Chelsea
Mod Notice:-

Continued from here:-

Continued here:

Just like to thank Aphrodite and the other Carlton mods who started the Bluemours NON Discussion Thread and who have kept it free of chat over the past few years.

It helps so much when you just don't have the time to read through this thread, cheers and great job.

Last edited by a moderator:
Zac is a RFA so they can choose to match an offer. Wait and see what the market is would be a smart approach from them. Doesn’t I still confidence in the player though. “How much do they want me?” GWS should just wait and see.
They’ve probably got pretty open dialogue around the situation. He’d know they want to keep him but they’re pretty stretched for cap and there’s only so much the can afford, and if it came to matching another clubs offer, it may mean having to move on multiple promising best 22 younger players.

I can’t help but consider that he wants more midfield time and I’m not sure they want to play him in that role; we can though. They would certainly be talking to him though.

Yep, I think that’s the case too, and it sounds perfect to me. Rotate between rebounding hbf, wing and bursts as an inside mid.

re: Dow seeking a trade.
I reckon mid way through every season there'd be a dozen player managers taking 'I want to explore a trade' calls from dozens and dozens of footballers. Some will go. Many, many more will stay.

He may have fallen 'out of love' with the Blues..
He may have received a 'mother offer' to play with his bro..
He may be testing the waters..
Or it may be blown out of proportion..
It maybe just plain old bullshit..

If it's correct that he has 2 years on his contract, like Papley and Sydney.. we hold the cards.
We supported that bloke through some of the worst hair insecurity ever seen. I'll leave it at that.

If they throw a million at him, that would chase suitors away, obviously. However, they would be more likely to wait to see what he is offered, then meet the market. Avoids overpaying in a tight cap situation.
Surely the AFL have spare cash to throw around. I actually think we’re trying to buy Williams in an attempt to free Caldwell. There’s no way they can afford to keep both Cameron and Williams though.

Simon Minton-Connell interested in coming back - rookie spot?

Must admit I haven’t read the last 100 pages so I might be missing some context but....

I think Teague would give his right ... for a 2.5 goal a game full forward
I personally don’t think SMC would kick a goal a game in this current game though

SPS playing thru the middle or wing and hitting up I50 targets (versus our current midfield bombing) would generate 3 to 4 goals a game and is on this Hyphens Wishlist.

Williams wants to stay and GWS would want to keep him. The only reason he is leaving is for money so there is absolutely no chance that GWS match otherwise they would just pay him.
Or he wants to play in a premiership in 2021 with the Blues

Polson has taken to the new coaching and development team like a fish to water. He's got body mass and game awareness; he's hitting 50+ metre passes after running 30m. He's coming along very, very nicely. If he doesn't debut in this new role this season, I'll be fine, but I quite thoroughly expect him to get a berth next year as a running/lockdown defender. He's getting to the point where he's smashing it in the reserves, and the only thing keeping him from the firsts is a bloke by the name of Simpson.

Well that is a real indictment on previous coaches/development team. Is it power that is leading the way?

Surely the AFL have spare cash to throw around. I actually think we’re trying to buy Williams in an attempt to free Caldwell. There’s no way they can afford to keep both Cameron and Williams though.
They can if Kelly moves on. Not saying he’s coming to us, but he has an 8 year extension available to him and he hasn’t triggered it yet. I have heard previously that if North didn’t suck so bad he’d be on his way to Arden Street. His old man played there and he was a fan growing up. We did though throw a big offer at him 2 years ago, as did North, maybe we’re more palatable now. Just saying.

Sorry, but I can't agree that someone who has played only 5 games is having a better year than the guys I have listed below (besides Dunkley/Hunter). So based on the AFL stat data you take Prestia ahead of the following players?

1. Dunkley.
2. Petrecca.
3. Merrett.
4. Yeo.
5. Parker.
6. Boak.
7. Hawkins.
8. Jack Steele.
9. McCluggage.
10. Lachie Hunter.
11. Mitch Duncan.

Yes that is correct. You answered my validity of AFL stats. These ratings do not paint a picture of a players skill set or what the player is going through or team in general. What is to say that Papley won't have a better AFL rating in a better side compare to a rebuild Sydney are going through.

Here is another one.

Papley is currently rated 373.3 ratings.
Cameron is currently rated 341.8 ratings.

Which you one would you take between Papley or Cameron? Based on your commentary you would take Papley ahead of Cameron.

Here I can justify why Papley's rating has not risen in the past 3 years.

2017 Season
Swan I50's differential - +2.7 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_rankings?year=2017&type=DA&sby=20)
Papley's rating - 345.2

2018 Season
Swan I50's differential - -5.7 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_rankings?year=2018&type=DA&sby=20)
Papley's rating - 371.5

2019 Season - - 8.7 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_team_rankings?year=2019&type=DA&sby=20)
Papley's rating - -372.6

Based on the data I have collected, I would say I am impressed that Papley's rating has remain the same given that there has been less supply of I50's in which case you have stated that the AFL ratings measures "pressure acts, disposal efficiency, inside 50's, rebound 50's, score involvements".

Less i50's = Less pressure acts, inside 50's and score involvements which are a big part of a small forward game style.
Not sure I would be using the inside 50 differential to form the basis of your argument. Wouldn't it make more sense to use the average number of inside 50' entries by the Swans?
There was a marginal decrease in forward 50 entries in 2018 compared to 2017 from 52.6 to 50 (approximately a 5% decrease)
There also was a marginal decrease in forward 50 entries in 2018 falling to 47.7, a 4.6% drop.
To make this exercise worthwhile you would also need to factor in the number of games played and average time spent on the field.

IF is the key word.

Philadelphia 76’ers are a sobering lesson - on what not to do.

They spent 6 years building a really good roster with heaps of current & future draft picks to trade with.

Paid serious “overs” on trades that have not worked out.

They‘ve now burnt all the picks they spent years building

Got killed in first week of playoffs.

Have overpaid on wrong players (specifically Harris and Horford) who are now filling their salary cap and left them zero wriggle room to make any more trades.

Destroyed 6 years of work/planning in 12 months of foolishness.

So PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

Very easy to piss 10 years of slog down the drain.

In contrast with the Heat. Who just trust Pat Riley.

SOS was our Pat Riley. Now he is gone, I am nervous heading into this offseason for the reasons you mentioned.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I just can’t get excited regarding the Zac Williams rumour.
A grader. Replaces Simmo as he goes out to pasture. All this talk of him going into the midfield... I see it as a pure succession plan as mentioned. Imagine him and Willo coming off that HBF they will tear teams to shreds. As well as Docherty... My goodness.