umpire of questionable ability is better than no umpire and no game. It's scary to think that in just a few short years the umpiring stocks have depleted to the state they are in now.

The current stock of umpires and any club umpires that step up to allow the games to go ahead deserve to be treated with the utmost respect both on and off the field. The younger generation of umpires and potential umpires need to be encouraged to want to step up and get to senior umpire level and not witness constant umpire abuse on game day.

It's pretty sad that the league isnt in a strong enough to allow the supporters, players and officials to give the umpies a good ear bashing when they think they've been hard done by like the good old days.....but I think that's the reality at the moment. Umpiring could be a pretty solitarie experience I'd imagine...there's not 22 other blokes + supporters and coaches to pat you on the back.....

Does anyone know why the Newcastle V Gosford games are on Sunday this weekend? I heard it was because there was soccer on at No 1 on Saturday. I think they are trying to get it moved back to Saturday. Does anyone have any info?

I cant help you answer your question there tiges, not that i dont care (Idont) it juts that i got heaps going on to. Like this charity reggatta that im trying to distinguish who will be the main benerfisheries.

Got plenty on finacal backers (even chiping in a modest amount myself;)) but the main charity organisations are super keen to meat in person this saturday andn obviously have nmever herd of a video conffernce lol!

speaking of which im currently in the process of tabling an offer to bdafl for some kind of investmnt and scolarshiop scheme to "train and retain" umpires in the reqion. Look ill be honest it upsets me when all the gargabe on hear constanty bags out the umps cause with out them we wont have agame. they are doing the best they can.

A bit of encourgenmtent wouldnt6 go astray. At the very least stop mentioning everytime someone reviews a game cause its thwe same people complianing that its the umps who are tryuing to make big names for them selves! Im shore the umps want nothing less than a good game played to the laws where they are recognised as the reasion team A or B lost.

I thought all games were on Mother's Day like last year.
Is this not the case?

The only reason I can think why they would do this is to keep people guessing as to when they play footy every week!

If they are trying to move it to Saturday then they better hurry up, some people tend to have lives outside of footy that they can't just put on hold at four day's notice!

All games should be on saturady every week forever more!

I thought all games were on Mother's Day like last year.
Is this not the case?

The only reason I can think why they would do this is to keep people guessing as to when they play footy every week!

If they are trying to move it to Saturday then they better hurry up, some people tend to have lives outside of footy that they can't just put on hold at four day's notice!

All games should be on saturady every week forever more!

Would any BDAFL administrator who uses this forum like to explain the logic around putting games on Mothers Day?

I cant help you answer your question there tiges, not that i dont care (Idont) it juts that i got heaps going on to. Like this charity reggatta that im trying to distinguish who will be the main benerfisheries.

Got plenty on finacal backers (even chiping in a modest amount myself;)) but the main charity organisations are super keen to meat in person this saturday andn obviously have nmever herd of a video conffernce lol!

speaking of which im currently in the process of tabling an offer to bdafl for some kind of investmnt and scolarshiop scheme to "train and retain" umpires in the reqion. Look ill be honest it upsets me when all the gargabe on hear constanty bags out the umps cause with out them we wont have agame. they are doing the best they can.

A bit of encourgenmtent wouldnt6 go astray. At the very least stop mentioning everytime someone reviews a game cause its thwe same people complianing that its the umps who are tryuing to make big names for them selves! Im shore the umps want nothing less than a good game played to the laws where they are recognised as the reasion team A or B lost.

what the????? you dont make sence and talk crap...

I think the original reason behind the games on Sunday was because the 18s rep side was meant to be playing in Coffs this weekend. With the game getting called off that has obviously left Saturday as an option which Killarney and Cardiff have got on board with. With the other clubs dont know if ground availability was an issue or not. Id say it probably would have been a reason behind clubs not changing back to Saturday.

I see a few people have bagged one of the umpires who did the Gosford/Warners Bay game. I was up from Melbourne and watched the game. In defence of this umpire, I'd like to point a few things out.

The 50 meter penalty: The umpire blew his whistle and had NOT called play on when the player moved off the mark. Therefor a 50 is the right call. Players have to wait til the ump actually says "play on"

He also paid a couple of other 50s during the game. This was due to swearing. I was on the sideline and clearly heard players use the "F" word towards him. He only paid 50s. He SHOULD have reported players instead. This comes under rule 19.2.2(c). By not reporting, I think he did both teams a favour.

Since when is it okay to swear at anyone. Just because they are umpires doesn't give people the right to swear at them.

Try a game without umpires.:cool:

Hi Skinner,
In response to your post, I was also at the Warners/Gosford which may I add was a very entertaining spectacle.
We were seated on the hill right next to where that 50m penalty was paid. The umpire in question did clearly call play on, and when the man on the mark moved forward he paid a 50m. We all thought it was hilarious, especially considering it favoured our team. I believe it was a simple brain fade by the umpy and no more. Can happen to anyone. There were some interesting decisions made in the game (it went both ways), but that is footy and we should move on. It was great to see some close games on the weekend. I think everyone has been hanging for this to happen for many seasons.

