Black Diamond AFL

Oh no. An understrength dogs outfit lost to a full strength cardiff one. :eek:

Ever heard of not showing all your cards until September. :rolleyes:

Obviously not. It seems that Cardiff are quite content to count their chickens before they hatch :cool:

Just remeber what happend last year... :eek: no one remebers home-and-away records. Its in september that counts :thumbsu:

Those are my thoughts.

Cheers
Mr Martini

Hahahahaha I can't beleive it's taken this long for someone to defend Warners Bay's loss using the "understrength" excuse!

Fat and slow would be more appropriate.

Cheers,

Harry Dixon-Balls

The only pretender around here is you wherethecrowflies....Hiding behind your alias and bagging out the Bay...Lake Macquarie? Terrigal? What club are you from?

Barto I dont think my club matters. I am simply one of the many players in this league who voices their opinion. I dont think what club I am matters on here but I am similar to the stig (top gear fans will undertand) everyone takes a guess but noone really knows who it is.

I think teams who bring down their first graders back down to win a flag is wrong. Ive been a player who has missed out on a spot in a grand final despite playing all year once and feel that it stuffs the mix the team has had all year because some players rely to heavy on first graders.

Some good banter on here.

UTF, where are you hiding you should be defending your beloved Gosford.

Are they on the brink of folding?
Will we see some of their players at our club, or different clubs, next year?

Get on here and start usingtheexcuses!!!!
Or are you to sore after waddling around Tacoma on saturday???

Barto I dont think my club matters. I am simply one of the many players in this league who voices their opinion. I dont think what club I am matters on here but I am similar to the stig (top gear fans will undertand) everyone takes a guess but noone really knows who it is.

So you're a mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in an ill-informed opinion?

have read all the problems with Tigers, here are some facts from a close source, will struggle next year with numbers due to 16/18's not wanting to play, problem stems from last years 16/18's side where some players were favoured over others 2 scholarship holders now left club, players are asked to play 18's then back up and play 2's or 1's to then have 1's players not kick to them, so why play, some 1's seem to be more interested in how many stats they get rather then team play.First coach of 18's had NFI on players or where they should play and was known to turn up to 16's games just before they ran out looking for players following day.Club seem to be rebuilding wel over the last few years but now seems to have reverted to bad old days.

Some of this is true, some off the mark. The situation with Gosford and their juniors is laughable, had potentially the best juniors out of anyone but its all gone to buggery due to the egos of a few people. Agree on the decision making point, well known that a number of players will refuse to kick the ball to kids on their own, instead they will kick it to a mate who has 3 blokes on him. Apparently thats gotten better this year but. Disagree with the statement on the 1st 18s coach, yes he is a mate of mine, however he had a go with little support from the committee, actually had the kids playing enjoying their footy, ran city to within 2 points and I personally believe he was doing a pretty good job coming from a few sources within the team. Is it a coincidence the 2 best players in the side left after he was given the flick? At least they had a side play every week and not forfeit like they did on the weekend. On the positive, it is good to see them getting a few wins up in the top 2 grades and a few blokes getting a bit of reward for putting up with a fair bit of crap this year. Yes I know they cop it due to the actions of a certain individual on here, but he only represents about 5% of the club!

Well Done to an ex BDAFL Player, Timothy Cotter, who won the Tamworth FL Best and Fairest this season.

Was a good footballer as I remember him in 2005, and a bloody good bloke.

Well Done Tim!

Some of this is true, some off the mark. The situation with Gosford and their juniors is laughable, had potentially the best juniors out of anyone but its all gone to buggery due to the egos of a few people. Agree on the decision making point, well known that a number of players will refuse to kick the ball to kids on their own, instead they will kick it to a mate who has 3 blokes on him. Apparently thats gotten better this year but. Disagree with the statement on the 1st 18s coach, yes he is a mate of mine, however he had a go with little support from the committee, actually had the kids playing enjoying their footy, ran city to within 2 points and I personally believe he was doing a pretty good job coming from a few sources within the team. Is it a coincidence the 2 best players in the side left after he was given the flick? At least they had a side play every week and not forfeit like they did on the weekend. On the positive, it is good to see them getting a few wins up in the top 2 grades and a few blokes getting a bit of reward for putting up with a fair bit of crap this year. Yes I know they cop it due to the actions of a certain individual on here, but he only represents about 5% of the club!

