Black Diamond AFL

Manatwork, yeah that sounds like him but not 100% as for the rumours re 1st grade the league put out some news bout a month ago and mentioned the Bay and Wyong.
Wyong AGM held during the week and they are apllying for all three grades- their 18's should be pretty strong if I hear correctly, if any grade dropped i would think it would be the 2's as it was a big ask this year.
I believe the Bay prob want to drop down to 2's and maybe rebuild with 18's side this/next year but it should be up to them as no team yet has been able to step up from 2's Wyong, Crows etc
As for Singleton, I knew they were looking into 1st grade but thought it was dependent on merger with the Cats and prob not till next year ( my source was a while ago tho )
You missed out the Crows are they not the 7th team?;)

6 - 7 teams really isn't that much of a big deal to be honest because it still only means 3 games a week. But i have forgotten Crows. They seemed to forget they were a football club after about halfway too!!!

Yeah agree, it makes no difference. I think 8 teams (4 games would be ideal) is the way to go but dont no who can step up?
Anyone got any info from the planning day? The web states that Granny and co have been re-appointed, he has a lot of passion and experience for footy so I think its a good move. They say they will let us know in a few days the rest of the announcements, I suppose the main one would be the make up of the comp if they made a decision!

All this talk of money sounds great, but I liken it to a honeymoon, it seems great at first, but the reality will sink in soon enough.

Great to see clubs like the Crows making an effort, but a few of my observations about struggling clubs and also player payments.

1. When struggling, the thing you need is some skilled players and heaps of them.

2. Most clubs really flog their players when they struggle with doubling up commonplace, which results in a large turnover. How many are coming back next year for what might be more of the same?

3. As far as the coin is concerned, most clubs pay their coaches and assistants, so if they are going to be coaching they will get $$ at any club, why wont they try and chase a successful one?

4. It takes alot of recruits to turn around 300 points.

Not having a shot, just reflecting on my own experiences.

Agree swans, The struggling clubs need to try something and good on tham if they do have some cash, but they need to buy half a team and with the amounts iv heard they are offering they will be lucky to get three.
I still believe these clubs should look at combining (at least in the top grade) keeping their identity in the lower grades and working on a 3-5 year plan to gradually improve.
As you say it takes a lot to turn around 300/400 points, and some success would bring players in

To be fair on Chook Free and the Sydney boys, they were all on the piss on the saturday night after winning their division at the country champs, seeing some of the pics and knowing who was injured that day, they were never going to challenge the Hume in their condition, perhaps they could've had a dig in a proper state.
He is a good coach, and in his playing days was a fierce competitor, win at all costs. I played against him for Nor-West against South-West at Rosedale about 6 or 7 years ago, tackled him from behind, and was roshamboed for my efforts (for those that don't watch South Park, i was kicked in the cods) miserable thing to do, but it won him the game, as i had kicked 5 to that point!

the weaker clubs dont need as many stars as you think. Everyone thinks that becasue its a quick fix to the problem.

Personally from playing in a stronger side, weaker teams need to get serious about training and doing more than just tuesday thursday. the strong sides are doing this and thats why there on top. The majority of sides can stick with the top sides for a quarter/half if there lucky, but then the influential players are spent, get a whole team super fit and that will make more of a difference.

the weaker clubs dont need as many stars as you think. Everyone thinks that becasue its a quick fix to the problem.

Personally from playing in a stronger side, weaker teams need to get serious about training and doing more than just tuesday thursday. the strong sides are doing this and thats why there on top. The majority of sides can stick with the top sides for a quarter/half if there lucky, but then the influential players are spent, get a whole team super fit and that will make more of a difference.

Agree to an extent, fitness will help, but depth, injuries etc are also a factor that sets the top 4 from the bottom 4.

From my experience having the cattle always makes a difference in this league.

Whetever happens I guess the league will let us know after todays meeting, but they take their time so we may have to find out ourselves
cheers Noodles
Some good news from the BDAFL - SHERRINS ARE BACK - the league will be changing over to the Sherrin brand of footballsin 2009

well good to see the league finally has caught on that burleys are crap and a rumour i have heard is that maquarie have money to burn but are wasting on getting players like gordo formaly with the dogs but left after disgracing the club and its officals, good choice by the way gordo get payed shit all a week to be smashed by 400 and do all the work,other rumour ive heard from down south the pussy cats (gosford) are broke thanks to mismanagment from the club executieves good luck to finishing just out of the finals again

Great to see the real footballs will be back in 09. What is it today and us as players wanting to be paid?????? I disagree clubs shouldn't be shopping around. Ask yourself this, isn't footy a hobbie/interest that you have a kick and a run around with mates? strangly thats how i think it was first started as. For a club to spend $100's or $1000s on players in attempt to win a flag is a joke. What prizemoney do we play for in the BDAFL? None, all we play for are bragging rights. Gone are the days of having a kick with your mates and sharing a beer afterwards.

Another point is we talk about weaker clubs and stronger clubs. Money can'y buy you success or a flag. Maybe the players who are chasing money to play should help out the weaker clubs for no payments. If i was a half descent senior player and was unhappy with my current club i would be more satisfied in helping a struggling club progress from cellar dwellars to top 4 material than accepting payments to play a game of footy, a leisure activity i choose to participate in!!!

I'm sure there wil be many various opinions about this topic!!!!!!!!!!

well good to see the league finally has caught on that burleys are crap and a rumour i have heard is that maquarie have money to burn but are wasting on getting players like gordo formaly with the dogs but left after disgracing the club and its officals, good choice by the way gordo get payed shit all a week to be smashed by 400 and do all the work,other rumour ive heard from down south the pussy cats (gosford) are broke thanks to mismanagment from the club executieves good luck to finishing just out of the finals again

Now, I haven't spoken to Gordo in a couple of weeks, but this is the first I've heard about him going to the crows...Not sure how accurate these sources are. If anybody from the Bay can confirm this, that would be great, but I'm really doubting that Gordo will head to Teralba...

