Black Diamond AFL

Luff/ N Bay
Would surprise in one way if Luffy returned as he has a number of things going in Sydney, media, business etc and was still getting some coin to play as well, saying that, his young fella is into the footy playing U 11's for the Bay and his family are still in the area, so never say never. Hard task with what they had to work with. This proposed merger/affiliation with Singleton wont solve their problems I dont think.

Isn't that Hayden's boy playing in the junior Marlins, not Troy's??

Northern,

You would know about the Duges' goss.

Mate the only way he wouldn't get the coaching job is either

1. He doesn't want it.
2. Cardiff have picked up a really good coaching recruit and he has decided to stand down.

Otherwise with his record, I would say the jobs his for as long as he wants it.

Whats your thoughts Northern.

Any comments about this proposed points system for the league.

OK we all have to develop our own Juniors, but how can a governing body penalise a club for good recruitment.

Another example of people from football states, thinking that ideas that work in country Vic, will work in a non football area. (Like The Netball brain explosion, as if that will work here, with Netball massively entrenched and structured).

AS for the idea that the bottom teams are always the bottom teams. Given it is harder to recruit when you are a weaker club, but with hard work added to developing local juniors, it can be done.

Our League has always been a scenario of If you haven't got the Cattle you cant get the prize, so they need to recruit good coaches and some good players to lift themselves.

Easier said than done I agree, but why should some clubs be dragged down to equal others. Shouldn't it be a case of lifting the bottom up not vice versa?

Northern,

You would know about the Duges' goss.

Mate the only way he wouldn't get the coaching job is either

1. He doesn't want it.
2. Cardiff have picked up a really good coaching recruit and he has decided to stand down.

Otherwise with his record, I would say the jobs his for as long as he wants it.

Whats your thoughts Northern.

Mate i'm 12 months out of the club so it would be a guess, not goss. I've purposely stayed out of the "boardroom stuff"- I don't think it's fair to be sticking my bib in- especially from 19,000 miles away!

It will be interesting seeing the trouble clubs have had in the past getting senior coaches.
with what Gosford, City, warners, Lmaq, woy woy, and Nelson for starters .
are any of the current coaches going to stick their hands up elsewhere?
Whats the going rate for someone from sydney who could drag a couple of players i wonder ???

It will be interesting seeing the trouble clubs have had in the past getting senior coaches.
with what Gosford, City, warners, Lmaq, woy woy, and Nelson for starters .
are any of the current coaches going to stick their hands up elsewhere?
Whats the going rate for someone from sydney who could drag a couple of players i wonder ???

just like to say gosford are hot on the recruiting trail for players this yr, with maybe links to some victorian and act players and coaches, they have some good contacts on their list and should be strong on the recruiting trail, from waht ive heard round the club, have a good source thier

Wouldn't think the perceived top clubs will have any dramas with a coach.

Gosfords juniors, Citys strength over the last 2 years should ensure that they should pick up easily with plenty of upside. Warners Bay also bringing in a few young guys, so should be alright.

Wyong and Lake both works in progress, may find it more difficult, although Lake have a bit of coin Ive heard.

Newcastle City AFC 2008 Coaching Positions

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]The Newcastle City Football Club [FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]seeks expressions of interest for coaches for season 2008 in the following grades:[/FONT][/FONT]
  • [FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]First Grade (Black Diamond Cup) - Playing or Non Playing[/FONT]
  • [FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Reserve Grade - Playing or Non Playing[/FONT]
  • [FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Under 18's[/FONT]
[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]New players are also very welcome. Please contact the club if you would like information regarding lifestyle, employment or accommodation details.[/FONT]

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]The club is 125 years old with a strong tradition and is a premier club in the Newcastle and Central Coast competition. It offers excellent facilities, a strong Committee and a region offering a great lifestyle with many employment opportunities.[/FONT]

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Newcastle City has a very strong junior base and we are looking to build on an excellent 2007 with the First Grade minor premiers, the Reserves and U/18's both back to back premiers and the U/16's premiers.[/FONT]

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Applications close on October 31st and should be submitted to:[/FONT]

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Email: [FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]ncafc@hotmail.com[/FONT][/FONT]

[FONT=tahoma,arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Postal Address: PO Box 2110, Dangar NSW 2309[/FONT]

word is that Chris Bishop is returning to coach the Panthers in 2008
It doesnt cover losing Goolagong but a great start if he can get and stay fit, any news on other coaching positions?