I understand that the Gosford club is not the only BDAFL club struggling to produce consistant talented juniors and that generally the quality of junior coaches is alot to be desired as well. From my experience from being involved in clubs from both Vic and NSW, having a good junior program both recrutiment and development is king. From observing all clubs, most have 1 or 2 decent players who dominate the play and the rest just make up the numbers. Even those players who show some talent have good skils but can be questioned on their actual football abilities, a good footballer is more than someone who can take a mark or kick the ball. Most junior footballers are unfortunately never taught how to read the play and struggle to make the transition in senior football.

I understand that the AFL runs a number of school based programs where students that have never played the great game of AFL, can complete this program and be more qualified than most junior coaches ... seems a little worrying for the future.. maybe all clubs need to have a collective approach for the survival of the game in this region.

I think teams who bring down their first graders back down to win a flag is wrong. Ive been a player who has missed out on a spot in a grand final despite playing all year once and feel that it stuffs the mix the team has had all year because some players rely to heavy on first graders.

You obviously aren't that proud of your club then if you're not willing to fly the flag...So how about you stop bagging out other clubs and worry about your own. Unlucky to be dropped for the grand final mate. You must be pretty ordinary ;)....and don't compare yourself to the stig. He's a good bloke. You're a clown.

fatmansfriend .......

Word is only 1 senior player is moving on next year, prob to Syd or Melb to try his luck and everyone else is staying ... ques is who will be coaching at Gosford next year???

From looking at the results the Tigers did pretty well against their northern neighbours, don't think they will be the next Penisula Swans or Bateau Bay Blues or Northern Kangaroos just yet.

Mate your a nitwit. Unless you have something to contribute shut up. Sledging is all good fun but not in a footy forum. If you want to try and bed UTF buy him a beer on a saturday and have a crack.

That's a fair call. I think my brother is pretty annoying sometimes. But a bit of perspective is needed:

total bigfooty posts by pp salsher: 18
total bigfooty posts by usingtheforce: 194

Now I can't lay claim to knowing the tastes of everyone...

...However I'd rather read a slightly amusing, yet somewhat vulgur post every few days, instead of trawling through 5 posts a day of absoulte crap about the Gosford footy club and his world famous "footy knowledge"

Peace,
bb salsher

I understand that the Gosford club is not the only BDAFL club struggling to produce consistant talented juniors and that generally the quality of junior coaches is alot to be desired as well. From my experience from being involved in clubs from both Vic and NSW, having a good junior program both recrutiment and development is king. From observing all clubs, most have 1 or 2 decent players who dominate the play and the rest just make up the numbers. Even those players who show some talent have good skils but can be questioned on their actual football abilities, a good footballer is more than someone who can take a mark or kick the ball. Most junior footballers are unfortunately never taught how to read the play and struggle to make the transition in senior football.

I understand that the AFL runs a number of school based programs where students that have never played the great game of AFL, can complete this program and be more qualified than most junior coaches ... seems a little worrying for the future.. maybe all clubs need to have a collective approach for the survival of the game in this region.

Exactly mate, the unfortunate situation with junior footy seems to be the win at all cost attitude and the neglect of developing players who arent in the sides best 6. Alot of junior coaches are doing their best, however im sure a number are helping out by putting their hand up because noone else will and unfortunately dont have the footy experience and background to teach the game sense skills in the kids. Its all well and good doing lane work, but how many times is a lane work drill replicated in a game? All coaches in the region should be minimum level 1. The school program is level 0 so they wouldnt be more qualified. I saw 1st hand tonight that out of a group of 20 kids from the central coast at heat training, only 2 or 3 had actually heard of the term "front and centre". Took an hour to get them to work it out but junior coaches really need to focus on more game based training than making training look good in my opinion.

have read all the problems with Tigers, here are some facts from a close source, will struggle next year with numbers due to 16/18's not wanting to play, problem stems from last years 16/18's side where some players were favoured over others 2 scholarship holders now left club, players are asked to play 18's then back up and play 2's or 1's to then have 1's players not kick to them, so why play, some 1's seem to be more interested in how many stats they get rather then team play.First coach of 18's had NFI on players or where they should play and was known to turn up to 16's games just before they ran out looking for players following day.Club seem to be rebuilding wel over the last few years but now seems to have reverted to bad old days.

