Black Diamond AFL

I have read your posts and agree nowhere did you call into question anyone's integrity. You were making an observation of what could happen. examples in recent history of it occuring were the Grandlands/ Killarney era, currently the Walford/ Gosford. People will naturally think and accuse people of bias if they are involved in a club in some way.

I haven't heard of anyone accusing gosford committee members of being biased? If they are deliberatley acting in a way to benefit the club, they aren't doing it very well... I doubt the tigers would be conspiring to lose every week?

Since its an allegation and not a fact, I'll spell it out very slowly.

1. Look at the Cardiff website, I am sure you know where that is.
2. Under committee.
3. See his name.

Committee member, slow enough for you ?

If he wants an independant job, resign so people dont put shit on him.

If you are capable of reading my posts, I never questioned his integrity, just said that others would whilst he held the club position.[/quote]

As Northern Swan said, His name may be there but he is not a mover and shaker on the committee, As I said and im going to spell this out really fast, get your facts right before you disrespect someone who has done a lot for football in this area. Im sure he would not care anyway if some donkey like you put #$%@ on him anyways you goose.

Swan12, welcome to the world of the forum. People read into your posts what they want to see, not what is actually posted hence it creates an arguement of whosaidwhat and howdidtheysayit. I have read your posts and agree nowhere did you call into question anyone's integrity. You were making an observation of what could happen. examples in recent history of it occuring were the Grandlands/ Killarney era, currently the Walford/ Gosford. People will naturally think and accuse people of bias if they are involved in a club in some way. So easiest way is to take that avenue for conjecture away and not be involved in a club admin side if you hold a League or offical title.

Why should he resign just please the likes of yourself. Why do you think anyone would care about your opinion on things that you could possibly think they will resign because of what some nufty on big footy thinks.

HUH? What are you talking about? I haven't said anyone should or have to resign? Explain what you getting at?

Since its an allegation and not a fact, I'll spell it out very slowly.

1. Look at the Cardiff website, I am sure you know where that is.
2. Under committee.
3. See his name.

Committee member, slow enough for you ?

If he wants an independant job, resign so people dont put shit on him.

If you are capable of reading my posts, I never questioned his integrity, just said that others would whilst he held the club position.[/quote]

As Northern Swan said, His name may be there but he is not a mover and shaker on the committee, As I said and im going to spell this out really fast, get your facts right before you disrespect someone who has done a lot for football in this area. Im sure he would not care anyway if some donkey like you put #$%@ on him anyways you goose.

You are obviously very slow mate, he is listed on your committee list,

Thats a fact.

I wont get into personal abuse mate, I'll leave that crap to people like yourself. Its a forum and anyone who posts on here can say what they like, but I am not going to debate something that hopefully wont happen anyway as the guy doing the job, is well credentialled and very experienced, so lets not alienate one of the few guys that actually knows what he is doing.

My only point is and was that Umpiring is about transparency (better get the dictionary out for that one, as you dont even seem to know what a fact actually is), an umpire must be seen to be arms length from ALL clubs.

Thats a fact.

I wont get into personal abuse mate, I'll leave that crap to people like yourself. Its a forum and anyone who posts on here can say what they like, but I am not going to debate something that hopefully wont happen anyway as the guy doing the job, is well credentialled and very experienced, so lets not alienate one of the few guys that actually knows what he is doing.

My only point is and was that Umpiring is about transparency (better get the dictionary out for that one, as you dont even seem to know what a fact actually is), an umpire must be seen to be arms length from ALL clubs.

Hey sheeds the martians have landed:eek:, see above

Thats a fact.

Hey Swans12, most of the forum know what point your trying to make. Don't think he knows what he is dribbling at. Would waste any more time on it.

Hahahaha Usingtheexcuses. Looking for friends on the Big Footy Forum now. :thumbsdown:

So anyway Usingtheforce (If that is your real name!), If you were a character from Star Wars, I'd reckon you'd probably be this one:

extra-c3po.jpg

Is there a certain burger around here that would like to back me up?? :rolleyes:

In regards to the postings on this site about the Gulf between teams and just thought I'd share a bit of my own thinking.

"Success is a journey not a destination."
- Ben Sweetland

The other day I received an e-mail from a Player thanking me for pointing out the mistakes to watch out for as we strive to establish a successful Club, however he feels I have not offered enough positive guidelines to be successful. Rightfully so. A topic I have been wishing to write about for sometime. Thus, I will write about the ever-popular topic "how to be successful".

Drawing from my personal experiences as a Football Official as well as my research having analysed dozens of books, papers and reports on success
some worthwhile others destined to oblivion- I have discovered a common thread of some "pretty good advice" I think you will find helpful and rewarding for most clubs.

To start with, many think success in life or sport is luck
and it may be for some, but not for most. Most students of sports success believe "getting what you want out of life" is 90 per cent you and 10 per cent luck. Most feel success within a club is a cultivated habit if you wish it to be. Failure and despondency are also learned patterns of behavior-and not enjoyable ones.