Gosford had their best and fairest night on Friday at Gosford RSL
1st grade top 10
1. Steve Church 68 votes
2. Tadd Walford 42
3. Aaron Monk 33
4. Brad Deitz 30
5. Tim Eather 24
6. Matt O'Shea 16
7. Sam Stockwell 14
8. Ben Youlten 12
9. John Deitz 11
10. Ben Lester 9
I think the votes are right, my memory is a bit hazy.
Reserve grade best and fairest was Scott Lester while Sam Vickery took out the 18s award. Big Al Monk was rewarded for his tireless efforts with the club person of the year.
It was a night of change at the Tigers with outgoing president Julian Mostert replaced by Bill Walford at the AGM. Jules has done a great job at the footy club and Im sure Bill will build on the groundwork the committee has done.

Any comments about this proposed points system for the league.

OK we all have to develop our own Juniors, but how can a governing body penalise a club for good recruitment.

Another example of people from football states, thinking that ideas that work in country Vic, will work in a non football area. (Like The Netball brain explosion, as if that will work here, with Netball massively entrenched and structured).

AS for the idea that the bottom teams are always the bottom teams. Given it is harder to recruit when you are a weaker club, but with hard work added to developing local juniors, it can be done.

Our League has always been a scenario of If you haven't got the Cattle you cant get the prize, so they need to recruit good coaches and some good players to lift themselves.

Easier said than done I agree, but why should some clubs be dragged down to equal others. Shouldn't it be a case of lifting the bottom up not vice versa?

Gee a few tumbleweeds in here, you must all be preparing my welcome home party :p:D

The proposal for the player points system is on the BDAFL website. I had a look at it and really I fail to see how it will have much (if any) effect on Cardiff in particular, with them being the club i know the most about.

Of the 39 players who played Black Diamond Cup this year, the following breakdown took the park:

5 Point players- 6
4 Point players- 0
3 Point players- 1
2 Point players- 4
1 Point players- 28

Given that other dominant clubs such as City, Killarney Vale & Warners Bay have similar high numbers of 1 point players, they should have no problems in achieving the points thresholds even as they reduce. On the other hand, Nelson Bay in particular, who rely heavily upon the RAAF for their players will have large problems in staying under their points cap, especially given their low junior numbers coming through. Given that they are at the foot of the table now, this will not be a solution to their current problems.

As Swans12 said, the BDAFL should be looking at bringing the bottom up, but this is not the way to do it.

Gee a few tumbleweeds in here, you must all be preparing my welcome home party :p:D

The proposal for the player points system is on the BDAFL website. I had a look at it and really I fail to see how it will have much (if any) effect on Cardiff in particular, with them being the club i know the most about.

Of the 39 players who played Black Diamond Cup this year, the following breakdown took the park:

5 Point players- 6
4 Point players- 0
3 Point players- 1
2 Point players- 4
1 Point players- 28

Given that other dominant clubs such as City, Killarney Vale & Warners Bay have similar high numbers of 1 point players, they should have no problems in achieving the points thresholds even as they reduce. On the other hand, Nelson Bay in particular, who rely heavily upon the RAAF for their players will have large problems in staying under their points cap, especially given their low junior numbers coming through. Given that they are at the foot of the table now, this will not be a solution to their current problems.

As Swans12 said, the BDAFL should be looking at bringing the bottom up, but this is not the way to do it.

We should be really stepping up the BDAFL Under 18's rep program i think, taking a squad to say 4 to 6 games throughout the year instead of say one fixture like this season, instead of worrying about points systems and netball comps, fair dinkum !!!

Not having much to do with the senior side of things, but I've heard there have been some high level activity by some of the clubs, in regards to coaching recruits, but it seems to be stumbling with the amount of coin these guys can get in other leagues. eg 15 to 30k on at least two occassions I am aware of.

Makes it difficult to get a guy to relocate and do it for more the love of the game.

What's the going rate for our league now, been out of this loop for too long.

Would've been good to see how our North Coast boys wouldve gone against your Black Diamond lads in the Under 18s and Seniors...shame it had to rain that June long weekend! :mad:

Good to hear the Black Diamond had another good year..good luck in 2008!

Any word yet on coaching appointments for season 2008? I understand Steve Cutler and Pat Schell have been reappointed at Killarney Vale, but thats the only news i have heard. Also noticed the draw is up on the BDAFL website, I see the rep side will be playing the SAFL development squad which will be a great test for our league.

Warners Bay has appointed co-coaches for the 2008 season. Blake Brunckhorst and Russell Macey will be taking the reigns in 2008 after the successful two year tenure of Andrew Bubb.

Brunckhorst is a very experienced player who has played in both the strong WAFL and the QAFL competitions as well as having recent playing experience in the BDAFL, firstly with Wests and then with Warners Bay.

Macey is a 300 game veteran of the Warners Bay club who has tasted premiership success on multiple occassions and been named club B&F on six occassions.