Speaking on behalf of my recently red carded brother (will the douche bag ever learn??), pp salsher, his greatest concern was "who will keep the bastards honest?"

There is no more need to bag the Gosford Footy Club on here (note I did say Gosford. Usingtheforce is still fair game). They are doing a pretty good job at themselves.

Peace.
bb salsher

No worries, consider it done. I'll even wave to you while you're sitting behind the fence!

I'd appreciate that. Don't get too ahead of yourself though...Footy is a funny game and it would be a mighty shame to see City get knocked out in the prelim final....You would look quite the fool. Just keep that in the back of your mind next time you're thinking of writing something stupid :thumbsu:

You obviously aren't that proud of your club then if you're not willing to fly the flag...So how about you stop bagging out other clubs and worry about your own. Unlucky to be dropped for the grand final mate. You must be pretty ordinary ;)....and don't compare yourself to the stig. He's a good bloke. You're a clown.

I am proud of my club and have played for them since I started but my club cops it enough so why bother stating my club (oh and its not Gosford). There are also other reasons why I wont discuss my club.

As for the GF well it happens when your a young bloke and playing up a grade. Shit happens. As for my football ability well no doubt Barto youve had me run by you with the ball and youve gone "damn that bloke is good" haha.

Your description of the stig fits me to a "T".

Deitzy do you have any idea who may be coaching next year and how the club is looking???

dietzy things are laughable with Gosford seniors and juniors, my source tells me seniors want to come back under one banner for one reason only , the money.Well known senior players aren't financial and junior parents always pay up front.Club split many years ago due to this problem of having no money due to seniors spending and BDAFL fees.Junior club runs seperate committee and bank account to fully cater for their players progressing forward in AFL including moving onto Gosford seniors which it seems to have done successfully over the years. Some clubs on the coast that are contolled by their seniors( one senior club close by and the other gone????) either are in debt or juniors have to beg , borrow from the seniors to cater for their juniors, so egos aren't the problem, seniors run their business as spend first worry about money later, juniors run theirs as planning and don't spend if you don't have which is the way most successfull businesses run.Newy clubs are having the same issues like the tiges

On that front the cost of running a senior footy club is much much higher than running the juniors. I know as of last year when I was still on the committee that the senior club needed at least $40,000 to just get on the field, whereas the juniors was only about $5,000. That would be where the money was going. As for well known senior players not being financial, that has never been the case, always the blokes who rock up for a couple of games here and there, and I know the club doesnt pick blokes unfinancial after a certain date. Not sure what the situation is there this year however. Having had a very heavy involvement there I know egos are at play between the 2 clubs and everyone involved wants to do what is best for them, not the future of the club.
As for the coaching position there, I have seen they are advertising for applicants. They have a decent bunch of players and blokes so there is a bit to work with for anyone taking it on.
From now on Ill try and steer clear of talking about the Gosford club!

I'd appreciate that. Don't get too ahead of yourself though...Footy is a funny game and it would be a mighty shame to see City get knocked out in the prelim final....You would look quite the fool. Just keep that in the back of your mind next time you're thinking of writing something stupid :thumbsu:

Harry Dixon regrets nothing.

fatmansfriend .......

Word is only 1 senior player is moving on next year, prob to Syd or Melb to try his luck and everyone else is staying ... ques is who will be coaching at Gosford next year???

From looking at the results the Tigers did pretty well against their northern neighbours, don't think they will be the next Penisula Swans or Bateau Bay Blues or Northern Kangaroos just yet.

Glad to hear couch. The league needs clubs to stand strong. I, unlike others, don't have a problem with the Tigers, I just have a problem with a bloke familiar with your club who talks out of his arse on here.