What is success? It is achieving what ever we wish to accomplish in a football club. It does not have to be money prestige or power- a successful Club is building the kind of Club you wish- "smelling the roses" and enjoying the many pleasures of daily sporting activities. Regardless of your circumstances, it is possible to be thankful for the club itself. We can always strive to build a "better club" the only one saying no is ourselves. As we can employ our talents to reap benefits, we too often use the same talents to make our clubs miserable. A simple example of self-induced misery is envy-it stills the pleasures of who we are and what we have.

I believe we all can enjoy successful Clubs. But, why are some successful and others not? Yet, most want the trappings of success- the money, the luxury, style, the power and the recognition. For those that inherit position and success, the externals of success are present, but real success is not. Success in my opinion is accomplishment, whatever that accomplishment may be. Clubs who are enjoying the fruits of their efforts agree that success in sport requires skill, resources, and positive behavior. Is success all hard work? No, many who work with great effort find success eluding them. Is it charm and personality? It may be for some, and it may be short lived.

Can every club be successful? To some extent yes- as true success means a club bringing a sense of satisfaction, premierships and well being, Celebrity status or riches may be success or it may be luck not bestowed on all who strive for such.

Do you have to have special talent to be successful-it helps, but it is not a prerequisite. The prerequisite is you and your approach to the club. Some psychologists say we have a choice to be positive about our club or be miserable. I think there some truth to such claims; unfortunately, many do not realize the choice is available to themselves.

Wyong 2's forfeiting as are Nelson Bay!! Shame if true as they near the end of the season!!:(

Im hoping to keep Cardiff under 400!!!:D

The NELSON BAY forfeiture is true. We received notification at 7am from the coach. Very sad situation that they are in and I doubt that they will play too many more games away from home in the near future this season.

Thought so, I think they were ringing the boss about the same time as us last nite!!
The league needs to do something if they want the Bay around next year.
I know its a pain splitting the draw but surely they cant survive in 1's.
Let them play in the 2's and maybe build they only gonna lose more players like this

Between them and Port they have 2 10's teams,a 12's sitting 3rd, a 14's sitting 3rd and their combined 16's sitting 3rd!!

Not bad so make them get an 18's next year and drop from 1's to 2's!!

Just my opinion..... Noodles:D

Last year Nelson Bay asked Warners for some players so they could make a game of it. Warners gave them 4 players, but the umpires knocked it on the head and said both teams would lose if played on that basis. I reckon for the sake of the game and the struggling footy players at NB, who like all of us are out there to enjoy our great game we need to be flexible and allow this.

Keeping the Bay alive so they can turn the tide is more important than pedantic (in this instance) rule adherence. I'm not having a go at the umps, they have to go by the rules. The board should give a limited exemption for this year so all the clubs can play out the games.

Last year Nelson Bay asked Warners for some players so they could make a game of it. Warners gave them 4 players, but the umpires knocked it on the head and said both teams would lose if played on that basis. I reckon for the sake of the game and the struggling footy players at NB, who like all of us are out there to enjoy our great game we need to be flexible and allow this.

Keeping the Bay alive so they can turn the tide is more important than pedantic (in this instance) rule adherence. I'm not having a go at the umps, they have to go by the rules. The board should give a limited exemption for this year so all the clubs can play out the games.

Agree mate, Don't they do it in juniors? I cant understand why the league/board or whoever cant make exceptions or even change the rules to help clubs out.

Didn't realise that Warners did that-good for the game(and then everyone gets a game) Nelly rang and nearly forfeited against us and I said if it meant getting a game that weekend I would of played for them!!!

As i said many posts ago, we ars heading towards a 6 team compif nothing done!!!:(

Gotta reply to this.
What are we playing here, junior footy? These clubs apply to play in a senior competition and as such an amateur (some may say semi-pro, I don't) football league. I feel sorry for Nelson Bay because my father-in-law played for them and remembers the good days but if a club is struggling as badly as they obviously are, then the league probably should have given them the reserve grade option like Singleton got. You are playing in the premier AFL competition in Newcastle / Central Coast so we can't be seen to be "doing favours" for the clubs who aren't going well. Having said all that, I understand your sentiments completely.

Secondly, if that reporter bloke umpired with us, he (1) hasn't trained with us all year and (2) hasn't umpired a match with us all year. So unless he's under an assumed alias than NO, he's not umpiring with us.

Good luck to all this weekend.

Gotta reply to this.
What are we playing here, junior footy? These clubs apply to play in a senior competition and as such an amateur (some may say semi-pro, I don't) football league. I feel sorry for Nelson Bay because my father-in-law played for them and remembers the good days but if a club is struggling as badly as they obviously are, then the league probably should have given them the reserve grade option like Singleton got. You are playing in the premier AFL competition in Newcastle / Central Coast so we can't be seen to be "doing favours" for the clubs who aren't going well. Having said all that, I understand your sentiments completely.

Secondly, if that reporter bloke umpired with us, he (1) hasn't trained with us all year and (2) hasn't umpired a match with us all year. So unless he's under an assumed alias than NO, he's not umpiring with us.