The Bulldogs are actively recruiting experienced and dedicated players who are keen to make a difference to an up and coming club. Warners Bay fields a large and exciting complement of young players under 21 years of age and is keen to make a mark again in 2008.

Interested players should contact Steve May on 0412 524293

G'day all, first blog for 08.
The season ahead looks dour for the umpires with talk of having club umpires for 1st grade games, I have a bad feeling that this will bring the standard down for the league. I sure Roger 'Mr Bean' Crowhurst will have the officials up the scratch, but with the resignation of Lee 'Steady Eddie' Gardiner the standard will surely drop now! But seriously this could damage the league especially playing against Sydney and in the Country rep carnival this season. Anyway that's just a quick thought. Is Dugan coaching at Cardiff this season?

Couldn't agree more super. Its a shame things are going this way, as clubs have got more than enough to do organising things for the weekend without worrying about unpires as well. It must be hard to find people to volunteeer mind you (especially with the amount of abuse they cop), however the league puts a lot of pressure on clubs to rectruit and organise themselves to get this comp to a higher level but they do not seem to practise what they preach and work hard in the off season to get new blood. I think it has become an easy option to just put it back on the clubs and say "deal with it"!
I wonder how the powers that be would react if we just said "sorry....got too hard for us to organise a commitee, Reserve grade umpires, ground managers, boundary and goal umpries, time keepers, canteen operators, social co-ordinators, coaching co-ordinators, etc, etc....the league will have to organise". I'm sure we would be told to pull our head in and work harder!!
The standard will certainly drop if club umpires are used at Black Diamond level, however, I am sure the cheap shots, tribunal appearances, and thuggery (that has seemed to reduce over recent years) will increase very quickly.
Good luck to all in 2008....should be interesting!!

I’m of the same opinion.... club umpires will no doubt bring the league down, which is a real shame considering how well it had grown over the past few years.

No doubt it will be interesting to see how all the sides shape up. With news Mick Ryan is back on the scene for Cardiff, Jackson Ireland back in Victoria and Tim Cotter having moved away (none of this confirmed, just rumours), already three of the top four clubs look completely different for 2008.

Mick Ryan will give Cardiff a massive goal scoring boost and will also be a great addition to the side for the rep fixture, while City will sorely miss the impact that Cotter gives through his great tackling around packs and shear number of possessions he racks up. No doubt Killarney Vale will be far less potent without Ireland on the half forward line.

Already things looking interesting....bring on 2008!! (and hopefully some umpires)

Is Dugan coaching at Cardiff this season?[/quote]

No he's not coaching Seniors at Cardiff this season. Rumours are that Mick Ryan will be taking the reigns. Word is that there is a real uptempo mood at the Hawks for the up coming season.

I had heard that Mick Ryan was assisting with the pre-season, but not taking on the top job in an offical capacity. Oh the rumours!!!

Id say with Mick Ryan back, and if they have retained the majority of last years side, they have every reason to be up-tempo, as they will be a class outfit and will be very hard to beat.

COME TO WILSTON GRANGE!! - POSITIONS VACANT for
Local, QLD or Interstate Players!! - Move to sunny Brisbane!!! Jobs, housing assistance and $$$ available!!!!!!!!!
Just send me a private message with your contact details

I think it's stupid that all the teams in the Black Diamond Cup have to have a netball team. Like it's hard enough to get park at Tacoma so the netballers will make it worst. I hate going to gosford as well you can't get a damn park there. Also hopefully Wyong this year can improve from last year. We have a new coach who's been traning the boys well during the season. Only 2 more weeks till I get into it I can't wait ;)

Ricky Roberts (1998) Premiership player was yesterday announced as Cardiff 's Senior Coach. He's aslo had a number of years coaching their Reserves.

It's funny you mention the netball thing, the Netball poll on the BDAFL website seemed to be removed over the christmas period after it indicated more people against the idea than supported it. I feel the region has alot footy related work to do before diving into unfamiliar territory.

Definitely with the last two posters regarding the netball situation. Fair dinkum, surely the league has a much more pressing issue in finding umpires than starting up a netball competition in a region where there plenty of other netball comps up and running. If women wanted to play netball surely the majority would be playing in a registered side already.
Surely the umpire crisis is something the league must be more proactive about, the general solution seems to be throw it on the clubs to find people to do it, however for a league that is becoming more professional by the day, this in the long term is by no means a suitable solution.
The BDAFL should be actively trying to recruit people, I have never seen anything in a local paper on the coast about umpiring, surely that could be an avenue for the league to attack to start with.
As for the parking at Adcock Park, definitely agree it is terrible, not much can be done about it but with netball having weight of numbers. Much better option is to park in the RSL and walk across, you probably end up closer to the ground over there anyway!