The 50 meter penalty: The umpire blew his whistle and had NOT called play on when the player moved off the mark. Therefor a 50 is the right call. Players have to wait til the ump actually says "play on"

No the 50m penalty was called clearly after the umpy called play on, therefore there should have been no 50m penalty, and this player did wait unitl the ump said "play on" but was called upon for infringing the mark :thumbsdown:

Before we all end up with a coulda shoulda woulda senario. The 50m was paid correctly as the call for play on had not been made. I was on the boundry line taking photos close to where this decision was made. The player whom infringed over the mark had made an error which is one that occurs regulary in our game. There are 2 calls an umpire makes after a mark has been taken. One is a play-on call, but about 2-3 seconds before this is the move-it-on call. This is a warning to the player that they are running out of time. Both calls can sound very similar during the heat of battle in the game with all the noise that occurs from the game but in the area that this free occurred there is also road noise from the traffic alongside the ground. The player infringed by moving toward the player on the warning call hence the 50m. A simple and easy mistake. Maybe the AFL needs to change the wording on how the warning call is made??

Getting in early with my tips

Cardiff over KV but they were impressive beating City with 4 top players out, dont know if they are back this week.Consistency KV problem

City to beat Gos, the Tigers might stay with them for a while but City will
be determined for a win after losing to KV last week and Car in 1st game

Warners will beat Wyong, by how much is anyone's guess, they have been
prob the dissapointment so far but wont let this game slip and will look for
a big win.

Mac V Terr, Congrats to Macquarie on their 1st win last week, and they did compete in patches against City, but Terr are switched on and should
win big.

It was good to see close games in all 1st grade last week but this week
could have some blowouts!

I only wish the AFL was more predictable Noodles.....I'd make more $$$ then.

You're tips are of course given results for the weekend really. Perhaps KV can give cardiff a big shake.....then again....

Will agree with Warners Bay....WTF is happening down there? I havent seen them play yet this year so I cant accurately comment on their form but for their sake, glad its round 3.....

I think some thrashings are in order this weekend unfortunately.
Cardiff vs Killarney Vale and Newcastle City vs Gosford will be reasonably close considering City's drop in form this season.
I wonder who got selected for the Rep game? Better be a more balanced line up than the rabble that shamed us last season.

2009 Black Diamond AFLRepresentative Squad

Ben Stewart Cardiff Ryan Barrett Gosford
Cameron Clark Cardiff Tadd Walford Gosford
Cameron Jones Cardiff Andrew Weymer Lake Macquarie
Jacob Dawes Cardiff Dave O'Donnell Lake Macquarie
Liam Gibson Cardiff Matthew Hodge Lake Macquarie
Michael Krake Cardiff Angus Darling Terrigal Avoca
Michael Ryan Cardiff Cam Grentell Terrigal Avoca
Tim Sheldon Cardiff Chris Bishop Terrigal Avoca
Corey Shackleton KV Ed Sullivan Terrigal Avoca
Dane Amidy KV James Polglase Terrigal Avoca
Pat Schell KV Jayson Van Dam Terrigal Avoca
Rick White KV Matthew Cilia Terrigal Avoca
Tim Snelling KV Peter Van Dam Terrigal Avoca
Anthony Stewart City Ryan Webster Terrigal Avoca
Courtney Knight City Ben Jones Warners Bay
Ian Baker City Dean Crotty Warners Bay
Josh Nesbitt City James Newburn Warners Bay
Josh Wheeler City Josh Molan Warners Bay
Luke Rawnsley City Michael May Warners Bay
Mark Wheeler City Ryan Sorenson Warners Bay
Mitchell Knight City Chris Koop-Folkes Wyong Lakes
Tom Hunt City Justin McPhan Wyong Lakes
Sam Brasington Singleton Zach Manley Wyong Lakes

2009 Black Diamond AFLRepresentative Squad

Ben Stewart Cardiff Ryan Barrett Gosford
Cameron Clark Cardiff Tadd Walford Gosford
Cameron Jones Cardiff Andrew Weymer Lake Macquarie
Jacob Dawes Cardiff Dave O'Donnell Lake Macquarie
Liam Gibson Cardiff Matthew Hodge Lake Macquarie
Michael Krake Cardiff Angus Darling Terrigal Avoca
Michael Ryan Cardiff Cam Grentell Terrigal Avoca
Tim Sheldon Cardiff Chris Bishop Terrigal Avoca
Corey Shackleton KV Ed Sullivan Terrigal Avoca
Dane Amidy KV James Polglase Terrigal Avoca
Pat Schell KV Jayson Van Dam Terrigal Avoca
Rick White KV Matthew Cilia Terrigal Avoca
Tim Snelling KV Peter Van Dam Terrigal Avoca
Anthony Stewart City Ryan Webster Terrigal Avoca
Courtney Knight City Ben Jones Warners Bay
Ian Baker City Dean Crotty Warners Bay
Josh Nesbitt City James Newburn Warners Bay
Josh Wheeler City Josh Molan Warners Bay
Luke Rawnsley City Michael May Warners Bay
Mark Wheeler City Ryan Sorenson Warners Bay
Mitchell Knight City Chris Koop-Folkes Wyong Lakes
Tom Hunt City Justin McPhan Wyong Lakes
Sam Brasington Singleton Zach Manley Wyong Lakes

there is a few names up there.... anyone who played 1sts and wasnt selected must be feeling pretty gutted cos pretty much the rest of their team was selected

its funny though because city have only won 1 game and get 8 players yet kv have won 3 from 3 and only get 5..i have no idea how they pick the teams...good to see they still have sam brassington in the team even though singo dont have a first grade team..