Agree,

Although the Bay were keen to take up an offer from the league to amalgamate for want of a better word with Singleton and initially Singo were thrown out as they wouldn't feild firsts.

They should be play twos next season and then twos and 18's the season after as they are realistically 3 years from getting their kids through to the senior level.

The league needs to be flexible and show some compassion as clubs demographics change etc.

I know this comment will have the Hawks supporters all over it, but just prior to the BDAFL, they were struggling and were forfeiting games, and were premiers 2 years later through introduction of juniors, a good coach and some good recruits. It can be a cycle so lets work with those struggling and not throw them to the kerb the first sign of trouble.

The struggling clubs need a written plan and work towards solving their problems.

Nelson Bay
1.One grade 1sts or Reserves in 2009, up to them,
2.18's in 2010.

Singleton
1. Approach the struggling Muswellbrook club.
2. Continue with 18's and juniors as is
3. Firsts or reserves as numbers look after investigating 1.

Wyong
1. One grade 1sts or reserves in 2009
2. Continue with 18's and Juniors as is.

My thoughts only.

Gotta reply to this.

Its not about you Borg,
Its about the players,
Get around us!!!!!

Agree mate, Don't they do it in juniors? I cant understand why the league/board or whoever cant make exceptions or even change the rules to help clubs out.

Didn't realise that Warners did that-good for the game(and then everyone gets a game) Nelly rang and nearly forfeited against us and I said if it meant getting a game that weekend I would of played for them!!!

As i said many posts ago, we ars heading towards a 6 team compif nothing done!!!:(

The decision to forfeit was not taken lightly. The club, the coach and those blokes giving it a go are highly embarrassed to forfeit. Part of the problem is that yes we do rely on a number of RAAF players and this weekend a number of them are not available. The GM was informed at approximately 7pm last night. As a matter of courtesy to both the Terrigal Club and the umpires the last thing we wanted was to turn up on Saturday and say sorry folks we don’t have the numbers and can’t play. In the last few weeks we have had blokes the wrong side of forty playing.

A number of people around the club are busting their guts to keep the club alive. The recent Past and present night was a great success. However everyone realizes that although it is great to celebrate the 4 flags in the 90’s and living in the past does not help the future.

In regards to the juniors, Nelson Bay juniors have grown from 84 players last year to 110 in 2008. Unfortunately the growth has been in the younger age groups. We have a combined under 16’s side with Port Stephens called the Northern Sharks that has plenty of potential. Unfortunately more under 15 than 16’s playing. Both clubs are working hard to enable a working relationship for this is the future of Nelson Bay (Port Stephens!) Seniors

In regards to juniors:
To have 4 out of only 7 selected AFL Under 14 and 15 Academy players (3 from Port and 1 from Nelson Bay) from the Hunter Region is promising for Senior Football in the area. Provided we can keep them. Already the wolves are out encouraging better junior and senior players to go to Newcastle based clubs. For the benefit of Nelson Bay Seniors and the competition in general “please.. please” hands off.

Agree with other postings the club must have 18’s next year and hopefully fall back to Reserve garde. However Can’t see the 18’s side being any where near competitive with possibly 4 true under 18’s rest Under17’s and under 16’s. Likely to struggle against sides like Cardiff and City. ?? If you where a player why would you! In regards to Reserve grade hopefully we can keep the quality 1st grade players….

We have to do something……………………

The bottom line is that the club must remain upbeat and hopefully receive the support from the BDAFL to plan to move on.

Agree,

Although the Bay were keen to take up an offer from the league to amalgamate for want of a better word with Singleton and initially Singo were thrown out as they wouldn't feild firsts.

They should be play twos next season and then twos and 18's the season after as they are realistically 3 years from getting their kids through to the senior level.

The league needs to be flexible and show some compassion as clubs demographics change etc.

I know this comment will have the Hawks supporters all over it, but just prior to the BDAFL, they were struggling and were forfeiting games, and were premiers 2 years later through introduction of juniors, a good coach and some good recruits. It can be a cycle so lets work with those struggling and not throw them to the kerb the first sign of trouble.

The struggling clubs need a written plan and work towards solving their problems.

Nelson Bay
1.One grade 1sts or Reserves in 2009, up to them,
2.18's in 2010.

Singleton
1. Approach the struggling Muswellbrook club.
2. Continue with 18's and juniors as is
3. Firsts or reserves as numbers look after investigating 1.

Wyong
1. One grade 1sts or reserves in 2009
2. Continue with 18's and Juniors as is.

My thoughts only.

It does look pretty bad for those clubs you mention, your idea of having just 1 firsts or ressies team is good. There is no way these clubs at this moment can sustain two senior teams. I dont think Singo should be included in first grade even if they do join with the brook.

Cardiff was getting pumped by just as much as these teams back in 1996 and came close to folding. Fortunately they didnt but that is a long time ago. The main way to turnaround a club is to get things right off the field first. You need a solid committee & president before you can create any plan to get back on track. I think you'll find with these clubs that are struggling is that too much is left to to few off the field. That seems to be the trend with failing clubs. I'm no expert on fixing it though? it's a very hard task to find a committee and president at the best of times.