I believe you are spot on with this rumor. After speaking to one of their new board members on Saturday I also believe a number of key players are looking to go with one already confirmed moving to Sandringham despite a new coach being appointed. Sounds like he really will have his work cut out for him as we all know there isnt much there apart from K. Walford, Deitz, Eather and Church

Great to see the real footballs will be back in 09. What is it today and us as players wanting to be paid?????? I disagree clubs shouldn't be shopping around. Ask yourself this, isn't footy a hobbie/interest that you have a kick and a run around with mates? strangly thats how i think it was first started as. For a club to spend $100's or $1000s on players in attempt to win a flag is a joke. What prizemoney do we play for in the BDAFL? None, all we play for are bragging rights. Gone are the days of having a kick with your mates and sharing a beer afterwards.

Another point is we talk about weaker clubs and stronger clubs. Money can'y buy you success or a flag. Maybe the players who are chasing money to play should help out the weaker clubs for no payments. If i was a half descent senior player and was unhappy with my current club i would be more satisfied in helping a struggling club progress from cellar dwellars to top 4 material than accepting payments to play a game of footy, a leisure activity i choose to participate in!!!

I'm sure there wil be many various opinions about this topic!!!!!!!!!!

I agree that this is a lower standard of competition and I dont know what it is like socially off the field, but if players can get paid to play/coach good luck to them!

Who really cares if the coaches or players are paid? I reckon good on the Crows for offering some coin. Every other club at the very minimum pays their senior coach. At least they are working on a plan to become more competitive, and that’s what this league needs. About time a struggling club is showing some initiative. Pity Nelson Bay and Woy Woy didn’t do the same.

Cheers Noodles. Just got a new role with the AFL in Sydney so ill be down there next year. Might still have a kick in the 2s with the Bay but if i get the time. If people want to have pot shots I couldnt care less. If thats what gets them off good luck to them. They havent got the guts to at least name themselves so it shows how courageous they really are.
Thats my last post on here anyway.

mission-accomplished.jpg

There's been rumours for years that Ryan and Flynn were on performance based contracts. Whether it's true or not will be a mystery forever, but players around the traps do get paid.

:D:rolleyes::D

Ryan and Flynn never got paid a cent by the Cardiff Footy club.

Ever.

End of

I believe you are spot on with this rumor. After speaking to one of their new board members on Saturday I also believe a number of key players are looking to go with one already confirmed moving to Sandringham despite a new coach being appointed. Sounds like he really will have his work cut out for him as we all know there isnt much there apart from K. Walford, Deitz, Eather and Church

So what about players like Ben Lester, Matt White, Ben Youlten to name a few? Are they not up to scratch?

It is no secret that Kyall is off to Sandringham and good luck to him. He is a quality player with the ability to go a long way in the game.

So what about players like Ben Lester, Matt White, Ben Youlten to name a few? Are they not up to scratch?

It is no secret that Kyall is off to Sandringham and good luck to him. He is a quality player with the ability to go a long way in the game.

Does this feel like groundhog day to anyone else?
Different name, same agenda.... Usingtheforce lives on.

,other rumour ive heard from down south the pussy cats (gosford) are broke thanks to mismanagment from the club executieves

Dont know about broke, but for what it's worth, I heard that there were some interseting facts in the annual financial statement.

It will be sad to see Deitzy leave as his mail is always pretty good.

As for SS Jumbo, you've accomplished nothing you tool, he probably isn't allowed to post in his new position with the AFL.

Mate you have posted 35 times and you could fit anything useful you have said on the back of a postage stamp.

I'm sure we will see another of your idiotic replies, but like always we will move on to other things football and hope you eventually disappear.

Hey boys first post... good to be here... Sorry Noodles and Yesterdayhero but I'm going to have to pour cold water on info about Gordo going to Lake Macquarie...Being Gordo's best mate I can honestly say he would never play for Lake Macquarie even if money was involved. However i will ask him when i when i see him at lunch time today and let you's know just incase i missed something...I'd be having my dosh to say he will be back at the Bay next year...Although it might take some convincing(but not to much) I do know he won't be playing at St George next year...

,other rumour ive heard from down south the pussy cats (gosford) are broke thanks to mismanagment from the club executieves

Dont know about broke, but for what it's worth, I heard that there were some interseting facts in the annual financial statement.

It will be sad to see Deitzy leave as his mail is always pretty good.

As for SS Jumbo, you've accomplished nothing you tool, he probably isn't allowed to post in his new position with the AFL.

Mate you have posted 35 times and you could fit anything useful you have said on the back of a postage stamp.

I'm sure we will see another of your idiotic replies, but like always we will move on to other things football and hope you eventually disappear.

Hey everyone I found a picture in the newspaper of swans 12 taken at the Gateway Hotel Islington last Saturday Night.

swans400x452.jpg

Agree swans, The struggling clubs need to try something and good on tham if they do have some cash, but they need to buy half a team and with the amounts iv heard they are offering they will be lucky to get three.
I still believe these clubs should look at combining (at least in the top grade) keeping their identity in the lower grades and working on a 3-5 year plan to gradually improve.
As you say it takes a lot to turn around 300/400 points, and some success would bring players in

Noodles.....What amounts have you heard?.

On what I have seen of the Tigers (about 10 games over 2 yrs), Lester is courageous but makes bad decisions, Youlten wouldnt get a run in 1st grade at a top 4 side, and I dont know who White is.